Coach So you want Voss gone? Who will replace him and why would they want to coach Carlton?

Here are a few assistant coaches going around at the moment. Plus a few others. What do you think?

• Scott Burns (Crows)

Votes: 4 2.1%
  • Blake Caracella (ESS)

Votes: 20 10.7%
  • Justin Leppitsch (Filth)

Votes: 13 7.0%
  • Josh Fraser (Filth)

Votes: 1 0.5%
  • Josh Carr (Port)

Votes: 14 7.5%
  • Brendon Lade (Dogs)

• Kade Simpson (Hawks)

Votes: 7 3.7%
  • Nigel Lappin (Geelong)

Votes: 11 5.9%
  • Dean Cox (Swans)

• Adam Yze ( Melb)

• Don Pyke

Votes: 44 23.5%
  • Chocco Williams

Votes: 17 9.1%
  • Nathan Buckley

• Ken Hinkley

Votes: 18 9.6%
  • Adam Simpson

Votes: 15 8.0%
  • Stuart Dew

Votes: 1 0.5%
  • Leon Cameron

• Brett Ratten

Votes: 24 12.8%
  • Damien Hardwick

Votes: 40 21.4%
  • John Worsfold

Votes: 5 2.7%
  • Paul Roos

Votes: 7 3.7%
  • Brent Momgomery

Votes: 2 1.1%

Didn’t mean for that to come off as being rude sorry . But these clubs achieved something

Geelong. No coach sacked since before Bomber. He left of own accord.
Hawks: no coach sacked since before Clarkson . Left of his own accord.
Doggies. Sticking with Bevo
WCE: worsfold left no sacking.
Collingwood: Malthouse left no sacking.
Sydney: Roos then Horse. No sacking.

In similar time periods we’ve sacked 5 or 6. Depending when u start.

You can argue some of the examples were pushed into roles they didn’t want but they all went along with it.
Even then it’s 2 v 6

I am fairly sure Worsfold was tapped on the shoulder by the Eagles the season they won the flag, and arguably Malthouse (unfortunately) was pushed out for Buckley at Collingwood.

Only St Kilda can compete with us for the number of coaches they have had/sacked in the last 20 years.

If the club decides to move on from Voss, the next coach should be given a minimum 4 year guaranteed contract/deal, he would want job security, and the playing group needs stability

I am hopeful our form picks up after the bye and we start picking up wins again.

Aside from overseeing the mismanagement of the list (paying overs for certain players from other clubs) , they have also proved compromised in their assistant and senior coach appointments (in hindsight it was a mistake for Sayers to say categorically we were only interested in a senior experienced coach to replace Teague, we should have at least given Adem Yze and Adam Kingsley a couple of interviews for the sake of having a comprehensive search)

Maybe I am overreacting, I just don't have much faith and trust in this current board and President being able to get our on field teams (both in the AFL and AFLW) successful again.
Adam Kingsley was interviewed twice for the role and was just behind Voss for the role.
In hindsight we may have made the wrong choice.

It was well reported at the time that Lyon had a lengthy meeting with Sayers and at that point he was super keen on the job, as he stated on Footy Classified from memory.

Unfortunately Luke and "some of the board" were not on the same page regarding Ross and thus a new "process" was created, at which time Ross walked away. You can go back and look at media from the time, it was well discussed.

Obviously I've been muzzled about speaking about this further, because it's "archaic" and "pathetic" to share opinions that a lot of us members and fans share... I'll accept that and move on. I'm just very frustrated that again the club that I love, has very likely cocked it all up and it could have very easily been avoided.

Not something that a lot of us wanted to be correct about...
Sayers stuffed it up by going on a solo coaching expedition and making promises he couldn’t keep.
Trying to be old school Carlton and pinch a Lyon or Clarkson because they were past the training wheels phase.
Because that’s been a recipe for success? Pagan … Malthouse … wow.
Sayers was blind to a thorough process and by the time one started - and with the parameters he himself set about a coach with experience - Voss was the only one left. A disaster.

One more thing, the most bizarre thing about fans wanting Ross Lyon is that he has achieved nothing at St Kilda. And he didn’t want to go through an interview process … for the most important position at the football club.
There’s not a high performing organisation in the world that would allow the appointment into such an important role without the very least a conversation with the CEO, the board or an appointed panel.
Despite all this, he has somehow transformed into the messiah.

Plus he has 7 years as an assistant coach - in the thick of things - too!
Yep, the more I think about it, the more I'm wanting Voss out. Things may miraculously change (hope springs eternal) however as it stands, we have someone in his 14th year in the senior ranks as a coach, brought over to get us into finals at the very least yet we find ourselves careering to a bottom four finish.
Of the 18 senior coaches doing the rounds currently, Voss only has Simpson standing between and dead last on performance outcomes. Do we honestly think he'll improve sufficiently to coach a premiership team? I'm not willing to bank on it. Barring an almighty turnaround, I think the circus will fire up again in September.

