Mega Thread The Western Bulldogs - The Sack Macca saga

Like you alluded to, I think Macca has definitely caused an acceleration of the rate of our younger plyares development. But as I stated before, those players between 20-22, the majority of them I never rated, like Howard, Tutt etc. And I really don't think that at any other team they would be flourishing and developing at all. In my opinion this isn't an indictment on Macca's player development, but just the fact that they're not very good players.

Yeah I see your point that they just may not be very good players, but regardless of their level of aptitude I would hope to see some sort of improvement from Veszpremi, Grant, Howard, Tutt, et al. Even if they're rubbish players who don't even deserve a spot at VFL level I still cannot rationalise the reason for their stagnation as improvement should occur in any area if you spend 5 days a week focused on it.

What's that saying about if it smells like shit....

Not going to go into the detail others have invested. IMO let him see out his contract (end of next year). We aren't going to be pushing for a flag then, and he drafts and recruits well. Will give him an opportunity to prove he can coach, and if hes doesn't, our list will still be stronger for his involvement and we can look to a new coach without paying out his contract.

Our whole off-season should be devoted to forward structures, delivery etc. I think I only saw us not bomb it in twice for the whole game last night.

Perhaps the AFL should also take over the dogs? Done wonders for Melbourne.

The dogs can ask for money so they can sack the coach midway through his contract, sack the CEO, the newly appointed Football Manager, ask Gordon to step down because under his presidency, we've gotten worst and get rid of a couple of the board members because they are part of a losing culture.

With Gordon out of the way, we can plead for a priority pick and have a shot at Paul Roos.

Only way to appease bulldog members.

The dogs can ask for money so they can sack the coach midway through his contract, sack the CEO, the newly appointed Football Manager, ask Gordon to step down because under his presidency, we've gotten worst and get rid of a couple of the board members because they are part of a losing culture.

With Gordon out of the way, we can plead for a priority pick and have a shot at Paul Roos.

To think the side that you discuss above with all the rabble as you talk about ,beat us in a football game two weeks later

Thats pretty sad

Will be interesting to see the support or lack of support macca has on bigfooty

Western bulldog supporters only please

Stays in here. People can say what they want without a poll.

I for one would like to see a poll. I've about had a gutful of Macca's one dimensional coaching and think that although he has a spot in a football department is not yet ready and may never be ready for head coaching duties.

This is my post for the poll thread:

I want something to change now. I don't want Macca 'sacked' from the club, just demoted. And I'd like it to happen before the end of the season. Okay, well I probably wouldn't be gutted if we just sacked him. For the figurehead of the club we need a someone old and respected who has played over 250 games at AFL level - Macca might know a lot about 'developing good people' but lets face it we need someone who knows what's going on on gameday and also someone who understands that not everyone is a 'good person' and it's really more bloody important if they can kick the footy and have a bit of leg speed. He might be building a good culture and getting the best out of some people but he definitely isn't making the most of our list.

Igloo your not god mate

I want a poll....this place is getting soft :oops:

Nope, but when two threads would completely split up discussion, they get merged.

This is a 79 page thread on the exact same topic you just made, except without a poll. The question you asked has already been asked about twice in here as well. As far as i'm concerned, it can be asked again - in here.

Nope, but when two threads would completely split up discussion, they get merged.

This is a 79 page thread on the exact same topic you just made, except without a poll. The question you asked has already been asked about twice in here as well. As far as i'm concerned, it can be asked again - in here.

Could we have a locked, stickied poll for one week so that we can gauge an idea of the general consensus? That way discussion would stay here but we could also have the poll!

Also could we have the options less black and white?
1. Macca to keep his employment and keep head coach
2. Macca to keep his employment with a tactical coach becoming employed
3. Macca to keep his employment and move to development coach with a new figurehead
4. Macca sacked and only a head coach as a replacement
5. Macca sacked and a head coach and a development coach employed

Could also use an immediately/end of season/end of next season qualifier but that's 10 or 15 options

Can't u lock the poll so there are no comments and sticky it

It's a important topic

Not sure if it works if the thread is closed, but you can try. Make the poll end after 7 days, so it doesn't just keep going.

Sorry for getting a bit frustrated....been copping it left right and centre since last night

I'd say we all are.
I only moderate things when it makes things run smoother, not from personal opinion. If you have concerns in the future, pm me or one of the other mods, not call it out in a thread.

I'd say we all are.
I only moderate things when it makes things run smoother, not from personal opinion. If you have concerns in the future, pm me or one of the other mods, not call it out in a thread.
No worries mate