Autopsy Round 3, 2022: Hawks go down to the Blues

Considering where we started the 2nd quarter, we did very well to fight back.

We have not hurt our percentage and I think showed the competition we are there and abouts...watch out.

Just think Big Boy in that last quarter might have helped clunk those marks that came in down forward.

Also felt we lost at the 23min 3rd Quarter. Big pack of players around CHF our end, no one, not even a blue bagger back in the goals, Reeves gets the ball but mucks up the disposal. Felt if we could have just got the ball forward a goal was in the offing and this was at the end where not that many goals are scored at the G (Richmond end).

Dylan Moore. Super impressed with this young man. Just gets better and better.

Not sure Ward but believe he would benefit from a run @ Box Hill. Too slow to get rid of the ball. Still believe Connor Mc is worth investing in.

Go Hawks.

O’Meara has spent the last 3 weeks showing both why we were willing to trade him and why no opposition sides made good offers for him. Just not a damaging footballer
Just a plodder these days unfortunately- has the turning circle of a semi trailer. Lots of work to be done to rebuild the midfield

Something I haven't seen mentioned much yet but is worth raising - thought Newcombe was fantastic in the last quarter with his hunger/fight more than anything.. Was willing himself to repeat contests and diving in at any chance. Loved it.

There was a passage in play in the second quarter where we moved the ball 60-70 metres from the back pocket to centre wing without touching the ball once. Just throwing our bodies and pushing it forward.

Was ugly but the boys are made of the right stuff.

Ward, Newks, DGB all took some big hits and got right back up. Hardness and courage are things that aren't taught. The rest will come.

Every time I think about that blocking against Reeves and the subsequent free to Silvagni I die a little inside
Considering where we started the 2nd quarter, we did very well to fight back.

We have not hurt our percentage and I think showed the competition we are there and abouts...watch out.

Just think Big Boy in that last quarter might have helped clunk those marks that came in down forward.

Also felt we lost at the 23min 3rd Quarter. Big pack of players around CHF our end, no one, not even a blue bagger back in the goals, Reeves gets the ball but mucks up the disposal. Felt if we could have just got the ball forward a goal was in the offing and this was at the end where not that many goals are scored at the G (Richmond end).

Dylan Moore. Super impressed with this young man. Just gets better and better.

Not sure Ward but believe he would benefit from a run @ Box Hill. Too slow to get rid of the ball. Still believe Connor Mc is worth investing in.

Go Hawks.
I’m happy to have the Wards playing in the ones instead of Box Hill. The way to deal with pressure is to surround yourself by it, playing twos won’t speed up his decision making.

All our issues are in he forward line. Wingard, Breust and even Gunstan let themselves down today - they did not match the rest of the effort.

There were so many times when one of them needed to lead back at the ball carrier and they never did it. It was driving me insane.

Great effort though - lots of spirit in this group. CJ is a star. DGB was good

Mate.... Unfortunately I can only like your post once because I absolutely agree with you, the amount of times we were streaming thru the centre and you see heaps of space in the F50 but everyone is running back at goal instead of an easy hit up was mind blowing. Easily the most frustrating part of the day for me even with our midfield getting flogged in the 1st quarter.

Hope Pittonet doesn’t miss too many weeks from whatever it was that required him to be subbed out of the game right around the point where they really needed some extra run.
Hearing it's a new medical condition called fatigue (and having small hands).
Arjuna Ranatunga used to suffer the same thing.
Inzamam ul Huq used to suffer a similar affliction, referred to colloquially as fat/lazy

Something I haven't seen mentioned much yet but is worth raising - thought Newcombe was fantastic in the last quarter with his hunger/fight more than anything.. Was willing himself to repeat contests and diving in at any chance. Loved it.
yeah totes agree.
He is going to be an important player as we go forward, he's a solid unit and we will need his physical presence to assist the more lightly framed players through the midfield. Love his desperation.

About five of them were free kicks so it’s almost only one issue.
I get your point but you also shouldn't expect to win by playing one good quarter of footy.

And you shouldn't expect to have umpires interfere so blatantly to achieve that one good quarter, as well as ensure the final result.

Where to fit in Impey and Bramble into the best 22 remains a mystery.

What we need is one of Koschitzke, Jeka or Callow to push for a spot in the best 22.

I would have liked to have seen Max Lynch in the team, would have been good against Pits.

Mate.... Unfortunately I can only like your post once because I absolutely agree with you, the amount of times we were streaming thru the centre and you see heaps of space in the F50 but everyone is running back at goal instead of an easy hit up was mind blowing. Easily the most frustrating part of the day for me even with our midfield getting flogged in the 1st quarter.
I think of Buddy’s 1000th goal how he turned and led into the easiest mark ever - Hawthorn could have done that so many times today. With a few minutes to go their was only Breust and Gunston in the whole forward 50 and a Hawks streaming out of the midfield. Both were calling for a high ball 😡😡😡

Sucks to lose by a point, but that was an incredible fight back! The feeling and atmosphere at the ground when Gunston put us in front was amazing. Really thought we were going to run over them as they looked absolutely gassed. I think they were pretty lucky to hold on.

I've been really pleased how we've run out games so far, are looking a lot fitter than last year.

CJ, ****ing god like.

Day, great first game back.

Hurts to lose but fu** me that was a gutsy fight back. Immensely proud.

Yep, although rather annoyed by the non-start, I've followed the club for a long lonnnnnng time, and I'm at the stage where all I ask for is a competitive effort, and I got that in the final 3 quarters. I think we all suspect we are a distance from competing for a flag right now, but if you look for the positives, there were plenty of them out there today. I think Sammy is on the right track.

I'm confused. The umpires went to great lengths to look after your butthole. You normally pay good money for that kind of pampering.
Sorry, still clenched

If my mother had wheels she would have been a bike. Carlton had 64 forward entries, compared to 46. That's pretty comprehensively in our favour. Probably shouldn't have been so close at the end. But all credit to the hawks probably the better team for most of the game.

You played a single quarter of footy. And the umpires looked after the rest.

And by the way, your Mum is very rusty. I had to have a tetanus injection.

Sucks to lose by a point, but that was an incredible fight back! The feeling and atmosphere at the ground when Gunston put us in front was amazing. Really thought we were going to run over them as they looked absolutely gassed. I think they were pretty lucky to hold on.

I've been really pleased how we've run out games so far, are looking a lot fitter than last year.

CJ, ******* god like.

Day, great first game back.

Yeah we both looked gassed which is why we couldn't put them to the sword. Was just 2 punch drunk boxers throwing hay makers at the end.

I’d like to congratulate the holding the ball rule on incredible career, following its unexpected retirement late in the Blues-Hawks game today …
Pity it sat out the 2016 final against footscray...

Autopsy Round 3, 2022: Hawks go down to the Blues