Autopsy Round 3, 2018: St.Kilda v Adelaide

Got home from the match. Drinking a stein of beer. Will watch the Richo press conference once it gets put onto AFL site.

Honestly seemed like there was more Crows people than Saints there. The atmosphere was one of empty disappointment I reckon, and the music that they play after every goal just adds to that.

Agree with those saying Coffield, Marshall and Dunstan were the main positives.

We are playing unbalanced sides IMO.
We have an unbalanced list! We have about 20 Half back flankers and refuse to play guys like Billings, Gresham, Acres consistently on ball (not the wing) for big periods of time. We draft Clark he is a no.7 pick, a midfielder and we drop him because he is being given absolutely shocking disposals by senior players to which he gets pinged for holding the ball 3 times, we have no patience it’s been the same with Paddy... in out, in out, in out... shows they see themselves as way better than they actually are. You take a guy no.7 in the draft you got to keep playing him, you picked him for a reason.

I think the coach has lost the players.
This is his fifth year. We are playing horrific football.
Not sure how we turn it around from here. They are sick of his voice already.
Will be hard for him to re-invent himself now.
Does he have any ideas he hasnt already used?

This was the "Response" we were promised.

Coaches and players need to sit down and have a good hard look in the mirror.

I've thought Armos first two weeks were good. Seeing Steele got dropped on the back of one poor game lets see what happens with selection this week.

I prefer Lonie to Long. I don't see anything great about Ben tbh.

Nathan Wright ffs!!

Can Bailey Rice play as a small forward. Do the switch like his old man. I'd give him a crack.

Marshall I take it back I thought Jacobs would have a field day. but he Had a fair dinkum crack. Given the circumstances I thought he was our best. Acres was amazing gone to another level and Dunstan is in our best 22.

Another flogging, injuries and Mav and Members mid week plus DMAC requiring an Ambulance.

We though we hit rock bottom last week. More responses required.

The positive is the we have 19 weeks to turn it around.

Then what’s with the 2 year extension? Surely the leadership group have a say and hint that richo isn’t the guy... I’m so fcuking over listening to his same old repetitive and “positive” crap... and that’s just from watching 360 on a Monday night. You can only imagine how the players feel?!

I’m sorry but Richo’s gotta go.

I'm not sure if Richo's gotta go or not, but I wouldn't be taking advice from a "leadership group" which currently doesn't appear to have any leaders.
Lenny or Riewoldt wouldn't have taken the sh*t being served up lying down and there doesn't seem to be any leadership on the field at present.
Best of luck Saints. (..and excuse my intrusion on your Board)

dermots take on it was we tried our guts out in the first half. but just couldnt capitalise. getting no where. which turns to frustration. he reckons we then just caved in, in the 3rd. started doing stuff you dont do in the first, cause its not working.
Isn't that pretty much exactly what I just said!?

It was like I was watching a replay of about 15 of our other games from the last couple of years.

Huge effort for little reward, then give up once the other team start getting reward for their effort, because what's the point.

How to fix it I'm not sure. We've tried a specialist goalkicking coach, perhaps next it's therapy. Because if it wasn't a mental thing to begin with, it probably is now.

Actually I think a lot of it is that they try too hard. They've got to learn to relax before pulling the trigger, because if you're tense when you do so you're going to misfire.

If I was coaching them for a day I'd work on their poise. So many times over the last 2-3 years I've thought to myself that if they just held onto the footy for a fraction longer and really relaxed before disposing of it they'd excecute so much better, but they always seem to feel they have to rush it that little bit, and inveriably that leads to poor execution.

I think a lot of it has come about since we started trying to play faster and taking the game on more. I think they have it in their minds that they have to do everything quickly, but the one thing you don't want to rush is your disposal, or it ends up like, well, what we see week after week.

Yes look to move the ball on quickly, by all means, but then when it comes time to dispose of it you have to bloody steady and get balanced and relaxed.

We are an inexperienced side severely lacking class and it shows. The mistake the club & Richo made this year was building up our expectations of playing finals. If they had of came out and been realistic about being a young developing side - the fall might not have been so great.

We dont have sufficient midfielders to run out games and remain competitive. Steven & Ross cant do everything. The issue was created partly by Richo not developing support players and our lack of midfield recruitment.

