• Jack Higgins

Votes: 20 8.4%
  • Jacob Townsend

Votes: 1 0.4%

Will now sit down and watch the replay but impressions from the game are;
Important four points but should have been 40+
Hawks can still pinpoint a target and Mitchell is a gun, BOG.
We are stupidly unselfish at times... looking at you, Dan.
No way Conca dropped, votes from me.
Trent Cotchin is THE BEST CAPTAIN in the AFL.

Don't understand the Houli love. Personally thought he was our weakest link in the backline and many of his 'efforts' were very questionable, has spent a lot of time playing on his knees the past two games.
Last week he was very poor, but it takes time to work into form. He does provide great overlap run. So defensively he can be questionable, but the positives outweigh the negatives. Thought Short had a really poor first half, but got better and better as the game went on.

We’ll agree to differ as I thought it was about best 22 and Conca will not be of any value to us when the whips are cracking. Who cares about Brisbane as we won’t be meeting them in September. It’s about being prepared with your best team at seasons end.
Exactly, so lets see how the next 20 odd weeks pan out. Conca hasn't lasted a season due to injury in about 5 years, but he can improve with continuity. Houli was always suspect under pressure, BEllis the same.

Getting personal and ain’t going to cop it mate. My view is that Conca is not up to it- he’s been tired and continues to butcher the ball. I admire his toil but I admired Morris for that as well in the end these blokes do not take us to the next level. I also watched the seconds yesterday there are plenty there that show a lot of promise Conca is a good vfl player that’s it from me but he has Hardwick in his corner and he’s more influential than me and probably you but here we can air our views and be accepted for that as for the personal attacks show a bit of maturity and grow up
Too early in the season to tell, you may be right or you may not, time will tell.

Exactly, so lets see how the next 20 odd weeks pan out. Conca hasn't lasted a season due to injury in about 5 years, but he can improve with continuity. Houli was always suspect under pressure, BEllis the same.
I saw more in a kid playing his first game in his first season than a eight season Conca in his 89 th game. I won’t waste my time arguing about Conca as I only see him as extreme depth which will be moved on at the end of the year.

Spent most of his career on his knees, loves going to ground. Is a weapon when he’s not accountable but we can’t have Short and Houli in the team. Hollis gut running vs Shorts kicking and versatility to play fwd. We need to pick one.

Move Short up into the mids rotation eventually.

Last quarter obviously disappointing, but I was relatively pleased with the first 3. Hawks are playing decent footy and although we were far from perfect, it was a definite improvement from last week.

Cotch was superb, he's well and truly back to being a super damaging player and it's great to watch.
Staggered Clarko allowed them to play into Rance's hands like that, bombed it into him all day, and that's always the result.
Kamdyn was great early
Nank, Houli and Jack were good as usual
Conca was awful in the first half but actually quite good once he moved into the middle, still thinks he loses his spot next week most likely.
Vlastuin is such a big in for our backline, we just look so much stronger and composed when he's there.
Castagna was excellent, really makes a presence out on the field. Kicked 3 and used the ball well.
Higgins is like what would happen if you let a 10 year old live out his dream of playing on the MCG, so great.

This game reminded me how much I despise hawforne.

I despise the way they get an extra player to come up and block players who are standing the mark so a hawf player with a free can play on. Technically might be just inside the rules of the game but well outside the spirit of the game. Do any other sides do this or only hawf. I’ve only ever noticed hawf doing it and they do it a lot. Classic hawf: despiseable.

They seem to have perfected holding players just enough to impede them without giving up a free kick. I know every team does this a bit but I reckon hawf actually practice it.

I don’t like ‘em. Happy we beat them. Wish we beat them by a lot more.

City end of the MCG is shit.
Hawks fans know their side is spirally down and are very sad indeed.

Great day at the footy with my young daughter who cheered everytime dusty or trent went near the ball.

Didn’t really feel worried at all throughout the game. Last quarter was an average effort but, ultimately didn’t mean much.
We are never going to play the perfect game of football.

Conca played well in the last three quarters, but ultimately, if Prestia is available, Conca makes way.

At Lloyd’s age, I expect more and will also make way.

Townsend was poor.
Short was sub par.

Cotchin is a beast.
Shedda was very important.
Vlastuin hitting his straps.
Rance is a god.
Higgins was refreshing to see. I’m praying he can be our Toby Greene.

Changes vs Brisbane;
Out: Conca, Lloyd, Townsend/Short
In: Corey Ellis, Prestia, Caddy...

Just kidding... I think Prestia needs another week ;)
Still kidding - Replace Ellis with Broad

I thought we were good. The manic pressure was back. Even though we relaxed in the last 15 minutes and butler f*8d up that shot and opened the door, we showed some composure, got professional and closed the game out. I reckon the Hawks are looking good, they were awesome last week.

Positives
1. Best game I have seen from Bellis for a while.
2. Won without Dusty dominating.
3. Cotch lead from the front and was BOG along with Rance.
4. Conca improved got some clearances and is a good depth player at worst.
5. Astbury was excellent and was catching everything.
6. George was awesome and I thought Macca was good as well.
7. Two SNAGS from the debutant
8. The leaders were great. Jack stood up when needed. Coulda been different if he hadn’t taken that grab in the last and kicked straight.
9. Won despite the clearance discrepancy.
10. We have 3 of our best to come back and we are 2-1

Not bad, good to see we evened up the clearances after getting flogged early. Putting Conca in there played a big part in that - still a few shonky kicks though.

Put the queue in the rack in the last, would have liked to see us bolster the margin a bit.

In: Prestia, Caddy
Out: Graham, Townsend

Bit harsh but think Graham would benefit from the opportunity to get his hands on the ball a bit in the 2s. Need a bit more offensively from our AFL midfielders.
Why would you include Lloyd?

Autopsy Round 3: Roast & Toast v Hawthorn and Changes for Brisbane