Review Saints v Hawks

Giants are an 8 goal better team than us imo. Get within 30 & it'll be a win. Just don't want to take a big hit on our percentage. The following week we have Carltank, we should regain our lost percentage there.
I dont think they are 8 goals better than them at all, especially in Melbourne. Greene wont play next week and they still have 3/4 others out of their best side. St.Kilda are just about at full strength I would have thought. St.Kilda should be disappointed if they lose by 5 goals. I reckon there are 2-3 sides better than GWS at this stage and the Dogs could have beaten them if they took their chances. St.Kilda are capable of winning if they play well for the whole game. Might put some money on them. Underestimating sides like Carlton and relying on percentage against them could be dangerous , they played very well today and some of their young players look like they could be very good players with more games under their belt.

Minch had only the 14 pressure acts but still top 5 for our team. Also kicked 3 goals last week so has recent goal kicking form.

WRT to team PA's:
Steele 28
Steven 26
Sinc 23
Billings 19
Minch 14

Very happy with Billings & Sinc both top 5 for PA's.
Think most should just slack off. Man of Steele does enough for half a side. Beast.

Positives, and there are lots:
-Koby Stevens. This is why we brought him in, he wins the ball, he's a lock for the 22 after one game which is fantastic for us and him.
-Ross. He gets better every game. How is his turn of speed?
-Sinclair. His class was on display today, that's the best game he's played for the club which suggests to me he is ready to have a breakout season. As his advocate last year I spoke a lot about him becoming a player that wins more ball. Well he did that today with 20+ possessions. I love those kicks he does where he puts it in front of a player, his vision is superb. We know he's one of the fittest at the club. He could be a real bolter this year.
-Backline, everyone was superb. Special shoutout to Carlisle who was immense. This guy honestly would have been worth Pick 5 alone the way he's playing, he is just a top quality AFL player, so to get Gresham as well was brilliant. Getting better with every game. Obviously Webster, Roberton, Brown and Geary were all immense today as well, what a performance from them.
-Steele. He seems to be getting better with each game. Very clever midfielder and hard as nails.
-Gilbert. Went into the ruck and it really helped our dynamic, allowing Bruce to stay forward. This needs to be the go to from now on, Bruce in the ruck is a shemozzle. Gilbert is a utility player anyway so it doesn't screw our structures when he goes in there. Also he is handy in midfield so is able to compete when it goes to ground after a ruck contest. Reckon Gilbert may have just found his niche for 2017.
-Billings. Very nice game. Obviously the goal kicking could have been better but I really loved his polish and creativity.
-Acres with the don't argues.
-The forwards were better today, Bruce is obviously in a bit of a form slump but still kicked 3 (should have been four cough). He will start clunking the grabs soon. Membrey is a great player to watch. Mav was so much better today as he was able to get into more contests and had more possessions which really helped the cause. Gresham can still be good with only 9 possessions, he's just that kind of player.

For next week I would bring in Hickey. I just find Billy a bit wanting around the ground and I think Hickey gives us more.

Billings is still frustrating, he's lifted his game up around the ground, his handball and kicking skills are sublime in general play.

For whatever reason his confidence is deserting him in front of goals, he was a sharpshooter early on in his career so he has the talent to be a goal kicker.

I said it in the match thread that he is the key from taking us from just a good team to a great team if he fires and starts kicking goals.

I worry that he just doesn't seem to be the kid that loves to step up in the big time and big moments like Gresham does.

Very funny. What part of Stevens and food poisoning didn't you know about?

I guess if we get rolled next week you'll be blaming them or the umpires again...

What are you on about?

I'm extremely supportive of our team but I will complain about poor selections or poor umpiring that cost us wins.

I was right about getting rid of Lonie for Sinclair, blind freddy could see Sinclair is a better player than him though.

Playing Gilbert in the ruck was a big win. It made Bruce a full time forward and also it was like having an additional midfielder, he is a fierce tackler, can burst out of packs and a good mark as well. We should continue to experiment like this.

On HTC 2PS5200 using BigFooty.com mobile app
The modern day Jason Blake.

Great game by the saints. Out of interest anyone know what the go was with Jimmy Webster? Noticed he had ice on left hammy on the bench late in the game and compression bandage on it during the team song.

And a solid "Get ******" to David King, who spent a good 10 minutes on SEN this morning having a crack at us for trading pick 5 for Carlisle.

When Huddo correctly pointed out the trade got us Gresham as well King's first response was "They could have taken Gresham at 5 if they rated him that high."

When he realised how stupid that spunded he back pedalled and then said that getting Gresham was irrelevant because the deal was to get Carlisle and that he hasnt paid off. Said we would have been better keeping pick 5 and developing Francis and getting Gresham another way.

NFI when he hasnt got the stats right in front of him.

Robbo then jerked him off saying that Francis is building into a star (but needs to be rested after 1 game??) and that Carlisle isnt as committed and that the year off is no excuse because "look how good Hurley was on ANZAC Day."

Never mind that Hurley had no opponent that game or that he was average in the 4 weeks prior to that.

Flogs, the both of em.
Carlisle has been good even prior to today, yeah? Do others think differently? Our defence is suddenly at the upper end. I don't think Kingy is looking at presence, punches, etc. And clean. let alone the marking today.

I dont think they are 8 goals better than them at all, especially in Melbourne. Greene wont play next week and they still have 3/4 others out of their best side. St.Kilda are just about at full strength I would have thought. St.Kilda should be disappointed if they lose by 5 goals. I reckon there are 2-3 sides better than GWS at this stage and the Dogs could have beaten them if they took their chances. St.Kilda are capable of winning if they play well for the whole game. Might put some money on them. Underestimating sides like Carlton and relying on percentage against them could be dangerous , they played very well today and some of their young players look like they could be very good players with more games under their belt.

Huge chance for Saints if we kick straight look out.

Greene ...out

Think Haynes did a groin.

Very even year ...lots of upsets.

Giants are an 8 goal better team than us imo. Get within 30 & it'll be a win. Just don't want to take a big hit on our percentage. The following week we have Carltank, we should regain our lost percentage there.
I actually think we match up pretty well in their forward line vs our back line. Reckon Carlisile, Robbo and Brown can get it done on Patton, Cameron and Lobb. Their midfield however...

Billings is still frustrating, he's lifted his game up around the ground, his handball and kicking skills are sublime in general play.

For whatever reason his confidence is deserting him in front of goals, he was a sharpshooter early on in his career so he has the talent to be a goal kicker.

I said it in the match thread that he is the key from taking us from just a good team to a great team if he fires and starts kicking goals.

I worry that he just doesn't seem to be the kid that loves to step up in the big time and big moments like Gresham does.

What are you on about?

I'm extremely supportive of our team but I will complain about poor selections or poor umpiring that cost us wins.

I was right about getting rid of Lonie for Sinclair, blind freddy could see Sinclair is a better player than him though.
Billings is always going to have the Bontempelli tag by his name so as long as he pushes on and doesn't let that get to him he'll be fine.

That's ok, the Bont will have one flag and Billings will have 3 flags and 2 norm smiths

Looking forward to next week - our big chance lies in our defence.

Hope Brown comes up OK after the hyper -extension today because the way I see it is that the Giants weakest link is forward pressure from the likes of Cameron Lobb and Patton. They are great if the get the ball but not so flash the other way.

If Brown and Carlisle can continue on from today's performance that will allow Roberton, Webster Billings Sinclair et al to do what they did today - move the ball quickly from defence to attack.

One thing I have to say - if Jimmy Webster could kick as well as we all think (hope??) he does - he would be a AA defender. His attack and run was fantastic today but he mongrelled a few which meant he was behind Roberton as best attacking defender.

Great performance by all of the midfield.

I could almost post this every week... in fact I think I do. Flogging a bottom 4 team (yep that's the Hawks) doesn't make us a Top 4 team. Likewise losing to a Top 4 team like the Cats doesn't make us a bottom 4 team either, like some would have had us last week. Truth is we are somewhere in between. Just how high we finish will be dependent on how we go against the middle tier teams. The more of those games that we win the higher we will finish. Expect us to be around the 50% win / loss ratio all year, maybe just under. 6th to 8th place beckons if we get the job done. 9th to 12th if we don't.

From today's game a few observations.
Koby is best 22. He's taken Dunstan's place. Same game style but he get's more of it.
Sinclair is best 22 if he continues to pull his finger out.
Robbo would be All Australian at the moment. If he stays fit expect Carlisle to join him.
Billings was great but I want to see him do that against stronger opposition.

Okay sorry for their fan boys but we have 2 VFL grade players in the team. Longer and Minchington. They are capable back ups but that's it. Hickey's worst is better than Longer's best. Minchington is another TDL. That's not a knock on either player just their status in my opinion. Neither will feature in a true Saints final's team.

As for the Hawks they are exactly where we were after the Lyon/Watters days. The old stagers got us/them to one last final's hurrah but once they moved on eg. BJ, Dal, Gram etc / Mitchell, Lewis, Lake, then it's straight to the bottom. It must even be even worse for them knowing that Hodge, Burgoyne and Gibson are still to go. Topping up with players from other teams got them a couple of flags so you can't bag them for the strategy, but they are going to get some pain now for not developing youth.

Mate......

Ben McEvoy 18 disposals, 5 marks, 26 Hit Outs and 2 goals vs Longer: 5 disposals 2 marks 36 hitouts

Longer is a great tap ruckman but he was smashed tonight. Both of McEvoy's goals were crucial and kept them in it early.
Both of McEvoy's goals were a joke.

The first goal should have been a free kick to Longer for being blocked/shepherded out of the pack by Langford, which allowed Big Boy an uncontested mark... Disgraceful non-call by the umpire

The second goal was from a Langford shanked kick that landed in McEvoy's arms 20m in space because he was too gassed to make it to the goal square for the long kick in which Langford was trying to achieve. Talk about pure arse!

Will agree Longer was smashed around the ground, but the goals were just laughable. And I dare say Billy's +10 in taps were possibly the reason we blitzed in clearance for once & goals created would have been worth more than Big Boy's 2 arsey ones

I thought you guys might enjoy this quirky stat:

1992:
Sydney go 0-7 after a mid-season bye, seventh loss comes on the same day St Kilda beat Hawthorn 130-55

2016-17:
Sydney go 0-7 from last year's Grand Final onwards, seventh loss comes on the same day St Kilda beat Hawthorn 130-55

Bonus round:
That Saints win happened on the 25th of July, 1992. 1992 was 25 years ago.
Today's date is 29/04. 29-4 = 25.

Thanks Michael Thompson for that beauty: https://www.facebook.com/mickeythompsonwrites/

More here:

Is one of you related to Stan the Statistician from Stradbroke Island?

Review Saints v Hawks