Roast The media....*Shakes Head* Part 5

Difference is the evidence of Betts vilification came to light very quickly. I can't speak for how others react and I'm sure there are crows customers/supporters who are moronic and will find fault regardless of ports response. Have a read of our board, no one is claiming that this is fine or a sideshow.

Anyways thanks for the responses, I've intruded enough

Wow!, you sound like a port supporter!

This shit has got to stop.

Regardless how much you hate us and vice versa, there's absolutely no reason to abuse someone racially.

We need to work together to stamp this out. It will only work if you have the character to make the person next to you an example if they are the one being abusive.

Pointing fingers saying who's wrong or which club has released a better statement won't help. We are all complicit in this, we will be until it no longer is an issue

You're preaching to the choir here.

Our reactions here aren't about 'finger-pointing' or 'tit-for-tat', they're predicated on the tsunami of sanctimonious douchebags in the media and your supporter base who paint us all as feral, violent, drunken racists while scoffing at the mere suggestion that there is an undesirable minority of those types at yours and indeed every club.

Hop on social media. There are Crows fans left and right sinking the boots into our club while claiming these incidents are "frequent" and indicative of a "culture problem".

And what's worse, it's not about a completely understandable urge to stamp out the scourge of racism, it's all about point-scoring. When the 2013 incident involving a Crows member being fined and banned for racist language aimed at Geelong's Travis Varcoe has been brought up, instead of derision approaching that aimed at the banana-thrower, there have been dismissive reactions such as, "it happened 4 years ago", as if it doesn't count because it happened in some ancient era before Adelaide Oval or the arrival of Eddie Betts.

I can't stress the madness of this schism enough.

It's totally ok to racism-shame a socioeconomic bottom-feeder on the verge of mental incompetence for spewing unfiltered bile on social media because she's a filthy Port supporter, but when faced with the revelation that a presumably competent Adelaide member was actually evicted from Football Park for shouting a racist slur at a footballer, within earshot of countless patrons, it's a denialist rug lift.

Even now, in multiple comments sections online you can read Crows fans accusing Kane Cornes and the Port Adelaide investigation into the Crows supporter who vilified Ryder of lying, or it being concocted in a phantom bid to take the heat off us. Where's the same disgust and foaming at the mouth for the Port Adelaide indigenous player? Or does his guernsey invalidate his skin colour? Maybe he deserved it because he hit Riley Knight?

I suggest if you'd like to bang your anti-racism drum and educate football fans writ large, you should probably start with the hypocrites in your own flock.

lol so you think there are 10k plus raving silent racists? the Piston type is a dying breed and even if there are a few of his ilk in the crowd if they have learn't to shut their mouths it's progress.
The way you are carrying on is painting Australia like it's some hybrid of India and South Africa and it's simply not true.

Not that bad, but worse than a few bad eggs.

How much worse depends on your definition of what constitutes racism, so I think I'll leave it there before this conversation gets Trumped to BDC.

D

Our reactions here aren't about 'finger-pointing' or 'tit-for-tat', they're predicated on the tsunami of sanctimonious douchebags in the media and your supporter base who paint us all as feral, violent, drunken racists while scoffing at the mere suggestion that there is an undesirable minority of those types at yours and indeed every club.

Hop on social media. There are Crows fans left and right sinking the boots into our club while claiming these incidents are "frequent" and indicative of a "culture problem".

And what's worse, it's not about a completely understandable urge to stamp out the scourge of racism, it's all about point-scoring. When the 2013 incident involving a Crows member being fined and banned for racist language aimed at Geelong's Travis Varcoe has been brought up, instead of derision approaching that aimed at the banana-thrower, there have been dismissive reactions such as, "it happened 4 years ago", as if it doesn't count because it happened in some ancient era before Adelaide Oval or the arrival of Eddie Betts.

It's totally ok to racism-shame a socioeconomic bottom-feeder on the verge of mental incompetence for spewing unfiltered bile on social media because she's a filthy Port supporter, but when faced with the revelation that a presumably competent Adelaide member was actually evicted from Football Park for shouting a racist slur at a footballer, within earshot of countless patrons, it's a denialist rug lift.

Even now, in multiple comments sections online you can read Crows fans accusing Kane Cornes and the Port Adelaide investigation into the Crows supporter who vilified Ryder of lying, or it being concocted in a phantom bid to take the heat off us. Where's the same disgust and foaming at the mouth for the Port Adelaide indigenous player? Or does his guernsey invalidate his skin colour? Maybe he deserved it because he hit Riley Knight?

I suggest if you'd like to bang your anti-racism drum and educate football fans writ large, you should probably start with the hypocrites in your own flock.
Done that too. Well trying to. And the vast majority of semi intelligent supporters are all on the same page.

Well you did when you called them hypocrites.

Calling someone fat (a choice), bogan (a choice) or racist (a choice), shouldn't even be mentioned in the same thread as racism.

