List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

SAINTS KEEN TO SIGN YOUNG GUN​

ST KILDA young gun Mattaes Phillipou is loving his time at the Saints and will get through more of the season before looking at extending his deal, with the club keen to lock him in.

Clubs are quick to offer their early draft selections two-year contract extensions on top of their initial standard two-year deal upon entering the competition.
where is this from?

I think a lot of our good work will be undone if we lose Clark and Gresh. If you bring in talent but lose it at the same time are you really ahead.

It would be insane for us to lose those guys if we are in flag contention and we have no salary cap problems.

Unheard of for a club with both those things going for them to lose starting 22 restricted free agents (noting clark isn't yet but not far off).... but we are stkilda, it could happen I guess.
We are usually the ones pioneering new ways to avoid success.
(though hat's off to the bombers and their drug program... that was certainly one where we were beaten to the punch)

It would be insane for us to lose those guys if we are in flag contention and we have no salary cap problems.

Unheard of for a club with both those things going for them to lose starting 22 restricted free agents.... but we are stkilda, it could happen I guess.
We are usually the ones pioneering new ways to avoid success.
(though hat's off to the bombers and their drug program... that was certainly one where we were beaten to the punch)
I think it’s worth wild to be open minded that a lot of these senior blokes won’t have their contracts renewed until after the buy.

Speaks a lot about what the intentions are of Gubby and SOS. It also speaks about how Ross wants to build this.

I for one would love to shed the likes of jones and Billings if we could bring in more in that 20-23 range that look good.

Keep in mind there is always a club looking to gut itself and rebuild. Collingwood picked up Tom Mitchell ffs.

Or even clubs looking to shed salary - Dees landed Grundy.

I’d still consider Haynes from the giants and his $1m a year if one of their 2 top 10 picks came the other way

I think it’s worth wild to be open minded that a lot of these senior blokes won’t have their contracts renewed until after the buy.

Speaks a lot about what the intentions are of Gubby and SOS. It also speaks about how Ross wants to build this.

I for one would love to shed the likes of jones and Billings if we could bring in more in that 20-23 range that look good.

Keep in mind there is always a club looking to gut itself and rebuild. Collingwood picked up Tom Mitchell ffs.

Or even clubs looking to shed salary - Dees landed Grundy.

I’d still consider Haynes from the giants and his $1m a year if one of their 2 top 10 picks came the other way

Surely they are in more of a position to absorb $1 million than us?

Steele, Crouch and Ross are a solid, workhorse like inside midfield unit.

The unconventional approaches from Gresham and Clark in particular, give us a really good point of difference and makes our midfield look a little less one dimensional.

We will only lose these blokes if they want to chase money. Fully trust the club to know at exactly what price they become a liability instead of an asset.

Clark seems to really be enjoying his footy. He wanted to go to North after we tried to force him out. I think RL values him and I think Clark would recognise this, would be surprised if he left.

Gresham would have been overpaid his entire career to date, but I don't get the feeling this will make him more willing to take a haircut (could be completely wrong). Wouldn't mind offering him a contract that has the potential to be as lucrative, but with significant performance bonuses (games played, making AA squad etc.).

I agree after what they have shown this year I wouldnt like to lose either of them. That said Gresham needs to understand he was paid over the odds earlier in his career and he needs take a hair cut if he wants to remain at the Saints. If he is solely money orientated he will leave but lets hope as you the club can offer him a performance based contract that he is happy with. Hopefully the club are thinking the same way and not looking to force him out just to get the free agent compensation.

I also now believe Clark can make it as a pure midfielder. He is slowly adding to his TOG minutes each week, which shows his tank is increasing. If he can keep improving at the rate he is he will play a prominant role this year. Again if that continues and what better motivator, I think the club will offer him another contract.

I dont know where Billings and Jones contracts are, but they will need to get back and show a fair bit to get new contracts. Otherwise I think they might be on the trade table?

