Autopsy Rd 7 Carlton v GWS Post Match Discussion/Rant/Whatever

This says a lot more about the players than the coach & reiterates that we have a number of selfish, entitled players who the club will need to move on if we are ever going to be successful again.

Or maybe it says that we have a game plan that either the players don't understand or the ultra defensive game plan of kick high and long around the boundary is no good.

Look, watch any of our games and you will see that our spread is virtually non-existent because the players have no faith in where their team mate will kick the ball. And the ball carrier ends up taking the safety option and kicking long down the boundary precisely because he gets half hearted spreads from the guys further up the ground for the reason I stated before.

Players also don't have a structure to fall back on where they can position themselves to block the corridor which results in the opposition players waltzing through the middle at will.

Its all very well and good to blame the players for not chasing or tackling, but it gets to a point where if the players do the hard work and win possession back but lose it as quickly as they win it because of the game plan, then the players will lose their intensity and slow down to a jog when they feel like all they are doing is chasing all day long.

The perfect example of this failure of a game plan is our kick ins, today we scored our very first score from a kick in since the start of the year.
If you don't have a strategy that players know how to execute with a kick in, then you struggle to even get the ball out of your defensive 50, let along get it past the middle of the ground and into your own forward line.

The coach and coaches need to take the blame for this, they are responsible for teaching and getting the players to understand how the game plan and strategies should work, yet our players look like headless chooks on the field.

Some of the comments on here are very wrong. GWS are the team that has been given one huge leg up by the AFL. They will play finals this year and will get even better. The other losses this year, hurt way more.

I'm really not sure anymore about MM. This mucking around with the ball around the boundary doesn't work. Our players seem to be running at 3/4 pace compared to other teams, yet we still run out of gas too quickly.Our on field leaders are a joke, the younger players wouldn't follow them out of burning building.

Sacking the coach won't make any difference for this season. Looks like we are officially tanking. I can't see us winning any games for the rest of year. I'm looking forward to trade week and hope we get something decent for Gibbs, Murphy and Yarran.

.........anything on todays effort? ..............constructively of course.;)
Personally... as someone who suffers from severe depression to the point where at times it incapacitates me... I would constructively criticise his willingness to continue to put up with the shit that this team of our is putting out and I would then suggest that for his physical and mental health he retires effective immediately.

And I would hope that at the same time he punches the shit out of LoG and Bruce for being lying w***ers about the state of the club and ruining his legacy as a 3 time premiership coach.

I've got to the stage where I just can't get angry anymore. I just expect the worst and sadly they deliver it. Am I psychic?

Same.
I've become so desensitized about this footy club I couldn't care less.
Knew this would happen today. Maybe not the margin but knew we wouldn't win.
Take no pleasure in saying "I told you so"
(Not to you P777)

The saddest part of the night was seeing Watson's face on the bench after he was subbed off.

He was absolutely devastated, you could see it.

His dream of an AFL career going in front of his eyes.

Felt so sorry for him.

He had so few opportunities. In reality he had two chances in the game to impose himself and did not take either. That is such a small margin for error, but this is what AFL careers hang on sometimes.

Personally I hope he gets another chance.

The loss is nothing to the fact we have absolutely no direction. Atleast during the dark days at the bottom we were always on the way up.

Oh, say it Cringle! That's exactly how I feel too.

And I think that things are going to get a ****load worse before they get better. What's that say in thy's signature? You'd wanna be on the blues now? :(

STOOGE

785950-ba33508e-cd08-11e3-ae84-eacdfc097015.jpg

Time to at M Lo.
Gotta get Mick out of the club NOW.

And then tell Bruce Mathieson to **** right off!!

Time

The second paragraph contradicts the smug point you try to make in the first. I say the second paragraph held true when we appointed Mick.
Nothing smug about the point I made. The way our club is run very much reflects the thought process of a number of our supporters on BF & TalkingCarlton. As soon as enough noise is made, the club blinks. The club needs to have a plan & stick to it, no matter how much noise is being made.

It is very fortunate for Cats supporters that Frank Costa didn't blink when the noise supporters were making early in the 2007 season made some of the board jittery at the time.

In the last 26 years we have sacked 5 coaches (it will soon be six) & yet we only have one premiership to show for this. How many times do you keep changing your jockey, before you realise that maybe the horse is the problem?

We shouldn't be talking about fixes in terms of speed. You don't want to undertake a series of complicated, complex tasks In rebuilding a football list and focus on one aspect.

Our board still needs to get smaller down to around 8 and no more. The Montague and Capulet divide needs to sod off as well. It should be about the best interest of the club not ego. Until this is fixed, the club is incapable of moving forward properly.

Coaching issues date back to Pagan. Remember how players admitted deliberate poor performances with a goal of having him sacked? Don't think the club got over that either. They need to tell us by the bye week what they plan to do there. Dragging this out delays finding a replacement of it's a no and is a waste of time if Mick stays.

Recruitment and Development. Someone take a dictionary and hire the first 12 people who can explain the meaning that closest matches that.

As far as playing list as it stands? Trouble started back in 2008 when we ****ed the first of 5 straight drafts up. To get things that wrong, for that long....were we are at was inevitable regardless of the coach or the board or the color of shoes i have to wear as part of my jobs dress code.

I don't know if trading every decent player away over the age of 21 in a one year fire sale is a good idea. It will take a series of good drafting and trying to trade smartly for better opportunity in deeper drafts that are the key.

I love the club, hate most the campaigners in charge. Thats why I am angry

We shouldn't be talking about fixes in terms of speed. You don't want to undertake a series of complicated, complex tasks In rebuilding a football list and focus on one aspect.

Our board still needs to get smaller down to around 8 and no more. The Montague and Capulet divide needs to sod off as well. It should be about the best interest of the club not ego. Until this is fixed

I do not bite my thumb at you Mick, but I do bite my thumb sir...

Nothing smug about the point I made. The way our club is run very much reflects the thought process of a number of our supporters on BF & TalkingCarlton. As soon as enough noise is made, the club blinks. The club needs to have a plan & stick to it, no matter how much noise is being made.

It is very fortunate for Cats supporters that Frank Costa didn't blink when the noise supporters were making early in the 2007 season made some of the board jittery at the time.

In the last 26 years we have sacked 5 coaches (it will soon be six) & yet we only have one premiership to show for this. How many times do you keep changing your jockey, before you realise that maybe the horse is the problem?
Smug wasn't the right word. I misinterpreted, tried to edit but couldn't, so apologies. Like I said, I think your second paragraph in that post was exactly the situation faced by Mick when he took over, and is the reason I'm prepared for the club to give him a few more years.

Autopsy Rd 7 Carlton v GWS Post Match Discussion/Rant/Whatever