Ryan O'Keefe Wants to Leave Sydney for Melbourne - All Discussion Here!

Do you like ROK?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

I heard he makes his decision public tomorrow, not sure where I heard it though, mabee just bull, anyone confirm this?

A different point of view:

ROK in 08 had a taste of Big V fame, 'On the Couch' Foxtel appearance, even maybe TFS show too?

Do you realise C9 TFS pays regulars $80K pa or $10K per appearance?

Every tinpot town in Vic has a footy side, larger ones several. The work extra$ to be gained from such things Sportsman night appearances, or shop opennings etc can be considerable, not to mention starting a business as a local footy identity

If ROK (or any other) wants a career in Footy after retirement there are 10 AFL clubs as many VFL and if worse comes to worse hundreds of semi pro sides! It's better if people there see you most weeks and in the press etc. and close by to establish link relationships. SAD FACT!:eek:

If ROK gets offered a genuine $450K in VIC, to equate in Sydney probably means at least $550k to match it.

The only thing I am annoyed about is he should have made his intentions clearer to Sydney earlier and got max co operation if he wants out. Maybe Swans played hard ball and made it difficult for him? Which does however beg the question ......that maybe ROK really does enjoy Sydney and it was a difficult choice to make!?

So a combo between TV and personal appearances could net him an extra 100k p/y. Not bad is it.. Plenty of motif.
Though life after footy, networking in Melbourne makes sense, but what is it i wonder he would do?
Surely coaching would be beyond him. No offense but i can hardly see him devising strategies, addressing the media, etc.
To me he would be in alot of competition in VIC with long time established local heros.
If he wises to chase work within football in his days after AFL, then there is a massive opportunity for him 20km up the road with the new West Sydney team.

In all honesty i could imagine him owing a fishing tackle shop on the beach somewhere..

Possible senario at work one day for ROK.
(Customer) Hey mate whats been biting out there lately, and what bait do ya reckon is best bait to use?
(ROK).. Ahh yeah well theres been a few different types of fish getting caught lately, i reckon ahh that if you get out there and ahh have a go you'll get some.
Bait well yeah theres all sorts the fish like, i guess if ya just go with these ones and get out there and ahh have a go you'll get one..

Great footballer though :thumbsu:

Lmao Pete. I'm sure ROK speaks very highly of you too.

Haha, you did see him appear on " On The Couch" didnt you?

He speaks exactly like that..

No joke!

He would be the funniest guy to go out on the piss with..
Could you imagine it when he starts slurring his words..
Gold.

All is forgiven Mr Bateman!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I may as well through in my two bobs worth. ROK will resign with Sydney for 3 years and they will remain ahppily ever after!!!!

Hopefully:rolleyes:

Cheers.

I don't think I actually made a definitive statement on a deal, but I agree with you.
ROK will re-sign with the Swans for three years. That gives him the security of a contract, in case he injures himself next season, but as far as I know also still allows him to request a trade in 12 months IF he still wants to go.
He will be committed to performing at his best (I mean, he would anyway) to ensure any club chasing him is still interested in a year, and we get a player determined to prove to all, inside and outside the club, that he is worth all the fuss that came during trade week.

After all, the one thing that ROK has done is brought a massive amount of attention on himself, and how he performs next season, wherever he is.

I also think it's a good point Corps raised about ROK getting a taste of playing in Victoria with a pro-Vic crowd behind him.

Surely coaching would be beyond him. No offense but i can hardly see him devising strategies, addressing the media, etc.
:thumbsu:

If he was key component of getting Visy a Flag or even making a GF!.... they would make him the paper bag picker upperer environmental director!on a fee of $zillions;)

You have of course heard ......Big Jack, Sticks, and Diesel speak I take it?

But if Bigbez "mail" is correct (ie makes a decision soon) he will stay!

Re: Ryan O'Keefe

I saw ROK a few days ago, and asked him (tounge in cheek) when he's gonna just tell everybody what they wanna hear and say he's joining Carlton.. He laughed and said Nah i'll be staying a Swan

If he was key component of getting Visy a Flag or even making a GF!.... they would make him the paper bag picker upperer environmental director!on a fee of $zillions;)

You have of course heard ......Big Jack, Sticks, and Diesel speak I take it?

But if Bigbez "mail" is correct (ie makes a decision soon) he will stay!

sorry mate, it wasnt exactly 'mail', just thought I heard it somewhere, saying that, Ive heard every scenario, I was just hoping someone could confirm they heard it too, prolly just another rumour...

