What's Tigers most pressing need at the moment?
Key forwards. It showed this year without Lynch we are stuffed. Need to get him back fit and find another to support him.
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 1
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
What's Tigers most pressing need at the moment?
KPF to support Lynch then takeover from LynchWhat's Tigers most pressing need at the moment?
As we speak, Geelong have far more top 25 picks under 25 on their list than West Coast.Hawkins, Duncan, Tuohy, Blicavs, Danger, Stanley, Stewart, Gutherie, Rohan, Atkins
All players who will retire in the next 1-3 seasons.
Cameron, Kolo, Bews 4-5 if not earlier.
They have 1 pick in the top 50 this year.
Cats rebuild not even close to starting. They are a bit unlucky as probably are down the bottom when Tassie compromises the draft. But they won a flag so was worth it.
As we speak, Geelong have far more top 25 picks under 25 on their list than West Coast.
Plus pick 8 this year, and a likely round 2 for Esava.
1 - Tanner Bruhn (Pick 12)
2 - Jhye Clark (Pick 8)
3 - Ollie Henry (Pick 15)
4 - Toby Conway (Pick 24)
5 - Mitch Knevitt (Pick 25)
6 - Sam De Koning (Pick 16)
7 - Max Holmes (Pick 20)
8 - Pick 8 (2023)
9 - Esava pick (Likely SRP)
Vs the Eagles
1 - Oscar Allen (Pick 21)
2 - Campell Chesser (Pick 14)
3 - Reuben Ginbey (Pick 9)
4 - Elijah Hewett (Pick 14)
5 - Pick 1 (2023)
6 - Pick 19 (2023)
The Cats rebuild is still a good 1-3 drafts away from being complete, but they're a lot further ahead than many opposition supporters believe.
We just do it differently, that's all. Let the kids do their time in the VFL and then bring them in to a competitive side, rather than throwing them to the wolves and hoping they develop.
You seriously think there's a hidden agenda by picking top 25? It's where the most talent is, that's why.Well for one you aren’t getting a top 25 pick for Esava.
Two, that was handy of you to just randomly chose pick 25 as a starting point.
Just change it to first and second rounders our numbers increase significantly and yours don’t. Our 25+ picks have shown more at AFL level than Knevitt, Conway or Clark (who was injured I know). Where they were selected is irrelevant.
Maric, Culley, Long, Williams, Hough, Petchrucelle, Waterman. Outside the top 25 or from the MSD.
Can’t just discount them. Not sure Geelong have anyone picked outside the top 25 under 25 to hang their hat on. Maybe Miers and Close were late picks but both are pretty much 25 aren’t they? No teenagers like 4 of the names I mentioned.
I think you are a bit optimistic of the state of your list. Believe me I’ve been there. You won a flag. Few years down the bottom won’t ever change that. It’s always worth it.
You seriously think there's a hidden agenda by picking top 25? It's where the most talent is, that's why.
I didn't do it for us either, where I could easily do this.
- Tyson Stengle (All Australian)
- Gryan Miers (Borderline star)
- Brad Close (Good role player)
- Zach Guthrie (Good role player)
- Jack Henry (Gun, finished 2nd in the B&F in a top 4 year, hampered with injury since)
- Jack Bowes (Good role player)
On top of that
- Shannon Neale (Pick 31)
- James Willis (Pick 33)
- Ollie Dempsey (Dominant in the VFL this year, too skinny for AFL yet)
It's so much easier just marking it at the top 25.
Otherwise you're arguing about players than nobody's heard of outside of your club, and won't understand why you rate them highly internally.
The top 25 picks have the highest % of being successful, it's not some arbitrary number.
Can't remember last time we had 10 games at our home ground; it must have been pre-VFL Park daysGeelong will make finals sooner because of 10 games at GMHBA.
Jack Henry 'went backwards' because he was out with a foot injury for 4 months, and then hurt it again.I feel you have proven my point with those names you just listed better than I ever could.
Very optimistic.
We will see how all those players look in an ordinary side. It’s why the likes of Jack Henry have gone backwards. All good teams have them. Players who look great when everyone else is carrying the team.
Duggan, Cole, Sheed to name a few for us. Look what has happened when they need to be the ones?
We will see how many assists Miers gets to go along with his 6 goals kicking to Neale as opposed to Hawkins and Cameron for example. No surprise Stengle was a lot better in 2022 than this year or any year at the Crows either.
Maybe they will prove me wrong but having just witnessed this thing first hand I don’t think they will.
Jack Henry 'went backwards' because he was out with a foot injury for 4 months, and then hurt it again.
If that's what you describe as going backwards then we can safely end this discussion here.
Yup yup, young De Koning was seen as an overnight success last year as an apparent first-year key defender for the premiership winning side, but as Chris Scott kept mentioning 2022 was his third year in the system, it's just no one outside the club had seen or head of him while he was honing his craft in the ressies for a couple of years.As we speak, Geelong have far more top 25 picks under 25 on their list than West Coast.
Plus pick 8 this year, and a likely round 2 for Esava.
