Preview Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Sunday 14th May, 1:10PM AEST *SINCLAIR 150TH*

Who Wins?

• Crows

Votes: 36 47.4%
  • Saints

Votes: 40 52.6%

He should be above criticism when he has only 12 touches in an entire match? His quietest game since July 2014 - almost 9 years.
I agree! I’m a big seb Ross fan but I think we should pot literally every player on the list. No one above it. (Deserved of course nothing over the top).

He should be above criticism when he has only 12 touches in an entire match? His quietest game since July 2014 - almost 9 years.

Membrey has not been great in three consecutive games since coming back.

Ross had a quiet game after 24-30 disposals in every one of his previous games this season. Leaving him out of your teams for the coming week is premature, undeserved and probably due to previous prejudices against this two time B&F winner.

It's a ridiculously easy draw. It would be a disaster to miss finals this year.
Yep, given how form has panned out so far, we do have a very good fixture for the first time since 2020. Results so far indicate we should finish somewhere in the zone from 4th-7th (lost to 1st and 5th, beaten 7th, 8th and 9th).

Long, long way to go though and we have defecated in the bed before after being in this position.

Membrey must remain in the team for his direct ball movement. Cordy comes straight back in to give us some much needed speed and agility.

I’d be putting out an SOS for Dean Kent in the mid season draft too as our small forwards aren’t taking enough chest marks.

we obviously need more lead in the water

Ross had a quiet game after 24-30 disposals in every one of his previous games this season. Leaving him out of your teams for the coming week is premature, undeserved and probably due to previous prejudices against this two time B&F winner.

I'd leave him out.

He's been playing really good footy, but to get Owens and Sinclair into the midfield, something has to give. I'd rather it not be Steele, Clark or Crouch right now.

We need Owens to play midfield.

I'm on the record about where I think Sinclair should play.

Mason Wood was also kind of ordinary after a very good season so far, but somehow he has more credits in the bank than a two time B&F winner. And I love me some Mason Wood.

Let's face it: the captain is probably the underperforming cog in that engine over the medium-term, but Steele plays a certain way so he gets the credit. Which is also unfair on Seb Ross.

There needs to be one spot in the midfield/forward rotation longer-term for Owens and Phillpou to rotate through, but I'm not sure we are there yet and at 6-2, perhaps now is not the time for experimentation.

Yep, given how form has panned out so far, we do have a very good fixture for the first time since 2020. Results so far indicate we should finish somewhere in the zone from 4th-7th (lost to 1st and 5th, beaten 7th, 8th and 9th).

Long, long way to go though and we have defecated in the bed before after being in this position.
the only thing I'm a bit miffed about the draw is Geelong are good. It would be better for us if they were still in that form slump when we play them. But really I guess you could hope that every team plays poorly or is injured against you

but I'm not sure we are there yet and at 6-2, perhaps now is not the time for experimentation.
the only reason to start experimenting a whole heap this early is if they genuinely think that Owens or Windy or Philippou is going to be replacing one of the core 3 by the end of the year finals time.

Mason Wood was also kind of ordinary after a very good season so far, but somehow he has more credits in the bank than a two time B&F winner. And I love me some Mason Wood.

Let's face it: the captain is probably the underperforming cog in that engine over the medium-term, but Steele plays a certain way so he gets the credit. Which is also unfair on Seb Ross.

There needs to be one spot in the midfield/forward rotation longer-term for Owens and Phillpou to rotate through, but I'm not sure we are there yet and at 6-2, perhaps now is not the time for experimentation.
C'mon Punter, we all know that Seb's 2nd B&F was actually Roma's ;)

In all seriousness, Seb has been fantastic this year & has built on a very good 2022. He's not getting dropped no matter what a few supporters think (especially considering he was playing a very different role yesterday).

Steele is playing at half rat power although there were signs in the 2nd half that he was coming good.

Really looking forward to seeing Mitch play more midfield minutes... he's a wrecking ball that will help the rest of the midfield immensely.

I've got a feeling we win this game.
We're not favorites for a start, which in my experience following this club is a positive, more than it is a negative.
Adelaide seem to be winning their games off the back of great offence. We win our games off the back of great defence.
Will be an interesting watch for sure.

Seb had 21 pressure acts vs North, only Steele, Hunter and the Pou had more. Didn’t get the footy but the effort was there, I’d expect RTB to back him in this week like they did with Gresh.
I’m a big fan of Seb’s so I watch him pretty closely. Didn’t do as well as he usually does. Just a fact

Oh I'm 100% for dropping Membrey, just don't think it will happen. He's been criticised plenty on here!

Would be interested to see what your 23 looks like

It's a ridiculously easy draw. It would be a disaster to miss finals this year.
3 of our next 4 interstate, so a few tricky waters to navigate (cue dad jokes about going by plane).
Winning at least 1 or 2 of those would set us up well.
Dropping all 3 would bring us back to the pack big time.

Just on Membrey, I think he hasn't done himself many favours ball in hand since he's been back. Top shelf Membrey would still be best 22, especially as he is smart enough to get the ball without getting in King's way (the main reason I was happy to see Bruce go). A Membrey that has no goalkicking or passing confidence is better off at Sandy so we can see how King/Hammer/Coops go.

Would be interested to see what your 23 looks like
Webster Howard Wilkie
Sinclair Battle NWM
Wood Ross Hill
Gresham Membrey Butler
Owens King Higgins
Marshall Steele Crouch
Byrnes Stocker Phillipou Clark

Very happy to have in the side: Paton, Windhager, Bytel, Sharman, Billings.

King and Caminiti for Membrey and Sharman (unfortunately, thought he played well)

Windhager and Billings the only two up for selection from the two's I reckon.
Can’t see them dropping Sharman after one game and a good one at that.
Much more likely that make Caminiti wait if King is available.
King, Sharman and Membrey feels like a good balance to me.

I guess a lot of it will depend on how Max and Hammer have and will look when playing in tandem on the track last week and this. There will probably be a fair bit of experimenting going on. To find the mix that works best.

I also wonder if we’ll start seeing how Hammer goes in the ruck? If he’s going to be in the team with Max going forward we’ll probably need him to do a fair bit of ruckwork.
Wouldn't have to do heaps, just share it with Owens when Marshall is off.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Very interesting call this week with Skunk, really offered nothing on the weekend. Coops looked good, provided his usual high flying but also looked really clean below his legs. Could have easily had 3-4 last night.

If Ross is feeling ruthless King for Membrey is the most logical swap. Coops, Pou and Chito can provide alternative targets up front, seems a pretty potent mix.

HF: Phillipou, Sharman, Owens
F: Butler, King, Higgins

Given how ordinary some of the skills were I can see JB coming back in but no obvious out (unless Gresh doesn’t get up).

Are Jones and Jweb available this week? If so Sandy should be stacked this week, even with travelling emergencies.
and Sharman very good by foot in the field of play got some footy smarts i reckon

Can’t see them dropping Sharman after one game and a good one at that.
Much more likely that make Caminiti wait if King is available.
King, Sharman and Membrey feels like a good balance to me.
Two have to make way for Caminiti and King IMO so it's those two. Especially Membrey, he was shocking.