sammm
Premium Platinum
Eddy would of course be in favour. with any other coach he would have been irrelevant and kicked out long ago.Geesus, Eddy is on board! Good lad.
Zac DawsonI'd love that too, they say he is doing a great job at the Tigers.
I wonder if Ross brings in any Freo people.
happySo now that everyone's all excited, what are you going to do when we don't go with Rossy?
His sides kick straight and he wins 2.yes, he hadn't his style much at all in the many years he coached. dour defensive.
at Freo he should have changed. 4-5 grand finals and couldn't win one.
Like I have said, if the club market this right, with the 150th year celebration, we could explode the membership and maybe, just maybe, get decent crowds to games.
It will be a fun year!
yes, lets not forget Ross lyon's plan an how we all hated it. remember the Sydney game? or how about how many points instead of goals we got in the grannys', kick to it Roo. etc or how about the trades, ? or the draft picks?Yep the old Ross Lyon plan was far superior. Long bomb to Riewoldt. In the case it goes to ground have the freakiest crumbing forward ever available to get it.
I’m hanging for the fluff presser and to see him in a polo.
Wont feel really real until then.
Prefer if the media is hostile to us tbh
I' am the same. if he gets the job. (with no process, which is what he wanted). hope like hell there is criteria and set goals. kick more goals than points? ensure its not kick it max?Well it looks like Lyon may be a thing, so I guess I will have to get over the way he left the club and reflect more on the success we had when he was at the helm. I would like to taste that success again so I might even have to forgive him. Tell ya what if het gets us a flag I will even send him a thank-you card. I mean I do remember the days when we consistently kept clubs to NO SCORE for whole quarters...geez that was good!
or, he gets the job, and does exactly what he did at the Saints and Freo.Jesus, we are going to look like the bellends of the century if Ross wakes up tomorrow and thinks 'WTF am I doing?' and pulls out
lets hope that ross doesn't take the job for the money? Remember Blight?I was thinking the same thing….
“Sorry guys, don’t think I have the passion after all.”
Or could it be some Machiavellian plan - revenge is a dish best served cold ?
. 4-5 grand finals and couldn't win one.
So our process goes like this.
1) Players and Ross have a reunion about 6 weeks ago
2) Basset receives review a month ago and like a cat with a Rat(ts) tortures him until last Friday.
3) We look at nobody but RL
4) 4 hour meeting on Monday
5) Another meeting, this time at the club, yesterday.
6) Announcement looks more than likely that RL has accepted the role.
It was not a process of casting the net widely for a prospective coach, it was only ever going to be an experienced coach, so only Beveridge, Hinkley, etc may have been targeted if their man had not come on board.
Is it right or wrong? Depends on your perspective. I have hope again but this club and its supporters has a messiah complex and there is an element of that.
I feel it is slightly different this time, it has been a pretty extensive review by Basset who seems a good operator. It was not the usual wishy washy St.Kilda board decision, it was direct and brutal, for as much as Ratten was not liked by many on here, the fan base generally really liked him.
The last point is, what is Lyons perspective? He is looking at probably his final shot at a coaching gig. He is not here to rebuild like at North, his goal would be to finally win a flag. If he flt the 'vibe' wasn't right and our 'ducks weren't in a row' like Essendon, he would not have even signalled he was interested.
If he thought the list was not capable of even making finals, I doubt he wastes his time. If he thought the structure was not in place in the footy department he would have walked. With Lenny, and Walsh coming on board, Finnis (good operator in my view) going, and Gallagher and Rath now under Walsh's control, with a President and board ruthless and determined, it seems that in RL's judgement we are putting in place the pieces for success.
And the facilities he walked back into was also marginally different to the ramshackle falling down joint he walked into 15 years ago.
Hipster cap?I reckon there is 0% chance that he will be wearing the hipster cap that Richo and Ratten used to wear all the time too.
Massive cringe factor that was, if you are too old for that fashion don't even try.
I' am the same. if he gets the job. (with no process, which is what he wanted). hope like hell there is criteria and set goals. kick more goals than points? ensure its not kick it max?
anyway, i might have to get rid of my dislike for him. i will wait and see.
And all the old weird sook fans that congregate on facey that don't want Ross won't be there. Making it much more enjoyable.RTB as coach, Round 1 at Marvel... it will be packed with frothing Saints supporters.
Bring it!!!
I think you have developed revisionism. For all the supposed 'defensive' structure of Lyon we constantly kicked 15 goals plus a game. It was 'frontal pressure' that turned the ball over in the front half with the likes of Milne and Scnieds got to work.yes, lets not forget Ross lyon's plan an how we all hated it. remember the Sydney game? or how about how many points instead of goals we got in the grannys', kick to it Roo. etc or how about the trades, ? or the draft picks?
suddenly everyone has developed rose coloured glasses.
Hipster cap?
Ross thought we could mend him. we couldn't waste of another pickYep Allen could have been really good. Hip, wasn’t it?