Last year I would've said no

Pre season I would've said no

Round 1 I thought "hmmmmmmm"

Round 2 I was too stunned to think

Round 3 half time, I thought "hmmm this is better"

End of Round 3 I thought *&$@#$&#*

Three Quarter Time Round 4 I thought "he's gone. gone gone gone gone gone"

End of round 4, I thought "12 goals in the last quarter, did he just get them to flick a switch? I know it was only a tired GWS but still, its something"

Since then, they've shown nothing more than patches. And the a lot of absolute horrible

I've supported Neeld, knowing the task he was up against was so monumental that it would take time.

However I expected some progress this year, and really, we've had none

I'd hate to tip him now when he'd might be ready for the team to turn a corner, but how much damage is being done to the club in the meantime?

Is it reversible? Is it permanent? Is he doing the right thing, but we're just too impatient? Is he just a dud?

Is the corner going to be turned like it was with Hardwick after 9 horrific losses on the trot and being compared to Fitzroy?

I just don't know where I stand on this

On one hand I want him gone, never to be seen at the club again, and that he can take Gilles / Rodan / Byrnes / Pedersen with him

On the other hand I have HUGE sympathy for him and what an ordinary list he was left with, what a shit storm was brewing re tanking / in fighting / schwab / board etc.

I just want success, I don't want competitive. I want success. I want the Coach, Board and Players who will deliver that
Another excellent, balanced post.

On a separate note, given that Laidley and other assistants wouldn't be available till 2014, you'll need a really good caretaker coach. Someone with a record of success and has player cred, someone who has no aspirations to be an ongoing career coach,someone who can build the confidence of the list and get them ready for 2014 - someone like Leigh Matthews. Apologies if this has been mentioned earlier.

Its similar to what the Swans did with Barassi in the early 90's - mainly symbolic but it really set the Swans on the road to respectability.

I reckon Lethal could be tempted to jump in for half a season, with a brief to nurture the young players, retain the older disenchanted guys in order to build a platform for the future. Who knows, he could even get Sylvia to be more consistent.

Good luck Dees - and while I still want to beat you on Queens Birthday I really hope its not a flogging. The AFL needs a successful MFC.

Matthews seems to really dislike our club. I have no idea why.

No reason for him to like it really.

Plus there is no way he would come out of retirement and the media gigs he has to take us on for half a season. I just don't think these guys would want to put aside what they are doing to take our club on right now.

Just mentioned on channel 7 that James Mcdonald is a good chance to return to Melbourne next year, got me excited a little.

Did they say in what capacity? Would be fantastic if he did and would mend a few bridges in the process.

nah, just said he's a good chance to comeback if a spot comes available, probably just the media saying people are going to be sacked, obvious choice is get Mcdonald to come in, but it was still exciting to hear.

Spiritually and symbolically bringing the cheeseburger back down to the club would be enormous , the board should get on there knees and beg and scream to get him back .. Absoloute champ and as good a 1% player that's played for the dees since I've been watching footy

On a side note dean laidley was massively under rated IMO , I was spruiking him before Neeld was appointed ... He got an average Roos side with no money into the top 4 an the Roos were always competitive .

Did we ever appologize to him for the manner in which we told him he was not required any more? He was mentioned briefly , but thats it. Ling suggested our board tells Neeld he has 6 weeks for the team to show improvement , making me think he also doesn't think sacking neeld now will make much difference.

A sheedy/McDonald successor role would be freakin Amazing and not at all impossible.

We get an experienced Premiership coach mentoring an inexperienced favourite son who already work in tandem
With each other.

Ill admit the results aren't there with gws track record, but I find it excusable with the position they're in. I feel Sheeds would be up for a challenge of restoring faith in a club with deep history

Please let it happen !!!!

Did we ever appologize to him for the manner in which we told him he was not required any more? He was mentioned briefly , but thats it. Ling suggested our board tells Neeld he has 6 weeks for the team to show improvement , making me think he also doesn't think sacking neeld now will make much difference.

should add Ling said "definite improvement"

On a separate note, given that Laidley and other assistants wouldn't be available till 2014, you'll need a really good caretaker coach. Someone with a record of success and has player cred, someone who has no aspirations to be an ongoing career coach,someone who can build the confidence of the list and get them ready for 2014 - someone like Leigh Matthews. Apologies if this has been mentioned earlier.

Its similar to what the Swans did with Barassi in the early 90's - mainly symbolic but it really set the Swans on the road to respectability.

I reckon Lethal could be tempted to jump in for half a season, with a brief to nurture the young players, retain the older disenchanted guys in order to build a platform for the future. Who knows, he could even get Sylvia to be more consistent.

Good luck Dees - and while I still want to beat you on Queens Birthday I really hope its not a flogging. The AFL needs a successful MFC.

Or similar to what Melbourne did with Barassi in the early 80's

I want McLardy gone before Neeld, as much as he shits me with some of the teams he's picked he can't do much when we have a garbage midfield.

We get some good midfielders and I think people will be surprised at how quickly we can rise, so throw the kitchen sink at Daisy and look to trade that top 3 pick for an established gun.

I want McLardy gone before Neeld, as much as he shits me with some of the teams he's picked he can't do much when we have a garbage midfield.

We get some good midfielders and I think people will be surprised at how quickly we can rise, so throw the kitchen sink at Daisy and look to trade that top 3 pick for an established gun.

get rid of them both, neither have a clue.

A sheedy/McDonald successor role would be freakin Amazing and not at all impossible.

We get an experienced Premiership coach mentoring an inexperienced favourite son who already work in tandem
With each other.

Ill admit the results aren't there with gws track record, but I find it excusable with the position they're in. I feel Sheeds would be up for a challenge of restoring faith in a club with deep history

Please let it happen !!!!
Sheedy? No ****ing way, he hasn't even really been the coach of GWS

Any chance of keeping Neeld in as an assistant coach? because we really need experience across the board.

Definitely agree with that. If we could have Neeld as an assistant, that'd be a real positive step. He's certainly got good runs on the board in that respect.

No to Neeld as an assistant from me. The next bloke to come in needs to be in charge, clearly. If Neeld is still around I doubt he'd take kindly to being usurped by someone else. He may be a good assistant, but I'm not sure it'd work out that well for us is terms of leadership/unity in the footy department.