Opinion Sack Hinkley 4 - Show Him The Door

When to sack Ken?

Going by what others have posted about the 5AA interview this is just a rehash of that. Some of these quotes from Hinkley have already been mentioned from the radio interview.

".. I don’t hear that (the white noise) … I see 62,000 members of our football club and I see our club exceeding expectations in a whole lot of areas. .. there are 10 per cent that are always in the nonbelievers’ part ..."

Any criticism is just white noise. How has he exceeded expectations in a club that exists to win premierships?
Members critical of his performance are "non-believers". Does the club honestly believe that members who want us to do better are non-believers?
As far as the club is concerned "true believers" are happy clapping Kool-Aid drinkers.

"... (I was) a genius coach two weeks ago ..."

Hinkley and Koch and the board may have thought he was a genius two weeks ago. That probably explains why he failed to get the team prepared for the Prelim Final. Too busy drinking his own bath water.

#sackhickey
Spot on.

The messaging coming out of the head coach/club of late is more "it's too hard to win premierships in the AFL".
Yes. And the players hear that...believe that. I know John Cahill's time has passed but he had the playing group believing they could do anything.

I don't think that is too dissimilar to successful AFL coaches. Hardwick, Clarkson. Hard edge guys who aren't best buddies with the players but get the absolute best out of their teams.

It's pointless playing hypotheticals, but what if we'd had a different bloke coaching since 2018. I reckon Ken's impact peaked in 2014. 2017 Elimination final performance should have told the club all they needed to know.

And yet here we are, 4 seasons further down the line, playing resources that should have delivered success but with nothing to show for it.

It will be harder again next year with Melbourne and Bulldogs already in front and likely to get better, a year also likely to be less covid affected so less likely to get the leg up of away games to no crowds or hub affected opponents.

Koch set the pathetically low target of having a 10 year coach...which is pretty easy if you extend without conditions and/or prematurely.

10 year coaching tenures usually only happen conditionally on success which is what the agreement should have been.

Flags = tenure
Failure = GTFO

If Port people are split into "true-believers" and "non-believers", then I know where I would rather be. Instead of blind faith in Ken and those in charge, I prefer to look at the body of evidence we have before us. And that evidence points to us being a very ordinary version of the Port Adelaide Football Club, even when accounting for the number of teams we compete against having doubled.
In the club's eyes "true believer" equates to accepting everything the club tells you without question.

True believers, come on down to Hinkleytown and try the Kool-Aid

This was posted on a Port Adelaide facebook page, and the great man Tredders even commented on it voicing his approval of your post.

241397715_411393723681523_2756550749344904514_n.jpg

Interestingly, Tredders went back and edited his comment relating to Chewy316's post. Wonder if the club has had a word to him already?

tredders.PNG

If in the next two years if there is no flag, the admin need to admit Ken has been a failure at winning a flag…. Not trotting out great record and all that, but simply as a premiership win big coach, FAIL.

They can at least admit that can’t they, own something?

Everytime chelsea loses under tuchel , he takes all the blame saying I must of not prepared the team properly.

Ken always blames someone else, the fact the players like him is truly baffling
Funny you say that, I've been thinking something similar listening to Ken yesterday and being a City supporter reminded of Pep in the Amazon documentary they did where Pep said to the players in the dressing room he'd always defend them in public, and take the criticism of defeat himself, but it's different behind closed doors.

Different sport I know but that's the difference between serial winners in Pep, Tuchel, Klopp and that ilk, compared to perennial bridesmaids in Hinkley. They'd never throw the players under the bus to escape scrutiny, the whole thing doesn't work or end in results if a coach/manager does that, meanwhile Ken has done that since the loss.

If in the next two years if there is no flag, the admin need to admit Ken has been a failure at winning a flag…. Not trotting out great record and all that, but simply as a premiership win big coach, FAIL.

They can at least admit that can’t they, own something?

No. They will trot out the great record and all of that.

To come out after a result like that and say that there is nothing you could have done differently is unforgivable. Not taking responsibility and, instead, throwing the players under the bus just puts a cherry on top. That kind of public, unearned arrogance is something that is toxic. That he gets away with it with apparent impunity shows where the club, its Presidential spiv, its Board and its CEO are at.

