Review Saints v Hawks

Part time? Lol

Well I like to sleep part of the time.

Every waking hour is devoted to thinking about St Kilda though, selections, match ups, jumper design etc...

I'll put my hand up and admit i wanted webster traded last year, oh how wrong i was to think that. He's starting play with some consistency which is something he needed to work on. Fantastic effort

I was wrong about Ross, thought he was just a good VFL player and would never make it at AFL level, he's improved a hell of a lot the last couple of years.

He's always had good disposal skills but he's got tougher and quicker to adjust to AFL level, seems to work hard at improving himself and it's paid off.

none of the players like Carlisle. When he kicked a goal which should have been passed to a forward, every came to hit him round the head and back. signed: M Robinson

St Kilda made the Hawks look like amateurs today. Quality slick ball movement from the back pocket to the forward pocket before anyone could blink.

The Saints are on the way up led by a very good young coach in Alan Richardson and a talented playing list that bats very deep from A-Z.

There's some underrated players at the Saints like Newnes and Roberton who are both having career years and the new recruits have had an immediate impact and strengthened the best 22.

Congrats on the big win and enjoy our first round pick. ;)

And a solid "Get ****ed" to David King, who spent a good 10 minutes on SEN this morning having a crack at us for trading pick 5 for Carlisle.

When Huddo correctly pointed out the trade got us Gresham as well King's first response was "They could have taken Gresham at 5 if they rated him that high."

When he realised how stupid that spunded he back pedalled and then said that getting Gresham was irrelevant because the deal was to get Carlisle and that he hasnt paid off. Said we would have been better keeping pick 5 and developing Francis and getting Gresham another way.

NFI when he hasnt got the stats right in front of him.

Robbo then jerked him off saying that Francis is building into a star (but needs to be rested after 1 game??) and that Carlisle isnt as committed and that the year off is no excuse because "look how good Hurley was on ANZAC Day."

Never mind that Hurley had no opponent that game or that he was average in the 4 weeks prior to that.

Flogs, the both of em.

And a solid "Get ******" to David King, who spend a good 10 minutes on SEN this morning having a crack at us for trading pick 5 for Carlisle.

When Huddo correctly pointed out the trade King's first response was "They could have taken Gresham at 5 if they rated him that high."

When he realised how stupid that spunded he back pedalled and then said that getting Gresham was irrelevant because the deal was to get Carlisle and that he hasnt paid off. Said we would have been better keeping pick 5 and developing Francis and getting Gresham another way.

Has King ever had any idea? The bloke makes stupid calls his speciality!

And a solid "Get ******" to David King, who spent a good 10 minutes on SEN this morning having a crack at us for trading pick 5 for Carlisle.

When Huddo correctly pointed out the trade got us Gresham as well King's first response was "They could have taken Gresham at 5 if they rated him that high."

Robbo then jerked him off saying that Francis is building into a star (but needs to be rested after 1 game??) and that Carlisle isnt as committed and that the year off is no excuse because "look how good Hurley was on ANZAC Day."

Never mind that Hurley had no opponent that game or that he was average in the 4 weeks prior to that.

Flogs, the both of em.

He's a ****ing spanner. NFI. Just shows that you can be as dumb as a stump & still get a gig as a commentator as long as you played footy at the top level.

And a solid "Get ******" to David King, who spent a good 10 minutes on SEN this morning having a crack at us for trading pick 5 for Carlisle.

Flogs, the both of em.

Surely that convo didn't go down that way

It makes you wonder how sharp our coaching staff and selectors are when they've only just cottoned on to the stuff we've said here for weeks.

Stuff like drop Lonie and Dunstan for Sinclair and Stevens, playing Bruce as a permanent forward instead of being a part time ruck.

These guys are paid professionals that do this for a living 24/7 yet us supporters that follow St Kilda for a part time hobby are ahead of them.
Very funny. What part of Stevens and food poisoning didn't you know about?

I guess if we get rolled next week you'll be blaming them or the umpires again...

I thought you guys might enjoy this quirky stat:

1992:
Sydney go 0-7 after a mid-season bye, seventh loss comes on the same day St Kilda beat Hawthorn 130-55

2016-17:
Sydney go 0-7 from last year's Grand Final onwards, seventh loss comes on the same day St Kilda beat Hawthorn 130-55

Bonus round:
That Saints win happened on the 25th of July, 1992. 1992 was 25 years ago.
Today's date is 29/04. 29-4 = 25.

Thanks Michael Thompson for that beauty: https://www.facebook.com/mickeythompsonwrites/

More here:

Unless injuries, I would suggest no changes next week
Bingo. Also challenge Paddy to kick a consecutive bag.

He'll like the challenge.

Bit of a long post coming so skip if don't want to read;

Just want to send out my love for Sam Gilbert.

Bloke has coming back from the brink and gives 100% every time.

He cops his fair share of criticism but he busts his gut every time he plays. There were 2 times last week where he run back as hard as he could to help defensively and one of the times he ran down Motlop.

This week; he plays in the ruck. Sure, it's not his strongest position but his response; he gave us a number in the midfield duel and made sure we were bloody competitive in the centre. Your sacrificial role may be lost on the stat sheet but not on me or the supporters base.

I salute you Sam, you are a true Saint warrior and I am glad you are playing for St Kilda.

Tl;dr: get around Sam Gilbert

No impact though, and I don't know why we're comparing him with Dunstan. I think Lonie was good for pressure every game he played, more than 4 tackles per game, Minch had only 2 today. Lonie many more pressure acts. If we're fair dinkum about winning next week then I think he has to play.

A Lonie tackle is worth half of a regular tackle to be fair

His tackles mean nought for the tackled opponent

Review Saints v Hawks