Preview Round 20 - Carlton Vs Western Bulldogs 10th August @ Etihad 4.40PM - Team post #207

What will the result be?

Hats off to you, Esky Chick. Hope the young girl has a ripper night. :thumbsu:

Cheers Bud, we always have a blast at the footy, she loves it, loves her Bluebaggers

Etihad has the best facilities, and with the lid on, its not freezing

No Dog attacks thanks.

Robbo isn't cutting it ATM. Can't have him cachia, McLean, curnow and carrots in the team,

Agreed, IMO I would have Curnow, McLean, Cachia, Carrazzo, Robbo in that order based on recent form. At the very least the first 3 in that list will get the gig for the week.

Really hope Carrazzo can revert back to his old self, but he is injured now so we might just have to persist with curnow, mclean and cachia. Curnow is fast becoming our #1 tagger who can hurt his opponent as well, mclean is a great in and under player and will help our outside mids get first hand service to the ball and cachia is a tackling machine and has also done good tagging jobs in the past. Robbo has been poor and unsighted in the past month, I love his intensity but his disposal and decision making can be poor at times, atm I dont think he should be a regular best 22 player...

Flying over for this one! Hope we can get a big win... Also Armfield 100th, I think hes the 6th player (maybe 7th) to make the 100 game milestone out of the 2007 draft... Not bad for pick 46!

Equal 9th I think with Chris Mayne who is also due to play his 100th this weekend.

Not a bad effort at all. Well done Army. :thumbsu:

Stick Yarran down back, debut Graham and bring in Menzel. Wouldn't mind bringing in Bell again for Cachia who is going to struggle against the strong inside mids that Bulldogs have in spades. Need to change the team up a bit since things are getting stale and I don't get the feeling that the team is enjoying themselves at all. Even when they win it seems very low key and young blood along with a few positional changes should help keep things fresh.

Ins: Graham, Menzel, Bell, Casboult/Warnock

Out: Carazzo, Betts, Scotland, Rowe

Included Warnock as a possibility because we need to smash Bulldogs in the ruck to beat them in the clearances.

I agree with this, with Walker now having his hands full down back we are missing his run and we know Yazz can play that role.

If we play him with Walker we can just stick Yarran on someone who he is capable of handling one on one and have Walker take the harder match up.

Walker Watson Yarran
Simpson Jamison Tuohy

Seriously good pace in this defense and every single person has great disposal other then Jamo. They can all sneak forward to hurt the scoreboard too....well everybody except Jamison.

If we play him with Walker we can just stick Yarran on someone who he is capable of handling one on one and have Walker take the harder match up.

Walker Watson Yarran
Simpson Jamison Tuohy

Seriously good pace in this defense and every single person has great disposal other then Jamo. They can all sneak forward to hurt the scoreboard too....well everybody except Jamison.
Looks to attacking for a Malthouse defense

Our gameplan is heavily focused on attacking through quick ball movement from defense though. Scotland is the weak link in the chain as he has lost a yard of pace and lacks penetration in his field kicking. If our mids managed to run both ways it would be golden. Obviously if the opposition is playing tall we can rotate Walker/Simpson for Mcinnes/Bootsma. Mcinnes and Bootsma are both capable of playing forward. Mcinnes/Bootsma starts forward against sides with only two big targets and rotates with Walker down back when sides play tall against us.

Flexible defense and forward line.

I dont understand your signature

Mine? Basically a joke about the massive thread we had about Warnock v Hampson where ODN just launched barrage after barrage of posts at me that had truck loads of stats to try and prove Hampson is a better player then Warnock. In the end its ironic that Casboult/Rowe displaced both of them.

Ahahahahha, thanks :D

IF waite is fit i'd be dropping one of yaz, jeffy or eddie to make way for him. Or take a punt and play yaz on the ball with the view to sub him out and bring in waite for carrots. Need more making targets up forward and henderson cant do it all on his own and the 3 smalls have little effect without a couple of genuine talls making a contest. Also need more zip and spark in the midfield.

graham for robinson has to happen this week.

Would like to see buckley or menzel get a game too but dont think we will see that many changes

On a side note watson looks a good size any chance they could chuck him in the ruck for a few minutes a quarter?

Laidler is currently out injured with an ankle.

He did though look quicker a couple of weeks ago in the VFL after having the screw removed from his knee.
Maybe I just imagined it, but he did look sharper on his feet, to me.

That's quite encouraging to hear Harks. The times I have seen him this year he has been slow and really struggling to get accross the ground.