I also wonder how many of the 62,000 members Ken has met. I know a few of them off here who would be willing to tell him where to go.

Hinkley and Koch and the board may have thought he was a genius two weeks ago. That probably explains why he failed to get the team prepared for the Prelim Final. Too busy drinking his own bath water.
Bevo came with a plan to stop us. Aliir blanketed/blocked out of aerial contests, Amon not allowed too much time and room to deliver and probably

other things too subtle for me. Old mate takes ages to react if indeed he reacted at all. Ken's on record somewhere saying as coach come

ball up his job is basically done hence he's very rarely seen actually coaching in the box. Even more galling than starting Drew on the bench

was allowing them an extra at stoppages an area they've regularly towelled us up and is one of Bevo's signature MO's.

Then we get served up the infamous post game presser sans explanation for the faithful. Come days later he's worked on being the victim but still

doesn't/can't explain the result which leaves the great unwashed to not only calm down but sup it up.

Seez ya at the footy coz next year's gunna be the year, like all those other years hey.

Whadda guy

Today on SEN's Crunch time they talked about Cook being appointed Carlton CEO. Whateley talked about him being involved in the coach selection, but he doesn't officially start as CEO until mid October.

He said that after Mark Thompson left at end of 2010 season, (when he appeared to go a bit loopy), Cook and Neil Balme sat down and documented their formula to select a coach, developed the criteria and a weighting for each one.

Hinkley would have been assessed by these criteria when he missed out to Scott.

Leadership and Culture Development ..... 25%
Personal Qualities ................................ 15%
Management Ability ............................. 15%
Technical Ability .................................. 20%
Coaching History ................................. 10%
Ability to Communicate ........................ 10%
Commercial Appeal such as brand focus ... 5%
and ability to relate to members.

I wonder what Hinkley scored back in 2010, what Cook would give him now, and what mark Port would give him, or different people at Port ie Koch, Cahill, Richo, CD etc.

Listen between 12.30 and 14.40 for the discussion. Would be a bit bizarre if Cook had no input, as it would be if he had the dominate input and he is still technically the CEO of Geelong before a final decision is made.

Today on SEN's Crunch time they talked about Cook being appointed Carlton CEO. Whateley talked about him being involved in the coach selection, but he doesn't officially start as CEO until mid October.

He said that after Mark Thompson left at end of 2010 season, (when he appeared to go a bit loopy), Cook and Neil Balme sat down and documented their formula to select a coach, developed the criteria and a weighting for each one.

Hinkley would have been assessed by these criteria when he missed out to Scott.

Leadership and Culture Development ..... 25%
Personal Qualities ................................ 15%
Management Ability ............................. 15%
Technical Ability .................................. 20%
Coaching History ................................. 10%
Ability to Communicate ........................ 10%
Commercial Appeal such as brand focus ... 5%
and ability to relate to members.

I wonder what Hinkley scored back in 2010, what Cook would give him now, and what mark Port would give him, or different people at Port ie Koch, Cahill, Richo, CD etc.

Listen between 12.30 and 14.40 for the discussion. Would be a bit bizarre if Cook had no input, as it would be if he had the dominate input and he is still technically the CEO of Geelong before a final decision is made.

I think his score would have been akin to the percentage of non-believers REH.

Bevo came with a plan to stop us. Aliir blanketed/blocked out of aerial contests, Amon not allowed too much time and room to deliver and probably

other things too subtle for me. Old mate takes ages to react if indeed he reacted at all. Ken's on record somewhere saying as coach come

ball up his job is basically done hence he's very rarely seen actually coaching in the box. Even more galling than starting Drew on the bench

was allowing them an extra at stoppages an area they've regularly towelled us up and is one of Bevo's signature MO's.

Then we get served up the infamous post game presser sans explanation for the faithful. Come days later he's worked on being the victim but still

doesn't/can't explain the result which leaves the great unwashed to not only calm down but sup it up.

Seez ya at the footy coz next year's gunna be the year, like all those other years hey.

Whadda guy
hinkley is an absolute non entity of a coach.
in layman terms he has no idea and opposition coaches pick this guy apart like a pizza when they do there is nothing left.
i cant see things changing these guys are driving this club into a brick wall.