Autopsy Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda *SINCLAIR 150TH*

The talk of bringing the Cordenfurter into the defensive lineup is somewhat disconcerting. Would mean him replacing Dougal, not sure we're ready for that just yet. Sure Dougs had a shocker but overall so far this year our defence has looked pretty good. Guess we're all a bit rocked by yesterday's performance, the way we lost was pretty damning. However I'd say there's just about zero chance Howard gets dropped for Cordy this week. In fact barring injury, I'd be surprised to see ole Zainey play down back at all this year in the seniors. I reckon if he's getting another game this year it'll be as that defensive forward. With Max and the Hammer back in town, hopefully we won't need that again.

I reckon even Wilkie looked exposed yesterday. Howard looks comical when he has a bad one but that shit was happening up ahead of them to get them that exposed. Cordy is not the answer. The answer is tightening up all over the ground. The ball came straight up the centre before we could even get out of out forward 50.

If the players want to experience that every week they just need to keep being lazy, because other coaches will use that as the model to beat them. In that game one against Freo, we sat up on level three. There was literally no-one ahead of the ball for Freo that wasn't covered. All they could do was bounce the ball around inside our defensive 50 and any ball that went forward was to a contest.

In the Port game there were holes all over the field and players chasing all day. We have lost that manic adherence to the zone.

The manic pressure across the ground has disappeared. The defence was exposed because we didn't hold the ball up. Part of it was the Crows moved the ball too fast to set up ahead of them. When we moved the ball we moved it slow and they had set up ahead of us. We didn't work hard enough to make space on the spread.

We came back when we upped the work rate then came out like we started the match in the third quarter. It was a real Ratts era performance with work rate dropping when things got hard for them. Lyon doesn't need to yell at them but he needs to spell out the non-negotiables and swing the axe so that players know that it's not acceptable effort.
I haven't watched the whole game, but our tackling sucked yesterday and it did against Port too. If teams take us on with speed and are able to brush off our players our zone falls apart and the ball will be coming into defence fast. Also I feel like our players get into a panic and resort to Ratts ball movement style with too many long bombs in hope and then we start losing control of the ball and ability to control the tempo

Thoughts:

• Gave any advantage Wilkie provided us away by playing him on Walker. Disappointed not to see Battle get a crack at him.
  • Eggshells Butler. Hate it when he plays like that, so unwilling to cop body contact. Now and then you will be hunted rather than only be allowed to run free to hunt. He needs to eradicate that out of his game.
  • Our most improved player this season might be NWM.
  • We don't get enough out of Marshall. I don't care what the numbers say.
  • Caminiti worked into the game well. Plenty to work with.
  • Membrey had just turned the corner when he got knocked out. Disappointing.
  • Three weeks since anyone but Clark has handled the ball cleanly at stoppage. To be fair, Bytel looked clean when he came on.
  • Missed opportunity to rotate the squad a few weeks about on the five day break. Hopefully now there will be some rotation (Windhager, Webster, Billings all played for Sandy yesterday, King also to return.)

Thoughts:

• Gave any advantage Wilkie provided us away by playing him on Walker. Disappointed not to see Battle get a crack at him.
  • Eggshells Butler. Hate it when he plays like that, so unwilling to cop body contact. Now and then you will be hunted rather than only be allowed to run free to hunt. He needs to eradicate that out of his game.
  • Our most improved player this season might be NWM.
  • We don't get enough out of Marshall. I don't care what the numbers say.
  • Caminiti worked into the game well. Plenty to work with.
  • Membrey had just turned the corner when he got knocked out. Disappointing.
  • Three weeks since anyone but Clark has handled the ball cleanly at stoppage. To be fair, Bytel looked clean when he came on.
  • Missed opportunity to rotate the squad a few weeks about on the five day break. Hopefully now there will be some rotation (Windhager, Webster, Billings all played for Sandy yesterday, King also to return.)

I thought Bytel was terrible, turned over everything he touched.

Bytel is just another Ledger/Curran. I wouldn’t be pinning any hopes on him.

He’s got the basis for a good inside mid but he’s rarely been fit when we have a need for a one position inside midfielder. That game wasn’t one to get him another crack. Billings hasn’t done much but probably a better sub option because he’s adaptable.

I reckon even Wilkie looked exposed yesterday. Howard looks comical when he has a bad one but that s**t was happening up ahead of them to get them that exposed. Cordy is not the answer. The answer is tightening up all over the ground. The ball came straight up the centre before we could even get out of out forward 50.

If the players want to experience that every week they just need to keep being lazy, because other coaches will use that as the model to beat them. In that game one against Freo, we sat up on level three. There was literally no-one ahead of the ball for Freo that wasn't covered. All they could do was bounce the ball around inside our defensive 50 and any ball that went forward was to a contest.

In the Port game there were holes all over the field and players chasing all day. We have lost that manic adherence to the zone.

I thought they looked faster than us, able to break our lines.
There is also a thing the Saints have been doing all year, if its rebounding from our 50, we'll try to spoil so that the ball goes back behind the opponent attempting the mark, often we then had another player get in and take it uncontested.
This game they were spoiling , but the loose ball was never uncontested , and mostly a Crow won it out or it turned into a scrabble for a ballup.

He’s got the basis for a good inside mid but he’s rarely been fit when we have a need for a one position inside midfielder. That game wasn’t one to get him another crack. Billings hasn’t done much but probably a better sub option because he’s adaptable.
We aren’t going deep into the finals if we make it
Let’s give him 5 to 6 full games to see if he can make it
Seb isn’t taking us anywhere
No good bringing in Dow and getting rid of Bytel treading water at best

Let’s find out who has it in them

This exactly. Our mids may, just may win us a final, but we are nowhere near it as far as top four goes.

I'd rather keep him at Sandy than this Sandy one week, sub the next routine they have him in.
He's not a good sub anyway, i get the impression he'd be better if he could work his way into the game.

Sorry mate, there are three things bigger than a game of footy. Family, friends in need, and sex. For the latter I'll begrudgingly go through the first and suffer through a lunch every now and then, in order to get it.
Arguebly those 3 things are on par with footy. But I guess that's a matter of opinion. I know one thing for sure. If you know that you need to take an in law for a meal to get yourself a root there are 2 other meal slots during the day that can be utilised if the other clashes with footy.
All I'm gathering from your original post is that you planned as well as the Saints did for Adelaide.

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

That midfield is not going to take us far into the finals- if we get there. They have a few good moments, but generally all one-paced, slow off the mark. I guess Windy will be walking straight in there next week, but boy do we need some burst players.

We need to get another rebound HBF to free Sinclair into the middle. Coffield if he ever gets fit perhaps. The midfield isn't the issue anyway IMO. Collingwood had Crisp and not much else last year. Geelong and Sydney had very minimal impact from the midfield.

Run and spread across the ground from HBFs to high half forwards and wings that help out at both ends are the new necessities and where sides like Carlton have less quality. Acres is their best option and they struggle against the best sides. Even Melbourne who have the best midfield set up dropped back when those types dropped away and their forwards didn't get clean supply and were injured.

Good midfields can cut us up but it's on the outside that we struggled yesterday.

An issue we’ve had previously has been our pace in the midfield. Both going forward and defensively. Seb’s last few years have been much nst the last two weeks so I’m willing to back him in. However crouch Ross Steele etc. it’s a worry. Need either the Pou windy or someone else to add some extra speed. I really like Wi dy because he had the speed and is defensively minded. STI k him there and let him play a whole game as a mid.

Yeah our best mids are being beaten, lets trade in a guy who can can be sub.

We need to get another rebound HBF to free Sinclair into the middle. Coffield if he ever gets fit perhaps. The midfield isn't the issue anyway IMO. Collingwood had Crisp and not much else last year. Geelong and Sydney had very minimal impact from the midfield.

Run and spread across the ground from HBFs to high half forwards and wings that help out at both ends are the new necessities and where sides like Carlton have less quality. Acres is their best option and they struggle against the best sides. Even Melbourne who have the best midfield set up dropped back when those types dropped away and their forwards didn't get clean supply and were injured.

Good midfields can cut us up but it's on the outside that we struggled yesterday.
Agreed wouldn’t it be nice to get a free generational father son who could just slot in at HB or on the ball…

Rankine would of still kicked 2 on Webster, so no difference Rankine ball use & possesions wasn't the difference.
I'm not sure where I mentioned Rankine or how your hypothetical has anything to do with what I said.. But nice story.
Just to be clear even though I was originally. I was talking about the need to replace Patton with Webster as he is a far better footballer.

Rankine would of still kicked 2 on Webster, so no difference Rankine ball use & possesions wasn't the difference.
I'm not sure where I mentioned Rankine or how your hypothetical has anything to do with what I said.. But nice story.
Just to be clear even though I was originally. I was talking about the need to replace Patton with Webster as he is a far better footballer.

On what bases is everyone s**t caning Paton, i don't get it he plays his roll seems as though as soon as we have a loss we roll out the same players names week afet week , our problem yesterday was our lazy HFF as they allowed the likes of Milera & Smith to set up numerous attacks.

Our midfield isn't running deep enough into our defence to help counter attack like they did in teh early rounds that will come back.

Cordy needs to come into that defensive area to help free up Wilkie so he's not locked down on a paticular player like he was yesterday, Cordy can play on the bigger players which will leave Wilkie to either be our marking player or 3rd man up.
Because he is a poor user of the football, terrible decision maker and frankly not up to AFL standard.

Autopsy Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda *SINCLAIR 150TH*