Tigers stalk Maric

I hope you guys keep Maric as well. I don't see him as an upgrad on anything we currently have.

Just about anyone who willingly goes near a contest is an upgrade on Luke mcguane

I hope you guys keep Maric as well. I don't see him as an upgrad on anything we currently have.
True, Maric would probably get out bodied by Bernie Vince in a marking contest as well ala Graham.

Gus is living proof that if you're tall, you can play sport. No matter how bad at it you may be.

While I've never rated Maric all that highly, Mcguane and Graham make him look like the second coming of Dean Cox.

Graham isn't that bad tbh, he has done no more or less than Maric in his career to date. Probably a more dangerous forward than Maric.

Would prefer to keep Maric and trade Tippett.

face-palm.jpg

If you are willing to pay him that sort of money (bearing in mind we offered Jacobs something like 300 a year and got him for a second rounder and third rounder) the you would want to be giving up more than a fourth rounder. Jonathan Griffin was a third rounder last year and he was well below Maric in terms of our ruck stocks back then) Surely you wouldn't offer 400k a year to a bloke who you're not even willing to part with at least a third rounder for. In any case, Maric is such a huge club man I doubt he would hold the club to ransom like that. Anyway, most of this trade posuturing is done by BF footy supporters. If Maric wants to go to the Tigers, I am certain we will do our best to get him there (as we do with all our players who want to go to a specific club) and the clubs will work out a reasonable trade.

Ok lets take it step by step.

If the crows wont accept a reasonable offer & If he really wanted to come to richmond yet the crows force him into the psd.

He would need to put a high amount on his head e.g $400k the chances are he would get through & the next 2 years would be negotiated at say $150k per year.

Effectively $700k for 3 years = $233,000 py average

Hold on. Since when did it become a foregone conclusion that any Richmond offer will be invariably reasonable?:confused:

Richmond are/have been a fair club when it comes to trades in the past.

Offered pick 42 to essendon for houli which got knocked back & forced into psd.

same offer was made for grigg, Carlton wanted collins & deal was done

Shultz for farmer .............. more than fair

I guess that would come a fair way to answer your question, But hey what is fair to 1 team , May seem like not enough for another.

All depends on what value you place on players i suppose.

Richmond are/have been a fair club when it comes to trades in the past.

Offered pick 42 to essendon for houli which got knocked back & forced into psd.

same offer was made for grigg, Carlton wanted collins & deal was done

Shultz for farmer .............. more than fair

I guess that would come a fair way to answer your question, But hey what is fair to 1 team , May seem like not enough for another.

All depends on what value you place on players i suppose.

And Adelaide have always been a fair club with trading as well. Jacobs for a second and third rounder, Tambling for compo pick, Symes for a second rounder, Mattner for a second rounder, Hudson for a second rounder, Meesen for a third rounder, Moran for a third rounder....

Just because you suppport Richmond and think your club is fair at the trade table, doesn't mean that Adelaide will be "unfair" and not accept what you perceive to be a "fair trade"

Historically...

Rucks like Jolly (and somehow Wood and Hale:eek: ) fetch 1st rounders..

Rucks like Jacobs, Warnock, Mumford, Seaby, Hudson fetch second rounders.

Rucks like Moran, Meesen, Griffin fetch third rounders.

Most of these trades took place in uncompromised drafts.

The question is where does Maric fit in with these guys. I reckon he sits somewhere between the second and third group. He's probably similar to someone like Seaby, not as good as Jacobs/Warnock/Mumford but a hell of a lot better than Meesen/Moran and Griffin (at the time he was traded).

Any talk of a fourth rounder for a guy who can actually be a number 1 ruck, especially in this draft is ludicrous.

By my maths Richmond's 2nd round pick would be #35-37 ***. We paid #33 for Jacobs, in much, much stronger draft. Richmond's 2nd round pick would be a fair price and this sits quite comfortably with the precedents set by previous trades for ruckmen of his ability.

*** R1 goes from 1-26, 3x priority picks, 1x compo pick (Brisbane), so 2nd round starts at #31. Adelaide have #34, Richmond will probably have #35 - though it could be as late as #37 if they win in R24.

Much though the Richmond supporters will bleat about it - particularly those like The_GUN who clearly want something for nothing - I doubt either club would blink an eyelid at pulling the trigger if that were the deal.

Richmond back office are solid traders. If indeed Maric does want to go to the Tigers, we'll work out a deal fairly quickly and likely fairly. Talk of 3rd round plus is stupid.

Their second rounder is ~40; that'd be about right.

Talk of what round the pick is in this year is almost irrelevant.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:
yes its so frustrating when posters, journos, footy radio talkback hosts etc talk about, for example, player x is worth a "1st round pick", since that 1st round pick can be anything between picks 1 and 28....

Much easier if they actually gave a smaller pick range.

Graham isn't that bad tbh, he has done no more or less than Maric in his career to date.
Probably a more dangerous forward than Maric.

I agree wholeheartedly with the balded section, the problem being the gap between Grahams best and worst is like the grand canyon. How do you view Maric in that regard?

In reference to the better fwd, I havent seen enough of Maric fwd to give an informed opinion.

I agree wholeheartedly with the balded section, the problem being the gap between Grahams best and worst is like the grand canyon. How do you view Maric in that regard?

In reference to the better fwd, I havent seen enough of Maric fwd to give an informed opinion.

Having started the season as our #1 ruckman he went through a horrible patch at the start of this season, where everything he touched turned to poo. This resulted in Jacobs being given the job - and he never relinquished it, forcing Maric into 2nd place once he did overcome whatever ailed him.

Prior to this we'd never seen a really bad side to Maric. Sure, he had games where he wasn't at 100%, but we'd never seen him at 5-10% before. Normally there isn't much difference between his good & bad - it's mostly determined by the quality of his opposition.

Having started the season as our #1 ruckman he went through a horrible patch at the start of this season, where everything he touched turned to poo. This resulted in Jacobs being given the job - and he never relinquished it, forcing Maric into 2nd place once he did overcome whatever ailed him.

Prior to this we'd never seen a really bad side to Maric. Sure, he had games where he wasn't at 100%, but we'd never seen him at 5-10% before. Normally there isn't much difference between his good & bad - it's mostly determined by the quality of his opposition.

Thanks mate, in that case there lays the most obvious difference between the 2. Consistency.

P.s. not sure what happened with my above post :confused:

Ok lets take it step by step.

If the crows wont accept a reasonable offer & If he really wanted to come to richmond yet the crows force him into the psd.

He would need to put a high amount on his head e.g $400k the chances are he would get through & the next 2 years would be negotiated at say $150k per year.

Effectively $700k for 3 years = $233,000 py average

That would be money well spent:D

Just of interest, with everyone so keen on trading Maric, who are our backup ruckman. And please don't say Tippett because if we intend to use Tippett as a ruckman/forward then, given his salary, he must be traded immediately. We don't have the luxury in our salary cap to spend $600-$650 on a player who isn't an abolute gun permanent KPP forward or a permanent top class midfielder. If you are spending this sort ogf money on peripheral type players, then retaining core players will be very difficult.

If we don't think Kurt is going to make it as a top class permanent KPP forward, then he should be traded.

Just of interest, with everyone so keen on trading Maric, who are our backup ruckman. And please don't say Tippett because if we intend to use Tippett as a ruckman/forward then, given his salary, he must be traded immediately. We don't have the luxury in our salary cap to spend $600-$650 on a player who isn't an abolute gun permanent KPP forward or a permanent top class midfielder. If you are spending this sort ogf money on peripheral type players, then retaining core players will be very difficult.

If we don't think Kurt is going to make it as a top class permanent KPP forward, then he should be traded.

The benefit of trading Maric is that he could be a first ruckman at another club, but is only a backup ruckman for us.

If we could get a draft pick suitable for a first ruckman, in exchange for a player who is only a backup for us, then that's a smart trade. It's Game Theory 101 - everyone has different needs, so trading out your surplus stock to fill someone else's deficit is a way to obtain a "win-win" situation - you both can end up better off than you started.

The benefit of trading Maric is that he could be a first ruckman at another club, but is only a backup ruckman for us.

If we could get a draft pick suitable for a first ruckman, in exchange for a player who is only a backup for us, then that's a smart trade. It's Game Theory 101 - everyone has different needs, so trading out your surplus stock to fill someone else's deficit is a way to obtain a "win-win" situation - you both can end up better off than you started.

This is is part that really needs to be looked at here.

Maric could be 1st ruckman at another club ''BUT'' not at adelaide !!

The reason he is not 1st ruck at adelaide is because the crows realised that he is not good enough to be 1st ruck & went out and got a player that will / is good enough to be 1st ruck.

Maric will only be 1st ruck at another club as a short term solution and Definately not and will never be a top quality ruckman that can play 1st ruck in a top 4 team. He is a stop gap solution untill a better option is available.

You dont pay draft pick suitable for a 1st ruck for a stop gap ruckman
I see the Maric Scenario very similar to the Steven king situation was told would be limited for games & was traded to a suitable club

The reason he is not 1st ruck at adelaide is because the crows realised that he is not good enough to be 1st ruck & went out and got a player that will / is good enough to be 1st ruck.

Maric will only be 1st ruck at another club as a short term solution and Definately not and will never be a top quality ruckman that can play 1st ruck in a top 4 team. He is a stop gap solution untill a better option is available.

I see the Maric Scenario very similar to the Steven king situation was told would be limited for games & was traded to a suitable club

Rubbish!!

King was near the end of his career and prone to injury.

Maric is as sound as a bell and approaching the zenith of his career.

Could you please give up this barrage of Richmond getting Maric for slops - it ain't going to happen.

If Ninthmond really want Maric, it will cost them the going rate for a regular ruckman in a compromised weakened draft - not your fanciful thoughts about pick 50 to 68.

Can you just stop posting in this thread?

Maric is in the prime of his career. King was a thousand years old when he was traded. This is a RIDICULOUS scenario.

We have two ruckmen better than any of yours. We may be willing to trade one of them, just as Carlton was ready to trade us Jacobs last year. If you don't want him - fine. If you do, offer us something realistic.