Preview Rnd 5 - Carlton v Bulldogs Sunday April 21st 1.10PM @ Marvel - Final Team - Post #854

JSOS has to come in and as a midfielder. Even if he plays 30% forward.

Gibbons also needs to be put into the midfield because he has now been played out of position for 4 weeks.

Both can fit especially with Setterfield suspended and it's not like we are performing so well noone can make room in the middle.
I think Silvagni for Setterfield is a pretty natural swap. Big bodies but not really inside mids. Though I imagine Sos will be a bit harder at it that Will. Kennedy is more an out and out inside mid.

I’ve got an idea.Lets tell our players to just play with flair and dare.We recruited them for a reason so let them just play.Dont worry about structures,game plans etc.Theyre footballers not scientists.
Paul Roos would have a heart attack if he heard you that. I blame him entirely for the current state of footy. He started this zone defence and flooding then his acolytes in Lyon, Longmire, Dew and others have spread the virus. it has now infected all facets of the game.

I think Silvagni for Setterfield is a pretty natural swap. Big bodies but not really inside mids. Though I imagine Sos will be a bit harder at it that Will. Kennedy is more an out and out inside mid.

Agree with the change, but, poor Setters just got 2 weeks for tackling because it was too hard???

How can you select Kennedy when he has not played for a couple of weeks? Just don't believe it is a smart move, with his injury record. Players who are in form need to be promoted.

Agree with the change, but, poor Setters just got 2 weeks for tackling because it was too hard???
You don't slam a guy's head into the ground. Our team is comprised of kids, and if side like WC or Collingwood did tha to some of the young ones, you would lose your mind. Got the right wack. Pretty ordinary tackle actually.

You really think Setters will be as hard at it as Silvagni? You can knock Jack for many things, but his endeavour is something few guys on the list can match.

Fwiw I don't really think that was a very hard tackle. It was just unlucky. It wasn't your normal sling or dumping tackle, he just had his arm pinned and went down at a bad angle.

How can you select Kennedy when he has not played for a couple of weeks? Just don't believe it is a smart move, with his injury record. Players who are in form need to be promoted.
I didn't suggest we select Kennedy. I was saying how he's different to Silvagni/Setterfield and that was why I think sos should come in over Kennedy.

IN: Kreuzer, Kennedy, Silvagni (Cuningham?)
OUT: Lobbe, Setterfield, Casboult (Gibbons?)

FB: Thomas, Weitering, Simpson
HB: Plowman, Jones, Newman
C: Murphy, Cripps, Walsh
HF: SPS, Curnow, Fisher
FF: McGovern, McKay, Gibbons/Cuningham
FOL: Kreuzer, Kennedy, Dow
INT: Curnow, Marchbank, O'Brien, Silvagni
emg: Phillips, Garlett, Polson, Stocker/Gibbons

Dogs can't win a hitout to save themselves. English averaging 14 & Schache 1 with their opponents averaging a combined 57. Kreuzer back is huge for us, not just for the hitouts but also his around the ground battle with English.

They went small down back last week (late change?), thinking that we don't need Levi for relief ruck duties as Kreuz should be able to do more than Lobbe/Phillips and Schache doesn't do much when he takes over. Harry, Charlie & Levi the forward targets for mine, plus Jack can alternate between forward (when Harry gives Kreuz a chop out) and midfield. I'd even consider us keeping Harry forward and letting Jack be the relief ruck against Schache. I don't want us to run Levi & a ruckman, let alone 2 specialist rucks.

Really hoping Cuningham gets the all clear by Thursday, his spark up forward would be a great addition. Fisher, SPS & DC as smalls around the big 3 feels pretty good to me. Seems like they get a bit of drive out of the backline with their smalls, particularly Daniels latterly as a distributor, so want to keep them in check.

With Bont, Macrae, Libba, Dunkley & Wallis there's some big/solid bodies in the midfield, think Cripps, Ed, Kennedy, Dow & Jack a good mix to battle with them. Outside they've got Hunter, JJ, Smith & we match with Murph, Walsh & O'Brien.

