JustAnotherMembe
A few weeks off it, should mean it's in perfect nick for Rd 1 of the finals... Right?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
What happens weeks 2,3 & 4. I went and checked out both grounds this morning. Surely if the SFL had, there wouldn't be this PR disaster going on now. If Springvale is on standby, this shows to me it is available, therefore the SFL have a choice. Easy choice for 98% of people.A few weeks off it, should mean it's in perfect nick for Rd 1 of the finals... Right?
Surely when you do your recruiting you look at what type of players you need to take you further than the year before and into the finals.. If you make finals this year and dont progrees too far, maybe then you will look at what type of players you require.Surely you aren't suggesting that clubs recruit players based on where the finals are being played? We are SFL mate not AFL!!!
This is ridiculous. If the ground is not suitable now then how can they guarantee that it will be in finals? Out of fairness to everyone move the finals now so that this rot stops. Surely this makes for a biased draw. I'm sure every club would rather play Clayton at Oakleigh Districts rather than the mud wrestling pit at Clayton!
Surely when you do your recruiting you look at what type of players you need to take you further than the year before and into the finals.. If you make finals this year and dont progrees too far, maybe then you will look at what type of players you require.
There seems to be a chorus from clubs objecting to finals at Clayton. The SFL, on the other hand, doesn't appear to want to listen to any of it. It's not dissimiliar to the Gillard position on asylum seekers, maybe appoint an independent panel to make a recommendation that is obvious to all concerned and they might listenA few weeks off it, should mean it's in perfect nick for Rd 1 of the finals... Right?
Or just get on with it?
Chelsea heights won't be complaining, they are mud runners, best wet weather side in the comp by a fair distance. If the finals are still at Clayton, look out...
I saw a bit of the Heighters on Sat and it seemed that they have a style of footy that is better suited to the muddy conditions than EB. Just my opinion but I reckon Clayton was chosen for finals because they had demonstrated they could run the finals, had the man power etc and that Mordi were/are in disarray off field and Springvale have lost key people off field that used to run the finals. It is a big task running finals for 4 weeks particulary the first 2 weeks being sat and sun. Not sure if too many of the other aspects were considered or rated very highly. Anyway as just another says "get on with it"....Chelsea heights won't be complaining, they are mud runners, best wet weather side in the comp by a fair distance. If the finals are still at Clayton, look out...
In my opinion there seems to be more to it, rumours abound that Clayton is broke and owes the SFL plenty. A dodgy balance sheet at the end of the season isn't going to attract a lot of support from member clubs. One way to rectify that is hold the most lucrative of finals series at Clayton which will help balance the SFL's books. Springvale have done it for years and that Clayton were still able to run finals last year and play elsewhere being a bonus and reinforcement of their ability to do it was equalled by Springvale that did exactly the same and have over a number of years. Clearly the finals should be at Springvale and if the ability to run it is in question how do Mordialloc get a home and away let alone Division 3. 3 Presidents in a year and a coach sacked, bugger all committee and a club in disarray. That argument doesn't hold any water. Kick 8 goals at Clayton and you'll win a flag. Great for footy, great spectacle! You've got to be joking! On another front what affiliation fees are being charged for the recent and proposed expansion clubs Carrum, Hallam etc are established clubs subsidising this expansion? if it is the case it is a scandal!I saw a bit of the Heighters on Sat and it seemed that they have a style of footy that is better suited to the muddy conditions than EB. Just my opinion but I reckon Clayton was chosen for finals because they had demonstrated they could run the finals, had the man power etc and that Mordi were/are in disarray off field and Springvale have lost key people off field that used to run the finals. It is a big task running finals for 4 weeks particulary the first 2 weeks being sat and sun. Not sure if too many of the other aspects were considered or rated very highly. Anyway as just another says "get on with it"....
