Preview Round 3, 2018: Richmond v Hawthorn, 8 April 2018, 1.10pm @ MCG

Do we go Frawley in for Sicily, and Glass in for burgers and Doc forward?
I don’t think Doc really adds much if anything to our forward half.

If he can’t fill a role in defence I’d rather we brought Ollie in for extra speed over the ground.

From memory Glass played well against Richmond last year despite us getting pumped? (Although I might just be remembering that awesome goal line effort).

I'm getting pumped for this one - reckon this has been marked on the calendar since the fixture was released and we'll rise to the occasion. Doesn't mean we'll win, but we'll have a few tactical experiments already lined up.

O'Rourke has never shown anything. Don't want him anywhere near the team. Average player and has been since we recruited him

How bad is Burgers? Dad said its a small strain and will be only 1 or 2 weeks which is weird for a hammy

Out: Burgoyne, Tob (matchup)
In: Chip and wouldn't mind seeing Morrison or Mirra
Silk the same type of injury as Dangerflog 2 weeks ago.

I don’t think Doc really adds much if anything to our forward half.

If he can’t fill a role in defence I’d rather we brought Ollie in for extra speed over the ground.
Ollie didnt play out the box hill game i thought i dont think he is ready in any case. He needs to light up at VFL level. I think morrison and lovell ahead of him. JOR just played his first full game last week probably still limited game time so count him out. I reckon langers woulda come in if he had played any sort of game time before ollie. He will be biding his time

The Tigers aren’t travelling that well.
Stumbled over the line against Carlton and were lucky they were playing a bottom 4 side with the start they had.

Crows beat them comfortably with quite a few first 22 blokes missing and Crouch going down in the first quarter.

Reckon Schoenmakers plays and takes the role of keeping Rance occupied which is a big job.

Reckon the pressure game they play has worn off from last year.

They aren’t the side they were in September last year. We’ll have our opportunities to win the game this week, we need to take them and not get 4 goals up and let them back into the game coz the extra 3 day break (ridiculous fixturing) may prove the difference in a tight game.
Hawks by 11 points

Stumbled over the line against Carlton and were lucky they were playing a bottom 4 side with the start they had.

Crows beat them comfortably with quite a few first 22 blokes missing and Crouch going down in the first quarter.

Reckon Schoenmakers plays and takes the role of keeping Rance occupied which is a big job.

They aren’t the side they were in September last year. We’ll have our opportunities to win the game this week, we need to take them and not get 4 goals up and let them back into the game coz the extra 3 day break (ridiculous fixturing) may prove the difference in a tight game.
Hawks by 11 points

Correct we should be playing someone that played on Sunday in Round 2.

From memory Glass played well against Richmond last year despite us getting pumped? (Although I might just be remembering that awesome goal line effort).

I'm getting pumped for this one - reckon this has been marked on the calendar since the fixture was released and we'll rise to the occasion. Doesn't mean we'll win, but we'll have a few tactical experiments already lined up.

Clarko will love to beat his mate Hardwick. It feels like we haven't taken the Tiger seriously over the last 5 plus years. Big test.

All we have to do to win is.....

Not continually kick the ball towards Alex Rance when going forward and......

stop Dusty from dominating like he's playing against under 10s.

Easy.

How the hell has this fixturing come about. Surely the Tigers should be playing a side which played last Friday or Saturday. Just another example of the Gestapo trying to penalize Hawthorn for their success on and off the field over an extended period. Pathetic football socialism

Hawks by 11 points

Disagree with the assessment of their game against Carlton. They were on top most of the game but inaccuracy was killing them. They had numerous shots go out on the full and miss for points. Had 16 more scoring shots and 24 more inside 50s. Had they kicked straight they’d have won by 60-odd.

Hawks by 11 points
Agree with this. Adelaide showed how structured play can defeat the tiges. To maintain a winning streak with a game-plan like that is really hard to do week in week out. If we maintain our structures and intensity we can win well.

Tigers will be up and about this week. Gotta match them on the inside but it doesn't end there, just like on Monday first three qtrs, we need all our runners to be at their best.
Good thing is, we've had 15 different goal kickers from our 32 goals, we're not completely having to have a dominant forward to rely upon which Is a great sign for the season ahead, Clarko doesn't hide the fact that he wants goals, goals and more goals. Hawks are at their best when scoring freely and not just defending and closing games up with ugly footy.
It's early days but I'm excited.

Pretty sure that was the game where Glass did that awesome save at full pelt

Hawks by 11 points

Yep and after the 2-0 start we should be all guns blazing this week trying to bank this one as well.

Winning either of the next 2 for 3-1 would be an awesome start but if we can manage the win this week it should really propel our season forward.

Yep and after the 2-0 start we should be all guns blazing this week trying to bank this one as well.

Winning either of the next 2 for 3-1 would be an awesome start but if we can manage the win this week it should really propel our season forward.

Agree, not to mention the softer fortnight post the Melbourne game. Grab 1 of the next 2 and do the job against North & StKilda, we should be 5-1 and in a great place to attack a finals spot. Reckon Richmond are a little vulnerable early on this year too