Their forward line isn't particularly big outside of Schache & Naughton but guys like Gowers and Dickson play taller than their height suggests. Then there's Bont & Dunkley who rotate forward. Jones, Weitering, Marchbank, Plowman actually fits alright against them I think. Newman, Simmo & Daisy to try and contain McLean, Lloyd & the bevvy of smaller dogs mids that rotate fwd.

Thanks for posting a decent attempt at structuring a side that can win.

Love to be proven wrong - but I think as long as all of Simpson/Thomas/Newman and Plowman are all in together at the same time in defense - there wont be and cant be any rebound run or properly executed kicking - it is a disaster zone masked by outstanding individual work by Jones and Weitering. Bulldogs will run the old blokes off their feet and expose the shortcomings in leg speed of Newman and Plowman against small fast forwards. Marchbank I am holding off on comment right now - but I think he is better off played on defensive type wing at least he can take a mark and has some good run - his only weakness is average at best kicking - which is a big weakness for a HBF or a wing....

You have Murphy playing wing as everyone else does and that is where opposition will run the ball - it is a winning formula that keeps on giving a non tackling and poor marking and increasingly poor kicking height challenged player - on a wing - useless against any hard running bloke that can take a mark and on display all year. Bolton just has to find a place to hide Murphy's in-capabilities - I suggest forward pocket. Nothing against LoB but he is lamb to slaughter playing similar role because of lack of body size - hard for him to win a contest when he is just shoved aside - but understand at least he is capable of elite kicking to go with his run - if given a bit of space and has a target to hit - AFL is rarely so kind towards young kids.

Kennedy has been a hoped for inclusion of mine for weeks now-but it seems he finds a way to get injured in practice- which probably indicates he is going hard - we need his mongrel badly against the doggies midield who will absolutely destroy blokes like Fisher/Dow and Walsh if they are played as on ballers for extensive periods of time. Kreuzer is a no brainer inclusion - as he too provides a larger body and might go towards evening up contests. btw and speaking personally - I read with with dismay and disgust so many posters taking pot shots at Kennedy's religious beliefs- shame on all of you scum bags.

If Charlie stops lairisng around the park and actually starts taking some simple chest marks and actually has a think about where he kicks the ball - it would be a great lift for the side - right now all he is showing is a strong belief in his destiny to be whatever some nuff nuff media person(s) have suggested he might be - pull your head in son. No problem what so ever with McGovern or Harry - except to say please Harry just kick it through the sticks.

We wont be getting Cuningham back for weeks is my call. So I hope with Kennedy's inclusion - Bolton actually looks at the performance of Fisher as a forward and sticks him there - much more dangerous and useful as a fast little mongrel hunting goals than a fast little mongrel fumbling around center clearances and causing turnovers too often. I enjoyed Dow's run from clearances- we need that - leave him there and just let the kid play his natural attacking game - he is entitled to a few shockers and hopefully he just composes himself his leg speed on the burst gives him enough time to do so he just doesn't realise it yet- performance anxiety on display. I want SPS around the ball at all times - same as Walsh - these two are playing really well more from you SPS! Carton pl;ayers shoudl eb instructed to look for SP and Walsh for first disposals - ignore Murphy waste of time.

I reckon doggies have more run than our midfield - we will need to make the most of our chances. With Kreuzer and Kenndy ins I am a bit more comfortable with chances of a win because rag dolling factor diminishes - but no team will give it up against Carlton this year- and it will be an arm wrestle till the end (at best) since we cant hold a lead - lack of mongrel and too many soft and stupid players pretending to be senior players atm,

Out - Lobbe, Casboult, Setterfield

In - Kreuzer, Polson/Garlett, Kennedy

Kreuzer an automatic selection if fit. We’ve been killed in the ruck thus far, he’ll be a very welcome addition.

Think we are way too tall with Casboult, McKay, Charlie and Gov, especially at Etihad. The latter three pick themselves so Cas makes way for a smaller option.

Hope we challenge the Setterfield suspension but if we don’t, Kennedy comes in if available. If he’s not then I wouldn’t rule out a Stocker debut.

We can absolutely win this game, Dogs compete hard but are poor offensively.

Need to make sure we click forward of centre, if we do, we’re a massive chance here.

Selection will be very interesting. We lost vs the Dogs last year when we selected the tallest side in my living memory, hoping we don’t make the same mistake this time around.