I worry that there is anyone at the club to make objective decisions on players. Our club continue to go with Armitage whom IMO has been cooked for 2 years and was a very limited midfielder even at his best.

I still hold concerns regarding players development and team cohension. It seems even if Richo's plan amd structures are sound he pr his assistants cant train or teach the team to maintain them when pressure is applied. Worrying signs ahead.

Positives:
Marshall brilliant 2nd game
Coffield all class will be a star
Acres continues to step up
White looked solid on Lynch
Sandringham won!

Good post.

Not sure I can handle this shit ******* my weekend up for
The rest of the year.
I’m too invested and I need to pull back.
Our light at the end of the tunnel has been snuffed out for this year I reckon.
Please Saints go hard at fa.
The light at the end of the tunnel is an oncoming train and it's becoming very clear and our supporters are not very happy about it.
We can talk the talk but at the moment we can't walk the walk.

Agree on all that.

The problem is that, as you say, our ball use and entry into 50 has been bad for years now. It's not clear that the coaching staff have any idea of how to improve it. Pretty clearly the plan is once we get forward of the wing we just bomb it straight inside 50 - because that's what we've been doing for years - pretty clearly that isn't working.
It's like everyone on earth can see it except the coaches.

Watching different games of footy.

The Crows had about 15-20 minutes of time where their midfield got a bit of run on, and between HBF & HFF for them was clear ball. I dunno if you've ever coached or played in the defensive half, but it's entirely difficult to to do much defensively if the team in this case the Crows are delivering things on silver platters. As soon as that happens you are kissing your own arse and hoping like hell it doesn't hurt like you expect it to in most cases.

This does not mean a drop in effort or that we did anything that you'd expect us not to, just that for those moments, the Crows did it better, quicker, easier...

As you'll note, the game evened out again in the 4th despite another loss scoreboard wise.

As supporters , yup, wave that white flag, no chance after that third quarter. But as players and the club you can cite being outplayed and slow to react in instances, but there was no one really giving up and dropping heads.

Post of the night!

North are pretty young.
They had Uniake, Vickers-Willers, Simpkin, Turner, Dumont and Clarke out there against us last week.

Dumont is Dunstan pal from the same year, Clark has been there for ages and Turner is a guy who been around a long time too. Simpkin and Davies Uniake are young and inexperienced. Vickers Willis is 22 as well.

acres is goat, marshall looks good, coffield has more composure than most of our team, dunstan will be our next captain
Was very impressed with Marshall......liked what I saw of Coffield.........another terrible result but in reality...who were we playing.

Very surprised the margin wasn't greater.

Isn't that pretty much exactly what I just said!?

It was like I was watching a replay of about 15 of our other games from the last couple of years.

Huge effort for little reward, then give up once the other team start getting reward for their effort, because what's the point.

How to fix it I'm not sure. We've tried a specialist goalkicking coach, perhaps next it's therapy. Because if it wasn't a mental thing to begin with, it probably is now.

Actually I think a lot of it is that they try too hard. They've got to learn to relax before pulling the trigger, because if you're tense when you do so you're going to misfire.

If I was coaching them for a day I'd work on their poise. So many times over the last 2-3 years I've thought to myself that if they just held onto the footy for a fraction longer and really relaxed before disposing of it they'd excecute so much better, but they always seem to feel they have to rush it that little bit, and inveriably that leads to poor execution.

I think a lot of it has come about since we started trying to play faster and taking the game on more. I think they have it in their minds that they have to do everything quickly, but the one thing you don't want to rush is your disposal, or it ends up like, well, what we see week after week.

Yes look to move the ball on quickly, by all means, but then when it comes time to dispose of it you have to bloody steady and get balanced and relaxed.

I actually reckon the opposite, we hold the ball up more now. We are slower to transition waiting for options but our skills are poo so it doesn't work.
In 2016 we were slingshot run and gun, Bartlett mentioned it on Marngrook. We have become slower and stodgy as we try to use our composure too much.

Walking out of the ground tonight i had a real sense that we are witnessing another Fitzroy. The crowds dropped off in the 1990's for them too after a feeling of utter despair. I think it would be supporter euthanasia if that did happen to be honest.
On the positive - the line at the bar was only 2 deep.

Autopsy Round 3, 2018: St.Kilda v Adelaide