Speculation Shai Bolton [OOC 2028]

It's also a question of leverage - Soldo only had one year left on his contract. There's an incentive for Richmond to trade him because they have no leverage when he's out of contract.

Your second sentence doesn't provide any insight, of course 'anyone is for sale at the right price.' The difference is, Bolton has four more years left on his contract. There's no incentive for Richmond to sell him unless they believe he won't be as valuable next year. That's assuming they don't think he will be part of our rebuild, which is ridiculous given he has at least six years of top-level footy left in him.

Therefore, he isn't going to go unless a club is going to pay significant overs and make a deal Richmond wouldn't refuse. Those deals rarely happen and there's little to suggest that this isn't just more media BS. The Rioli trade is hard enough to believe, and that rumour has a quoted offer associated with it.
You have spelled it out above, he has six years of top flight footy left. Richmond will have done the best rebuild of recent times if you are winning flags in six years without the assistance of F/S picks. The other ticking time bomb is the tassie team and what it looks like if you are drafting near the bottom at that stage.

I don't think you do it though.

Serious question - do you reckon Bolton is a good fit for a rebuilding team (e.g. West Coast) or a cream on top type of player ?
Still 6 good years of left maybe even more as a permanent forward pocket.

Definitely more suited to Freo and imho out them in the top 4 for years to come. No brainer for them if available, only worry is if Warner is out next year. Can they get both?

if any team can get this type of player through the door you do it but not at any cost. They have bigger positional needs atm but also gotta get the wins ticking over

Personally I wouldn't trade him unless he demanded it, chances of drafting some one better is slim, but if we could get 2 x 200 gamers with one being an A grade mid who we can rely on week in week out, then its probably more of what we need.

At only 25 years of age I reckon that's really good way of looking at it. Would you get anything better ?

Still 6 good years of left maybe even more as a permanent forward pocket.

Definitely more suited to Freo and imho out them in the top 4 for years to come. No brainer for them if available, only worry is if Warner is out next year. Can they get both?

if any team can get this type of player through the door you do it but not at any cost. They have bigger positional needs atm but also gotta get the wins ticking over
I can't think of a bigger positional need than an x factor small forward for Freo. Goal kicking Mid, Fwd pocket specialist or combo doesn't matter as we can move other pieces around to suit.

Not in the media.
Hmm, I actually think BF rumours have more truth to them then people like to think, being an apprentice of Peter Sumich myself, but I find both Freo trying to pay him more and particularly, WC being interested, very hard to believe.

Their supporters should march on the club if they even try to trade in Bolton.

Only if you are picking up some of his contract so it smooths out our cap while we are contend and you are rebuilding. We have plenty of Draft Capital, it can be yours if you pay some of Bolton's contract too.

West Coast will not be chasing Bolton.
For the picks Freo hold there is no way Richmond would be 'smoothing' out a contract

Top 5 picks specially top 3 are gold
anything above is middle range and its looking like all of freo's picks will be around 13 and over

For the picks Freo hold there is no way Richmond would be 'smoothing' out a contract

anything above is middle range and its looking like all of freo's picks will be around 13 and over
Give it a week and I recon Port's will be into the top 10. They have a horrible form line and will be outsiders for 4 of their next 5 games.

Collingwood's run home is also hard and we could get he wobbles too. In this season where everything is close, I can see 1 being around 10th, 1 being around 14th and the other 16-18. Which teams are in those spots though is all to be decided.

We also have Saint's 2nd rounder which will most likely be 22.

If you can draft and develop, top 10 is good full stop. Brayshaw, Cerra, Young, Serong, Amiss and Erasmus is 5 out of 6 very good to genuinely elite players between 2 and 10. I'm not counting Henry since he wasn't a real top 10.

No way Port are playing finals on current form and their run home

Give it a week and I recon Port's will be into the top 10. They have a horrible form line and will be outsiders for 4 of their next 5 games.

Collingwood's run home is also hard and we could get he wobbles too. In this season where everything is close, I can see 1 being around 10th, 1 being around 14th and the other 16-18. Which teams are in those spots though is all to be decided.

We also have Saint's 2nd rounder which will most likely be 22.
If that eventuates and you get the eagles pick #2 then its a possibility but the way things stand i would say no hope
GWS had to give up #3 & #8 just to move up 2 spots from what i remember to get Cadman

Who knows these days the Lanscape is changing my the minute and the way the media are reporting Richmond will have more draft picks that the expansion clubs

If you can draft and develop, top 10 is good full stop. Brayshaw, Cerra, Young, Serong, Amiss and Erasmus is 5 out of 6 very good to genuinely elite players between 2 and 10. I'm not counting Henry since he wasn't a real top 10.