You really think Setters will be as hard at it as Silvagni? You can knock Jack for many things, but his endeavour is something few guys on the list can match.

Fwiw I don't really think that was a very hard tackle. It was just unlucky. It wasn't your normal sling or dumping tackle, he just had his arm pinned and went down at a bad angle.

Not knocking Jack at all, love the way he goes about his football and is a smart footballer, which is what we need at the moment.

Out: Lobbe, Casboult, Setterfield, O'Brien, Newman
In: Kreuzer, JSos, Kennedy, Stocker, Cuningham

Change of structure time.

Fb: Plowman Jones Simpson
Hb: Stocker Weitering Marchbank
C: JSos Murphy Walsh
Hf: Cuningham C Curnow Fisher
Ff: Thomas Mckay McGovern
R: Kreuzer Cripps Sps
I/C: Kennedy, Dow, E Curnow, Gibbons

You don't slam a guy's head into the ground. Our team is comprised of kids, and if side like WC or Collingwood did tha to some of the young ones, you would lose your mind. Got the right wack. Pretty ordinary tackle actually.

He did not deliberately slam Powell's head into the ground, that was not his intention. It was not a sling tackle and was an accident of the game, it happens. By the rules of the game, you are allowed to tackle, and don't give me "Duty of Care" crap either, there are too many variables to apply a "Duty of Care". It is a workplace term where you can provide safe work practices over situations you can fully control.

No, I do not like seeing players get hurt but accidents happen in a contact sport. Fisher got slung tackled against Collingwood last season and was awarded a free kick, Sidebottom got off with a fine. In this case no free kick was given, no dangerous tackle was called, it was an accident, but still 2 weeks applied for a tackle due to it's outcome?

Plenty of vision of both tackles on the chook lotto thread.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...n-losses-cripps-docherty-20190415-p51eg0.html

This better not be ******* true.

If it is, only winning will be acceptable. It would look like round 2 last year.
If Carlton play Lobbe and Kruz on Sunday I will be migrating over to the sack Bolts camp, because it shows a complete lack of understanding of the modern game. I will be unhappy enough if Casbolt remains his spot and we play 4 talls.

I would be fascinated to know why Kennedy dropped down the pecking order over the summer. Kennedy is the big bodied mid we need to stiffen up our midfield. If the hitout is to where Cripps isn't able to impact the stoppage we seem to always lose the clearance. Surely he should have been given a chance in the JLT

Might regret it. Blues will win by 19 points.

This caught me by surprise, I actually re-ready it to be sure... Moods with some positivity!

In fairness he was the travelling emergency last weekend, but I do get what you're saying. Seems like his last couple of injuries this year have been fairly small and random in nature, the last one being a corked quad, which is much better than a year ago with his bung ankle from R1 Q1 and coming off dual shoulder surgery. If he's fit I'd be happy to see him named, I don't want to see us (aside from Cripps) getting physically bullied in the middle by Bont, Libba, Wallis, Dunkley, Macrae, etc.

If Carlton play Lobbe and Kruz on Sunday I will be migrating over to the sack Bolts camp, because it shows a complete lack of understanding of the modern game. I will be unhappy enough if Casbolt remains his spot and we play 4 talls.

I would be fascinated to know why Kennedy dropped down the pecking order over the summer. Kennedy is the big bodied mid we need to stiffen up our midfield. If the hitout is to where Cripps isn't able to impact the stoppage we seem to always lose the clearance. Surely he should have been given a chance in the JLT
You can't be an expert and not know the facts at the same time. It just looks silly. Maybe do some research on Kennedy.

Kreuzer played 84 minutes in the reserves. Casboult is more than capable of covering the remaining 35 minutes.

I would be genuinely hurt if Kreuzer/Lobbe happened.

Though he wasn't bad, i'd go back to dropping Casboult for a smaller player and go back to the 3 talls.
McKay can go back to pinch hitting in the ruck to assist Kreuz.

IN: Kreuzer, Cunners, Kennedy
OUT: Lobbe, Casboult, Setterfield

If Cunners not ready, i would actually like to see Garlett in and playing forward, though I know he probably won't as he's playing half back.