Opinion Sack Hinkley 7 - "Turn it around or watch out"

I think I heard that the club brought donuts out to the supporters lining up to buy a prison-bar guernsey, a few weeks ago.

It would be funny if our club wasn't so clueless.
Delivering donuts on and off the field.

My old man is one of them. Die-hard Port man and raised us to be the same. Attended every GF in the 90's as a kid because of him, first AFl game, final, GF etc. Would have his weekend mood dictated to by the fortunes of the team.

Now sits there and says what has Hinkley got to win with? Makes comments around supporting the vision of the club etc. But what I have noticed is this has coincided with a general malaise around football for him. The product isn't the same for these people and the game they once loved and the connection to the club they once had is well in the rear-view, so footy is now an entertainment source as opposed to a religion.
I'm 39 and the product isn't the same for me, let alone people older then myself. That's a great summary by the way and well put.

The sport now isn't anything like the game I grew up watching, going along with my Dad around the Naracoorte area when he played footy, or the footy I played as I grew up and the senior footy I played. The life has been sucked out of the sport, now it's full of banging drums after goals, various other American ideas that have wrecked the crowd experience and the rest of the rule changes, extra umpires and so on and so forth. It's not the game I fell in love with as a child, and it never will be again.

That also doesn't factor in Hinkley, Koch and their soul stripping of a club where generations of my family all played for, a club with it's ethos, and history I was bought up on.

I'm not going tomorrow night, as much as I was excited to see the Prison Bars return, I frankly don't enjoy going to the football anymore, and watching the game. I'd rather stay home so I don't miss a minute of Manchester City/Liverpool at 10pm as a Manchester City fan that means more to me then any AFL game does anymore.

I did something stupid and listened to a 5AA interview with Orazio. Wow. Hearing him talk about how well the Collingwood players were coached was laughable.

The club should sack the whole coaching panel based off that interview alone.
It must be amazing to have a coach who has some idea what he's doing! It's been way too long!

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

These guys need to learn about port Adelaide. It's about being carbon neutral and making our community proud.
Koch probably believes he's carbon neutral because he inhales his own farts. Jack and Tredders have a lot of learnings to go.

I did something stupid and listened to a 5AA interview with Orazio. Wow. Hearing him talk about how well the Collingwood players were coached was laughable.

The club should sack the whole coaching panel based off that interview alone.
You can just tell how switched on Macrae is and that Hinkley has donuts for brains.

Iā€™m going all in on getting Luke Beveridge.

Heā€™s out of contract, a proven premiership coach, 2GFā€™s in 8 years and has the old school hard edge that we so desperately need.
Beveridge is just an angrier floggier Hinkley. Have a look at the teams he's selected over the years. Loves a structureless mess of a 22, just like Hinkley. Loves giving state league spuds far more games than they deserve, just like Hinkley. If we replaced Hinkley with Beveridge I might give up on football entirely.

The showdown presser made Matty Nicks seem like a genius next to Ken Hinkley.

On TET-AN00 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I only saw 60 seconds of them trying to explain what a rivalry is, ā€œwe get along well, we hate each other as a team, in sport, not personallyā€.

I assume that was followed by a monologue describing whatā€™s meant by supporters being ā€˜tribalā€™:

ā€˜Theyā€™re not hunter-gatherers, well some might be, theyā€™re largely mums and dads, tradies and white collar workersā€¦ā€™

Just bizarre.

I'm 39 and the product isn't the same for me, let alone people older then myself. That's a great summary by the way and well put.

The sport now isn't anything like the game I grew up watching, going along with my Dad around the Naracoorte area when he played footy, or the footy I played as I grew up and the senior footy I played. The life has been sucked out of the sport, now it's full of banging drums after goals, various other American ideas that have wrecked the crowd experience and the rest of the rule changes, extra umpires and so on and so forth. It's not the game I fell in love with as a child, and it never will be again.

That also doesn't factor in Hinkley, Koch and their soul stripping of a club where generations of my family all played for, a club with it's ethos, and history I was bought up on.