If you're in Sydney though what else do you expect him to say? He's not going to give Average Joe the news scoop of the millenium.
You mean this?
October 14, 2008 - 2:11PM

She may be considered one of the world's sexiest celebrities but Australian starlet Sophie Monk says she's a "dud" in bed.
Speaking on breakfast radio this morning, Monk said she didn't consider herself to be sexy before revealing what she thought of herself in the bedroom.
"I'm not a very sexy person, I'm very awkward," the former Popstars babe told the Kyle and Jackie O breakfast show on 2DayFm.
"I'm probably bad in bed actually. I think I am a dud honestly. No one's going to tell you you're bad in bed.
"Why am I saying all this? You aren't even asking the questions, I'm just bagging myself."
Monk, who recently turned down an offer to appear nude in Playboy, is home to promote a new range of shapewear called Hollywood Fashion Shapes and admits she isn't comfortable with her body.
She later attended a press call - where she jokingly posed with the garments on her head.
Wearing grey pants and matching grey ruffled top with a brown belt Monk fielded questions about her ex-fiance US rocker Benji Madden's new love Paris Hilton.
When asked how she felt about reports that Hilton disliked her the former Popstars babe said: "I don't know why she hates me, if she does, but I don't hate her."
"I hear it from the press, I don't know where it's coming from, but that's cool she can hate me if she wants."
Monk broke off her engagement with Good Charlotte guitarist Madden at the beginning of the year.
He was spotted with party girl Hilton just weeks later.
When asked if she thought Hilton was jealous of her, she said: "I guess you would be, would you? I don't know," before laughing awkwardly.
The 28-year-old blonde singer and actress, who has starred in movies such as Date Movie and Click is set to appear in the next National Lampoon movie, also spoke of life as a celebrity in Los Angeles.
"My sense of humour is a bit different, I think some people don't know how to take me," she said.
Monk said she found it "weird" being followed by paparazzi and the lifestyle was not as glamorous as people might think.
"It looks glamorous, but that's the hair and makeup team, hopefully my reality show is going to show the other side ... no-one else really shows what it's really like yet," she said.
The reality show, which she has been filming this year, is tentatively titled Bigger Than Paris.

Someone told me that he was DEFINITELY going to essendon and we were getting lovett and their first round pick....

And you believed it? Lol. Knights wouldn't trade either of our first two picks for someone above 23ish. Not saying he's not worth it, just that Knights wouldn't do it.

It will probably simply come down to whether or not he wants to come to Essendon. It's unlikely Melbourne will take him, I doubt any inter-state club will spend that much money on him if he doesn't want to go there. Essendon let him slip past, they can afford to pay whatever they want.

He would be pretty confident of being picked up by Essendon, so it's really just up to him if he wants to do that or not.

Rumour has it that the toilet block in the Basil Sellars has just had one of those mechanical self raising toilet seats fitted.

Good news he is staying.

And you believed it? Lol. Knights wouldn't trade either of our first two picks for someone above 23ish. Not saying he's not worth it, just that Knights wouldn't do it.

It will probably simply come down to whether or not he wants to come to Essendon. It's unlikely Melbourne will take him, I doubt any inter-state club will spend that much money on him if he doesn't want to go there. Essendon let him slip past, they can afford to pay whatever they want.

He would be pretty confident of being picked up by Essendon, so it's really just up to him if he wants to do that or not.
Who cares what Knights thinks , he is a dud

CARLTON has withdrawn from the race for Ryan O'Keefe, conceding it would be too difficult to secure the Sydney star in the pre-season draft.

The Blues have pick six in the pre-season draft, and with Essendon (selection five) shaping as a hot contender, cannot find a way to get O'Keefe to Princes Park.

They believe he will re-sign with Sydney, although Essendon is expected to meet O'Keefe soon.

The Blues denied they had offered O'Keefe a $500,000 a year deal, and said they never considered offering selection six in the national draft.

O'Keefe's manager, Tom Petroro, said yesterday that Essendon would seem his only other realistic destination other than Sydney.
Essendon is believed to have spoken to Petroro this week.

The club decided at the weekend it had the capacity and inclination to bid for the 27-year-old.

Carlton chief executive Greg Swann said the Blues would concentrate on taking young talent in the November 29 national draft.

"We think he will stay in Sydney and we haven't spoken to his manager," he said.

"I would be staggered if he doesn't stay in Sydney."

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24498585-11088,00.html

I'm pretty sure O'Keefe wanted to go to a power house club with top 4 aspirations, so that rules out Essendon, who will be very lucky to make top 8.

Based on all the info about reasons for returnig home, it seems all the boxes have been crossed.

Long live ROK at Sydney, expect a decision some time today, pen to paper this arvo!!!!!!!:D

I heard it from a source:) (well I made it up, but praying hard)

Theres been a bit of an overreaction on here.

It's not like the guy has turned his back on the club, lied or stopped putting in 100% on the field. He obviously has legitimate reasons for wanting to move back to Victoria and he's worked his arse off for our club for the best part of 10 years. It would be nice to know his reasons for wanting to leave but at the end of the day he owes us nothing.

How many of you have changed local footy clubs? Did you go around to all the people that turn up to watch the team and explain to them why you left?

I'll be dissapointed in him and pretty pissed off if he goes into the PSD but if he re-signs then he has done nothing wrong in my eyes.

hahaha i can't believe she said that about herself. One thing she said that really made me think 'eek' was "no-one would ever tell you if you were bad in bed"

We all could be shit and just don't know it... Except for me, i have written references :D ;) ;)