Autopsy Round 1, 2021 = Pies 53-69 Dogs

I didn't think he was okay, but I won't quibble too much, because who am I to deprive a man of a pinhole of light amidst the gloom of our despair?
Very kind of you, sir.

JDG is fine, absolutely not worried about him at all. We came up against the best midfield in the comp by a long way and it showed with the lack of experience we had running through the guts. Adams coming off a short PS, Pendles had a bad night, wasn't just him.

JDG will play a 50/50 split, he still had 3 shots on goals, he kicks those 3 you say he had a good game. What's best for the team is him playing that role as well. We are incredibly thin through the midfield now (lost Treloar and Beams of recent years) and Pendles is 34 now. Greenwood is past it as his time as a grunt mid and we were without Sidebottom as well. 1 game, I back JDG to bounce back.

I would've thought Daicos would have been better having those extra minutes, as opposed to De Goey? Even if De Goey had kicked those goals, he just looked spent at different times throughout the night. Maybe just the longer quarters making everyone look that way.

I'll leave it there anyway, as the autopsy is still pretty fresh.

:)

Fumble, fumble , missed tackle, dropped mark , fumble, missed target, dropped mark
- and lose by 16 points to a team being tipped to finish Top 4.
I think Bevo would be more concerned at their lack of ability to smash us, given their dominance, than celebrating the win.
As others have said, take our chances and we probably win - despite the fumble, fumble etc etc.
Our defence will keep us in games but we need to take our chances, and I doubt we have a poorer game skill wise this season.

Who had the dogs in the top 4? Finals yeah but they aren't making to 4. Richmond, Port, Brisbane are a lock in. So that leaves 1 spot. Probably cats or west coast take that one.

In what fantasy world do you expect a Coach in his final year of his contract- to experiment and kill his chances of a new contact
Of course he’s doing it for his job - it’s completely understandable, and if you were in the same position you’d do the same.
You are clearly saying that Bucks cares more about his job in the short term than he does about building a team that could win a flag for Collingwood in the future.
Spinny... I never thought it would be YOU of all people who would so concisely spell out why we need a new coach now... not at the end of another wasted year. Well done!
Ps... NO... I love Collingwood... if I was a failed coach after 10 years... I'd be brave, show I was doing the right thing by the clubs future with who I played and how I coached.. or move myself on.

This is going to be a bit negative but after that performance tonight there is nothing really positive. Honestly very worrying we were atrocious and lucky it was only 3 goals. 53 points in a game which the AFL has done everything to allow you to score. Some of the players are just not good enough. This year if there is no turn around and I am a Buckley lover but geez you can't serve up this every week unfortunately this may be his last year.

Absolute stinkers tonight
- Grundy
- Hoskin Elliott
- Maynard
- JT
- Ruscoe

Poor

- Rest of team

Exceptional
- Moore

The sad part is not only did we get beaten up in general play all game , we also got no run and carry out of any our half backs
Crisp, Noble, IQ, Maynard all did not overlap run all game

I also wonder whose idea it is to not have Daicos on his wing and prefer Noble and Tyler Brown?

There’s giving up and accepting reality. honestly name anything good about tonight’s game other than Moore and our defence holding the floodgates for the 100th time? What’s changed over the offseason? nothing, we are going backwards

Had we played at anywhere near our best, and lost I’d be very very concerned.
Do we win if we take our chances tonight?

I reckon Cox had a very solid game. Would have had three goals if Elliott had given that must-give handball instead of being selfish. Checkers was solid too. I think the rule changes will really help Cox thus season.

Our problems are our small-medium forwards and midfield, our game plan and glacially-slow ball movement.

Darcy Cameron arguably deserved to play tonight after a very good pre-season. Three talls up forward would have really tested Dogs undersized defence.

I would've thought Daicos would have been better having those extra minutes, as opposed to De Goey? Even if De Goey had kicked those goals, he just looked spent at different times throughout the night. Maybe just the longer quarters making everyone look that way.

I'll leave it there anyway, as the autopsy is still pretty fresh.

:)

Mate, who ****ing knows where Daicos was tonight (Bucks peanut), I agree he should be but not at the expense of JDG. Daicos doesn't have a big enough frame as of yet, his class is more needed for the outside. And yeah, thought everyone got sloppy towards the end.

You are clearly saying that Bucks cares more about his job in the short term than he does about building a team that could win a flag for Collingwood in the future.
Spinny... I never thought it would be YOU of all people who would so concisely spell out why we need a new coach now... not at the end of another wasted year. Well done!
Ps... NO... I love Collingwood... if I was a failed coach after 10 years... I'd be brave, show I was doing the right thing by the clubs future with who I played and how I coached.. or move myself on.

please tell me which Coach in his last year of contract has not Coached to save his job.
You are in a fantasy world if you think otherwise.

