Preview Round 19, 2022: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 24th July, 4:40PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Eagles

Votes: 29 59.2%
  • Saints

Votes: 20 40.8%

Maybe the coach concentrated on the entire team At that time, not the skills of one player.
Not like Lloydy was a decent kick or anything 🙄…..could’ve taught him heaps. He’s still missing easy ones.
Yes he is he was their best player and also a forward. You would think he would get his most attention.

It's interesting looking through Jones' stats from his three years at the clubs, he has played a few great games that stick out but he has also had many very average games and he probably doesn't tackle enough.

It's bloody disappointing but maybe he's just not the player we thought he was.
Feels like he plays one good game every five. So frustrating watching him get the ball and get tackled without getting it away. He's the holding the ball king of the AFL. If we land a mid in FA or trade then won't be surprised if Jones doesn't get a contract next year

His stats have improved overall, as they should with growth and experience.

My point was, he put himself out there to try and get additional help after that Geelong game, I think it was, when he could’ve kicked about ten, and the club kiboshed it.
When we’re winning everyone’s like “**** off lloyd you media campaigner you’re just harassing the club for clicks”

And when we’re losing it’s “why did the club not let max talk to a legend of the game. Self centred dickheads don’t think anyone else is capable of helping”

Everyone talking about all the 'weagles' outs have got short memories. They beat us with about their 10 best players out in 2020 on a neutral ground. In Perth I'm assuming nothing. I won't be surprised if they roll us. It should be a 50 pt win for us but I'm expecting at best a 2-3 goal victory. And thats not locked in.

I don't care what the eagles season has been like to date. Their recent form is comparable to ours. They knocked off essendon in Perth the week after the dons toyed with us.

Really swung the axe…
Unfortunately the axe sustained a season ending injury at training, will be a lot stronger next season after going to see Helko Werk in Germany.

F1D78B79-F47F-4DA2-9211-4E182068C74D.jpeg

Yeah he was pretty strong and also strong on the lack of leadership if we get Degoey
Enjoy listening to him
Fantastic to listen to. You'd expect the boys to absolutely come out for blood after being told by Roo in public that no one in the club including the captain has no influence on the behaviour of a new player and that they are a nice group and not dog hungry.

But it's clear that the players are not totally on board with the game plan and I hope they gave Ratts & co something to consider during their "scathing review"

It has all year except for a couple of games where we fluked it
We were 8th in points for at that stage with a tall and a small kicking goals. Can’t remember anyone really saying at the time the forward line was struggling considering our mids are just average. I think we had 3 goal kickers in the top 30. 3 out of 6 is pretty good. Our problem then and it’s even worse now because the forward is struggling is onballers and wings just do not kick goals and Marshall was playing mainly forward and he isn’t a very good goal kicking forward. He puts more pressure on than the other talls but doesn’t kick anywhere near enough goals.

It has all year except for a couple of games where we fluked it
We were 8th in points for at that stage with a tall and a small kicking goals. Can’t remember anyone really saying at the time
Fantastic to listen to. You'd expect the boys to absolutely come out for blood after being told by Roo in public that no one in the club including the captain has no influence on the behaviour of a new player and that they are a nice group and not dog hungry.

But it's clear that the players are not totally on board with the game plan and I hope they gave Ratts & co something to consider during their "scathing review"
I don’t think players really do that anymore. Not the game plan stuff because I have no idea about that but it does seem strange that they seemed to be on board at round 11. I’m talking the other part. I don’t really think they will care what roo said. Not sure if they should or shouldn’t but he has given them bakes before and it’s made no difference. It’s just up to whole club to work on their mental side. They know they can beat good sides and they know they can lose to ordinary sides. They have lost their dare so much so that last week when they did go through the middle early the wrong players were doing it or hill was kicking like me. I think the bigger ground should suit us especially if they get a few plays right early. We simply lose if we play like last week. I have faith in the saying you start as you finish. Got to look for some good.

Probably a microcosm of the club the last 3 years. Get sucked in by the best performances but those are fleeting.

To me one of the real issues is that we can get all of the individuals firing but never all at once. The forwards if you take their best performances can all play excellent footy but you never get them all playing well at once. There seems disconnect between lines where the mids do the same stupid kicks to a standing King and ignore better options. We seem to transition poorly. You'd almost say that the line coaches have their guys playing okay but the head coach responsible for strategy and integration doesn't seem to be able to use what he has at his disposal.

I thought some new assistants might be the right move but perhaps he needs a guy like Choco to come in and stand over him and help build some strategy.

