Mega Thread The Port Store Mega Thread Part 2

I may be in the minority, but god, when are we gonna get rid of the v jumper design altogether?

I never really liked the design of it, and to be honest, I’ve never liked the current badge either. To me it doesn’t feel like Port Adelaide; it feels like a constant reminder that this is David Koch/Ken Hinkley’s Port Adelaide. Shit and mediocre.

There is no symbolic meaning in the jumper like the Prison Bar Strip or the lightning bolt designs.

When is the club finally gonna do like the Anaheim Ducks of the NHL and do a full retro rebrand, go back to our roots, and embrace its lightning bolt/power roots?

I would like the club to do something like this..

Logo/Badge
IMG_0942.JPG

Design 1 - Home
IMG_0943.gif

Design 1 - Away
IMG_0944.gif

Design 2 - Home
IMG_0945.gif

Design 2 - Away
IMG_0946.gif

I may be in the minority, but god, when are we gonna get rid of the v jumper design altogether?

I never really liked the design of it, and to be honest, I’ve never liked the current badge either. To me it doesn’t feel like Port Adelaide; it feels like a constant reminder that this is David Koch/Ken Hinkley’s Port Adelaide. Shit and mediocre.

There is no symbolic meaning in the jumper like the Prison Bar Strip or the lightning bolt designs.

When is the club finally gonna do like the Anaheim Ducks of the NHL and do a full retro rebrand, go back to our roots, and embrace its lightning bolt/power roots?

How about something like this for the revamped logo. incorporates all our history

435.jpg

I'm with you up to this point.

The chevron guernsey isn't really special. At all. It's just a nice traditional footy guernsey in our colours, which are great and make most designs look good. We've done nothing but fail in it, so there aren't really any nice memories wearing it. The reason we were so enamoured with it in 2010 was because of the mistakes of 1996/97, where we went full 90s with our identity.

The rest of your post about returning to the 97-09 guernseys wholesale isn't going to fix the problem though. They weren't popular. They were so unpopular that as soon as we saw a nice guernsey design in 2010 the vast majority of the fanbase was happy to abandon them.

I could live with the guernsey Schulzenfest has posted above. I think it's got the perfect mix of Magpie wing and lighting design. It's unique to us, it's well balanced, it works in our colours, it'd work inverted.

We really shit the bed in 1997 from an identity perspective, and we're still feeling the effects. I don't blame the designers, I blame the club leadership for what I assume was a messy brief. I think we'd be far better drawing a line under the Power era and doing a proper rebrand focused around Port Adelaide as a whole, and i'd use a Pirate theme because I feel like it's a natural fit for a black and white based side from a maritime area

I'm with you up to this point.

The chevron guernsey isn't really special. At all. It's just a nice traditional footy guernsey in our colours, which are great and make most designs look good. We've done nothing but fail in it, so there aren't really any nice memories wearing it. The reason we were so enamoured with it in 2010 was because of the mistakes of 1996/97, where we went full 90s with our identity.

The rest of your post about returning to the 97-09 guernseys wholesale isn't going to fix the problem though. They weren't popular. They were so unpopular that as soon as we saw a nice guernsey design in 2010 the vast majority of the fanbase was happy to abandon them.

I could live with the guernsey Schulzenfest has posted above. I think it's got the perfect mix of Magpie wing and lighting design. It's unique to us, it's well balanced, it works in our colours, it'd work inverted.

We really shit the bed in 1997 from an identity perspective, and we're still feeling the effects. I don't blame the designers, I blame the club leadership for what I assume was a messy brief. I think we'd be far better drawing a line under the Power era and doing a proper rebrand focused around Port Adelaide as a whole, and i'd use a Pirate theme because I feel like it's a natural fit for a black and white based side from a maritime area

Mate I’ve even be happy with the 97 pre season jumper as the home and the same design on a white jumper as the away and even if we go back to the 97-09 guernseys that’s fine because we can change it’s history by winning premierships and that’s should be the clubs aim every year regardless but from a design perspective it’s look nice, whenever the club has brought back these designs on the once off they sell like hot cakes, so i would like us to go back to the lightning bolt design as that pays homage to our namesake.

We’ll never go back to the Magpies unfortunately, so since we’re the Power, I’d like the club to acknowledge the namesake instead of abandoning it.

WOW, that’s another 4 years I won’t be buying any merch.

Same. I wonder how much it would cost to terminate the contract because that is an increase to our debt that I would support.

If we want to increase our brand exposure besides winning premierships, we have to sign up with one of the big three brands: Nike, Adidas, or Puma.

