Preview Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda - Heritage Bank Stadium, Saturday 15th July, 2:10PM AEST *PERIS DEBUT*

Who Wins?

• Suns

Votes: 10 27.0%
  • Saints

Votes: 27 73.0%

If everyone is fit it feels as though we could have 5 guys to come in and only 3 spots to fill in the 22 if you include Byrnes who was very good

In: Higgins, Hill, Battle, Byrnes, Clark?
Out: King, Ross, Cordy
It will be a good problem to have if those 5 are all available.

The ones I see in most jeopardy of losing their spots would be Windy (for Clark), Billings (last in first out, for Hill/Higgins), and Pou (for Hill/Higgins, but don’t see it happening, as we’ll want his aerial ability with King gone).

Very interesting round for ladder positions this week.

Melbourne v Brisbane @ MCG
Sydney v Bulldogs @ SCG
Geelong v Essendon @ GMHBA
Adelaide v Giants @ Adelaide
Carlton v Port @ Marvel
Us v Suns @ Metricon

Win and we could move back up to 5th and potentially be 2 points clear of 6th, lose and we could easily drop right out of the 8.

Windhager stays in he can cover Sinclair which allows him to play midfield, he looked lost in the 1st Q due to new role maybe but got going last 3 Qtrs.
Clark would likewise cover Sinclair and allow him to play midfield. They could both rotate between half back and midfield.

I don't hate him - I just recognise that the form of an undersized third tall who kicks a couple goals playing alongside King and Membrey and 4 in an end of season "exhibition" game isn't the greatest guide to whether a player could effectively can play as a genuine second tall.

And based on his games since 2021, its clear that he can't.

So Caminiti and who this weekend?

He's hardly played and even then been in defence and a running half forward a lot since then. Was at his best when King wasn't playing anyway. He only came in because we'd run out of cattle and outperformed. He's hardly been given a full game forward since 2021.

0_GettyImages-1499274590.jpg

Would be pretty disappointing if we can't find another patch of form from now until the end of the year. These next 3 weeks are do or die. Win them all and we are just about there. Good signs last week despite a lot not going our way.

Gold Coast are very inconsistent and seem to need a lot of things going right for them to win games. Bring last week's effort into this and I'd be pretty confident.

Re Hayes, I went down to Sandy for a while yesterday and watched the game. Sandy are terrible and it's hard to gauge how the Saints players are going as they are way above the Sandy listed players and clearly think and act twice as fast as the Sandy listed guys and there's no chance of any cohesion as a team. Hayes looked pretty puffed after contests and I would reckon he is a couple of games away from the seniors yet. Thought Bytel was the pick of the bunch and Clarke did a few nice things but so did his opponent. Max H is long way off.

If everyone is fit it feels as though we could have 5 guys to come in and only 3 spots to fill in the 22 if you include Byrnes who was very good

In: Higgins, Hill, Battle, Byrnes, Clark?
Out: King, Ross, Cordy

To me Billings and Byrnes are probably up against each other as that high half forward runner. Billings is a reliable old Camry, reliable kick, a bit boring and slow but you know what you'll get. Byrnes is like some young guy's turbo charged Honda Civic, can smoke the tyres, spends time stalled at the lights then goes nuts doing burnouts every now and again.

I have missed Billings weighted passes that draw players to the right spot though, not a lot of players who can do that.

Could Max Heath debut in place of King?

I have missed Billings weighted passes that draw players to the right spot though, not a lot of players who can do that.

Could Max Heath debut in place of King?

Heath looks like a ruck that could drift forward. He has played his best footy as the solo ruck. I think I'd rather go in smaller. We still have Owens and Caminiti up front and with Snags back there is a bit more firepower. Have Cooper Sharman as the third tall who can move up with the play.

Re Hayes, I went down to Sandy for a while yesterday and watched the game. Sandy are terrible and it's hard to gauge how the Saints players are going as they are way above the Sandy listed players and clearly think and act twice as fast as the Sandy listed guys and there's no chance of any cohesion as a team. Hayes looked pretty puffed after contests and I would reckon he is a couple of games away from the seniors yet. Thought Bytel was the pick of the bunch and Clarke did a few nice things but so did his opponent. Max H is long way off.
Interesting observation. I reckon it's harsh to judge anyone coming back from a lay off like Membrey, Clark, Jones , Billings, DMac etc on their output at Sandy.

Sandy are a rabble and look like a ship without a rudder. Should just take it as fitness conditioning when our senior players go round at Sandy. Just hope they get enough touches to put their hand up for selection.

If you wait for them to be BOG at Sandy you'd probably wait forever.

Agree that Sandy is terrible and that the standard of our VFL players makes it hard for our AFL-listed ones to actually put on a show or develop.

But disagree Max H is a long way off.. Don't think he's ready this year but he's making good progress, I like him for next year and beyond.

I'd seen him play a SANFL final before we drafted him. He plays like a puffed-out chest alpha dog. Exactly that type of player that straps the younger guys to his back and carries them up the mountain through the mud. If he could get back and have an impact I think he could be a real finals asset in the absence of Max King.

Cordy was more a selfless decoy than actual asset IMO. He drew the defences away from others and was efficient with his shots but low impact. I think Hayes will always be out the front taking the hits and being the man. Not sure he's a natural decoy.
Who would you say would be his biggest strapon????