To me one of the real issues is that we can get all of the individuals firing but never all at once. The forwards if you take their best performances can all play excellent footy but you never get them all playing well at once. There seems disconnect between lines where the mids do the same stupid kicks to a standing King and ignore better options. We seem to transition poorly. You'd almost say that the line coaches have their guys playing okay but the head coach responsible for strategy and integration doesn't seem to be able to use what he has at his disposal.

I thought some new assistants might be the right move but perhaps he needs a guy like Choco to come in and stand over him and help build some strategy.
Not sure Choco does strategy at Melbourne. Works with the younger players. I’m sure their strategy is ok. It’s implementing it that has been the problem since the middle of the year. Well even earlier. Since the Geelong game. We are never going to agree though.

We were 8th in points for at that stage with a tall and a small kicking goals. Can’t remember anyone really saying at the time

I don’t think players really do that anymore. Not the game plan stuff because I have no idea about that but it does seem strange that they seemed to be on board at round 11. I’m talking the other part. I don’t really think they will care what roo said. Not sure if they should or shouldn’t but he has given them bakes before and it’s made no difference. It’s just up to whole club to work on their mental side. They know they can beat good sides and they know they can lose to ordinary sides. They have lost their dare so much so that last week when they did go through the middle early the wrong players were doing it or hill was kicking like me. I think the bigger ground should suit us especially if they get a few plays right early. We simply lose if we play like last week. I have faith in the saying you start as you finish. Got to look for some good.
I have been saying for months that our forward line was not working well and that unless Max and Higgo kicked 4 each we didn't win - Except the odd occasion

Feels like he plays one good game every five. So frustrating watching him get the ball and get tackled without getting it away. He's the holding the ball king of the AFL. If we land a mid in FA or trade then won't be surprised if Jones doesn't get a contract next year

I find the umpires treat him unfairly but he doesn't learn from it. He doesn't Selwood the tackle but he tends to run hunched with his head forward of his body. The tackles don't slip up but because he's low he tends to get guys grapple over his shoulder and he thinks he'll get a free and stops expecting to be rewarded. At some point the umpires must have been told to not reward him or Gresham. He can get his head smashed and never gets a free.

If they aren't paying them he needs to realise he has a different rule and move the ball quicker. Like all players this year there doesn't seem to be a lot of working for each other. To release a guy through traffic it helps if your other mids block or spread to drag guys out. Maybe there is tension in the playing group?

Not sure Choco does strategy at Melbourne. Works with the younger players. I’m sure their strategy is ok. It’s implementing it that has been the problem since the middle of the year. Well even earlier. Since the Geelong game. We are never going to agree though.

Well I think Richo is more that guy but I wouldn't want him anywhere near us. I think Ratts is out of ideas and looks lost. We could just get a new coach instead.

Maybe the coach concentrated on the entire team At that time, not the skills of one player.
Not like Lloydy was a decent kick or anything 🙄…..could’ve taught him heaps. He’s still missing easy ones.
at Crucial times, if you had him kicking for your life -you would be dead

Well I think Richo is more that guy but I wouldn't want him anywhere near us. I think Ratts is out of ideas and looks lost. We could just get a new coach instead.
Or we could just know he is here next year and hopefully for many more years. It really is just a repeat of 3 years ago. On here I mean.

I'm saying the list is good enough but the coaching is poo. If we don't change something we won't improve. Richmond's apparently only won a premiership on the back of 4 players but are still above us even though none are having any impact this year.

Standards need to improve in the playing list, leadership and game plans and structures. Ratts needs some help or he'll been gone before he sees out his contract.
The list is not good enough.

We have King and Steele. We don't have the other two superstars down the spine, we need a May or even better a De Koning to supplement and a superstar mid to help Steele and the soldiers, Crouch, Ross, Windy and Owens.

If we can get that spine then the list looks good as it is even and full of good AFL players.

The list is not good enough.

We have King and Steele. We don't have the other two superstars down the spine, we need a May or even better a De Koning to supplement and a superstar mid to help Steele and the soldiers, Crouch, Ross, Windy and Owens.

If we can get that spine then the list looks good as it is even and full of good AFL players.
As you pointed out with the tigers you need every area covered with stars or at least very good players. And if they are leaders even better as they set up that particular zone. Apart from Martin who is apparently very footy smart anyway the other 3 you mentioned are real leaders. When people look at our list they don’t realise we don’t have a lot of leaders. Well they probably do but don’t realise the importance. Even now king isn’t a leader. Steele tries to lead but doesn’t look natural. Our best leader certainly on the ground seems to be Howard. Look how the backline fell apart once he was gone. People call him a whinger and a sook but he is probably providing real feedback and if you are a close group you should be able to cop it.

Where was Roo's leadership with St.Kilda schoolgirl, dwarf burning, players out of control player drug taking etc.
A bit of revisionist amnesia from a talking head looking for a headline.