Is it really that big of a deal the Macron gear? I reckon they've slowly got better, the 2021 guernsey was their worst one with the massive thick Chevrons that cut into the collar.

Geelong won a flag with Cotton On as their manufacturing partner and their stuff looks awful and it's a shit brand. Counted for Sweet FA though.

Same. I wonder how much it would cost to terminate the contract because that is an increase to our debt that I would support.

If we want to increase our brand exposure besides winning premierships, we have to sign up with one of the big three brands: Nike, Adidas, or Puma.

This is nice but is it really realistic? Or even better? Does it realistically increase brand exposure?

Australian Rules footy is such a small market. The footy guernsey isn't something that is convenient or styled to wear casually. There is effectively zero market overseas. We wouldn't be getting Nike's global branding prowess.

Is the quality of the product better? Again, not sure. You're not getting Nike's A team, and i've heard plenty of rumbles that Collingwood and their supporters haven't been happy with the product or service they've gotten from Nike. Adidas similarly have very little footy Pedigree.

Puma do, I guess we could get Puma, they are doing a bunch of clubs at the moment, but that includes North and GWS, so they're hardly some sort of premium offering. I'd be very happy with Puma, but Macron are still a major international sportswear company who supply kits for major professional clubs from a range of sports all over the world. We could be doing significantly worse.

Logo/Badge
View attachment 2188271

Design 1 - Home
View attachment 2188275

Design 1 - Away
View attachment 2188276

Design 2 - Home
View attachment 2188284

Design 2 - Away
View attachment 2188285

I’d prefer those colours, but in a prison bar theme. The prison bar design is the best jumper I’ve ever seen ,in any code , or sport ever. It’s a shame we only get to wear it once a year.

This is nice but is it really realistic? Or even better? Does it realistically increase brand exposure?

Australian Rules footy is such a small market. The footy guernsey isn't something that is convenient or styled to wear casually. There is effectively zero market overseas. We wouldn't be getting Nike's global branding prowess.

Is the quality of the product better? Again, not sure. You're not getting Nike's A team, and i've heard plenty of rumbles that Collingwood and their supporters haven't been happy with the product or service they've gotten from Nike. Adidas similarly have very little footy Pedigree.

Puma do, I guess we could get Puma, they are doing a bunch of clubs at the moment, but that includes North and GWS, so they're hardly some sort of premium offering. I'd be very happy with Puma, but Macron are still a major international sportswear company who supply kits for major professional clubs from a range of sports all over the world. We could be doing significantly worse.

Yeah but we could be doing better.

It would increase brand exposure to go to any Nike, Adidas, or Puma store; they’ve got jumpers and other merch from the clubs they supply.

We could do some really good work together but collaborate with these brands look at what they done with their biggest customers like Real Madrid, Barca, Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Juve etc… they done some really good stuff together that will sell.

Macron, unfortunately, is limited in this department; the biggest club they supply for is Bologna in the Italian Serie A, and they have no stores where you can access merch apart from The Port Store.

So you would get good brand exposure.

In terms of product quality, Adidas and Puma have better quality than Marcon without a shadow of a doubt.

I would like this club to move away from Marcon and go into one of the top three brands.

I’d prefer those colours, but in a prison bar theme. The prison bar design is the best jumper I’ve ever seen ,in any code , or sport ever. It’s a shame we only get to wear it once a year.

Look, I love the Prison Bar jumper like any Port supporter does, but the chances of getting the Prison Bar jumper as a permanent home kit are zero to none for as long as Collingwood are in the league, unfortunately.

In my opinion, you can’t simply add black, white, and teal on the prison bar jumper. It’s too unique and perfect to add any other colour then black and white.

It would increase brand exposure to go to any Nike, Adidas, or Puma store; they’ve got jumpers and other merch from the clubs they supply.

We could do some really good work together but collaborate with these brands look at what they done with their biggest customers like Real Madrid, Barca, Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Juve etc… they done some really good stuff together that will sell.

If you go to the Adidas store in Adelaide, there are Man Utd and Arsenal shirts, but I can't get an Aston Villa shirt there.

Those massive brands simply aren't going to put the same level of effort in for an Aussie Rules club as they would for a global football powerhouse. Even the smaller European teams who have Adidas or Nike don't get the treatment that the big boys get, look at the likes of Leeds and Fulham. They're with Adidas, but they aren't getting the service Arsenal are.

In fact, we're more likely to get specialised products and service from a smaller company for whom we are a bigger fish.

