Ryan O'Keefe Wants to Leave Sydney for Melbourne - All Discussion Here!

Do you like ROK?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

If he goes i hope he gets his money and we get an early 1st rounder, or a late 1st rounder + a good fringe player that addresses a deficiency in our squad.
In return they get ROK + 2nd or 3rd round pick.
I dont mind the bombers deal, the only problem i can see is to much responsibility on Lovett. There is big emphasis on his speed and line breaking ability.

If he goes i hope he gets his money and we get an early 1st rounder, or a late 1st rounder + a good fringe player that addresses a deficiency in our squad.
In return they get ROK + 2nd or 3rd round pick.
I dont mind the bombers deal, the only problem i can see is to much responsibility on Lovett. There is big emphasis on his speed and line breaking ability.

Paul Roos has said tonight the Swans want a first round draft pick in any deal for ROK.

Carlton just offered ROK 1.5mil over 3years, how would they still be under the cap if the deal goes through would stagger me.

Freo just knocked back pick 24 for Warnock, i hope Carlton realise pick 24 alone won't nearly be enough.

Carlton just offered ROK 1.5mil over 3years, how would they still be under the cap if the deal goes through would stagger me.

Freo just knocked back pick 24 for Warnock, i hope Carlton realise pick 24 alone won't nearly be enough.

has to be media sensationalism

we can't even offer him that with the extra mill in our salary cap

the only way rok is being offered that much is if richard pratt was giving it to him under the table ;)

Freo will accept pick 24 for Warnock because they will have no choice.

It's that or nothing. They should be greatful they even got offered that. I would have offered a 3rd round pick and made them sweat and burn because the reality is Warnock has them over a barrel.

With that, it seems increasingly difficult to satisfy the Swans for ROK because pick 6 will NOT be traded unless it is for Kerr.

Hawks are struggling to pay him, Dogs seem like they want Cordy and Essendon is a remote chance.

Leaves Carl or Coll.

If the Magpie hierarchy decide that they want him, they will get him. Unfortunately Sydney will not receive a first round pick or anything equivalent to that.

With Collingwood set to have a second round pick up their sleeve, it looms as the best possible deal Sydney can hope for because first rounders from both Blues and Magpies are off limits. It's a case of either that or PSD and it seems ROK will test the waters with the PSD because he will receive the amount of money he is seeking. This is what it is all about at the end of the day. Money and security.

He doesn't seem fussed where he ends up (Carl or Coll) provided he receives the offer he is seeking.

Either Sydney come to the party and do a deal or lose a quality player in ROK. Without the bias, for me the decision is simple.

bullshit there's no bias from you.

You haven't listed the third option and that is, he stays at sydney and we pay him what he wants.

You will not get ROK for a second round pick.

bullshit there's no bias from you.

You haven't listed the third option and that is, he stays at sydney and we pay him what he wants.

You will not get ROK for a second round pick.

Mate wake up to yourself.

I'd love to have ROK but at the end of the day we do not urgently NEED him. We will look at him though.

The likelihood of staying in Sydney is remote.

The writing is on the wall when you publicly shop yourself around like a piece of meat to the highest bidder.

This whole 'I want to play for a side in contention for premierships' over the next few years is a fluff piece. It's all about the money.

Even if he ends up in the PSD, he will still get what he wants and some because he can nominate any price tag he wishes to put on his head. Good luck to the WA clubs and the Dees for that matter if they really want to take the chance and pay a 28yr old that sort of money on a long term deal. He'd get to either Ess or Carl via the PSD anyway.

At the end of the day it won't get that far. Sydney will do the deal on ROK because it is in their best interests to do so. Compensation is better than no compensation and a second round pick + a player is the best you can hope for.

It is a buyer's market at the end of the day and you do not want to blow the chance of receiving the best possible deal because of ego.

He is uncontracted and seeking a return home. Decision is simple if you ask me.

LOL

All take a deep breath!