Adam Kingsley was interviewed twice for the role and was just behind Voss for the role.

Wasn't aware of that, but he certainly has looked very good early on for GWS.

The whole selection process now in hindsight does look a bit clownish, but I certainly don't blame Voss for that, it's all on the board and the selection committee.

As others like myself have said, how can we possibly trust them again to appoint a new coach (if we part ways with Voss) ?

A
I'd say people overestimate the head coach and underestimate the role of the assistant coaches. They operate in a symbiotic relationship. Replacing the head (Voss) and keeping the same organs (assistant coaches) will not cure the problem.
Anyone who comes in to replace Voss gets to choose his/her replacements.

No brainer.

I'd be hoping Carlton are sounding out Don Pyke. I know people who worked at the Adelaide Crows during his tenure there, and they have nothing but great things to say about him. In fact, he is very unlucky to not still be there - he was the fall guy for the camp, which I have under very good authority that he had very little to do with in the first place. Where Don failed was putting his trust in some people who in turn burned him.

He is a very good coach, and I have no doubt would get the best out of our players with the right support and resources.

Voss had 5 seasons at Brisbane (where he earned the nickname Crazy Voss), is in his second at Carlton and so far has shown very little coaching acumen in either tenure. His game plan (at least what is being shown on the field right now) is atrocious!

If indeed, Voss is not the right fit for us, then "not wanting to have X number of coaches in Y amount of years" would have to be the worst reason to hang on to a coach.

Kingsley was never going to get the role once it was public stated that the board wanted an experienced coach.
Even if he was the best candidate.
The coach search went from a headhunting exercise to a face-saving one.
And yet some (most?) people on here were lauding the outcome at the time.

One other tidbit I’d throw in here. Do you reckon Brian Cook would have allowed an appointment without a process?
I have no idea how Cook operates so cant say. It would have been interesting if Sayers had managed to land Clarkson, I wonder if these same directors would have been interested in a process.

Great call.

I've also mentioned his name as well in a few threads - reckon he could be a good appointment. He's on SEN each week dissecting each of the upcoming games for the weekend, the strategies of each team going head to head, and his prediction of which team should win accordingly. It's really impressive listening - not the confusing garbage you hear from the Breretons of the world - but great strategic analysis in layman's language.

The reality is that Collingwood are sitting top of the ladder right now, but we don't honestly know if McRae is a good coach, or a good leader/manager of men surrounded by a great set of assistants. He even stated in his segment on SEN a few weeks back that they wouldn't be where they are right now without the strategic input of Leppitsch....which is why he is so sought after as an assistant, and probably the leading candidate for the Tiggs senior gig.

After hearing Brian Cook's interview on 3AW a few weeks back, he described Voss's coaching style as 'great leadership', which doesn't necessarily equate to being a good strategist. For mine, someone like Sanderson would be a good appointment to complement someone like Vossy - to sit in the coaches box on game day and relay feedback/advice to Voss on the bench, similar to Leppa and McRae.

I guess the issue may be if Voss is prepared to listen and take advice....from what we've heard from a few on here, he's a stubborn prick. But that would be a separate issue for Cook to sort out if Voss was playing the lone wolf.

Sando is hopeless.

It's no coincidence that the pies have improved since Bucks, Sando and Harvs all exited the building.

Kingsley was never going to get the role once it was public stated that the board wanted an experienced coach.
Even if he was the best candidate.
The coach search went from a headhunting exercise to a face-saving one.
And yet some (most?) people on here were lauding the outcome at the time.
That may be so but once the experienced coaches were not available Clarkson & Lyon & Scott, Kingsley was very much in the mix, he was 2nd in line behind Voss for available coaches.

North definitely nailed their 1 st rounder 2022 selections in
Shiezzel & Wardlaw will be two great players for Roos.
Thomas is a ripper too, certainly a great help to have strong skill users with good Footy IQ.

His latest presser was revealing - refreshing and brutally honest. About as close to "We are playing shocking footy when we have possession and I'm struggling to turn it around" as any coach has ever stated.

This is not the act of someone trying to preserve their job at all costs - this is someone owning the challenge and making it clear that the club are working through it as a whole.

The group need to stay together and work through this. We need to stick fat and support them while they continue to do so.

Once the effort goes, so too (usually) does the coach. But while they are clearly trying to steady the ship, it'd be insanity of the highest order to burn more good football people - a death wish of sorts. The talent pool is stretched thinly enough as it is. Poorly run clubs (like ours has been historically) simply must prioritise foundational stability to attract the right talent in the long term.

To all those calling for his head or claiming wokeism is the root cause of all our woes - get a grip pls.

Coach So you want Voss gone? Who will replace him and why would they want to coach Carlton?