However, as it's not the time to eat our own I'll leave it there as I agree picking on their circumstances is too far.

There is a massive difference between calling an individual fat or bogan or whatever and labelling a whole supporter base or labelling a whole suburb or a whole demographic of society.

I find it hard to argue with many of the characterisations of that individual but when you start saying...

Port supporters are all...
Or they are from Alberton therefore they are...
Or they are poor therefore they are...

These are generalisations about whole groups of people not commentary about individuals.

Implying that there are no people in said groups who aren't stupid or poor or feral or educated or filth or scum or worse is definitely discriminatory and not on.

Obviously there hasn't been the same level of historical persecution against these groups as there has been indigenous groups (hence I acknowledged the difference) but it is still abhorrent.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Superbly crafted (and accurate) post Tribey:)

Further words are superfluous.

Didn't say that. The offender needs to be found so they can be held accountable. I think that's more important
No, our club and player have made a statement as to the fact that he was abused racially at the game. Our club didn't ignore the crows and Betts's allegation, we responded. **** refuses to make a statement regarding abuse towards Ryder, ignoring an opportunity to make a united stance with us. Instead Fagan has made a business decision that it is better for his sponsors and business opportunities to have Port tarnished as the media likes rather than actually making a difference.

If Fagan was fair dinkum he would back our club and stand with us. But that means accepting that crows supporters have a few bad eggs too.

No, our club and player have made a statement as to the fact that he was abused racially at the game. Our club didn't ignore the crows and Betts's allegation, we responded. **** refuses to make a statement regarding abuse towards Ryder, ignoring an opportunity to make a united stance with us. Instead Fagan has made a business decision that it is better for his sponsors and business opportunities to have Port tarnished as the media likes rather than actually making a difference.

If Fagan was fair dinkum he would back our club and stand with us. But that means accepting that crows supporters have a few bad eggs too.
These are the folks we are dealing with

In a silly sort of way, I hope the Ryder abuse story is true because you just couldn't imagine a club making something up like this and dragging their own player and his family into it. So, I am going to take it at face value that it is true, it is abhorrent and has to stop.

I appreciate that there were more away supporters than usual, but it is not like when a Melbourne team visits there aren't a number of away supporters. Why does this racism problem only pop up when we play the crows. We are a team full of indigenous stars whom most supporters love. This is being played out as a Port problem when clearly it is an Adelaide and Adelaide oval problem. I have been avoiding local media, but from what I read on this site they are implicit in the whole affair, suggesting that they are at the crux of the problem. Time to move on.

THIS

Still crickets from shit bloke Fagan.

Aparently the key to stamping out racism is to get the abused person to provide verified proof beyond reasonable doubt.

So easy for minorities who have been persecuted when the big dogs like Fagan turn their entitled backs.
Showing his true colours is Fagan.

I already called him out way back in January 2015:

I do care, however, if Andrew Fagan is a liar. Because it's that sort of disingenuous approach that tarnished all of our dealings with Steven "I don't give a stuff about Port Adelaide" Trigg. And it tells us the sort of campaigner we are dealing with.

I appreciate that there were more away supporters than usual, but it is not like when a Melbourne team visits there aren't a number of away supporters. Why does this racism problem only pop up when we play the crows. We are a team full of indigenous stars whom most supporters love. This is being played out as a Port problem when clearly it is an Adelaide and Adelaide oval problem. I have been avoiding local media, but from what I read on this site they are implicit in the whole affair, suggesting that they are at the crux of the problem. Time to move on.
Abuse directed at the players is often indirect abuse at the team and Adelaide fans are more likely to racially abuse our players as they are against Port Adelaide. And the opposite applies. A person who will use this kind of attack is still racist, just that the actual abuse is less likely to come out against the indigenous players of Hawthorn, Sydney etc. As nearly everyone has suggested though it is also the frenzy that is whipped up by the media that makes a few comments from a crowd of over 53K sound like rampant racism.

Still crickets from shit bloke Fagan.

Aparently the key to stamping out racism is to get the abused person to provide verified proof beyond reasonable doubt.

So easy for minorities who have been persecuted when the big dogs like Fagan turn their entitled backs.

This is the franchise down to a "T".. Don't act unless forced to by the media in this state.

upload_2017-4-11_20-1-7.png

A couple of things that I think need to be considered to try and stamp this crap out... (I'm not actually saying any of these should be implemented)

1) Separate the fans.
2) Erect temporary stands for the footy season on the hill - there are hardly any drunken fights in the seated section compared to the standing hill.
3) Make the hill a dry zone - the SMA would never do this as it would eat into their profit margins.
4) Have police actually on the hill full time - not just piss weak AO security, people don't give an ounce of respect to security compared to police.

These could help with the fights, but the racist fu&@s out there are an entirely different problem all together!

The club should be encouraging members to video racist behaviour and have a dedicated "hot line" where the videos can be sent to help identify the perpetrators.