Very Interesting that Sam Anstey was also the winner of the clubs $5,000 raffle. Good way to pay him outstanding wages
Well put Perspective, good to see well argued and factual response. I suppose what I am getting at is that provided there is a limit on assistance to enter the SFL for new clubs it's OK. My understanding has been that Bentleigh got a free ride but I may be wrong, perhaps someone can tell us. Also another point is that it should be the same cost for all clubs in terms of affiliation fees. Why does a second division club have to pay more than a 3rd Division club? Surely all factors are constant for everyone. So if there needs to be $600K in fees raised from affiliation divide it across the board and every club pays $20K. As far as the finals are concerned every ground in the competition is compromised at present except, you guessed it, Springvale!. Rain is forecast for the next 5 days so Clayton isn't going to get any better. As Springvale is on standby how stupid is the SFL going to look if after the first week and 6 games are slogged out on the small wet surface and more rain comes they switch the remainder to Springvale. The 3 surviving sides are going to be really rapt to go from a bog with heavy legs to a fast track. I'm no Einstein but it appears to me to be inexplicable.There has to be more to it. I mean why is there a roof at Etihad? So the players can enjoy the best possible conditions and the crowd gets a great spectacle. A fairly sound principle I would have thought. There will be 18 games played at Clayton over 4 weeks with the last one being the showpiece of the SFL. Nothing against Clayton FC but this decision is ridiculous. Final scores will be probably less than 10 goals combined on a ground that the Colts are going to get at it's best for the day!Insider, agree with your views to the part you talk about the expansion clubs, Carrum and Hallam and Endeavour Hills and Southern Dragons.I go to every AGM and scour the AR. The League have been absolutely transparent with the expansion program advising that new clubs ie: Hallam, End Hills etc paid less for the first 2 years until they established themselves. It is not like a Bentleigh that were already established. All of the Presidents that have been present at the AGM's know this. To ensure that this league and division survived they needed to get more clubs in at 3rd Div, when Cerberus left 3rd Div it looked likely that Third Division may only have 6 which is hardly a comp, now it has 10 and likely 11 with Carrum.. Can you imagine a 2 div comp with Lyndale and Dandenong trying to match it with The better second div clubs they would not have a hope.. So like all other leagues and believe me I know this... ( Point Cook in VAFA) all new clubs get financial relief for the first couple of years. And it is only the affiliation fees that are in question here not apparel, records etc so if you divide a third div affiliation fee of a club between the 28 or so other clubs it could be less than $300 bucks a club... Also I am not sure what club you are associated with but there are only a handful of clubs that have not been in a bit of strife financially over the years and the league have arranged payment plans to get them through Dandenong is one of them. hardly a scandal champ. You may also know that affiliation fees have not been raised for 5 years and have gone down in third div twice... name any other league that has done that. Finals you are right the league weighted things incorrectly but it could be too late, your " new clubs" " scandal" - I have a philosophically opposed view.
RIP - Mordialloc FC 1891-2014
(You read it here first)
Lead by a President (and submissive Committee) with no forward direction, the club is on it's last legs... Old Mentonions are swooping to take over.
The latest on the grapevine is that Mordialloc last week told it's players that it couldn't pay them their money (for the past month) because their paying out the coach's contract, yet I have it (on good oil) that the Coach has been told there's no money to pay him what's owing 'cos they've got to pay the players.
So who are they lying to?
I hope the blow-up doll was was worth it 'Pres' - because that is how you'll be remembered!
PS: Didn't you chase a couple of players out of the toilets that night, threatening to 'knock their blocks off'? - Why wasn't that reported? Why weren't you asked to explain you're actions?
(Convenience or Truth? - I think the players need to ask the hard questions to get the right answer!)
My point exactly Perspective if Clayton get Division 1 because Springvale cant muster the man power how do Mordialloc get anything? It's all smoke and mirrors and frankly damages the SFL brand. Why isn't Division 1 at Mordi then? Why play at Clayton at all? Is there any coincidence that 2 of the 3 clubs hosting finals are apparently in a financial crisis. Fair treatment for other clubs without an enclosed ground....not! The precedent is now there, get your club in the financial poo and let the SFL bail you out. I'm sure St.Kilda City would love to host a finals series but they pay their bills. Why not Dingley or East Brighton? No they pay theirs as well!Is Mordialloc in such a bad way off field ?? Shows what a good job Martello did to keep things on track...why then did the league give them 3rd div finals??? Maybe Mordi desperately need the finals income....
I reckon what will happen is that after the first week of 6 games at Clayton they will shift the rest to Springvale... Lets hope though that Doug at Springvale can get the job done, John and Tony always ran the finals show so well ...Doug not so sure....