List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 7

Hello Tiger fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

tugga you may like to sticky or merge this post, move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread.

The mistake wasn’t the Hopper trade. The mistake was not knowing what that first pick would be. Pick 14-16 would be fine.

It’s often said, you need to know where your list is at. This is a further demonstration of that.

Who would have predicted where we sunk to in ‘16 and ‘21? It’s hard to know.

Maybe the solution to all this is don’t give away future first round picks. They’re too important to your future and also the psyche of your club. After a bad year it’s uplifting to get a Naitanui through the door or, in our case, Gibcus. It gives hope.

And the real mistake was that after the Taranto deal - which was a good deal - as we knew what the picks we traded were worth - but after we got Taranto, the leverage was in our court. We didn't need both players - we had lured both, but we didn;t really need both. Once we had Taranto, the club should have been able to get a better deal on Hopper, not worse. It was a bad move at the time & i said as much

How the **** did the club fool itself into trading more for Hopper than Taranto & offer them both identical $5m/7year contracts is beyond me. They are not the same quality of player & never really were IMO. Hopper also has a worse history of injury. The club was sniffing its own farts when it thought this trade

Balta, Bolton, Baker , D.Rioli? is how we get into the top10

If there’s a fringe/older player we can get back into first round late or early second for, we shouldn’t hesitate to get that done (Soldo alone will get us into the second round) rucks are in demand atm

Getting back into the draft is easy, the hard parts are the conversations with players

FMD …. Bombers got a heap of top-10 picks and other quality picks for Saad, Daniher and Fantasia …. remember? They were 70-seconds off losing to the worst team we’ve seen since Fitzroy. Meanwhile, the Roos have also had top-10 picks the the wazoo for 5+ years… and have lost 17-games in a row. Blues have had top-5 picks for 15-years and haven’t made finals in a decade. gC had a gazillion of them and still haven’t made finals 15-years into their existence.

I’m sick of hearing muppets in here talk about trading away our gun mid-20’s players for draft picks thinking it’s the solution to our future. It’s just sheer stupidity.

FMD …. Bombers got a heap of top-10 picks and other quality picks for Saad, Daniher and Fantasia …. remember? They were 70-seconds off losing to the worst team we’ve seen since Fitzroy. Meanwhile, the Roos have also had top-10 picks the the wazoo for 5+ years… and have lost 17-games in a row. Blues have had top-5 picks for 15-years and haven’t made finals in a decade. gC had a gazillion of them and still haven’t made finals 15-years into their existence.

I’m sick of hearing muppets in here talk about trading away our gun mid-20’s players for draft picks thinking it’s the solution to our future. It’s just sheer stupidity.

Eagles have been surging of late and our performance against them was hardly much better. They are finally past the worst of their woes i think as a few of their kids start to finally show a bit of growth from a pretty hard 12-24 months

I hope im wrong, but i reckon Dusty will be at Gold Coast next year courtesy of the AFL

Are you serious?

how could you say it was worse when we went from 15th to s flag 12 months later? You have to judge things on RESULTS OF THE CLUB - not the player.

Would you say trading pick 19, which ended up being David Cunningham for Carlton (from memory) will be worse than us, say, trading Clayton Oliver/Darcy Parish & Josh Dunkley? As those are the 2 players in that same draft we comparatively just gave up for Hopper?

This Hopper trade will 100% HURT this club far more than the Yarran trade, especially if pick 5 ends up being a gun. Trades are mainly judged on where the best player lands - in the Yarran Trade, literally both teams got nothing out of it . Yarran played zero games for us & Cunningham played 25 games over 5 years and provided no real highlights. It was a bad trade that essentially gained and lost everyone.....nothing
You can laugh at me if you like, but when the smoke settles of this burnt out desperate trade, you wont be laughing. The results will dictate how bad it is & time will tell. Let it be known though, i will be here to let you know either way
I don't know if you don't play a single game after giving up a high pick that's pretty darn bad. And I'm not laughing at you at all (my God considering what we gave up and where we are I am so not laughing). It's semantics to me, Yarran vs Hopper whatever, I think we both agree the Hopper trade is a very very bad trade.

The mistake wasn’t the Hopper trade. The mistake was not knowing what that first pick would be. Pick 14-16 would be fine.

