Prediction Round 12, 2024: Changes vs St Kilda

According to weatherzone the rain isn't coming on Saturday until after 5pm when the game will already be over.
Different forecasters seem to have different predictions, checked about three including BOM, all say heavy rain in arvo, 5-25 mm and strong winds.
But whatever, as the forecasting changes continually, the team has trained in the rain and it'll be a slog for metres anyway possible (As Cuzz09 says)

I'd like to see

In: Flynn, Pettrucelle, Hall
Out: J Williams, Withereden/Rotham depending on fitness, JJones

Sheed on thin ice
J Williams unlucky
Flynn wasn't on restricted minutes in the WAFL, as long as he pulls up OK I'm happy putting him straight in.

Out: Witherden (inj), Sheed, Ryan (rocket), Maric (unlucky)
In: Petruccelle, Culley, Trew, Burgiel

Backs: Barrass, Gov, Rotham, Duggan, Hough, Cole, Hunt
Mids: Yeo, Kelly, Reid, Trew, Ginbey, Chesser
Rucks: Williamses
Forwards: Waterman, Darling, Culley, Cripps, Petruccelle, Dewar, Jones
Sub: Burgiel
Emergencies: Gaff, Hedwards, Maric

Reward those with good WAFL form at the expense of a couple of guys who coasted last week.

Good chance to give Burgiel a taste of senior footy as the sub. Or Hall, but he hasn’t played any footy for two weeks so I’d rather he get a full game. Burgiel’s played a few different roles at WAFL level so he provides a bit of flexibility as sub.

Dewar into the 22, pretty much in place of Ryan.

Maric misses out due to the weather.

Give Flynn one more run in the WAFL.

Id go shorter tbh.

Out: Maric, J Williams, Witho, Sheed, JJ
In: Flynn, Culley, Trew, Petch, Hall

Hough Barrass Rotham
Duggan Gov Hunt

Chesser Kelly Ginbey

Petch Darling Cripps
Dewar Waterman Ryan

Ruck: Flynn, Yeo, Ried

Bench: Trew, BWilliams, Culley, Cole

Sub: Hall

• Culley to play that forward role
  • BWilliams to play ruck/forward
  • Trew inside mid

Reward those with good WAFL form at the expense of a couple of guys who coasted last week.

Good chance to give Burgiel a taste of senior footy as the sub. Or Hall, but he hasn’t played any footy for two weeks so I’d rather he get a full game. Burgiel’s played a few different roles at WAFL level so he provides a bit of flexibility as sub.

Ryan being omitted? I wouldn't have thought so. It was his disposal last week rather than his endeavor that let him down. Same with JJ. I thought both provided some good attack on the ball and speed but unfortunately their disposal was up to shit. I'd expect it from JJ but not Ryan.
He will be given time to get back to his best, so long as the effort is there and I thought last week, it was.

Ryan being omitted? I wouldn't have thought so. It was his disposal last week rather than his endeavor that let him down. Same with JJ. I thought both provided some good attack on the ball and speed but unfortunately their disposal was up to shit. I'd expect it from JJ but not Ryan.
He will be given time to get back to his best, so long as the effort is there and I thought last week, it was.

Maybe I’m being harsh on him, but I thought when he didn’t have the ball he just looked to be cruising, not putting any pressure on. Particularly in the first half, before he got shifted to the backline.

Not sure where the JJ outs are coming from.
In a game we were quite deplorable in, particularly pressure and attack on the man he was the equal leading tackler on the ground. Ran all day trying to pressure the kicker where he could and was around the contest a lot more than many other players.
After a display like last week there should be at least 6 on the chopping block before him, probably more.

I like Maric but I don't think it will be unlucky if he misses. Was terrible last week and hasn't exactly cemented a spot. Think Culley deserves a chance and will at least provide more forward pressure.

In a game we were quite deplorable in, particularly pressure and attack on the man he was the equal leading tackler on the ground. Ran all day trying to pressure the kicker where he could and was around the contest a lot more than many other players.
After a display like last week there should be at least 6 on the chopping block before him, probably more.
I agree that he should stay this week.

I don't now why his drop punts are so bad though, his action looks fine but he can't seem to judge the depth of his kicks very well.

He's decent depth and has strung good games together in the past (more off HBF from memory).

He gives effort, I'll give you that.
He's just a terrible kick.

Maybe I’m being harsh on him, but I thought when he didn’t have the ball he just looked to be cruising, not putting any pressure on. Particularly in the first half, before he got shifted to the backline.
Hard to tell on TV whats happening off the ball but it seemed to me he was putting in an effort.
I liked the move to HBF. Good to see Simmo trying to pull a few levers to get them going even if it didnt make a great deal of difference.

I agree that he should stay this week.

I don't now why his drop punts are so bad though, his action looks fine but he can't seem to judge the depth of his kicks very well.

He's decent depth and has strung good games together in the past (more off HBF from memory).
Yep must agree with that, do prefer him coming off half back either with the ball to start a chain, not finish one.
Or just creating that spread out of the half back to make the oppo accountable and open the ground up a bit.
He's quick, puts effort in and takes the game on.
With a bit of a continuous run playing hopefully he can clean that disposal up and become a bit of a weapon.

I'd like to see

In: Flynn, Pettrucelle, Hall
Out: J Williams, Withereden/Rotham depending on fitness, JJones

Sheed on thin ice
J Williams unlucky
Flynn wasn't on restricted minutes in the WAFL, as long as he pulls up OK I'm happy putting him straight in.
I reckon the ice has well and truly melted underneath sheed tbh.

Out=
Witho injured?
Sheed

In=
Trew
Culley

For mine rotham is lucky not to get dropped because of withos injury and no point bringing in Harry if it's gonna be very wet so rotham stays and JJ can go back to the backline also. Trew as an inside mid for sheed pretty self explanatory and culley can take jj spot on the forward flank. I'd like to see Dewar play a full game and culley start as sub before going forward.

Maric has been quiet and it's wet so maybe there could be an option to give hj or rawlinson a game in the forward pocket?

If he or the club can't get him a game against saints or north it would be very bizarre. He's entitled to one chance at least with his wafl form this season
Yeah I don’t think Trew makes it at AFL level, seems like a very good stage league player.

But we re-rookied, and our midfield just got spanked, and he had 36 touches and 10 clearances in a win so you sort of have to pick him otherwise what was the point of keeping him on.

Worth a shot in his proper role before he gets delisted.

Yeah I don’t think Trew makes it at AFL level, seems like a very good stage league player.

But we re-rookied, and our midfield just got spanked, and he had 36 touches and 10 clearances in a win so you sort of have to pick him otherwise what was the point of keeping him on.

Worth a shot in his proper role before he gets delisted.
I agree 100%, he prob isn't up to it but we still need integrity from the match committee. sheed out trew in