They are good.
We can be better.
My band is playing tomorrow
We ask for the kids to be played
Ruscoe
Fringe Henry
JRoughead
S Coventry
2018 we lost the first 2.
Coventry returned and we won 4 in a row
Jack Dyer pooed his pants

Had we played at anywhere near our best, and lost I’d be very very concerned.
Do we win if we take our chances tonight?
What is our best? Sorry mate, that’s just excuses. Rich play their brand every single week, good teams do. This “we didn’t play our best” excuse only cuts it for teams that aren’t good enough. Take the blinkers off mate, that performance was exactly what we dished up most of last season. It’s Groundhog Day all over again in a new season. Winds of change are needed. I said before the game I can’t see is kicking 10Goals, and we got exactly that.

I’m no Buckley fan, but that was a very odd game and not one I would use to pot him.

I don’t remember a single game where a team has gone at 46 possessions per goal and won. The way the dogs played was yuck the key for me was we allowed them to do it through a lack of workrate and pressure around the ball. We on the other hand looked pretty fluid when we got our hands on it. With the way we moved it if we had a 150 possession differential we win by 10 goals. MagpieJoel was right it felt like a blowout loss, but there was enough there from a system POV to not be too concerned. That’s not to pot the Bulldogs because I think they’ll tighten that up.

The scariest thing for me is that was the precise performance I was worried about triggering a return to our stodgy over possessing worst. The easiest way to counter that amount of ball to your opposition is to slow the game go backwards and sideways. That’s the last thing we want.

We have an unbalanced list 11 or 12 players on our list who have not played a senior game.
We have Ruscoe who has played 6 or so , Henry and Keane one each and Cameron an maybe 5 games. Kelly one
Tony Shaw to his credit in his last year blooded all the kids. in his last year
Buckley is still persisting with Thomas WHE Roughead . same burnt out players
Our commitee should grow some bulls sack Buckley and Sanderson , and put Harvey as interim coach until the end of the year with the objective of giving at least 10 of these kids a go this year

Disappointing to get jumped early and essentially lose by the margin we trailed by 4 minutes into the game. I could rant and rave and analyse why, but at the end of the day it looks as though we're set for more of the same in 2021. Our backline will continue to be the anchor of the side, while our forward line will ultimately be our downfall. Never gonna win a game of footy when you get comprehensively beaten in disposals, inside 50's and contested possessions. Here's how I saw it:

Darcy Moore - Outstanding. Without him tonight, we lose by 6-7 goals easily. I hope opposition supporters who have done nothing but give him shit finally pull their heads in.

Brayden Maynard - Always give it his all, can hold his head up tonight.

Scott Pendlebury - Good without being great. These are the sort of games I expect from Pendles to round out his career. It's time for someone to step up so we don't need to rely on him to get 30+ every week.

John Noble - Started off really well. Probably got a bit quiet through the middle patch but finished strong.

Jack Crisp - Sort of crept up on me stats wise. Solid contribution.

Jeremy Howe - Another who was good without being great. Hopefully builds into the season and continues to control the airways with Darcy.

Jack Madgen - Not a fan, but he wasn't our worst. 19 disposals is tidy, there's just something about him that doesn't get it done for me.

Brodie Grundy - I love Brodie, but he seems to have lost his fire. Doesn't seem to have that same aggression that saw him hit massive heights in 2018.

Jordan De Goey - Surprised a little bit by the sort of game he played. If he converted, he would've finished with 16 disposals and 3 goals, but that's still not maximising his full potential imo. I think we need to be aiming for him to have 25+ disposals as a mid every game because he makes things happen and he makes the opposition react. Just wish we had two of him.

Mason Cox - Think people need to get over hating him tbh. Probably gets man handled a little bit too much (eg. Bailey Williams is giving away 25cm and Coxy still isn't clunking them), but he's far from our biggest worry in that forward line.

Brodie Mihocek - Just works all day, up and down, left and right. Like Cox, definitely isn't our biggest worry up front.

Jordan Roughead - Roughy just does Roughy things. Like any good full back, he's no frills, and just goes about his business.

Isaac Quaynor - Still learning, wasn't terrible.

Jamie Elliott - Felt like he did more than he did. Seems lively in comparison to our other small forwards, but still sometimes leaves a bit to be desired.

Tyler Brown - Stats say he had 13 disposals, I barely noticed him and would've guess he had no more than 10.

Josh Thomas - Just strikes me as a guy who is so desperate to stay in the side that he's more interested in padding his stats. Had some pretty ordinary moments that cost goals against and sent opportunities begging.

Will Hoskin Elliott - Hasn't looked threatening since 2018. Got absolutely no answers and goes missing far too often.

Taylor Adams - Way under what we need from him. Given the Bulldogs plethora of star mids, it was always gonna be hard. Made even harder by the attention he copped.

Brayden Sier - Genuinely wonder if he's got the passion to make it at the level. I haven't given up hope yet, but time is running out.

