Mega Thread The 2017 'Buckley's Chances' Thread

Everyone should listen to the Gimp. I have been spot on from the onset.

Buckley.. out the door buddy. Enough of this contrived respectful scapegoat we supposedly owe you. And Mcguire.. cut the bs romanticism of having a favourite son at the helm.. credentials first and foremost.. this ain't the friggen 60s!!!

I know none of you want to hear this but calm down and relax. Stay patient and stay the course. Once again, we went in on average a year younger than the opposition and almost 30 games less experienced. They went in at an average games played of 114. Man, that's a lot of big time experience that unfortunately we are building towards.

Same story, in the game, could've & should've but didn't.
Bottom line is we once again went with around 86 games played on average. Quite simply, we have not got enough runs on the board yet.

Look at the team and once again, I'm fairly happy with how they all performed. Other than maybe Ramsay, who to be fair is 22, played 17 games and coming off a knee reco, no one else deserves to be dropped.

Langdon, Maynard, De Goey, Treloar and so on are still pups. Plenty of time for the group to get better.

With so many promising youngsters playing roles ahead of what should be expected of them plus developing good young kids in the 2nd's...we will be right.

All of these games we have lost by 5 goals or less and that is ALL 9 this season...ALL 9 losses by less than 5 goals, will become winnable games.

We will only get better from here. We have been significantly better than last year and will improve again next year. No guarantees but with the majority of blokes playing between 50-150 games this time next year and under the same coach, I remain absolutely and utterly committed and believe that this side has the potential to bust it open next year and hit the TOP 4 running.

Patience!!! I'm gutted as well but the rewards will come. We are doing this the right way.

I know a lot of you disagree with me here, but sign Nathan in the next fortnight. I feel so strongly about this, as I'm sure a lot of you do the other way.
Thanks Mrs Buckley, but yeah nah...how long is the 'course' 15 years?

Be Lucky to get 20k for last few games

Come on Dave.......you caught a train from Somerville to Werribee last year to watch the VFL.

True supporters like you and a lesser extent me go to support our team.........during the good times and especially the bad.

I will be one of the 20k without a doubt.

I am more critical of the players.

It is not Bucks gifting the ball up, seriously we can't execute simple 20m passes.

The coach doesn't instruct his players to kick the ball to their opposition, if our cattle even supposedly skilled guys like WHE.

Howe just hitting up Mitchell from a kick-out, Adams spotting up Hawks across HB, Treloar handballing to nobody...can partially excuse a kid like Phillips as he is still feeling comfortable.

Bucks is the easy target, but the problems at Collingwood are much greater than Buckley.

I remember last year people calling for this, including myself and the Pro-Buckley lobby said "He needs more time" or "Give him a chance"

The reality it id his list. He has accumulated thus list over the last 6 years. If certain players cannot kick or cannot handball and/or cannot make the right decisions well he should never have recruited them. As Harry Truman said - pardon the pun - "THE BUCK STOPS HERE WITH THE MAN AT THE TOP". He is responsible & must be heldtotally accountable for a six year slide into total mediocrity & irrelevance as a football club. Time to go without doubt. He is simply not a good coach. End of story; especially given the resources available at this club over his tenure.

Can the Club just make a f**king call on whether or not Buckley gets some form of a contract extension or gets moved on?

Sick to death of the split Buckley debate, I'm neither for or against with our current coaching status. Make the call now so we can plan for the rest of the season or next season.

Hurting the Club more at the moment then the last season with Malthouse and Travis Cloke holding the Club to ransom.

Everyone needs to get a f**king grip. Whatever decision is made when it happens will be the right decision. The wrong decision will be whether or not it happens very soon or too late.

Future needs to be planned now whether or not he stays or goes. Simples.

Agree.

At least come out and say he won't be Coach in 2018. Can finish the Season IF he wants but Seasons End he is gone.

The Board needs to grow a Set of Balls and do what is Right

Come on Dave.......you caught a train from Somerville to Werribee last year to watch the VFL.

True supporters like you and a lesser extent me go to support our team.........during the good times and especially the bad.

I will be one of the 20k without a doubt.

I would go to but don't think many be Bothered in last 2-3 Rounds

There's only one right decision, and we all know what that is.
Is it though? Buckley goes as do our position coaches. Then have to look for a coach and position coaches.

Back to square one. Is it really what we want? This needs to be thought out and replacements need to be sorted before a call is made. This is a very delicate situation and could ruin a Club long term like Richmond and Carlton.

This isn't just "get rid of bucks" situation. This could very well become a domino effect.

Can the Club just make a f**king call on whether or not Buckley gets some form of a contract extension or gets moved on?

Sick to death of the split Buckley debate, I'm neither for or against with our current coaching status. Make the call now so we can plan for the rest of the season or next season.

Hurting the Club more at the moment then the last season with Malthouse and Travis Cloke holding the Club to ransom.

Everyone needs to get a f**king grip. Whatever decision is made when it happens will be the right decision. The wrong decision will be whether or not it happens very soon or too late.

If I was a betting man which I am not I would put my money on Bucks continuing.

My irrelevant opinion is give him one year but tell the public it is two years.

Brian Cook at the Cats doesn't even have a contract.....I would offer him 10 if it meant Pert left the building.......sorry I digress.

lol, how can there even be a split?

Who is that naive?

Is it though? Buckley goes as do our position coaches. Then have to look for a coach and position coaches.

Back to square one. Is it really what we want? This needs to be thought out and replacements need to be sorted before a call is made. This is a very delicate situation and could ruin a Club long term like Richmond and Carlton.

This isn't just "get rid of bucks" situation. This could very well become a domino effect.
Never quote me again.

Everyone in the Footy Department should be....

Now he's backed away from his "must make finals to keep my job" lol, honestly, who didn't see that coming? ******* unbelievable, just **** off you campaigner so we can get to work on fixing the mess you've left us in.

Lol he was never going to quit as its all about Buckley and his god given right to be Collingwood coach rain, hail or shine. Its as if the club owes him so hes part of a premiership in his own right as a coach since he failed as a player. He wont quit because its all about him and Ed wont sack him cos he will be blamed for appointing him and hes a mate. Its a total joke of a situation.