Game Day Round 10: Collingwood v Carlton, Sunday 21 May, 3.20pm

Not sure about today, always nervous when it’s against the blues, there’s no better feeling then beating them. I’m am sure the coaching team will have the boys primed and ready to face a fired up Carlton after being smashed by the media all week.
Will settle in on the couch with some beers to settle the nerves and see what we can produce for a Sunday arvo.
A win today and we more than likely get to 11-1 before king’s birthday.

Nah really? Sounds odd if true.

Melbourne are the most overrated team in the comp.
They haven't beaten a top 4 team since they won their flag.

0-6 against Geel, Syd and Coll last year + straight sets in finals
0-2 against Bris and Port as current in form top 4 teams this season

Their only win against a decent team this year was against the Bulldogs in round 1, who were clearly still on holidays.

Will be settling in to watch at 1:40pm where I am with time to kill waiting to start the journey home. BTW, had Mitch Golby and Josh Walker on our trip. Good guys who partied hard and golfed badly.
Where are you?

I still have that Bad Feeling for Todays Game

Frankly, you shouldn’t.

Carlton was pantsed by Adelaide after the most unconvincing 3 wins and a draw start to the first 4 rounds. They then had an opportunity to “bounce back” against the Saints but only showed up for a half. They belted a bunch of witches’ hats in Perth, and are given a prime opportunity to show it they’re finals material against the Lions on a Friday night, but only turned up for the first and last (when the game was over) quarters and were soundly beaten. The criticism increased and another opportunity was given to answer the critics in a game against a contending team in the Dogs, only to stink it up with 1 goal to half time.

Pretty sure all the opportunities to prove they are a top 8 team have been provided and they have failed on each occasion.

So unless Fly and the players elect to use the game to switch magnets and trial new things which may, as a consequence, keep Carlton within a few goals, this should be a stroll based on form to date.

This game is a worry because of the incredible media pile on that Carlton has suffered during the week.I’ve never seen anything like it.

You’d think that this was a grand final for Carlton the way the media has been hyping this game up for them.The reality is that it’s just a mid season game between first amd ninth on the ladder,and Carlton’s season will not be over even if they do lose this game.

But the media has portrayed this as a do or die game for Carlton,and that’s what’s got me concerned.They will come out all guns blazing today.If there’s any complacency on our part today then we could be in trouble in this game.

Frankly, you shouldn’t.

Carlton was pantsed by Adelaide after the most unconvincing 3 wins and a draw start to the first 4 rounds. They then had an opportunity to “bounce back” against the Saints but only showed up for a half. They belted a bunch of witches’ hats in Perth, and are given a prime opportunity to show it they’re finals material against the Lions on a Friday night, but only turned up for the first and last (when the game was over) quarters and were soundly beaten. The criticism increased and another opportunity was given to answer the critics in a game against a contending team in the Dogs, only to stink it up with 1 goal to half time.

Pretty sure all the opportunities to prove they are a top 8 team have been provided and they have failed on each occasion.

So unless Fly and the players elect to use the game to switch magnets and trial new things which may, as a consequence, keep Carlton within a few goals, this should be a stroll based on form to date.
The ladder often has no bearing on games between ess, Carlton and Coll. All clubs generally fire up when they play each other. This season is very even, 5% off your game and you can lose to anyone

I really don’t get the derm worship. For the occasional bit of wisdom one has to contend with him speaking slowly and repeating each point multiple times because he loves the sound of his own voice so much. I have to listen only because it’s fascinating hearing the self adoration.

I can’t stand listening to Dermie. His commentary is turgid and often incomprehensible. I groan when I turn the footy on and it’s Dermie. Genial guy, pleasant enough, but impossible to listen to.

Dermie is a word salad specialist. Meaning is a foreign concept and perhaps even irrelevant as he bombards the airwaves with drivel.

Apart from good footy his best achievement was running through the Essendon huddle.
I think Dermie's command of the English language is.............. "unique?". I remember him giving a bit of an eulogy post match regarding a Hawthorn personality who had passed. I can't remember who but Dermie's choice of words was something to behold. He extolled the generosity of the man calling him an "anthropologist" instead of a philanthropist.
Gotta love Dermie

Have I woken up in opposite land where every collingwood supporter i meet in the wild thinks we are going to lose today? If anyone needs two tickets, PM me, and ill forward them. Shame to see them go to waste. Missus is Geelong, and crook on last night, so we are having a "no footy" day today 🙄