I'm not going tomorrow night, as much as I was excited to see the Prison Bars return, I frankly don't enjoy going to the football anymore, and watching the game. I'd rather stay home so I don't miss a minute of Manchester City/Liverpool at 10pm as a Manchester City fan that means more to me then any AFL game does anymore.
The irony that the disgustingly sanitised over produced gunk that the premier league is appeals more to you is not lost on me.

I guess what you grow up with is what you like. I canā€™t stand modern soccer, itā€™s bloody awful compared to what it was. Thereā€™s no real identity to the big clubs as they are all weird international conglomerates now. Footy is far more real.

The irony that the disgustingly sanitised over produced gunk that the premier league is appeals more to you is not lost on me.

I guess what you grow up with is what you like. I canā€™t stand modern soccer, itā€™s bloody awful compared to what it was. Thereā€™s no real identity to the big clubs as they are all weird international conglomerates now. Footy is far more real.
The essence of the Premier League is still there in my opinion, I don't bother wasting my time with the politics of it all, not worth my energy. But the Premier League product with the crowd singing, actual crowd atmosphere etc is still there, thus making the neutral games actually appealing to me to sit and watch with no vested interest in the teams playing. I'll sit and watch Brighton/Brentford or the relegation scraps as those games have actual meaning and passion from the stands. I'll watch the Championship as well as that's a great league to watch.

Compare that to the AFL games where you get ridiculous drumming after goals I've noticed this season in Carlton games, Thursday nights game and a few others. It's now over umpired (I'm also aware of VAR and that crappy system but that's another debate entirely, give it time the AFL will copy the idea for another talking point) to the point where ridiculous free kicks are getting paid, and the standard of footy is plummeting. Thursday's game was shocking, as was last night's and you'd suggest those 4 sides should all be finals sides in 2023. And they're talking about adding a 19th team to the comp when there isn't enough quality players for 18 sides.

Then you also factor in Channel 7 on the marquee games have arguably the single most incompetent commentator in Brian Taylor doing them it's shocking to watch. Long gone are the days of Commeti, McAvaney, Sandy Roberts, Drew Morphett etc. Fox Footy have the good commentary teams yet they aren't allowed to do the big games. It's not beyond the realms of possibility to let Fox broadcast the finals and Grand Final as well as Channel 7 and let the viewer decide who and what broadcaster they'd like to choose, instead of BT the blubbering idiot and co.

Plus you get these stupid lines and buzzwords like "stability", "connection" and so on and so forth have all crept into the modern game. I played footy at a semi decent level for over a decade and not once did I ever hear we're a stable side, or connected as a team etc in the years I was fortunate enough to play in Premierships or finals series, not once, that's foreign to me as well and I can't identify with it.

Along with duty of care as well. It's a contact sport and always will be, I'm not advocating for king hits or massive bumps to come back but the more the physical contact is slowly taken away, the more of the essence of the actual game is stripped away in my opinion.

I'd actually watch, invest my time and follow a sport that I'm passionate about in football (soccer before someone corrects me), or in my case supporting Manchester City then one that doesn't resemble anything like what I remember it being for the reasons listed above and many others.

I also haven't factored in David Koch and his watering down of the Port Adelaide football club and what it stands for the past decade either. That's another issue entirely.

The essence of the Premier League is still there in my opinion, I don't bother wasting my time with the politics of it all, not worth my energy. But the Premier League product with the crowd singing, actual crowd atmosphere etc is still there, thus making the neutral games actually appealing to me to sit and watch with no vested interest in the teams playing. I'll sit and watch Brighton/Brentford or the relegation scraps as those games have actual meaning and passion from the stands. I'll watch the Championship as well as that's a great league to watch.

Compare that to the AFL games where you get ridiculous drumming after goals I've noticed this season in Carlton games, Thursday nights game and a few others. It's now over umpired (I'm also aware of VAR and that crappy system but that's another debate entirely, give it time the AFL will copy the idea for another talking point) to the point where ridiculous free kicks are getting paid, and the standard of footy is plummeting. Thursday's game was shocking, as was last night's and you'd suggest those 4 sides should all be finals sides in 2023. And they're talking about adding a 19th team to the comp when there isn't enough quality players for 18 sides.

