List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 2

16 was a ridiculous draft/trade period

GamesPast GoalsPast VotesAcquired ViaPlayerAgeHeightWeightOriginal ClubGamesGoalsVotesAwards
95768Traded for #24 + #64
(with #56)
Josh Caddy24yr186cm84kgEltham/Marcellin College/Northern U1870869AA40: 2018; Prem: 2017, 2019
1230Traded for #46Toby Nankervis22yr199cm101kgGeorge Town/North Launceston/Tasmania U1870256Prem: 2017, 2019, 2020
953023Traded for #6 + #2017R2 (Richmond)
(with #24)
Dion Prestia23yr175cm81kgWest Lalor/Assumption College/Calder U18692519B&F: 2019; AA40: 2019; Prem: 2017, 2019, 2020
National Draft pick 29Shai Bolton17yr175cm70kgForrestdale JFC/South Fremantle473414Prem: 2019, 2020
National Draft pick 53Jack Graham18yr183cm83kgTea Tree Gully/North Adelaide55214Prem: 2017, 2020
National Draft pick 72Ryan Garthwaite18yr192cm84kgCorowa-Rutherglen/Murray U18/Western Sydney University900
Rookie Draft pick 6Tyson Stengle17yr171cm
Even better than that
In Prestia, Caddy, Nank, Graham, Bolton. Garth, Stengle Balta and CCJ
Out 2016 picks, 2017 2nd round pick, Ty Vickery, Lids.

Cheers mate. Now with lockdown over I am in overdrive finding work, that is taking 100% of my time and to be honest trade news is the least of my worries atm.
Take care mate.

AFL premiers Tigers re-sign Broad, Pickett

Three-time premiership defender Nathan Broad has rejected interest from Gold Coast to re-sign with Richmond on a two-year deal, while wingman Marlion Pickett has earned a well-deserved pay rise.

Broad recently became the quickest player in the AFL era to win three flags (70 games), and the Suns were keen to poach him for next year.

But the 27-year-old decided to stick with the Tigers for at least another two years.

The Suns will now turn their attention to signing Richmond defender Oleg Markov, who was an emergency for this year's grand final and is keen to join Gold Coast.

Pickett has proven to be a fairytale story since being taken by Richmond in the mid-season draft last year just a week after breaking his finger.

The 28-year-old recovered to make his AFL debut in last year's grand final win over Greater Western Sydney, and he now has two flags in just 20 games after being part of the side that beat Geelong in this year's decider.

Pickett has been on a basement salary for the past two years, but his new two-year deal is reportedly worth close to $1 million.

Rookie small forward Jake Aarts, who kicked 14 goals in 14 games this season, has also re-signed on a two-year deal.

"Since coming to the club from the WAFL and VFL respectively each player has worked hard to establish themselves at AFL level and contribute to our recent success," Richmond's general manager of football talent Blair Hartley said.

"The premierships have been a fantastic reward for Nathan and Marlion, and Jake is another who had a terrific season and significant impact this year."

Can see Pickett exploding next season.
This season was only his second and regardless of age I think the 2nd year blues most young players get also affected Pickett.

Let's not forget family troubles at home and hub life. Rekon hub life would have affected Pickett more than anyone else at the club.

Watch this space Next season in regards to Pickett.

We've been very quiet this off season. Does anyone else think the club will be making a play for next year? I'm assuming we will have Rance's dollars to spend and if we don't spend them this year, they'll be there to spend next year?

Does anyone have the free agency list for next year?

edit: here's the list. Josh Kelly anyone 👍

I got no problem with Pickett on 500k. Have seen his kids kick a footy.

Need to get him to 100 games pronto

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

If we contracted Pickett at $500,000 per season then we are on the way down and our administration has started to drink its own bath water. Pickett at best is a $250,000 a year player. Tops. What a waste of salary cap space.

Really ? Grimes is a AA backman and integral part of our defence and he would be easily on $600k and Nank has just signed a new contract being a 3 x Premiership ruckman with so many teams looking for Rucks and we are short. You may be surprised as he is not staying for $450k
I don’t have a genuine insight however a defensive defender wouldnt normally attract a huge premium , I’d expect ~500 tops and still don’t reckon nank would be on 600 plus

No Chance $500k a year maybe $500k over 2 years

Dont also forget that Pickett has written a book which only Richmond supporters would buy and if he makes $10 a book x 50,000
thats $500k he never had before

p.s Just had a thought
We could trade for Treloar and tell him take a $200k pay cut and Pies pay $200k so that brings him down to $500k a year then he can write book
" Why i left the pies and came to win a flag at the Tigers with a better club"

sells 300,000 copies makes $10 a copy $3,000,000
He's more likely to be getting $1 per book than $10. Publishers, distributors, retailers all take more than their fair share of the pie. Very hard to make money as an author.

We haven't turned into Collingwood people. We aren't about to go and spend overs on our role players.

I'm sure Pickett has gotten a nice pay rise on what he was on but trust Blair and the club. They got this all sorted.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Do you really think Pickett would be on more than Edwards?

Because i can tell you as a fact that 500k is more than Shedda is on

Do you really think Pickett would be on more than Edwards?

Because i can tell you as a fact that 500k is more than Shedda is on

Shedda is such a quality person, he probably organised Picketts contracts so picketts family is set up.

He has played 23 games in the last two years and performed in about 8 of them, his most recent four being his best, of which he had already re-signed for one of those. He was behind Soldo as our no.1 and only regained his spot in the side due to Soldo going down, had he not gone down there is a genuine chance that he might not have got back in. He has never finished inside the top 12 of our BnF and he struggles when he comes up against the best ruckman in the competition. If he is on more than 450k a year I would be very surprised and even that is a stretch given the figures that often get reported on here are fairly wide of the mark when it comes to how much the average AFL player earns.
Short memory.We won 19 with both Soldo & Nank.Would've done the same this year.Stepped up when needed in finals.Beat both Port rucks as the game went on. not 1 but yes 2 in a high taxing game.How are those highly rated ruckman going?
Grundy-Failed the test in 18gf & 19Pf.
Gawn-Went missing in the final in Perth.
In fact Nank has been the most consistent ruckman in finals since his arrival at the club.
Deserves a pay rise and did get one.
End of story.

I’m guessing Pickett has the potential to earn 500k by hitting incentives, match payments, playing a certain number of games, finals games, etc. no way it’s guaranteed.

But if he hits his incentives then I have no problem with 500k a year.
Yeah was gonna say the same thing the 500k mark would be potential earnings if he hits the triggers
Stuff like brownlow votes, all Australian, coaches votes ect

It’s pretty common for contracts to be set out this way

Gary Buckenara analyses Richmond’s list after the 2020 season

With three premierships in four years Richmond has created its own dynasty and this team comfortably sits alongside the great Brisbane (2001-2004) and Hawthorn (2012-2015) teams of the modern era.

Winning a three-peat is not out of the question, in fact the Tigers will be premiership contenders for at least the next three years. But as we know, talent alone doesn’t guarantee success so Trent Cotchin, Damien Hardwick and the leaders need to keep the hunger alive, which is one of the great challenges. It’s why those Brisbane and Hawthorn teams are so revered.

This Richmond group has maintained that desire to win and belief in each other and it’s why history will look back on them in the same light as those great sides.

These Tigers players have already entered the history books by winning back-to-back premierships but the opportunity is there to become one of, if not the most successful and decorated team in the club’s history.

What has been most impressive about this group hasn’t been the ability to assemble a team of superstars. It’s been the development and improvement of players who weren’t top draft picks but have become high-quality AFL players. They’re the reason for the sustained success.

1604872841577.png

While the Tigers have their A-graders like Cotchin, Dustin Martin, Jack Riewoldt, Shane Edwards and Tom Lynch, what sets the most successful teams apart from the rest is the strength of the lesser-lights and the guys who are the 15-22 ranked players in the best 22. The improvement from Liam Baker, Jayden Short, Ivan Soldo, Noah Balta, Shai Bolton and Jake Aarts (despite him only playing in the qualifying final) to not only fill roles but become very damaging players has meant there was no drop off when Cotchin, Prestia and Toby Nankervis were injured and Edwards and Bachar Houli weren’t there.

It’s a credit to the recruiting and list management teams who have executed a plan and identified players capable of filling roles in Hardwick’s game style and they’ve done it without having access to high draft picks. Richmond has not had a pick inside the top 12 since 2015. Baker (2017), Short, Soldo (both 2014) and Aarts (2018) were rookie draft picks, Balta was a pick 25 and Bolton was pick 29. Talk about nailing the draft.

Jason Castagna (rookie, 2014), Kane Lambert (rookie, 2014), Marlion Pickett (mid-season draft, 2019), Nathan Broad (pick 67, 2015) and Jack Graham (pick 53, 2016) are other examples of key players who weren’t high draft picks but have become seriously good AFL players.

As much as Hardwick is a great coach and the superstars get the fanfare, a lot of credit for Richmond’s success must go to the recruiting, list management and development staff, as well as the fitness and medical teams who have done a great job to keep the best players on the park. These have been Richmond’s secret weapons.

LIST NEEDS

Riewoldt has just turned 32 and given the success of the Riewoldt-Tom Lynch set-up, and with no real genuine developing key forwards on the list, I’d be looking to draft one or two to begin to plan for life after Riewoldt.

Overall Richmond has a very balanced group and the strength and depth of the list is evident. That means they can target specific experienced players in the trade and free agency periods and continue to stockpile young talent in the draft.
TRADE TARGETS

Richmond isn’t a major player in the trade period, with the focus on keeping this brilliant list together. They were linked early to North Melbourne’s Jared Polec, who’d be a handy get to inject more speed on the wing. If the Kangaroos pay a portion of his contract, Polec would be a potential steal as I can see him playing a valuable role. The Tigers’ quick ball movement would suit him. Unlikely to cost much in a trade.

UNTOUCHABLES
Cotchin, Martin, Edwards, Riewoldt, Lynch, Prestia, Baker, Balta, Castagna, Lambert, Pickett, Short, Bolton, Houli, Prestia, David Astbury, Mabior Chol, Riley Collier-Dawkins, Dylan Grimes, Jack Higgins, Daniel Rioli, Ivan Soldo and Nick Vlastuin.

TRADE BAIT
Jack Higgins has been linked to St Kilda and is assessing his options. He’s an extremely talented small forward who I rated as the best small forward/midfielder in his draft in 2017 and had him rated as a top-10 talent, even though he slipped to No.17. He’s an untouchable in my book. He’s obviously had health challenges that have impacted his career so far, so I wouldn’t read much into him being overtaken by the likes of Jake Aarts this year. I still see him playing a valuable role at Richmond and eventually pushing into the midfield and given he’s contracted, it would need to be a compelling trade for the Tigers to consider it. The Saints would need to offer a top-20 pick at a minimum.

Oleg Markov has already found a new home at Gold Coast as he searches for more senior opportunities, while players like Ryan Garthwaite and Jack Ross could attract interest late and be tempted by the offer of more senior games. Ross has impressed me as a big-bodied midfielder who’s handled the pressure of AFL football and a club like Carlton, desperate for this type of player, might inquire but the Tigers will do all they can to keep him.

LIST BREAKDOWN
A-grade: Martin, Lynch, Cotchin, Edwards, Astbury, Grimes, Prestia, Riewoldt

B: Baker, Castagna, Graham, Houli, Lambert, McIntosh, Nankervis, Pickett, Rioli, Short, Soldo, Vlastuin

C: Aarts, Broad, Caddy, Chol, Eggmolesse-Smith, Garthwaite

Developing (with A-B grade potential): Balta, Bolton, Collier-Dawkins, Higgins, Ross, Stack

Developing: Coleman-Jones, Cumberland, Dow, Martyn, Miller, Naish, Nyuon, Ralphsmith

What the ratings mean:

A-grade: Elite player on any AFL list

B: Top 10-18 player on most lists

C: An 18-30 player on a list

Developing: Aged 21 or under

CRYSTAL BALL

With a league-high eight A-graders, 12 B-graders and six players aged 21 or under with the potential to develop into A or B-graders, Richmond’s list is the envy of almost every club and will see the Tigers challenging strongly for more premierships over the next three years at least. This has been a wonderful era and while the players have already cashed in with three flags in four years, why stop now? Keep the hunger alive because the chance to be part of such a strong team doesn’t come along in the AFL often. The opportunity to further etch their names in Richmond folklore can drive this group to truly special things.

No way we would be interested in that one way runner Polec IMO
First round pick for Higgins or GTFO

Would you also happily pay Caldwell $500,000 for 5 years?
I'd be building the war-chest for Tom Green...... absolute jet