Autopsy Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda *SINCLAIR 150TH*

Other than Sinclair I don’t think they want to play around with the defence too much - stability generates confidence, connection & understanding amongst the defenders.
Stocker could play mid , but he has just settled in so I would be pushing Owens and Windhager through there the first chance they get , Phillipou when they reckon he is ready.
Rough on Higgins. He's our top scorer by a fair margin and kicked 3 on a day that hardly anyone else could get one.
Higgins is a little beauty , very few small forwards average 15 touches a game and averages over 2 goals a game.
Milne only average around 10 and 2.1 goals a game.
It's so good to have a dangerous forward compared to the guys in the past few years in Weller , Wright , Lonie , Long or whoever else they threw down there.

What about how sleepy Pou absolutely crunched laird. Amazing he managed to do that mid nap.
Sleepy Pous sweeping handballs are a thing of beauty. Him and Owens are going to be absolutely elite. Unless we ruin them because we can never have nice things.

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

You'd probably cut him some slack as this is about his 6th game of footy and he's coming off a 3 week break. It's a big ask for him and Owens to compete week in week out with no cover. I think this game has highlighted that we still have a need for another key forward. Still a good effort to kick a couple of goals, give the kid time.
Agreed. Pretty crazy to be nitpicking his game after that performance from the team.
Call me crazy but I think directing the criticism to the leadership group who showed absolutely zero leadership might be more appropriate.

Picked the right game to miss and have lunch with my mother in law
I'm not married but never in my life will I miss a St. Kilda game for anything involving in laws if I ever do get married.
I don't miss Saints games ever... Blows my mind that someone could for a lunch.

Who of our non max king or windy reinforcements can actually make us noticeably better now instead of just slight improvements or side grades now?
Webster. Because Patton is a liability. Hate to say it because I've met the guy and he's a legend but he is nowhere near up to it.

Hill is only good to us when we are on top of the opposition. Without trying to sound too harsh he is a genuine front runner.

It's a trade I'd love be able to go back in time and change but it is what it is.
Any chance we could get a 2nd rounder for him?

I'm not married but never in my life will I miss a St. Kilda game for anything involving in laws if I ever do get married.
I don't miss Saints games ever... Blows my mind that someone could for a lunch.

Sorry mate, there are three things bigger than a game of footy. Family, friends in need, and sex. For the latter I'll begrudgingly go through the first and suffer through a lunch every now and then, in order to get it.

Geez, now we have to wait until 4.40 Sunday twilight to somehow make amends for yesterday's sh!tshow. The Giants at home with Toby returning all of a sudden seems a tough ask. Pretty bloody important game now just thinking about it, love to see us get back to the system and pressure of the first few rounds. Hopefully we can arrest the slide we've all witnessed over the last few weeks.

Let's all hope Timmy is gonna be ok, took a really nasty knock to the head in that fall, horrible to see the hand like that.

On what bases is everyone shit caning Paton, i don't get it he plays his roll seems as though as soon as we have a loss we roll out the same players names week afet week , our problem yesterday was our lazy HFF as they allowed the likes of Milera & Smith to set up numerous attacks.

Our midfield isn't running deep enough into our defence to help counter attack like they did in teh early rounds that will come back.

Cordy needs to come into that defensive area to help free up Wilkie so he's not locked down on a paticular player like he was yesterday, Cordy can play on the bigger players which will leave Wilkie to either be our marking player or 3rd man up.

On what bases is everyone s**t caning Paton, i don't get it he plays his roll seems as though as soon as we have a loss we roll out the same players names week afet week , our problem yesterday was our lazy HFF as they allowed the likes of Milera & Smith to set up numerous attacks.

Our midfield isn't running deep enough into our defence to help counter attack like they did in teh early rounds that will come back.

Cordy needs to come into that defensive area to help free up Wilkie so he's not locked down on a paticular player like he was yesterday, Cordy can play on the bigger players which will leave Wilkie to either be our marking player or 3rd man up.

The manic pressure across the ground has disappeared. The defence was exposed because we didn't hold the ball up. Part of it was the Crows moved the ball too fast to set up ahead of them. When we moved the ball we moved it slow and they had set up ahead of us. We didn't work hard enough to make space on the spread.

We came back when we upped the work rate then came out like we started the match in the third quarter. It was a real Ratts era performance with work rate dropping when things got hard for them. Lyon doesn't need to yell at them but he needs to spell out the non-negotiables and swing the axe so that players know that it's not acceptable effort.

I guess you can write that game off. Crows are going to thump plenty of teams in Adelaide.

More worrying is the form line of the last 4 weeks. Even the win against Roos we looked horrible. Looking at the injury list, only King, Webster and Billings ready to go in next few weeks. King could be a game changer, the other two are just thereabouts, Webster for Paton (has he been possessed by Mr Bean?).

A lot riding on King and you have to think it will take him a while to get going. Not too long I hope.

This could have been an option is Coff were available
Definitely- looked fit as pre season, makes good decisions, kicks well and if you watch closely has real speed over the first 5 metres.

A real loss, could have provided flexibility to the line up.

On a personal note, a really tough run for the guy with soft tissue issues after the ACL. Will be a hard road for him to make AFL via the VFL this season by the time he is ready to go.

Deserves some good luck!

The manic pressure across the ground has disappeared. The defence was exposed because we didn't hold the ball up. Part of it was the Crows moved the ball too fast to set up ahead of them. When we moved the ball we moved it slow and they had set up ahead of us. We didn't work hard enough to make space on the spread.

We came back when we upped the work rate then came out like we started the match in the third quarter. It was a real Ratts era performance with work rate dropping when things got hard for them. Lyon doesn't need to yell at them but he needs to spell out the non-negotiables and swing the axe so that players know that it's not acceptable effort.
Great summary.

The talk of bringing the Cordenfurter into the defensive lineup is somewhat disconcerting. Would mean him replacing Dougal, not sure we're ready for that just yet. Sure Dougs had a shocker but overall so far this year our defence has looked pretty good. Guess we're all a bit rocked by yesterday's performance, the way we lost was pretty damning. However I'd say there's just about zero chance Howard gets dropped for Cordy this week. In fact barring injury, I'd be surprised to see ole Zainey play down back at all this year in the seniors. I reckon if he's getting another game this year it'll be as that defensive forward. With Max and the Hammer back in town, hopefully we won't need that again.

Autopsy Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda *SINCLAIR 150TH*