Preview Round 18, 2023: Gold Coast v St.Kilda - Heritage Bank Stadium, Saturday 15th July, 2:10PM AEST *PERIS DEBUT*

Who Wins?

• Suns

Votes: 10 27.0%
  • Saints

Votes: 27 73.0%

"Without him we dont get near the opportunities we had forward."

I took that to mean you thought we needed him him more in the ruck because we need as any opportunities inside 50 as we can get.

Again the issue is not whether Marshall is an ordinary forward, its whether he maybe the best option given our lack of available choices.

I'd be happy to play King Cordy or even Battle but none of them are available and as "ordinary" as Marshall may be as a forward, I think he might be a substantially better option than Sharman.

I know you hate Sharman but this is just nonsense. Marshall's best ever return in a season is 13 goals in 19 games with peak Ryder letting him play forward more often- most other years he's averaged around 8 or 9 a season. Sharman in the same year played 3 full games and one at 39% TOG and kicked 10.

If I had a choice between who I'd want as a forward it's not Marshall.

Agreed we are no guarantees to win any of games on the run home. I would be disappointed if we dont play finals, but the chasing pack are coming hard, our percentage has dropped quite a bit and we will need to improve significantly if we are to win enough games to remain in the top 8.

Having Steele back in form helps, plus Jones & Billings back in the side but losing King will leave a hole. Having said that we played our best footy at the start of the year without King, so if someone can step up to fill his role it will be a bonus. Opportunity often creates players and now is the time for a number of likely fill ins to step up. I dont know what Jack Hayes match fitness and AFL readiness is like, but he would be the obvious choice when fit. Otherwise as previously stated I would like to see Moose get a couple of games, to just to give him a taste of the next level.

Although winning games and making finals is important, we shouldnt take our eyes off the future development of players. Particularly when it looks like we are going to be spending on bringing in another ruckman at seasons end, why not see what we already have?

It looked like we had reengaged on the weekend. If we play the rest of the season with that level of commitment and attack we probably stretch any side. If we go back to what we've been like for the last month we probably lose most of the remaining games.

Sometimes a change of personnel can reinvigorate the side. Hopefully that's what we saw on Saturday. I like that with the inclusions we looked a lot stronger around the midfield which has been our Achilles heel for a while now.

Agreed we are no guarantees to win any of games on the run home. I would be disappointed if we dont play finals, but the chasing pack are coming hard, our percentage has dropped quite a bit and we will need to improve significantly if we are to win enough games to remain in the top 8.

Having Steele back in form helps, plus Jones & Billings back in the side but losing King will leave a hole. Having said that we played our best footy at the start of the year without King, so if someone can step up to fill his role it will be a bonus. Opportunity often creates players and now is the time for a number of likely fill ins to step up. I dont know what Jack Hayes match fitness and AFL readiness is like, but he would be the obvious choice when fit. Otherwise as previously stated I would like to see Moose get a couple of games, to just to give him a taste of the next level.

Although winning games and making finals is important, we shouldnt take our eyes off the future development of players. Particularly when it looks like we are going to be spending on bringing in another ruckman at seasons end, why not see what we already have?
Understand you are hesitant but we should win 4 min possibly 5, we showed Saturday that we might be turning the corner again and losing King isn't as big a burden as you think we played with out him for 10 rounds and arguably played our best footy, so i don't think the players fear playing without him knowing they got the wins on the board without him.

No excuse for poor kicking, but some of those bomb kicks into our forward line against the Demons, were in the air quite a bit and if our forwards were watching the ball, then they would have had time to be in a good position to mark, but got caught watching the game or looking at their opponents.

I think we lack a bit on synch in the forward 50. Lots of guys going in all directions and holding their man when they should go and going for the same ball when they should block etc. It's very young and inexperienced in there and that forward craft will develop over time but for now we need a bit more system. They almost need a leader in that zone and get them directing traffic. Jack Hayes would be handy. SANFL captain and a bit of an alpha type.

We look a bit disorganised. Also need some mids to move in and score. Sides like Brisbane get plenty of goals out of mids drifting inside 50.

I was really impressed by how Jones just added that other level of pace and toughness to our midfield on the weekend.

Seems to be the missing cog that we have been searching for in our midfield.

Given our this dimension to our midfield, I feel alot more confident about winning this one.