Josh Daicos - Now this one stunned me. Has a breakout year as a wingman, spends most of Round 1 wasting away in the forward line. I'm gonna put this down to Bucks identifying that our small forwards are witches hats and was hoping someone with Daics' talent might be able to spark something.

Trey Ruscoe - Not much to say really. I can't help but feel that this is a bit Rusling 2.0, minus the injury ravaged career.

Ollie Henry - I won't go after him, it's great for him to debut in Round 1 of his first season on a list, but we essentially played a man down by playing him. He looked out of his depth in the pre-season game, looked it again tonight.

Did you watch the game? there is no chance bucks can be defended, if he had any credibility he would hand in the reigns now. This team is going nowhere, sooner changes are made the better
Hi Folks

Totally agree with the previous post from "STORMSKY" in relation to both Buckley's coaching & selection.

Same old; same old mediocrity under Buckley! He is almost in "cadaver" state! Hopefully Graham Wright will earn his money & start the transition to a new & better coach ASAP.

No forward line & once again for the last 5 years, NO KEY FORWARDS!

No key forwards & made worse by no recruitment of them in the recent drafts except 1 skinny kid!

Lack of pace all over the ground which has not been helped by the departures of Treloar, Phillips & to a lesser extent, Stephenson. We are now a very slow team!

Grundy atrocious all night so far! Really is he worth 1 million per year?

Getting destroyed out of the centre in terms of centre clearances.

Ruscoe simply not good enough for AFL standard. Lucky to get a game in one of the better Melbourne competitions such as the Northern Football League or THE Eastern Football League. He is a total indictment on the depth & quality of our list. In fact I think that the current list is in the worst shape since 1997/97/99. More to come in that later.

The sooner Round 23 comes & Buckley is gone the better. He is an absolute joke as a coach.

Treloar killing us.

Ladder position most likely between 12 to v 16 at the end of 2021.

Hoskin-Elliott simply not good enough & is terrified of physical contact. In fact the overall team lacks not only speed but physicality.

De Goey not earning his money.

All in all a great start to 2021!!!!!!!!! Methinks not.

Simply a total clean-out is required - including all assistant coaches such as Harvey, Sanderson, etc, etc - but I have been saying that for the last 6 years. And why do we not have a dedicated ruck coach? And nothing has been done. Best thing is to end up in the bottom 4 to get some elite draft choices for 2022.

What a disgrace. Do not get fixated on the margin. Without Darcy Moore we would have lost by 6 to 7 goals. He is the only shining light in the team.

Most people here will not like the above but I truly believe it. I will be switching soon onto the NRL!

Good luck & goodnight.

I reckon Cox had a very solid game. Would have had three goals if Elliott had given that must-give handball instead of being selfish. Checkers was solid too. I think the rule changes will really help Cox thus season.

Our problems are our small-medium forwards and midfield, our game plan and glacially-slow ball movement.

Darcy Cameron arguably deserved to play tonight after a very good pre-season. Three talls up forward would have really tested Dogs undersized defence.

Agree, but unfortunately playing Cameron to stretch and undersized dogs backline would mean actually having a ‘strategy’, which is too far fetched for our coaching staff, let alone selecting Cameron over stars by the names of Will Hoskin Elliot or Josh Thomas.

What is our best? Sorry mate, that’s just excuses. Rich play their brand every single week, good teams do. This “we didn’t play our best” excuse only cuts it for teams that aren’t good enough. Take the blinkers off mate, that performance was exactly what we dished up most of last season. It’s Groundhog Day all over again in a new season. Winds of change are needed. I said before the game I can’t see is kicking 10Goals, and we got exactly that.

if you’re suggesting horrendous skill errors like tonight were typical of 2020, then you’re wrong. You don’t finish sixth playing like tonight - you finish bottom 4.

If I make a comment am I going to cop the usual abuse?
Been saying it for ages about bucks, the game plan and poor recruiting but consistently got shouted down. I actually watch the game and look at it from all angles despite what others think.
I just get emotional about the pies but not this year. It’s not worth it, the club is not interested in doing the right thing and moving forward, they want to same old same old and expect different results. Game plan, playing WHE and JT and not getting a forward to help Cox.

The board will not move on Bucks during the year as they don’t have the guts to do it. They were controlled by Ed and have no backbone of their own.

It’s going to be a very long time before we are even close to a GF again. I’m just tired of the same crap.

I feel like I should be saying I'm angry and disappointed with such a lacklustre performance first up, but the little voice in my head is whispering that this level of football might be our new reality for a while until our structures and rotations shake themselves out, which in turn might unfortunately take a bit longer than anyone was hoping based on how we looked tonight.

It is what it is, we're on a different path now with our off-season changes so we'll just have to buckle up and see where the ride takes us.

Autopsy Round 1, 2021 = Pies 53-69 Dogs