Then you also factor in Channel 7 on the marquee games have arguably the single most incompetent commentator in Brian Taylor doing them it's shocking to watch. Long gone are the days of Commeti, McAvaney, Sandy Roberts, Drew Morphett etc. Fox Footy have the good commentary teams yet they aren't allowed to do the big games. It's not beyond the realms of possibility to let Fox broadcast the finals and Grand Final as well as Channel 7 and let the viewer decide who and what broadcaster they'd like to choose, instead of BT the blubbering idiot and co.

Plus you get these stupid lines and buzzwords like "stability", "connection" and so on and so forth have all crept into the modern game. I played footy at a semi decent level for over a decade and not once did I ever hear we're a stable side, or connected as a team etc in the years I was fortunate enough to play in Premierships or finals series, not once, that's foreign to me as well and I can't identify with it.

Along with duty of care as well. It's a contact sport and always will be, I'm not advocating for king hits or massive bumps to come back but the more the physical contact is slowly taken away, the more of the essence of the actual game is stripped away in my opinion.

I'd actually watch, invest my time and follow a sport that I'm passionate about in football (soccer before someone corrects me), or in my case supporting Manchester City then one that doesn't resemble anything like what I remember it being for the reasons listed above and many others.

I also haven't factored in David Koch and his watering down of the Port Adelaide football club and what it stands for the past decade either. That's another issue entirely.

For those blissfully unaware of what was lost to soccer by the advent of the modern game.

Modern soccer has all those things AFL has been criticised for turned up to 11! Whose model do you think they are trying to follow?

It literally became a foreign game with imports from all over the world, countries used to have a ā€˜styleā€™ regions used to have a ā€˜styleā€™ now its a homogenised mess determined by income!
It moved from the game of the working classes to this pompous money making machine where tickets cost hundreds of pounds and the game is run by oil barons!

The premier league started with cheerleaders and all that crap! Itā€™s an abomination!

Clarko responding to gushing pre-game praise of Sheezel with confirmation heā€™s delighted so far, but tempers that by saying heā€™s looking forward to slow and steady development from him and his whole crop of kids.

Bit of change from ā€œheā€™s 19, heā€™s not gonna be good every weekā€, regarding JHFā€™s debut masterclass from the Doyen of Donuts.

For those blissfully unaware of what was lost to soccer by the advent of the modern game.

Modern soccer has all those things AFL has been criticised for turned up to 11! Whose model do you think they are trying to follow?

It literally became a foreign game with imports from all over the world, countries used to have a ā€˜styleā€™ regions used to have a ā€˜styleā€™ now its a homogenised mess determined by income!
It moved from the game of the working classes to this pompous money making machine where tickets cost hundreds of pounds and the game is run by oil barons!

The premier league started with cheerleaders and all that crap! Itā€™s an abomination!
Happy to disagree mate, won't clog the thread up with anymore football/Premier League/AFL debates.

Yeah, at least they sack their coaches in the premier league!

I'm not a soccer fan, but everything you've said in regards to the state of the AFL I couldn't agree more with.

I had this very conversation with my best mates last night, all of whom grew up loving and playing footy and can not stand the state of the game at the moment. It will never be the same, and sadly, i think we've all fallen out of love with it.

A few pointers we made:

• One exciting goal a game if you are lucky
  • Game is played between the arcs without much actually happening
  • No strong tackling and reduced physicality/fair bumps
  • Stand Rule is a horrensous look and patronising tone the umpires ask the players to stand (turn the bloody umpire mics down)
  • No high marking
  • Deliberate out of bounds on the way to becoming last touch (another unique aspect of our game removed)
  • Dissent rule has removed emotion and character from the game, the players come across as sterile and boring
  • Low scoring, players not willing to have a crack at goals out of fear of not playing the "team" game

Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk