Rumour Rumour File 3

Why do the Hawks want Hale? Even if he was a 2nd ruck he'd have to rest in the forward, making it too tall...Where's that huge Roughead to Carlton thread again? :p

What an excellent question. :thumbsu:

I've been trying to figure it out myself. Just doesn't make sense.
The boys at North must be pizzing themselves for anyone fighting over Hale.
Just weird.

the point Harks is that johnson is so far down the order that when he's called on for depth, it's sink or swim. I just haven't seen the consistency, tenacity or determination to keep his spot in the team, nor the mongrel to compete against a quality opponent.
I'd play him as a HFF where his legendary kicking would set up opportunities. But were we to get Bevan i just can't see cj2 getting a game.

the point Harks is that johnson is so far down the order that when he's called on for depth, it's sink or swim. I just haven't seen the consistency, tenacity or determination to keep his spot in the team, nor the mongrel to compete against a quality opponent.
I'd play him as a HFF where his legendary kicking would set up opportunities. But were we to get Bevan i just can't see cj2 getting a game.

Tell me that 5 weeks into last season and I would have agreed.
His efforts in the latter part of the year had all the aspects of someone who has pushed himself harder than ever before.
The head was over the ball, the "tough" came out (maybe a by-product of the beard :D) and general attitude was the best I'd seen in his time with us.

May not be enough, but if it were my call I'd "HOLD"

The Saints and Port games changed my mind about this...I would be very happy to keep Johnson on our list

No, that's called a clean out. Enjoy the slide.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over expecting a different result, so putting that definition to your pathetic club means you keep rebuilding over and over expecting to finish higher then 9th! Aint gonna happen!:D

No worries mate, I'm out of here. Hopefully we can get the Grigg deal through and end this week.

It was a general observation and not geared directly at you.
Some of the stuff here reminds me of children slapping one another until one ultimately breaks down and starts to cry.

Grigg and me: Lost interest last week. Good luck to the smug ....... :)

No, that's called a clean out. Enjoy the slide.

Ahh, no. Everyone tipped the Tigers to finish above us which was a shocking call. All your fans were up and about for your first finals appearance in years and then we come out and flog you and then you finish 15th.

Then the clean out happened.

What an excellent question. :thumbsu:

I've been trying to figure it out myself. Just doesn't make sense.
The boys at North must be pizzing themselves for anyone fighting over Hale.
Just weird.

My read on this is that the Hawks are tinkering with the thought of playing Hale at full forward and then sending Roughead down back to be their CHB. That way still ensuring they have a tough forwardline to match up against (Buddy, Hale, Rioli, Osbourne etc) and also allowing them to shore up their backline with Roughead and thus alleviating their weakness.

Doubt it. I mean, look at their ruck stocks. Who have they got?
Besides, history says they would rather recruit a ready-made ruckman than bring a kid up through the ranks (Salmon, Everitt).

This from DeepThroat007 on teh Richmond board. Seems to have reliable info he recons he gets from a manager or close enough to...

"There is still a chance that either rance, Moore,macguane, one if these plus thursty who Carlton is still a chance, the blues hawks and swans are a chance but everyone is waiting on freo and tarrant."

and...

"Also Carlton have made a play for Moore, Rance, macgaune and thursfeild, desperate for a key back and we are the only club with a couple to spare, 1 problem, the blues are just to hard to deal with and won't pay the right value and want to involve Grigg as a straight swap or we give up more, with hawthorn, Sydney, bris and suns all enquiring about our key backs the blues might end up with nothing and lose a player in the psd. "

I wouldn't mind getting Moore.

This from DeepThroat007 on teh Richmond board. Seems to have reliable info he recons he gets from a manager or close enough to...

"There is still a chance that either rance, Moore,macguane, one if these plus thursty who Carlton is still a chance, the blues hawks and swans are a chance but everyone is waiting on freo and tarrant."

and...

"Also Carlton have made a play for Moore, Rance, macgaune and thursfeild, desperate for a key back and we are the only club with a couple to spare, 1 problem, the blues are just to hard to deal with and won't pay the right value and want to involve Grigg as a straight swap or we give up more, with hawthorn, Sydney, bris and suns all enquiring about our key backs the blues might end up with nothing and lose a player in the psd. "

I wouldn't mind getting Moore.

All four of Richmond's key defenders are undersized. And apart from Moore, who is ever so slightly above average, they are all spuds.

Not what we are looking for.

Nothing wrong with injecting some experience players into the side, especially ones with premiership experience like Bevan.

I wouldn't mind that trade but surely Irish would be involved? Bevan could player as a defensive forward or small defender and do it well whilst injecting some hardness to our line up. I don't mind it at all.

All four of Richmond's key defenders are undersized. And apart from Moore, who is ever so slightly above average, they are all spuds.

Not what we are looking for.

Wouldn't rate the Tigers backline as spuds. Don't forget that they've had to deal with a lot of ball coming in over the last two years.:eek: