SANFL Trials 2009

OK just got back from Naurlunga. I have some good news nd some bad news.

I wasnt looking at South players and didnt notice Smack out there untill 3 qtr time.

Gill - With the games for the last two weeks He should be pushing for selection. He played off the wing all game. And got alot of the ball, I think he had 3-4 goals. I would give him an A- (and in the best 2 for on the field (fighting with Clint Alleway))

Armstrong - He played on the Wing. Will he kick the f***ing ball. From a guess I would say he had 15-20 possesions. But he had 3 kicks. And all from 20-30m out of goal. He gets around but isnt using much of his pace. 1 goal. I would give him a B

Davis - Played most of the game in Defence with a short spurt in the 3rd qtr in the midfield. He shut down his opposition nicely, but he didnt do much else. He played pretty good in the midfield. He showed some pace running down a Panthers player in the 3rd. And he goes in hard at the ball. 1 negative, when teammates have the ball and are near him, he wont offer an option or sheapard. He just looks lazy sometimes. I would give him a C+

Sloane - Great game for when he was on the field. He played in the midfield. Got his hands on the ball, and boy can he tackle. BUT he loves tacking to much, bit annoying when he gets outnumbers 3-1 goes in hard at the ball, wins a free for holding the ball, Then gets up with an injured leg. He was able to walk but struggling. He came back from the rooms about 5-10min later in the 2nd. With ice on his calf. Its almost certain to be a calf injury, but with the pain he was in when he got up, im expecting bad news with a tear. For when he was on A+

McKernan - I didnt notice him out there in the first 3 qtrs. In the last he started on Gill, kept him quite. But after mid way throught the last I didnt notice him again.

Reserves - Im unsure what North's score was. When the siren went it was South 104 North 103 And North got a goal after the siren to make it North 109 South 104. But just before the seniors came out it was changed to North 111 South 104.

Seniors - North 22.10.142 South 13.10.88

and to ad to the bad news. Im sun burnt. both arms, my knees and my face:(

Do we have a report on Sloane yet?

btw, i'm 3 pages back on the trials page to get any details on actual trials

good to see someone on topic - thanks for the write up :thumbsu:

Just out of interest Drummond, what are Mark Mickan expectations and objectives for James Seller each week? Don’t know

How about Neil Craig objectives or expectations? Don’t know – so how can you make that comment.

Different people have different level of expectation.
I'm pretty sure Mickan expects him to perform to league standard, hence he was constantly playing reserves. I think when you're dropped it's safe to assume you're not playing to the standard the coaches expect.

That’s exactly why a Crows reserves side should be implemented – so the SANFL coach doesn’t have to compromise his integrity. We all agree his primary objective is to win a game of football, but the development of a crow’s player must have some importance as well.
I highly doubt any of the 9 SANFL coaches treat the AFL listed guys any differently. If they're good enough to play league they will, if they're good enough to hold down CHF they will. The players development very much depends on the individual themselves.

The Sellar argument is so ridiculously circular its not even funny.

Sellar isnt played at centre half forward, so he cant perform there becomes Sellars lack of performance as a centre half forward is why hes not played as a forward.

Do you not see the problem with this reasoning?
You're saying he's never been given a chance to prove that he can perform as a forward? Of course he has. But what about when he plays at CHF in the reserves, shouldn't he be so dominant at that level that he demands to play in the seniors?

This is a good point, why haven't we heard anything about it? Even in the article on AFC.com.au where they give a paragraph about each player, they just didn't even mention Sloane at all. It could be a bad sign, they don't know what is wrong with him yet?

Drummond - on Sellar as a CHF in the reserves, has it happened? I haven't watched any reserves footy but my impression (or poor memory) was that he spent the majority of his time on-ground playing as a ruck. Was he resting in the forward-line for periods of time each quarter, or perhaps for a quarter or two in a game?

Edit: I reread the article on AFC.com.au and it really was only about the four injured Crows, not other SANFL players. I guess that article is still in the pipeline...

nnah. Ive been checking the Crows website for details. Havnt checked for an hour or two. So I better get back there soon

and thanks.

I went along to the Parade on friday night, got there just after half time of the ressies.

Will Young was running around for Norwood in the 2's, played down back in a side that was being comprehensively beaten. Took a couple of nice marks and got some cheap possesions but that was about all, didnt really stand out at all. One thing that concerned me was his kicking, i counted 4 occasions in the last quarter alone that he missed the target when he was either under no pressure in general play or was kicking from a mark or free, everytime it went sailing over the heads of blokes that were free and a couple resulted in goals.

Cant believe Norwood won the league, shouldve been all over by about the 20 minute mark of the first quarter if Salter and co could kick straight.

I went along to the Parade on friday night, got there just after half time of the ressies.

Will Young was running around for Norwood in the 2's, played down back in a side that was being comprehensively beaten. Took a couple of nice marks and got some cheap possesions but that was about all, didnt really stand out at all. One thing that concerned me was his kicking, i counted 4 occasions in the last quarter alone that he missed the target when he was either under no pressure in general play or was kicking from a mark or free, everytime it went sailing over the heads of blokes that were free and a couple resulted in goals.

Cant believe Norwood won the league, shouldve been all over by about the 20 minute mark of the first quarter if Salter and co could kick straight.

This is what worries me about or recent draft selections, nearly all have a question mark over their disposal. Dangerfield, Cook, Jacky, Young, Mckernan. At the launch of the 5aa footy season, Rowey and Craig had a discussion about leg speed which Craig did not handle well at all. Got rather shitty. Said he would prefer players who made good decisions and could use the ball, well where is the evidence of this player in our recent drafting?

Van berlo, mackay and porpy are examples of reasonably good disposal and good decision makers. I listened to a shortened verison on the podcast and he didnt sound shitty at all, mark williams' effort with cornsey sounded a lot worse.

all of these players were drafted before Rendell.

and as i said i heard that interview and i think the main point was as long as they're above a certain minimum speed, the number 1 thing they were looking for was footballing ability not pace, which seems pretty reasonable.

This is what worries me about or recent draft selections, nearly all have a question mark over their disposal. Dangerfield, Cook, Jacky, Young, Mckernan. At the launch of the 5aa footy season, Rowey and Craig had a discussion about leg speed which Craig did not handle well at all. Got rather shitty. Said he would prefer players who made good decisions and could use the ball, well where is the evidence of this player in our recent drafting?
Mate bought the afl prospectus for this year and just read that Young had the worst kicking accuracy of anyone drafted last year, something shocking like 42%.

To be fair to Craig, he didn't really get shitty. What he said was that he agreed that leg speed was exciting and important, but that there was a limit to how much speed you need before it getting faster stops being useful, and said that fast ball movement was a more potent weapon.

Of course, it's a bit much to expect players to move the ball well when they're suddenly under much more pressure than they have been before. Someone like Cook can often use the ball well when they're not under more pressure than they're used to. McKernan has good disposal in general. Dangerfield's kicking is fine when it's not done at enormous pace. Jacky and Young, well, you've got me. Everything I've heard about Young so far has been somewhat negative. In fact, I think I'm the only person to give him a positive comment the whole preseason (I said his spoiling looked good), which isn't good.

Mate bought the afl prospectus for this year and just read that Young had the worst kicking accuracy of anyone drafted last year, something shocking like 42%.

That's simple to fix. Just tell him to kick to the opposition. If he starts trying to find someone on the opposing side with each kick, he should automatically get to 58%.

Seriously, anyone less than 50% has a major problem. If you don't look and just hoof it, you should average 50%. :(

Still, these guys are only kids. If they reckon he has enough ability and they can fix it, then ok. It's not like he's in the gun for selection in Rd.1.

I was just about to post the same thing - I read that in the prospectus and almost choked. We COULD have rolled the dice on Rockliff, who has only succeeded at every level of football up until now ...

Well the impression I'm getting is that we may just have Ian Perrie Mark II on our hands:eek: Seems a funny pick, doesn't really sounds like a Rendell style pick, he usually likes to go with blokes, especially later on who have one or two outstanding characteristics. Just seems very short on upside. But hey, I'm willing to give the kid a chance, never know.

In his defence he hasn't played a lot of footy in the past couple of years, so may be still getting back into the swing of things, may be being groomed as a bit of a long term Rutten back up/replacement.

Well the impression I'm getting is that we may just have Ian Perrie Mark II on our hands:eek: Seems a funny pick, doesn't really sounds like a Rendell style pick, he usually likes to go with blokes, especially later on who have one or two outstanding characteristics. Just seems very short on upside. But hey, I'm willing to give the kid a chance, never know.

In his defence he hasn't played a lot of footy in the past couple of years, so may be still getting back into the swing of things, may be being groomed as a bit of a long term Rutten back up/replacement.
I plan to see A LOT of him throughout the season so I should be able to get a good idea of what he's capable of. He's a massive young man who can play at either end. He can take a great mark, he's quick, he just has to work on his kicking. He's only young and hasn't played much footy lately so he'll need time.

I was just about to post the same thing - I read that in the prospectus and almost choked. We COULD have rolled the dice on Rockliff, who has only succeeded at every level of football up until now ...

The big query on that Rockliff bloke was he basically plays big but has a small body, not many of those types make it in the AFL.

I plan to see A LOT of him throughout the season so I should be able to get a good idea of what he's capable of. He's a massive young man who can play at either end. He can take a great mark, he's quick, he just has to work on his kicking. He's only young and hasn't played much footy lately so he'll need time.

You do realize he is only 15 months younger than James Seller so judging you on your own standards and hypocrisy – if Will Young isn’t a regular member of the Norwood senior side by this time next year; you will be calling for his delisting? Of course not. :confused:

This board is fixated on the destruction of James Sellar.

No doubt Jimmy should be a regular in the SANFL League team though, at least.

As many have said, Will Young just seems like a wierd pick.

Considering the amount of talls we already had taken, the type of player he is, it just seems a different one.

Hopefully he can show us something this year in the SANFL.

The big query on that Rockliff bloke was he basically plays big but has a small body, not many of those types make it in the AFL.

True - but he's done nothing other than succeed at every level of footy. In the same league, the guy we drafted had the worst foot skills of anyone selected. If you're going to take a gamble ...

Considering the amount of talls we already had taken, the type of player he is, it just seems a different one.

Don't know that Sellar should be a regular in the league team, being that he got dropped from there due to lack of form. Unless you mean "after all this time surely he should have made it there by now" in which case I agree with you.

I can only assume the rational behind Will Young as a pick was "big dude who could possibly develop forward or back, may as well" but I would definitely have preferred that pick to go to someone like Rockliff. I guess the thing with Young is he's a massive body who's had a lot of time out of the game so he might develop, as opposed to someone like Rockliff who has lots of skill and footy nous but whose body is simply not going to develop further.

I would wager that if after two seasons on the Crows list Young still hasn't shown any consistent signs forward or back at any level of the SANFL then Drummond will be just as strong on calls for Young.

Of course, hopefully he can show something and surprise a few.

But that isn’t the point; i would just like to see some fairness and equality when it comes to giving up on a player.

It should not matter if the player is picked at number 1 or 100 – every player should be give the same amount of time to develop.

Don't know that Sellar should be a regular in the league team, being that he got dropped from there due to lack of form. Unless you mean "after all this time surely he should have made it there by now" in which case I agree with you.

I can only assume the rational behind Will Young as a pick was "big dude who could possibly develop forward or back, may as well" but I would definitely have preferred that pick to go to someone like Rockliff. I guess the thing with Young is he's a massive body who's had a lot of time out of the game so he might develop, as opposed to someone like Rockliff who has lots of skill and footy nous but whose body is simply not going to develop further.

I would wager that if after two seasons on the Crows list Young still hasn't shown any consistent signs forward or back at any level of the SANFL then Drummond will be just as strong on calls for Young.
Yep, I would be expecting, at the very least, Young James to be a Lague regular by the end of this year.

I would be expecting the same of Will Young by the end of 2010 / middle of 2011 given his a more mature player.

I think Young will be given the least amount of time to develore given the age factor. If he's not showing signs, he'll be the first looked at to go, even as early as the end of next year, though I doubt we'll delist a 21 year old KPP prospect after 2 years.

Of course, hopefully he can show something and surprise a few.

But that isn’t the point; i would just like to see some fairness and equality when it comes to giving up on a player.

It should not matter if the player is picked at number 1 or 100 – every player should be give the same amount of time to develop.
Yeah, i'm agreing with you.
Coaches certainly would think this way, but it just happens the players who are selected early also have more 'potential upside' than those selected later (in most cases), thus are given longer to try and get to that potential.

SANFL Trials 2009