Macron, unfortunately, is limited in this department; the biggest club they supply for is Bologna in the Italian Serie A, and they have no stores where you can access merch apart from The Port Store.

In terms of product quality, Adidas and Puma have better quality than Marcon without a shadow of a doubt.

I would like this club to move away from Marcon and go into one of the top three brands.

There's a Rebel Sport in every shopping centre in the country. I'm not sure what you think clubs like Sydney(Nike) and North(Puma) are getting that we aren't.

It'd be great to be with Adidas or Puma but I think the difference in terms of what we're getting is negligible at our level.

Random abstract 90s thing

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk
As opposed to the traditional Port Adelaide, checks notes, teal chevron. Can't forget how many premierships Bob Quinn won wearing the same thing.

I don't care about that

My only point that it's becoming increasing common here that the principle is often repeated (no pb compromise, the 90s rebrand was awful marketing) but often those principles are cast aside for an opinion that is odds with the principle (silver PBS, the 90s abstract wing Guernsey was awesome). I don't know why, maybe just say y'all hate teal?

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

As time goes on, it's become more and more apparent that we should just have gone with a prison bar colour variant in 1997.

We have to wear a guernsey with teal on it anyway, it may as well be the guernsey design that is synonymous with Port Adelaide.

We'd have avoided some of the identity shock we had for the first decade if we'd been wearing the bars at home, even if they were black and teal. The Prison Bar guernsey in any colours reads as Port Adelaide, and it was the one unique symbol of the club we could have carried forward.

I fully acknowledge why we refuse to compromise now, the black and white guernsey is sacred and we've already done all the compromising. But I think if we'd worn black and teal bars since 1997, we'd still be wearing them now, and we'd be having the same fight to wear the black and white bars that we're having anyway. We've long argued that we won't compromise but did that actually help us avoid any of the bullshit? I'd argue that it didn't.

I fully get the "yeah but black and teal bars isn't our guernsey" argument, i've made it many times myself. But instead we've now had a bunch of variants that are even less Port Adelaide than a black and teal PBs guernsey would be.

The Chevron guernsey has almost exclusively bad memories associated with it. It represents the worst era in our 155 years. We adopted it because it was a refreshing change to have a traditional looking footy guernsey after over a decade of 90s era mistakes, but it's not ours, it's yet another compromise, another push towards genericism that we should be trying to avoid.

Start pushing the Port Adelaide in our branding as hard as possible. Drop the chevrons as a bookend to this awful era. Wear the black and teal bars in home games, and keep wearing the original bars in showdowns.

Port are literally last on their list 😂.

After volleyball and random other sports.

If you go to the Adidas store in Adelaide, there are Man Utd and Arsenal shirts, but I can't get an Aston Villa shirt there.

Those massive brands simply aren't going to put the same level of effort in for an Aussie Rules club as they would for a global football powerhouse. Even the smaller European teams who have Adidas or Nike don't get the treatment that the big boys get, look at the likes of Leeds and Fulham. They're with Adidas, but they aren't getting the service Arsenal are.

In fact, we're more likely to get specialised products and service from a smaller company for whom we are a bigger fish.

There's a Rebel Sport in every shopping centre in the country. I'm not sure what you think clubs like Sydney(Nike) and North(Puma) are getting that we aren't.

It'd be great to be with Adidas or Puma but I think the difference in terms of what we're getting is negligible at our level.

Yeah, but image is everything.

Take Collingwood, for example, and you can do it with Sydney, Carlton and other clubs around that mark.

Look at Collingwood’s sponsors / Kit suppliers:

They are Nike, Emirates, KFC, AIA Health Insurance (who are on the front of the Tottenham jersey), and La Trobe Financial.

Now the first three brands, everyone knows who they are and what they do. By bringing in a top brand on board, we can take us to the next level.

You use the example of Villa, and yeah, you can’t find a Villa top in an Adidas store, but Aston Villa is different altogether due to its being a different world when compared to Real Madrid, Utd, Juve, etc. But in Australia, that’s our target market; in SA and the same across the country, there is an appetite for footy, and you can go to the Nike store and buy a Collingwood or Sydney jumper; you can go to the Puma store and buy any team that they supply. Just last week at the Puma store, I saw a rack full of Carlton, Richmond, and North GWS jumpers available to purchase.

Look at all the top teams that created dynasties, like the Hawks or Richmond; they all have recognisable brands that everyone knows of and bring in bigger money than a Macron does.

Bigger brands, more money, and hopefully footballing success.

Mega Thread The Port Store Mega Thread Part 2