Preview Round 16: Essendon v Geelong - MCG - Country Game Apparently - Saturday 29th June - 7:30pm

I noticed Scott in the presser made a fairly important remark. He said something along the lines of we are not a team who will smash anyone, we don't really get heavy scoreboard result for periods of dominance because we arnt a team who wants to run forward of the ball to receive a potential or actual fast break, wed rather keep our shape.

This really seems to ring true and answer alot of questions as to why we can't smash poorer teams, it may come into its own come finals time when the teams are all good and coming at us but I'd still feel more comfortable being able to put on some scoreboard heat when we are having our dominant periods.

I reckon it's probably a symptom of us being historically poor at stopping teams run ons or going coast to coast so its been a necessary evil, however I'd say as we become a better team with better foot skills we probably need to open up a bit, trust our mates to win contests and get some score separation while the going is good
Nice pick up.
Sounds credible.
Makes me feel better.

Will be interesting to see if we restructure our Fwd line a bit to get some sort of tagging role on Stewart.

The Cats have been struggling in a few areas notably but him getting shut down and not really being able to shake it off has really hampered them I feel.
We nearly got Barrass a new record for intercept marks - if any team ever can get Tom Stewart back into form, Ladies and Gentlemen - I give you Essendon Footy Club!

Will be interesting to see if we restructure our Fwd line a bit to get some sort of tagging role on Stewart.

The Cats have been struggling in a few areas notably but him getting shut down and not really being able to shake it off has really hampered them I feel.
Guelfi has done a job on a couple of backmen (sicily/Whitfield the main ones that come to mind) so dont think its a massive change to our forward line to have him tag Stewart.

Hopefully we also use this game to get back the mojo in the midfield. Cats without Bruhn and Danger would be one of the worst midfield groups going around.

Guelfi has done a job on a couple of backmen (sicily/Whitfield the main ones that come to mind) so dont think its a massive change to our forward line to have him tag Stewart.

Hopefully we also use this game to get back the mojo in the midfield. Cats without Bruhn and Danger would be one of the worst midfield groups going around.
Bruhn isn't that hot tbh. He's decent sure, but I'd have Bowes, Atkins and Parfitt at a similar level, all of whom are solid 5th/6th mids at best.

They really do need to get some Guns in soon. I'm guessing Clark is their big hope, and they're chasing Bailey Smith too.

Bruhn isn't that hot tbh. He's decent sure, but I'd have Bowes, Atkins and Parfitt at a similar level, all of whom are solid 5th/6th mids at best.

They really do need to get some Guns in soon. I'm guessing Clark is their big hope, and they're chasing Bailey Smith too.
And Clayton Oliver according to some media….

Danger and Cameron are the two we need to put the breaks on. Do that, we win by heaps.

In - Gresham
Out - Menzie

Hind sub. Can’t see Kelly getting omitted since Geelong have a couple medium sized forwards in Rohan and Henry.

We nearly got Barrass a new record for intercept marks - if any team ever can get Tom Stewart back into form, Ladies and Gentlemen - I give you Essendon Footy Club!
Nah. Guelfi was on McGovern because he was more in-form of their two big interceptors and Guelfi shut him down really well. Geelong only have Stewart to shut down.

I noticed Scott in the presser made a fairly important remark. He said something along the lines of we are not a team who will smash anyone, we don't really get heavy scoreboard result for periods of dominance because we arnt a team who wants to run forward of the ball to receive a potential or actual fast break, wed rather keep our shape.

This really seems to ring true and answer alot of questions as to why we can't smash poorer teams, it may come into its own come finals time when the teams are all good and coming at us but I'd still feel more comfortable being able to put on some scoreboard heat when we are having our dominant periods.

I reckon it's probably a symptom of us being historically poor at stopping teams run ons or going coast to coast so its been a necessary evil, however I'd say as we become a better team with better foot skills we probably need to open up a bit, trust our mates to win contests and get some score separation while the going is good
Agree that it is a factor because we are in the early stages of building / fixing the team defence.

Might not have started on the wing at centre bounces but felt like he played up the ground more.
Following the Eagles forward’s. He was 100% playing defence.

I wouldn't say it's a good thing if "keeping your shape" means letting the 16th team kick 92 points on you....

The simple truth is we just aren't a great team, we are a mid team. We are still very much developing in many key areas.

We still have only 1.5 wins against the current top 8. And we have played all but 2 of them.
It is a good thing as fixing the team defence is the goal. Team defence was very ordinary on Sunday along with them being a fraction stronger and cleaner at stoppage.
We have to keep working the defensive transition. That is what has been stopping us from taking the step to wing a final. That is why we are an average team.
I have no issues at all with playing conservative attack while the work on defence. Again.

It is a good thing as fixing the team defence is the goal. Team defence was very ordinary on Sunday along with them being a fraction stronger and cleaner at stoppage.
We have to keep working the defensive transition. That is what has been stopping us from taking the step to wing a final. That is why we are an average team.
I have no issues at all with playing conservative attack while the work on defence. Again.

clearances is a bigger issue for me. the below is pretty alarming against west coast....

I can't remember where west coast scored their goals from but i thought many were from clearances and NOT from transition. Could be wrong though.

1719271330588.png