There can only be one of a few reasons for all of this talk

1. Terms and Money

2. Wishing to return to VIC (the footy big time)

3. Sick of Sydney wants out of the "Swans/Bloods" culture thing

4. Wants to play in a more successful (prospective side)

Think hard for a while about it;)

If it was any of 2 3 or 4 or (or a combination with or without 1)

Then the best way to achieve THAT would be to have Swans being the first notified, definitely!... and seeking Swans help for ROK to achieve it

BUT!

It has not been that way!... it is 1. .....all finding out what the market will pay for the Swans to match it and helping swans go fishing for who others are prepared to part with!!:p

Edit: There is reason 5. But I am saying nuffin about that!

You have to admire the audacity of the Big Footy experts such as dalethomas13 coming to our board and telling us how it is. Unfortunately I give very little credence to any of their so-called knowledge.

The PSD myth has been busted over and over, yet these ill-informed trolls continue to run with it as if it's some kind of all conquering fact.

Collingwood don't have Sydney over a barrel, and for that matter, nor do the Blues or anyone else. Stop pretending you're all trade savvy gurus and embarrassing yourselves on our board.

You have to admire the audacity of the Big Footy experts such as dalethomas13 coming to our board and telling us how it is. Unfortunately I give very little credence to any of their so-called knowledge.

The PSD myth has been busted over and over, yet these ill-informed trolls continue to run with it as if it's some kind of all conquering fact.

Collingwood don't have Sydney over a barrel, and for that matter, nor do the Blues or anyone else. Stop pretending you're all trade savvy gurus and embarrassing yourselves on our board.

Expert? Not at all. Simply, I have stated my opinion based on the facts at hand....

Trolling? Never have and never will. I respect every board and every poster. You just seem delusional and ignorant to the fact that if ROK is to be traded the best you could hope for is a second round pick.

Lastly, I never said Collingwood had Sydney over a barrel. He hasn't even nominated a club to join for next season. Either way, if he goes any club will have Sydney over a barrel and the whole football world knows it. Just ask Freo with Warnock.

It does not take trade savvy gurus to understand the dynamics of trading, particularly with out of contract players who wish to leave. It is just common sense.

You stated that if Collingwood wants O'Keefe, he's theirs. That's as good as having us over a barrel, if you believe what you typed.

Trolling? Never have and never will. I respect every board and every poster. You just seem delusional and ignorant to the fact that if ROK is to be traded the best you could hope for is a second round pick.

Explain to me how that's being delusional.

You stated that if Collingwood wants O'Keefe, he's theirs. That's as good as having us over a barrel, if you believe what you typed.

Explain to me how that's being delusional.

What I meant was, if Collingwood really want ROK they will get him in terms of monetary value, which if you read on is the main reason I was referring to behind his exit. I also went on to say that he doesn't seem to care where he goes as long as he gets the pay wicket he is seeking. With the cap space available to Collingwood, it is no secret that if they want him bad enough they can secure his signature.

As I said, it is all about the money here.

Which bring us to satisfying Sydney with a trade.

Do you honestly believe you will get a first round pick for ROK from any club?

Nobody will offer you that especially if he is to leave. The very best you could hope for is a second round pick. Hence, why thinking you can get a first round pick for ROK is delusionsal. He is definitely worth that but you will not get it.

At the end of the day, trade scenarios like the Nick Stevens saga will not happen again. They are terrible business decisions that can have a disastrous effect on the club mid-long term. You do not let quality players walk for nothing, which is why Sydney will do a deal and be compensated, despite it being not what they would generally want.

Mate wake up to yourself.

I'd suggest you take YOUR own advise and do the same.

The likelihood of staying in Sydney is remote.

The writing is on the wall when you publicly shop yourself around like a piece of meat to the highest bidder.

Really??? You think that if the Swans aren't able to do a deal for O'Keefe in the trade window or that the Swans offer O'Keefe a contract that is as good or better than anything being offered by a Melbourne-based club he won't re-sign with us because "the likelihood is remote" and the "writing is on the wall".

Well explain to me in your bitter and twisted logic why in God's good name that the Swans still have Darren Jolly playing for the club when last trade-period he was "off contract", was "shopping himself around" to Victorian Club's (including Collingwood who made a play at him before going after Cameron Wood) for more money, only to re-sign with the Swans for the terms that he originally agreed with the club before shopping himself around as is the case this year with O'Keefe.

