AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Nah that’s not true hey, neither were entertaining..lolAt least what Milli Vannili dished up was entertaining.
I don't mind trialling Moore forward, but with Howe also out it leaves our backline too exposed. Play Moore back at least until Howe is available.
Kelly needs 12 months in the VFL as a defender if we want him to play that role in the seniors. He would provide an alternative to Cox as the third tall forward if we thought Grundy, Cameron and Cox was too cumbersome.
Cox has strong hands? Mason Cox? He is the most limp wrist player I’ve seen at AFL level. Darcy Cameron is a way better markSo I'm walking into the room slightly tentatively and with no disrespect. Believe me, Supporting the Suns for the last 11 years has been brutal a lot of the time. But I have a genuine question. Watching the Pies at the start of the season with Cox as a forward, he seemed to be a genuine target. Strong hands, good reach and can kick a set shot, if nothing else, is scary enough to keep a defender or 2 distracted and allow small forwards to roam. Given the Pies are struggling for a forward to the point that their AA CHB is playing forward and not seeming to flourish in the role and that the pies could use Moore in defence right now, Why is it that Cox isn't playing? I'm obviously missing something, but i was wondering what part of his game has been deemed not up to be up scratch at this point? We had a height mismatch as it is, I would have thought the 10ft beast would have torn us to shreds.
I think we need to be patient.
You could probably cover off the Daicos bid, meaning you don't have to go into deficit next year.I genuinely cannot stand JDG. He plays with an arrogance that is so undeserved. I would not care what we received in return. I would trade him regardless.
Cox drops allot of marks and gets outmuscled off the ball too easily.So I'm walking into the room slightly tentatively and with no disrespect. Believe me, Supporting the Suns for the last 11 years has been brutal a lot of the time. But I have a genuine question. Watching the Pies at the start of the season with Cox as a forward, he seemed to be a genuine target. Strong hands, good reach and can kick a set shot, if nothing else, is scary enough to keep a defender or 2 distracted and allow small forwards to roam. Given the Pies are struggling for a forward to the point that their AA CHB is playing forward and not seeming to flourish in the role and that the pies could use Moore in defence right now, Why is it that Cox isn't playing? I'm obviously missing something, but i was wondering what part of his game has been deemed not up to be up scratch at this point? We had a height mismatch as it is, I would have thought the 10ft beast would have torn us to shreds.
Our forward line isn’t the issue, our midfield and ball transition are. We are so slow and allow opposition teams to setup to easily, our forwards are outnumbered most of the time.Wow, I'm glad I stayed away from the Game Thread today; I can only imagine what was happening here.
For those wanting Bucks sacked right now, I have a few questions;
• who gets appointed and could that person realistically do better?
• has Bucks lost the players?
• can this group turn it around quickly with a care-taker coach?
I reckon the answers are no, no and no.
The club leaders obviously know that this is going to be a year of pain. The last thing we should do is go for an easy fix and ditch the coach. That would just let the players off the hook. The players are responsible for this mess.
I suppose I should point the finger at the people who kept Sier, WHE, Thomas and Mayne on the books. They should have been cleared out. Our trade period was a fiasco, but keeping the above players was just as great a fiasco.
And then trade we should have made, but didn't: Steele Sidebottom. When Steele got so drunk that he couldn't remember where he was or where his clothes were, we should have made the hard call. If a young kid behaved like that he would have been made an example of. A leader of the club behaving in that way was untenable, but what did we do? We glossed it over. We then unbelievably left him in the leadership group. I was livid when I saw that.
If the young blokes see that the leaders get away with anything at all, with no consequences, they will understand quick smart that the culture is weak. Little wonder we see a lack of will to chase and tackle.
We all saw WHE's pre season and wondered how he could have been selected in R1. We are still wondering. I felt like giving up last week when he walked back into the team. Why do we keep playing these blokes? What does Tyler Brown think?
I'm not into bagging players so I will leave it at that, but one player looks like he couldn't give a fig at the moment and that really hurts. When Pendles continues to lead by example, and players like Mihocek, Noble and Quaynor run their guts out, it is sad to see a highly paid player give zero effort. He ought to be dropped but he won't be.
The club needs to hold its nerve and do what it said it would do; keep the processes of review in place and stick to the timeline.
There is everything wrong with swearing at the footy. People who do it should be thrown out.Well when we are playing so Crap does not make you want to stay and keep Watching the Crap.
Nothing wrong with Swearing
I haven't been able to see all of your games, we dont get as many games on QLD telly as I'd like, I just remember seeing a game early on where it seemed like he took a few beauties and was a presence if nothing else.Cox has strong hands? Mason Cox? He is the most limp wrist player I’ve seen at AFL level. Darcy Cameron is a way better mark
He should have been sacked at half time.
Team selection isn’t the issue, We just don’t have enough good players to choose. People may point to the players we have out but they’re the same players who are always outI haven't been able to see all of your games, we dont get as many games on QLD telly as I'd like, I just remember seeing a game early on where it seemed like he took a few beauties and was a presence if nothing else.
Yes we’ve been patient but post Buckley we are going to need to be even more patient. No quick fixes.5 year plan and 1. build through draft. 2. Money ball the occasional B grader for a specific role, 3. New coach can have some autonomy to get in players he has worked with before. No big names, no big contracts. We ain’t contending for 5-6 years IMO if you want a sustained period of success after that.Umm no, just no. We've patient enough after a succession plan that has failed, I know we're a steely lot with resolve personified but there is only so much a supporter can take.
At least what Milli Vannili dished up was entertaining.
Saturday hugs everyone.
Dark days indeed. This has been 5-6 years of putrid list management which has brought us to this point.
Not much to look forward to this draft period with little draft currency, and which free agent would want to come to Collingwood.
Went to the game today and it was the flattest I have seen the crowd.
So many of our leaders are absent or in career worst form. Special mention to DeGoey who is simply taking the pi$$ in accepting his pay cheque.
Like Keane - looks angry - I like it. Poulter good first up game.
Please put Darcy Moore back to CHB.
On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
You seem to be hoping for itMight Next Week - Good Chance Actually
The road back will be long and hard, but we have to walk it.
True. Despite it being a little easier for senior players to switch roles there's no doubt Moore would be better placed to succeed as a forward had he spent the preseason training there.Moore was Sent Forward without Training for it before hand
Yes, yes and no.For those wanting Bucks sacked right now, I have a few questions;
Mate! I have been asking the same bloody question for weeks. It boggles my mind. Ask what the opposition would not want and give it to them. An undersized defense does not want to deal with a 7 foot Texan who was in good form at the time he was dropped.So I'm walking into the room slightly tentatively and with no disrespect. Believe me, Supporting the Suns for the last 11 years has been brutal a lot of the time. But I have a genuine question. Watching the Pies at the start of the season with Cox as a forward, he seemed to be a genuine target. Strong hands, good reach and can kick a set shot, if nothing else, is scary enough to keep a defender or 2 distracted and allow small forwards to roam. Given the Pies are struggling for a forward to the point that their AA CHB is playing forward and not seeming to flourish in the role and that the pies could use Moore in defence right now, Why is it that Cox isn't playing? I'm obviously missing something, but i was wondering what part of his game has been deemed not up to be up scratch at this point? We had a height mismatch as it is, I would have thought the 10ft beast would have torn us to shreds.
Wow, I'm glad I stayed away from the Game Thread today; I can only imagine what was happening here.
For those wanting Bucks sacked right now, I have a few questions;
The club leaders obviously know that this is going to be a year of pain. The last thing we should do is go for an easy fix and ditch the coach. That would just let the players off the hook. The players are responsible for this mess.
I suppose I should point the finger at the people who kept Sier, WHE, Thomas and Mayne on the books. They should have been cleared out. Our trade period was a fiasco, but keeping the above players was just as great a fiasco.
And then trade we should have made, but didn't: Steele Sidebottom. When Steele got so drunk that he couldn't remember where he was or where his clothes were, we should have made the hard call. If a young kid behaved like that he would have been made an example of. A leader of the club behaving in that way was untenable, but what did we do? We glossed it over. We then unbelievably left him in the leadership group. I was livid when I saw that.
If the young blokes see that the leaders get away with anything at all, with no consequences, they will understand quick smart that the culture is weak. Little wonder we see a lack of will to chase and tackle.
We all saw WHE's pre season and wondered how he could have been selected in R1. We are still wondering. I felt like giving up last week when he walked back into the team. Why do we keep playing these blokes? What does Tyler Brown think?
I'm not into bagging players so I will leave it at that, but one player looks like he couldn't give a fig at the moment and that really hurts. When Pendles continues to lead by example, and players like Mihocek, Noble and Quaynor run their guts out, it is sad to see a highly paid player give zero effort. He ought to be dropped but he won't be.
The club needs to hold its nerve and do what it said it would do; keep the processes of review in place and stick to the timeline.