He's like a tie-dye T shirt in a sea of beige suits at St Kilda. He adds some real POD difference. I thought he made Gresham better too. It meant they had to choose who to mind a lot more. Probably part of the reason that Steele looked better too.

That set up looked a lot more damaging with much less predictability. Sincs, Steele, Jones, Gresham and Crouch with Marshall playing like an extra mid and NAS playing more like Hill moving up to provide run on the outside. It looked super damaging and only really let down by our lack of a forward structure.

In the last month you could see exactly how to contain us. This looked unpredictable and frenetic. I liked it. We attacked instead of tried to stop the opposition.

Thankfully for us, all the teams around us play each other on the run home.

Win this week and get a bit of a run on, we could win the next 5 and actually be in the mix for top 4.

Gc, Hawthorn, North, rich, Carlton. All winnable games. And the hardest of them are all at Marvel.

However, if we lose this weekend it might all. Fall apart.

If we beat Geelong in rnd 22 that would be awesome

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think we lack a bit on synch in the forward 50. Lots of guys going in all directions and holding their man when they should go and going for the same ball when they should block etc. It's very young and inexperienced in there and that forward craft will develop over time but for now we need a bit more system. They almost need a leader in that zone and get them directing traffic. Jack Hayes would be handy. SANFL captain and a bit of an alpha type.

We look a bit disorganised. Also need some mids to move in and score. Sides like Brisbane get plenty of goals out of mids drifting inside 50.
As Ross said a few weeks ago, it's boys v men with our forward line. Hayes would make a big difference because he's a man who won't be pushed around by the bigger and stronger defenders. He might get beaten by them on talent but he won't be pushed around by them.

It's what Cordy was doing to start the year but Hayes is a more natural forward and has the added bonus of being a better ruck option so Marshall can finally take a break.

Thankfully for us, all the teams around us play each other on the run home.

Win this week and get a bit of a run on, we could win the next 5 and actually be in the mix for top 4.

Gc, Hawthorn, North, rich, Carlton. All winnable games. And the hardest of them are all at Marvel.

However, if we lose this weekend it might all. Fall apart.

If we beat Geelong in rnd 22 that would be awesome

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah, this is a great season for the AFL, so many 8 point games running up to finals. Heaps outside the 8 could get a run on and still make an impact. Even the top sides don't look invisible as Lyon said. It would be a great year to come home with a wet sail. There is a premiership there for a side that does a Bulldogs style Bradbury run. And as a wise man once said "Woi not us?"

As Ross said a few weeks ago, it's boys v men with our forward line. Hayes would make a big difference because he's a man who won't be pushed around by the bigger and stronger defenders. He might get beaten by them on talent but he won't be used around by them.

It's what Cody was doing to start the year but Hayes is a more natural forward and has the added bonus of being a better ruck option so Marshall can finally take a break.

I'd seen him play a SANFL final before we drafted him. He plays like a puffed-out chest alpha dog. Exactly that type of player that straps the younger guys to his back and carries them up the mountain through the mud. If he could get back and have an impact I think he could be a real finals asset in the absence of Max King.

Cordy was more a selfless decoy than actual asset IMO. He drew the defences away from others and was efficient with his shots but low impact. I think Hayes will always be out the front taking the hits and being the man. Not sure he's a natural decoy.

I think Hayes is worth considering this week, although I would understand if they wanted him to play more games for Sandy before being considered.

Battle needs to come in if fit. As does Hill. They come in for Cordy and Ross.

Higgins needs to come in, but not necessarily for King. Was Billings additive on the weekend? He was fine IMO. But our leading goalkicker needs to come into the side if fit.

And then there is Hunter Clark, who I'd like to see in the side.

I think Hayes is worth considering this week, although I would understand if they wanted him to play more games for Sandy before being considered.

Higgins needs to come in, but not necessarily for King. Was Billings additive on the weekend? He was fine IMO. But our leading goalkicker needs to come into the side if fit.

We have some big calls to make. Hill and Higgins come straight back in. Battle for Cordy if fit. I thought Billings ball use made a difference but getting Hill back perhaps that's offset.

That forward line set up is going to be really interesting. Owens looks better as a third tall than KP and is Caminiti going to be able to carry the whole forward line? Highmore as a third tall back and Battle into the forwards? We are getting a bit thin for talls right now.

I know you hate Sharman but this is just nonsense. Marshall's best ever return in a season is 13 goals in 19 games with peak Ryder letting him play forward more often- most other years he's averaged around 8 or 9 a season. Sharman in the same year played 3 full games and one at 39% TOG and kicked 10.

If I had a choice between who I'd want as a forward it's not Marshall.
I don't hate him - I just recognise that the form of an undersized third tall who kicks a couple goals playing alongside King and Membrey and 4 in an end of season "exhibition" game isn't the greatest guide to whether a player could effectively can play as a genuine second tall.

And based on his games since 2021, its clear that he can't.

So Caminiti and who this weekend?

We have some big calls to make. Hill and Higgins come straight back in. Battle for Cordy if fit. I thought Billings ball use made a difference but getting Hill back perhaps that's offset.

That forward line set up is going to be really interesting. Owens looks better as a third tall than KP and is Caminiti going to be able to carry the whole forward line? Highmore as a third tall back and Battle into the forwards? We are getting a bit thin for talls right now.
Battle is the better match-up for Lukosius so at least this week, we need to keep him in defence.

Sounds a bit silly but it feels like season on the line this weekend and I really hope the coaches and players prepare like that. If we regress again and lose this game I cant see us playing finals.

If we play with the urgency we did on the weekend and hopefully execute a bit better then we should be beating Gold Coast in their current form. If we are a serious side we win this game and set ourselves up to lock in a finals place over the next month. The coaches must see the opportunity of the next block of games and I hope are drilling into the players the importance of being well prepared and switched on.

KP?

Billings was in good spots open in the forward line quite a bit. That’s going to be even more important moving fostered. I think he stays.

It's a big ask to come straight in after one VFL game in 14 months.

If they think he's ready I'm all for it, but it's probably still a week or two off I'd reckon

I'd seen him play a SANFL final before we drafted him. He plays like a puffed-out chest alpha dog. Exactly that type of player that straps the younger guys to his back and carries them up the mountain through the mud. If he could get back and have an impact I think he could be a real finals asset in the absence of Max King.

Cordy was more a selfless decoy than actual asset IMO. He drew the defences away from others and was efficient with his shots but low impact. I think Hayes will always be out the front taking the hits and being the man. Not sure he's a natural decoy.
It might seem like a big call considering Hayes has only played 3 games but I almost think our year might hang on his fitness and availability. Without Membrey he's the only big bodied forward we can call on. It's too much too soon to expect Heath or Keeler to be the man.
Rejigging the ruck set up around Marshall and Campbell won't work long term either. Sharman is a natural forward but doesn't have that alpha dog style you referred to.

It's a big ask to expect Hayes to stand up after what he's been through injury wise but I'm thinking he's our best chance for the rest of this year.

If everyone is fit it feels as though we could have 5 guys to come in and only 3 spots to fill in the 22 if you include Byrnes who was very good

In: Higgins, Hill, Battle, Byrnes, Clark?
Out: King, Ross, Cordy

It might seem like a big call considering Hayes has only played 3 games but I almost think our year might hang on his fitness and availability. Without Membrey he's the only big bodied forward we can call on. It's too much too soon to expect Heath or Keeler to be the man.
Rejigging the ruck set up around Marshall and Campbell won't work long term either. Sharman is a natural forward but doesn't have that alpha dog style you referred to.

It's a big ask to expect Hayes to stand up after what he's been through injury wise but I'm thinking he's our best chance for the rest of this year.
Can't get my head around why Membrey needed an 8 week block to get going again. Seems like a lot.

I expect a Gold Coast victory in the humidity. Echoing the Heath sentiments for an inclusion.

I have noticed lately we are lacking another gorilla tall. So much so i really want us to trade for one. Marshall does his bit but would be huge for us if Heath could come on quickly.

We missed Higgins.
Hopefully was just a one-weeker.

Can't get my head around why Membrey needed an 8 week block to get going again. Seems like a lot.
It will certainly be x amounts of week rest to get his knee under control then x amount of weeks to get back to fitness from it.

I think the purpose is really to get him fit and ready for the last few games and finals. He isnt much good on one leg honestly and would prefer us to scrap by and then try and push at the end.

Personally think we need to bite the bullet.
If necessary sub him out after 3 quarters and hope like hell we get no further injuries 🤞🏼