Opinion Sack Hinkley 5 - Lower The Blinds

Is it Rucci or Dillon saying he thinks Hinkley will be gone if we don't make finals? I haven't lowered my IQ by actually listening but it would be a huge about face from Rucci given the propaganda pieces he writes for the club.

Rucci concedes he will be gone because of outside pressures, 10 years without ultimate success yada yada, whilst stating Ken is coaching better than ever, there has been improvement in the coaching program and the Sydney win shows the program is working.

I'll have some of what they're having:devil:

We were all smoking that pipe 8 years ago. Almost a decade, and the torched premiership aspirations of a couple of club greats later, we're happy to pull out that pipe again and watch yet another generation of young future stars get torched? No thanks.
Rucci is a goon.

Clarkson is going to be coaching next season according to the media, the question is where?

He wants a list capable of success. He has apparently said no to GWS, Dew is doing great things with the Suns this season, so that leaves Port Adelaide at this stage . Essendon and North I would not consider because their lists suck.

I would think we are in the box seat as long as the club has been doing what they are paid to do.

Imo if Clarko was going to GWS it would have been announced by now considering Cameron has departed. If he were to come our way, it could be until we are out of the finals race mathematically, that the club and Clarkson's manager are being respectful to Hinkley.
Hinkley to GWS would be logical in this senario, this could be why they haven't announced a new coach as yet, remember Ken likes his security and knowing he has a job for at least the next 3 years.

This is what I am hoping for, so I can enjoy the footy again.

simpsons-fingers-crossed.jpg

Clarkson is going to be coaching next season according to the media, the question is where?

He wants a list capable of success. He has apparently said no to GWS, Dew is doing great things with the Suns this season, so that leaves Port Adelaide at this stage . Essendon and North I would not consider because their lists suck.

I would think we are in the box seat as long as the club has been doing what they are paid to do.

Imo if Clarko was going to GWS it would have been announced by now considering Cameron has departed. If he were to come our way, it could be until we are out of the finals race mathematically, that the club and Clarkson's manager are be respectful to Hinkley.
Hinkley to GWS would be logical in this senario, this could be why they haven't announced a new coach as yet, remember Ken likes his security and knowing he has a job for at least the next 3 years.

This is what I am hoping for, so I can enjoy the footy again.

View attachment 1431319
Wait A Second Season 1 GIF by Final Space

What always gets me with Rucci is, he completely ignores overarching context, except where it’s irrelevant to today.

The win against Sydney was a very good one in isolation, but ultimately, if we’ve found ourselves in a position where we’re holding up a home win against a 5th-8th outfit we have a strong recent record against as extraordinary validation for Hinkley’s acumen and special vindication for his ongoing tenure, A LOT has had to have gone wrong in a wider sense, and there are a mountain of red lines connected to the coach in that regard.

I often say that 2010-12 blew many a fuse in our supporter base, but Rucci is #1 in that regard. And from his perspective, he would’ve been on the absolute frontlines of that period and witnessed first-hand just how dire things got with direct lines to all key actors and intimate knowledge, much of which wouldn’t be for public consumption — from the SANFL to the AFL to the club itself. He stared into the ark of the covenant and lived.

BUT,

It was a dozen years ago, man. The worst was over by the time the three K’s walked through the doors.

How about we stop judging Hinkley favourably against the extraordinary once-off circumstances of the Primus wasteland, and start grilling this beacon of mediocrity against the decade of opportunities he’s p¡ssed up the wall (including the so-called ‘good years’ of 13/14/20/21 ffs)?

“Coaching better than he ever has”…

Cripes.

“Be careful what you wish for Port if you sack Ken!”

Not exactly wishing to be 0-5 and then pushing crap up hill to a possible 9th spot.

I’m not wishing for 10 years of failure, which is now 18 years of failure, the longest drought in club history.

As I said months ago, you don’t have what it takes Ken, you are wasting everyones time, so adios amigo.

Not exactly wishing to be 0-5 and then pushing crap up hill to a possible 9th spot.

I’m not wishing for 10 years of failure, which is now 18 years of failure, the longest drought in club history.

As I said months ago, you don’t have what it takes Ken, you are wasting everyones time, so adios amigo.

I reckon the club sees it like this.

It hasn’t been 10 years of failure rather 10 years of just not quite winning the ultimate prize.

Seriously I think he’s gone end of year. We may win Sunday but we are only one loss away from really having one loss after that and it’s curtains for 2022.

We can look at history with this team and know that will happen, history repeats, it’s why we have had 10 years like we’ve had.

Whether he goes or not, the lack of media pressure on his job is a joke. Literally any other coach at any other club would be getting hounded out of his job in an equivalent scenario and yet old mate receives nothing but glowing endorsements.

There's a few layers to this.

The presence of a huge number of ex Geelong players and sympathisers in the media (Ling, Bartel, Mooney, Russell, Hudson, Whateley to name a few). Whateley is arguably the most prominent voice in the game and sets a big part of the media agenda.

Another prominent voice is Kane Cornes who was coached by him, owes his late career revival to him and whose brother is employed by him. He is conflicted beyond belief.

The rest of the national media see Ken as a good knockabout country Victoria lad they'd love to have a beer with. The fact that he has little old Port Adelaide - you know, the club that before he arrived was hopeless for its entire existence and had tarps on its seats, that one - in 12th position is actually a mild success. The fact that he got them to a couple of prelims is arguably Hall of Fame worthy coaching.

And as for the local media, one of the main voices is literally employed by the club as a paid propogandist. The rest of the local media are basically glad that Port are shit and would love Hinkley to stay forever.

It's a rort.

That bit tickled me.

In Round 2 we got spitroasted at home by the worst Hawks outfit in nigh-on 20 years, with their L-plate coach, in a venue-timeslot combo that has us going at a tick under 50% since the joint opened in 2014.

And that was backed up by capitulating to the worst Crows outfit on paper since they emerged from Max Basheer’s desk, in precisely the way we always capitulate in high-profile fixtures under this bloke.

What do they think Hinkley is protecting us from, exactly?

That guns like Frampton, McHenry, Crouch, Fogarty, Murphy, Rowe, Jones, Hinge and Sholl would beat us by even more?

Bloody hell.

That bit tickled me.

In Round 2 we got spitroasted at home by the worst Hawks outfit in nigh-on 20 years, with their L-plate coach, in a venue-timeslot combo that has us going at a tick under 50% since the joint opened in 2014.

And that was backed up by capitulating to the worst Crows outfit on paper since they emerged from Max Basheer’s desk, in precisely the way we always capitulate in high-profile fixtures under this bloke.

What do they think Hinkley is protecting us from, exactly?

That guns like Frampton, McHenry, Crouch, Fogarty, Murphy, Rowe, Jones, Hinge and Sholl would beat us by even more?

Bloody hell.

Um, don't you remember 2012?

In the AFL nothing is worse than finishing middle of the table yet missing finals as Ken had done most years and will again this year.

It literally couldn't get worse.

In terms of winning future premierships, last would be better.