Autopsy Round 11, 2023: St.Kilda v Hawthorn

Didn’t deserve to win at all, but being 20 points up late in the last and Higgins dropping the World Cup, that was our game to lose.

Just on higgins, he is the most overrated footballer I’ve seen. Kicks cheap goals, doesn’t chase or tackle and is so selfish. When he took that mark in the second quarter, he obviously wasn’t right to take the shot on goal with his finger dislocated, instead of Doing the team thing and giving it to someone else, he rushes a kick and misses, then runs straight off.

Our midfield is deplorable, can’t knock Rowans work around the ground, but was slaughtered in the ruck contests again. Steele obviously not right, so shouldn’t be playing, crouch you know what you get, but he is no star. I’ve had enough of pick and chose when I want to go seb Ross. Unfortunately Clark’s body just can’t handle the rigours of afl footy. And I’m happy for gresh to walk, he doesn’t get the job done when the whips are cracking, it’s got to be on his terms, and even then, his ball use is horrific.

I’m sick of watching dougal flounder around, I thought stocker was our best player, he’s limited, but rarely loses one on one contest. I also think Paton gets a bad wrap, he definitely wasn’t our worst today.
Nasiahs last month has been fantastic, and sincs wasn’t himself today.

I’m starting to get a bit irritated with Ross attitude. He is the master of deflecting in press conferences, and has no real plan b in the box.

Lmao, RTB presser is out

Ross acted like the loss was no big deal, he should be made to come on big footy and read the game day thread and the Autopsy thread and see that supporters expect more from our coaches and our team.

Keep saying it, but if we keep rolling with the same old midfield we have for years surely we can't expect to become anything better than a middling side?

Apparently Seb is doing something right, did someone can explain to me what it is I'd be appreciative.

Need an injection of youth and pave in there and I'm not sold just moving Sincalir into the midfield is the answer

We need 6 Sinclairs. Crouch worked hard but the rest are shit. I'd be chasing mids as an absolute priority. They have lost all the effort that made them competitive at the start of the year. Trade Steele out, he's not going to be here for the next Premiership and we might get a couple of picks for him. Spend them at the draft. No more dreams of recycled saviours. We don't need anymore cherries on the vanilla pudding.

Ross acted like the loss was no big deal, he should be made to come on big footy and read the game day thread and the Autopsy thread and see that supporters expect more from our coaches and our team.

Im sure there’s a public comment and then an internal comment.

My 6 year old has a new name for Dougal Howard - Doodle Coward. I'm having trouble disagreeing.

Funny as it is, Dougal (and for the rest of that matter, all of our defence) is no coward if we're seriously being critical of Doogs. He might be slow, have the turning circle of a jumbo jet but he does go when he needs to.

We need 6 Sinclairs. Crouch worked hard but the rest are s**t. I'd be chasing mids as an absolute priority. They have lost all the effort that made them competitive at the start of the year. Trade Steele out, he's not going to be here for the next Premiership and we might get a couple of picks for him. Spend them at the draft. No more dreams of recycled saviours. We don't need anymore cherries on the vanilla pudding.
FMD, only a few weeks back you were telling us how we weren't far off bow ya want to trade Steel

Maybe we should stage a walkout. They might get it then.

Didn’t deserve to win at all, but being 20 points up late in the last and Higgins dropping the World Cup, that was our game to lose.

Just on higgins, he is the most overrated footballer I’ve seen. Kicks cheap goals, doesn’t chase or tackle and is so selfish. When he took that mark in the second quarter, he obviously wasn’t right to take the shot on goal with his finger dislocated, instead of Doing the team thing and giving it to someone else, he rushes a kick and misses, then runs straight off.

Our midfield is deplorable, can’t knock Rowans work around the ground, but was slaughtered in the ruck contests again. Steele obviously not right, so shouldn’t be playing, crouch you know what you get, but he is no star. I’ve had enough of pick and chose when I want to go seb Ross. Unfortunately Clark’s body just can’t handle the rigours of afl footy. And I’m happy for gresh to walk, he doesn’t get the job done when the whips are cracking, it’s got to be on his terms, and even then, his ball use is horrific.

I’m sick of watching dougal flounder around, I thought stocker was our best player, he’s limited, but rarely loses one on one contest. I also think Paton gets a bad wrap, he definitely wasn’t our worst today.
Nasiahs last month has been fantastic, and sincs wasn’t himself today.