So don't sit at your computer (like some keyboard hero who has to hide behind the name of a player you jerk off to at night) and say to Swans fans that O'Keefe has rejected ANY chance of re-signing for the club because he is shopping himself around.

We saw this last year and the player stayed and there is every change the same COULD happen again. The club has put the price of AT LEAST a 1st Round Draft Pick on his head its up to any other club to meet that price. If they don't we'll go about re-signing him like we did Jolly last year and if we don't he'll end up in the PSD and as you can tell that is just unlikely to happen because he won't want to end up anywhere.

He'd get to either Ess or Carl via the PSD anyway.

He won't even last to those clubs in a PSD.

He is uncontracted and seeking a return home. Decision is simple if you ask me.

He is uncontracted and seeking an improved contract either from Sydney or from a Melbourne based club via a trade which will cost that club at least a 1st Round Pick. Club doesn't want to play then O'Keefe will stay with Sydney and sign the contract he was about to sign last week.

Even more simple for idiots such as yourself.

I'd suggest you take YOUR own advise and do the same.

Really??? You think that if the Swans aren't able to do a deal for O'Keefe in the trade window or that the Swans offer O'Keefe a contract that is as good or better than anything being offered by a Melbourne-based club he won't re-sign with us because "the likelihood is remote" and the "writing is on the wall".

Well explain to me in your bitter and twisted logic why in God's good name that the Swans still have Darren Jolly playing for the club when last trade-period he was "off contract", was "shopping himself around" to Victorian Club's (including Collingwood who made a play at him before going after Cameron Wood) for more money, only to re-sign with the Swans for the terms that he originally agreed with the club before shopping himself around as is the case this year with O'Keefe.

So don't sit at your computer (like some keyboard hero who has to hide behind the name of a player you jerk off to at night) and say to Swans fans that O'Keefe has rejected ANY chance of re-signing for the club because he is shopping himself around.

We saw this last year and the player stayed and there is every change the same COULD happen again. The club has put the price of AT LEAST a 1st Round Draft Pick on his head its up to any other club to meet that price. If they don't we'll go about re-signing him like we did Jolly last year and if we don't he'll end up in the PSD and as you can tell that is just unlikely to happen because he won't want to end up anywhere.

He won't even last to those clubs in a PSD.

He is uncontracted and seeking an improved contract either from Sydney or from a Melbourne based club via a trade which will cost that club at least a 1st Round Pick. Club doesn't want to play then O'Keefe will stay with Sydney and sign the contract he was about to sign last week.

Even more simple for idiots such as yourself.

Pretty decent crack from someone who needs to use their power to defend or debate an argument like THE real hero if you ask me.

Can't even have healthy discussion or debate anymore on certain boards without the over-protection by people on power-trips.

Anyway, I did not come onto this board to troll and nor have I.

I'll let trade week sort itself out and vindicate what I have expressed.

Pretty decent crack from someone who needs to use their power to defend or debate an argument like THE real hero if you ask me.

Can't even have healthy discussion or debate anymore on certain boards without the over-protection by people on power-trips.

coz hes a mod? youre a goose...

What power did he use? He replied to your post and now you're not happy. You can't expect everyone to agree with you, especially when you act as if you have some crystal ball.

O'Keefe, in my opinion and the minds of many others, is very much worth a first rounder and that's the price Roos has put out there. If you seriously think he'll do some secret deal with Collingwood or any other team that will allow them to get him for nothing in the PSD then you may be the one who's delusional.

dalethomas13 this is my reply

What power did he use? He replied to your post and now you're not happy.

What he said.

I didn't give you an infraction so what ARE YOU SOOKING ABOUT???

Oh thats right, I didn't with your opinion - DEAL WITH IT.

My last word on the subject is...

You can't expect everyone to agree with you, especially when you act as if you have some crystal ball.

What he said......

I wouldn't be too upset if hawthorn gave up their 1st round pick + a player for him but i wouldn't want to be paying him anymore than 400k a year.

Personally i hope he stays at sydney.

I wouldn't be too upset if hawthorn gave up their 1st round pick + a player for him but i wouldn't want to be paying him anymore than 400k a year.