1 - Tanner Bruhn (Pick 12)
2 - Jhye Clark (Pick 8)
3 - Ollie Henry (Pick 15)
4 - Toby Conway (Pick 24)
5 - Mitch Knevitt (Pick 25)
6 - Sam De Koning (Pick 16)
7 - Max Holmes (Pick 20)
8 - Pick 8 (2023)
9 - Esava pick (Likely SRP)
Vs the Eagles
1 - Oscar Allen (Pick 21)
2 - Campell Chesser (Pick 14)
3 - Reuben Ginbey (Pick 9)
4 - Elijah Hewett (Pick 14)
5 - Pick 1 (2023)
6 - Pick 19 (2023)
The Cats rebuild is still a good 1-3 drafts away from being complete, but they're a lot further ahead than many opposition supporters believe.
We just do it differently, that's all. Let the kids do their time in the VFL and then bring them in to a competitive side, rather than throwing them to the wolves and hoping they develop.
Some of your points would have been reasonable but it's fairly obvious to see you're arguing from a disingenuous stance.He played 11 games. All in a row. Averaged 10 touches. Never got over 16. 4 goals total.
Maybe it was all a previous injury. Or maybe is was playing in a side that lost half of the games he played in for once.
He’s no orphan from those names you mentioned.
Was Stengle injured? 53 goals one year (including finals granted). 27 the next.
Close 46 scoring shots in 2022. 27 in 2023.
Happy to end the convo though. Neither of us has a crystal ball. But there has also never been a team that may need to use the last 3 odd picks of a draft just to fill a main list either.
Don't think we'll be doing that either.
It's all speculating at this point, but I'd say we take 3 picks to the draft max.
Pick 8
Whatever we get for Esava
And a late pick
Word on our board and some speculation in the media leads us to believe that Mackie is cooking up something pretty big this off-season, but who knows? Could just be a smokescreen.
Reckon we fill the last couple of spots on the list with Paddy Dow (and similar). Nothing special, but some needed depth and better than the alternative that you mention.
He played 11 games. All in a row. Averaged 10 touches. Never got over 16. 4 goals total.
Maric, Culley, Long, Williams, Hough, Petchrucelle, Waterman. Outside the top 25 or from the MSD.
Can’t just discount them. Not sure Geelong have anyone picked outside the top 25 under 25 to hang their hat on.
We love finding gems at the scrap heap of the draft/rookie draft.Dow is fine but you still will need to trade for him. So it would be another draft you are trading out of because it will require a future pick. And the issue comes up again next year because I’d imagine you have 4 or 5 retirees then too.
Lycett may be one you get to fill a spot but not give up anything for.
Still leaves another two spots after your second pick (which already over 70) I think?
I’m sure you’ll manage to sort something. It will be interesting to see what.
A lot of that is because we wait until they're ready as well.I mean Tyson Stengle is an all Australian. But tell me more about the superstar that is Jack Petruccelle.
I get Geelong's kids don't look like world beaters. It's been that way forever and we will live or die on their future development.
But do we really need to hear about these West Coast world beaters? None of them could even finish higher in the B&F than a cooked Shannon Hurn who only played 13 games.
No current season stats available
He played 11 games. All in a row. Averaged 10 touches. Never got over 16. 4 goals total.
Maybe it was all a previous injury. Or maybe is was playing in a side that lost half of the games he played in for once.
He’s no orphan from those names you mentioned.
Was Stengle injured? 53 goals one year (including finals granted). 27 the next.
Close 46 scoring shots in 2022. 27 in 2023.
Happy to end the convo though. Neither of us has a crystal ball. But there has also never been a team that may need to use the last 3 odd picks of a draft just to fill a main list either.
A lot of that is because we wait until they're ready as well.
I guarantee if we'd played more youth the narrative would change to how the Cats are this young team full of exuberance (Similar to round 24 this year)
But we don't do that, because our footy club cares about winning, not what outsiders believe and what's written in articles.
The club could have flogged the likes of Conway, SDK, Clark, Knevitt, Dempsey, Neale etc into the ground immediately, but they didn't do that. It'll be the same with the kids we pick up this year.
They bide their time in the VFL, and come in when they're ready to contribute to a strong side.
Hopefully with a bit of injury luck and a grueling summer we're back to that again - if not - we'll wait and see.
The outliers are Holmes, Bruhn & Henry, who's form was simply too good to refuse and were clearly a step above VFL level when they were demoted.
I would say our wings, developing Banks will be important.What's Tigers most pressing need at the moment?
From last night vfl awards. Equal 10th in voting and team of the year with only 12 full games. We just need to see another step up in development from him and Knevitt over pre season to build hope for 2024. I can be a little more patient with Clark and Conway as I am highly confident in future to happy for them to build afl bodiesWe love finding gems at the scrap heap of the draft/rookie draft.
Anyway as far as turnover in the best 22, it's already happening and mostly with younger players.
This season Bruhn, Ratugolea, O.Henry and Bowes became best 22. Obviously Ratugolea is on the way out but the point stands.
2022 saw Holmes, De Koning and Stengle become best 22.
I suspect next year that could become Dempsey, Knevitt and Clark. A trade acquisition maybe. Conway perhaps.
Better free agents are available at the end of 2024 so a medium/big fish or two then may be on the cards as salary cap opens up.
Remember, people have been doomsday on Geelong's list and how long they could be a finals contender from as far back as 2010.