I’m starting to get a bit irritated with Ross attitude. He is the master of deflecting in press conferences, and has no real plan b in the box.

Howard is starting to become a massive liability but it's the midfield putting them under pressure not the defence. Stocker does some good and some absolute shit.

I thought Crouch was really good and probably our best. Nas stepped up again but there weren't many that looked like they gave a shit

Game should have been over at half time....to Hawks and us with 10 min to go....that's footy I suppose.
Hawks played plus one behind the ball and then spread better than us. They have a group of young players who will only get better in a year or two.

They moved on great servants Gunston, Mitchell et al and hit the draft. Have an eerie feeling we need to do the same. Clearly, we are not quick enough on the spread outside.
Also, anyone who thinks Caminti or Sharman should be played ahead of Membrey just go away.

So often we contested a ball with King Caminti and Sharman in the same pack. We seem to keep better width and a less cluttered forward line with Membrey....experience over the new shiny bauble.

Think Billings might have been a better sub than Sharman and with Clarke going down was probably worse case scenario for us.

Think Ross needs either a new role or play at Sandy....replaced by Owens. Hill should be moved on at season end and Membrey should play for Sharman who should also go at year end.

Can't help but think that again we are missing McKenzie and for that matter Jones....for speed, hardness and sticking tackles.

Hope to see Hotton this year and hope he is quick and skilled as this is what Hawks have and it is what we need and some as well.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

So despite having Max King, Mitch Owens ( not this game ) , Windhager, Phillipou ....

RTB is no better than Ratten who was no better than Richo.

At least under those guys the players usually waited until the bye to check out for the season.

So early on in the year when Cordy was our whipping boy wouldn't it have made sence today to have him as the sub, Atleast he could of either played back and gave Battle a longer run up forward or played the defensive role on Sicily that he had been given credit for before during the year. 🤷‍♂️

Steele is more than likely playing hurt - no excuse but he doesn’t look right out there
Why the * have we been persisting with a s**t lineup for the last 2 months. A year of exploration is not a year where you stick with the same underperforming players week after week
Funny to say but the moment we went 4-0 with an injury riddled team was when the expectations changed and the decision making was probably impacted to direct to the safe option.

Go 4-0 and look at our fixture, finals was on the cards - better play safe. Play injured players, stop exploring, play seniors over kids despite form, because its the best chance for finals. Play the same game plans etc the list goes on. Selection integrity out the window.

It was a false dawn, should have stuck to what we were doing when we thought we would be losing games like dockers/dogs

Certainly not defending the midfield but it’s gotta be disheartening watching your work undone by Gresh, Higgins and Butler over and over.
Higgins has been very good all year
Butler hasn’t been to bad either

IMO our midfield got taken to cleaners
Put the loss on the lack of midfield and leadership today

I thought he was a bit better but the rest of them joined him in being shithouse. I'd drop them all if we had replacements. Some of the most lazy pissweak efforts I've seen. Should cancel their week off and flog them. Any player that gets found out in the review can stay at the club and put in extra.
Watched Seb at least 3 times bomb it inside 50 straight to the Hawks . But you’re right Steele no better

Higgins has been very good all year
Butler hasn’t been to bad either

IMO our midfield got taken to cleaners
Put the loss on the lack of midfield and leadership today
Higgins has kicked goals but frankly something about him has always rubbed me up the wrong way. Does absolutely nothing defensively and save for the last few weeks loves nothing more than missing momentum sapping set shots.

Butler always works his ass off so I have a hard time critiquing even his bad games but Higgins twice today shit the bed once to ice it.

I hate them all right now. I'm not rational.
I feel ya mate. Half way through the 11 hour round trip and this happens to me every time I come down.

The worst for me is watching the same old midfield offer up the same old crap. It's time to look past it.

Need to throw Windhager and Owens in there after the bye. Would rather lose with young mids than with the same old shit that has got us nowhere for years.

Also, anyone who thinks Caminti or Sharman should be played ahead of Membrey just go away.

I would play Caminiti in front of Membrey but then again i would play Membrey without fail but as a defender.

Would happily go in with an undersized backline if it meant he could replace Howard.

Sharman i have sold my shares. Looked great in his first four games but now not so much.

A kid died today after a minor incident in a country u18s game.

Puts today’s loss into perspective.

Autopsy Round 11, 2023: St.Kilda v Hawthorn