That's the thing, the teams with late first rounders probably wont be dealing with us. Which player did you have in mind?

A much more realistic post than a few of our other visitors!

Don't get me wrong I for one very much enjoy visitors here

But Hawks have an embarrassment of riches especially forward (Buddy, Roughhead Williams etc already)

The main issue I think you will face as a club is keeping them all together under the cap as the younger ones get older into next contract

eg Buddy would not be yet being paid anything like what he is worth even now!If he keeps this up be might become a King Carey $1mill man?

I believe ROK is worth more to Swans than most!!! My only worry is "Vizy dollars"

Our new young Wobbler "friend" DT13 correctly points out Wobbles are desperate for top up success and have cap room but I fail to see real value at Collingwood if they keep ....Didak, Thomas, Medhurst, Neon leon, Cloke in forwardline! Wobbles need a replacement midfielder (for Burns) more than they need another HFF!

I also think it will take round 1 pick to take ROK. If any club wants to meet ROK's estimated "asking salary price" then making sure they beat the few other clubs to get signature means they cough up tradewise otherwise ROK is heading to Melb FC, or WA!!!

Mate you came on here to express your opinion like it's the way it is and anyone who doesn't agree with you is delusional.

The thing is your opinion is biased towards the ideal position for collingwood to get okeefe for nothing. We're just telling you there is more to it, whether you choose to take that on board or not is your choice.

I'll let trade week sort itself out and vindicate what I have expressed. :D

What power did he use? He replied to your post and now you're not happy. You can't expect everyone to agree with you, especially when you act as if you have some crystal ball.

O'Keefe, in my opinion and the minds of many others, is very much worth a first rounder and that's the price Roos has put out there. If you seriously think he'll do some secret deal with Collingwood or any other team that will allow them to get him for nothing in the PSD then you may be the one who's delusional.

lol, absolutely :thumbsu:

Another thing dalethomas, you argue that we wont get more than a second round pick for ROk on the basis that COLLINGWOOD aren't deseprate for a HFF.

You are coming from the angle that the world revolves around collingwood, i don't blame you because your club thinks like that too but that mentality wont assure you a better deal in trade week.

If we can believe Roos' comments in the the latest reports, it sounds as though Ryan O'Keefe's manager has backed him into a corner & may have soured the relationship between player & coach.

If Roos is fairdinkum, one gets the feeling that he is prepared to to let Ryan go based on the fact that he backed out of the verbal deal to chase more money.

You've got to hand it to Paul Roos. He has turned this whole thing back in our favour now saying that Ryan is no guarantee to stay a Swan & he would like to have a chat with him to see why he has shopped his name around the Melbourne market.

You feel for Rhino because he's obviously had these people pissing in his ear about how much they want him & so he appoints a manager to do the 'business' for him but it's backfired. He's priced himself out of the market. Basically the Swans offer was pretty close to what he would be worth elsewhere...............with out taking his wife from her family.............& without the good surf.
One thing you should never do to an honest person is try to hold something over their heads & Paul Roos is as honest & up front an AFL person that there is in the whole country.

So I guess Roos is now saying to Ryan. We aren't budging on the offer so if you want to stay a Swans player, then it has to be about more then just money so you better come & sort it out or we'll trade you.

Roos seems the type of person that doesn't want a bad taste ligering in his mouth so he will even let Ryan go for pick 40 once his made his mind up that he is unhappy with him.

So I may have been way off the mark when I seriously thought this may have been orchestrated by both parties.

Still...........nothing would surprise me. Many Have labelled Roos a 'spin doctor' afterall!

Come on Rhino! Smarten the hell up & play out your career with one club. The very club that knows what you are really worth once everything has been taken into account.

Ego is a bastard of a thing but a big ego often comes about when too many people tell someone how good they are. If they read it often enough then the head inflates & they start looking to mess their life up.

Go figure!!

Cheers!;)

i don't think roo's has put a spin on anything...

when initially i heard those comments... i thought he was merely acknowledging that we are no guarnatee of re-signing rok

but great to roo's play hard ball

ps. always hate it when guys change management... always makes me think of tom cruise and the oprah incident