It’s often said, you need to know where your list is at. This is a further demonstration of that.

Who would have predicted where we sunk to in ‘16 and ‘21? It’s hard to know.

Maybe the solution to all this is don’t give away future first round picks. They’re too important to your future and also the psyche of your club. After a bad year it’s uplifting to get a Naitanui through the door or, in our case, Gibcus. It gives hope.
It you don't win the premiership, if you don't even play finals, the big highlight for me is who are you going to get with your first round pick, especially if it's a top ten or better still top five. To get that player you've talked about or to get a slider that you didn't think would be available, and then the following season the anticipation of when he will make his debut. It's compensation for the pain and suffering endured during the year. It just aint going to be as pleasurable seeing who GWS gets with our pick this year . Unless we pull a major rabbit out of the hat draft night is going to be very very deflating...

I hope im wrong, but i reckon Dusty will be at Gold Coast next year courtesy of the AFL

Are you serious?

how could you say it was worse when we went from 15th to s flag 12 months later? You have to judge things on RESULTS OF THE CLUB - not the player.

Would you say trading pick 19, which ended up being David Cunningham for Carlton (from memory) will be worse than us, say, trading Clayton Oliver/Darcy Parish & Josh Dunkley? As those are the 2 players in that same draft we comparatively just gave up for Hopper?

This Hopper trade will 100% HURT this club far more than the Yarran trade, especially if pick 5 ends up being a gun. Trades are mainly judged on where the best player lands - in the Yarran Trade, literally both teams got nothing out of it . Yarran played zero games for us & Cunningham played 25 games over 5 years and provided no real highlights. It was a bad trade that essentially gained and lost everyone.....nothing
You can laugh at me if you like, but when the smoke settles of this burnt out desperate trade, you wont be laughing. The results will dictate how bad it is & time will tell. Let it be known though, i will be here to let you know either way
I’m hearing that dusty to GC is a genuine chance which breaks my heart , if he wants out he wants out , I’ll eventually get over it , id be certain that it’ll result in a very good draft hand for us However we massage the deal , paying part of wages whatever , we ll get a top 10 pic to go

and for those that question his value , compare his year to Rozee who’s likely AA again , pretty bloody similar

I’m hearing that dusty to GC is a genuine chance which breaks my heart , if he wants out he wants out , I’ll eventually get over it , id be certain that it’ll result in a very good draft hand for us However we massage the deal , paying part of wages whatever , we ll get a top 10 pic to go

and for those that question his value , compare his year to Rozee who’s likely AA again , pretty bloody similar

I have no intel on this one, but just my gut feeling and reading similar situations before.

I reckon we will net next to nothing back for him. I reckon we will get reemed. It will be a salary cap dump as his deal is back ended and he is on between 1.2-1.5mil next year. I think we might get a 2nd rounder at best - with possibly with our 3rd or 4th going back to them as well & we will be hit with 1/3 of the salary still.

I reckon Dimma will know exactly how much we are screwed & his contract is crippling. From what i can tell, we have (give or take $500k) $6,000,000 in contracts next season on just Dusty, Lynch, Taranto, Hopper, Rioli, Bolton.

I have no intel on this one, but just my gut feeling and reading similar situations before.

I reckon we will net next to nothing back for him. I reckon we will get reemed. It will be a salary cap dump as his deal is back ended and he is on between 1.2-1.5mil next year. I think we might get a 2nd rounder at best - with possibly with our 3rd or 4th going back to them as well & we will be hit with 1/3 of the salary still.

I reckon Dimma will know exactly how much we are screwed & his contract is crippling. From what i can tell, we have (give or take $500k) $6,000,000 in contracts next season on just Dusty, Lynch, Taranto, Hopper, Rioli, Bolton.
Lol wtf? We just brought in 2 blokes on 1.5mill, have tarrant, cotchin, riewoldt and castagna retiring and only 1 year left on his deal.

Its not even close to crippling. We manage our cap better than anyone.

Simple scenario club took this route and now we got no draft capital this year either make the hard calls with delistings and retirement not this bs will leave it up to them , and put a few players up for trade with value start the reboot. The other option is transgress further years.

I think we target a couple of best 22 role players that won't cost a heap including a KPP (Riccardi, Georgiades, Billings, Gresham etc) and then either a) target GCs pick 5 by packaging up all our picks and trading out two of Soldo, Ralphsmith and Graham or b) trade out our future 1st for a 1st this year and load up on a few kids.

Lol pic 40 for arguably the greatest player of the 21st century who’s performances this year would still have him top 20 in the comp ,,,compare YTD v Rozee who is certain AA . You needn’t argue with that , it’s FACT and it’s why GC are entertaining the deal , why RFC would be remotely interested is what we could get in return. I’d suggest the only means he’d leave would be for a top 10 pic in return , that may mean we pay % of wages for 12m . personally I’d rather he stay

Simple scenario club took this route and now we got no draft capital this year either make the hard calls with delistings and retirement not this bs will leave it up to them , and put a few players up for trade with value start the reboot. The other option is transgress further years.
We ll trade out a couple of players to add a pair of 20 something pics and maybe there’s a surprise too

Lol the only way Dusty walks out of Punt Road is with the Suns top pick coming back the other way. We'd pay some of his salary and essentially buy that pick off them.

Who do we have to sacrifice to get some pace around the ball and a strong marking forward?

And by sacrifice, I’m not not talking trade. I’m talking a blood sacrifice.

The mix is wrong with cotchin too though. Need a classy outside mid. Be huge if sonsie could pull his finger out.
That’s my sentiments too , hop can still be a good player for us , he needs to be re programmed . Good news is he can get it , less of the itzy bitzy useless handball more getting on his bike using that sidestep and good kick forward , Richmond footy not old style gws

Lol the only way Dusty walks out of Punt Road is with the Suns top pick coming back the other way. We'd pay some of his salary and essentially buy that pick off them.
Yep only reason we’d pic up the ph , mods need to thread ban any imbeciles that don’t acknowledge he’s greatest player of the 21st currently playing at AA level

Lol wtf? We just brought in 2 blokes on 1.5mill, have tarrant, cotchin, riewoldt and castagna retiring and only 1 year left on his deal.

Its not even close to crippling. We manage our cap better than anyone.

Dusty's contract is backended - this year we owe him somewhere between $1.25-1.5m

Bolton is around $800k from memory?

Lynch's contact was somewhat backended as well and gets larger, likely around $800k-1m

Rioli - $650-750k - surely he is not getting less than Hopper

Taranto - $750k

Hopper - $750k

= $5,500,000 -to $6,000,000

Total Cap is $13,000,000

Means we are paying the other 34 players $7,500,000 combined, which equates to an average salaray of $215k. We would be absolutely right at our cap, even next year. We hardly have a war-chest - we backended all our contracts so we are just trying to get back under

Dusty's contract is backended - this year we owe him somewhere between $1.25-1.5m

Bolton is around $800k from memory?

Lynch's contact was somewhat backended as well and gets larger, likely around $800k-1m

Rioli - $650-750k - surely he is not getting less than Hopper

Taranto - $750k

Hopper - $750k

= $5,500,000 -to $6,000,000

Total Cap is $13,000,000

Means we are paying the other 34 players $7,500,000 combined, which equates to an average salaray of $215k. We would be absolutely right at our cap, even next year. We hardly have a war-chest - we backended all our contracts so we are just trying to get back under

Thats great but if it was going to cripple us it was this year, not next year. Plus the Taranto and Hopper deals are back ended too according to Mitch Cleary.

If we've managed it till now there won't be any issues for one more year. Then lynchs deal is up too.

Our cap is fine.

Adam Tomlinson has mostly played as a defender but can play forward ….. could be a cheap option to think about

Ginnivan doesn't seem to be getting a game a the Pies, I know he is a flog but he could be our flog he would be comfortably ahead of players like M. Rioli.
We should look at him cost nothing & we need to improve our list this way.

“Our flog” ha ha

I agree though , the type of player we need . Ash Johnson worth a look as well.

Time for other clubs to start losing their fringe types like we did with Ellis & Butler etc

That’s my sentiments too , hop can still be a good player for us , he needs to be re programmed . Good news is he can get it , less of the itzy bitzy useless handball more getting on his bike using that sidestep and good kick forward , Richmond footy not old style gws
Liam Henry would be perfect for us. Shai and him would be a dynamic duo