We said that about Brisbane just a few weeks ago

The final 6 spots in the 8 is wide open and teams can run into form
Freo have done a brilliant job with their selections but picks 5 + are just as much a fail as they are a success i believe

We said that about Brisbane just a few weeks ago

The final 6 spots in the 8 is wide open and teams can run into form
Freo have done a brilliant job with their selections but picks 5 + are just as much a fail as they are a success i believe
Freo have had two recent years of three first rounders. None top 5.

Young, Serong & Henry.
Amiss, Erasmus & Johnson.

We're going at a 83% strike rate of AFL level player with 50% projecting to be A grade if they are not already. There is also hope on the Erasmus still who is dominating WAFL but can't break into the side.

I think Richmond could do very well out of multiple picks in the first round as you would improve your chances of rebuilding your list.

I can see a deal getting done. You don't offer a bloke that sort of coin if you're not serious about bringing him in.

If WC or Freo were to get Bolton to commit and request a trade, they wouldn't be looked upon favourably by other players and their managers if they failed to get a deal done and Bolton had to go back to Richmond with his tail between his legs.
You also don't offer a bloke contracted for another 4 years that type of money unless the Dockers have got a sniff from his current club that they would look at trading him. Maybe they want his contract off the books?

Trade value might not be as high as you think!

Freo have had two recent years of three first rounders. None top 5.

Young, Serong & Henry.
Amiss, Erasmus & Johnson.

We're going at a 83% strike rate of AFL level player with 50% projecting to be A grade if they are not already. There is also hope on the Erasmus still who is dominating WAFL but can't break into the side.

I think Richmond could do very well out of multiple picks in the first round as you would improve your chances of rebuilding your list.
Like i mentioned Freo have selected extremely well but would doubt many teams would be hitting 83% with 50% projecting elite level.

Bolton would have 6-7 years of football min and could do a sonny walters and play until 35 being light framed
He is a goal kicking mid that could kick 40+ goals a year playing as a full time foward

I would not be interested in a trade unless its overs
Freo probably do have the currency to get the picks required but doubt they would want to cough it all up and Richmond have no rush to trade him with so many years left in shai.

Unless Eagles & Freo get into bed and work out a deal that gets Shai to Freo and Baker to Eagles

You also don't offer a bloke contracted for another 4 years that type of money unless the Dockers have got a sniff from his current club that they would look at trading him. Maybe they want his contract off the books?

Trade value might not be as high as you think!
No Chance of that Happening
  • Possible departures of Rioli , Baker , Graham this year
  • Prestia , Grimes , Dusty , McIntosh, Pickett all out of contract and likely retirements departures or down grades
*Salary cap increase
* Only must sign 'star' level player being Balta and rest are all kids

You have spelled it out above, he has six years of top flight footy left. Richmond will have done the best rebuild of recent times if you are winning flags in six years without the assistance of F/S picks. The other ticking time bomb is the tassie team and what it looks like if you are drafting near the bottom at that stage.

I don't think you do it though.
Regardless of your or my scepticism on Richmond's ability to rebuild, you don't run a team like you're not going to be competing for a flag in the next six years.

Freo won’t hold a pick in the top ten when it’s their first is on the clock on draft night. It will be well into the teens.

Ashcroft, Lombard and who else? Have you tried the ladder predictor (wouldnt blame you if not), where do you have Port finishing? Pretty brutal run home for where their form is at. I was very upset Saints whiffed on that game on the weekend, could have locked them for bottom 10 dropping that.

If you're wanting to make him your highest paid player and he's contracted until 2028 he absolutely is worth that price.
To be honest, if he is on $1m+ until 2028 Richmond would probably be happy to get him off the books.

The only saving grace is that Richmond have to pay someone, and the list of potential candidates is not long. Someone needs to get overpaid at Punt Rd to be able to reach the salary cap floor, I guess it might as well be Bolton.

To be honest, if he is on $1m+ until 2028 Richmond would probably be happy to get him off the books.

The only saving grace is that Richmond have to pay someone, and the list of potential candidates is not long. Someone needs to get overpaid at Punt Rd to be able to reach the salary cap floor, I guess it might as well be Bolton.
Very good chance you no longer have to over pay any player anymore
If the trading of cap space comes in you can just pay all the players their true value with perhaps front ending contracts to a degree and any excess cap space you can trade away for draft picks. Cap trading will become big

Lets say for example in 2025 Sydney want to keep Warner and want to pay him an extra 200k a year x 5 years
They can trade a 1st rounder to St kilda for $600k-$700k cap space