I don't think we are that desperate for draft picks that we should be considering letting players like Clark and Gresham go.

All that does is widen the gap between our older players and youngsters and its going to make it difficult to win a flag while Sinclair, Hill etc are still firing .

Can understand letting players like Billings and Jones go to free up some salary. Not sure we'd get a lot for either but if it helps us land someone like Bing then we should go for it

I agree after what they have shown this year I wouldnt like to lose either of them. That said Gresham needs to understand he was paid over the odds earlier in his career and he needs take a hair cut if he wants to remain at the Saints. If he is solely money orientated he will leave but lets hope as you the club can offer him a performance based contract that he is happy with. Hopefully the club are thinking the same way and not looking to force him out just to get the free agent compensation.

I also now believe Clark can make it as a pure midfielder. He is slowly adding to his TOG minutes each week, which shows his tank is increasing. If he can keep improving at the rate he is he will play a prominant role this year. Again if that continues and what better motivator, I think the club will offer him another contract.

I dont know where Billings and Jones contracts are, but they will need to get back and show a fair bit to get new contracts. Otherwise I think they might be on the trade table?

JB signed a new 4 year deal at the end of 2021.

Zak is in the last year of his from memory.

Would hate to see Gresh leave… people forget very quickly how dynamic he was before his achilles & how important he was last year before the Perth cow paddock wrecked his knee.

Can’t see Hunts leaving now. He looks refreshed & tracking in the right direction under RTB & the EHH triumvirate.

I think the wholesale changes that looked likely are very unlikely now. Ross has a group working together & performing at a high level.

Hitting the draft & targeting a few key positional needs is my preference.

I reckon Gresham is at about 50% of last years output and before injury was going really well. He's 25 and missed out on at least 2 seasons of consistency because of injury. I reckon he's still one of our few star quality players if he gets going. Gresham is 1 year older than Clark and was already a very established player at 22. Not sure how one is fully formed and one is just scratching the surface.
Do really care if you are sure or not, it is my opinion, there is no definitive right or wrong.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think everyone just needs to relax and just enjoy the ride.

There clearly is going to be change of some sort.

New List managers, New coach.

A good season = heightened expectations for next which probably means we become buyers.

A drop off from here probably means we are willing sellers.

Not sure there is any scenario outside of a flag where we stand Pat with players.

Gresh is playing more forward this year and apart from one ordinary game has still been pretty good IMO. We shouldn’t be judging him off a few games this year anyway we know what he’s capable of.

I think everyone just needs to relax and just enjoy the ride.

There clearly is going to be change of some sort.

New List managers, New coach.

A good season = heightened expectations for next which probably means we become buyers.

A drop off from here probably means we are willing sellers.

Not sure there is any scenario outside of a flag where we stand Pat with players.

You can't throw bombs and then tell people to relax. Teams change constantly and we should be trying to improve our list but stripping good bits away and hoping to replenish it while holding ground or improving sounds very high risk. We've had so many ****ups in the last 12 years that we have become risk averse as a supporter group.

I hope Sos and Grubby know what they are doing. They are in the most important role in the club outside the coach now. If we are stripping away Clark and Gresham I imagine it's because of salary cap space. Suggests Gags might not have been as great as some suggest.

The idea of Haynes plus a top ten pick would surely be tempting. Well it is to me.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

He's like a 30 year old Sam Gilbert who is on $1 pa. Who does he push out? I'd rather wait for Coffield to get a run and see what he does. Nas is probably a lock. Webster/ Paton would go out for him maybe. He plays more the Battle role with more run so possibly cost us moving Battle on.

Personally I'd prefer to concentrate on players and a list that are the future not get cute as tempting as a top 10 pick is. We'd realistically have to off load players to make room for his wage after we sign up all our out of contract players. Doubt that they need to off load a top 10 pick either. They'd be better to off load him and pay half of his wage where they are at.

You can't throw bombs and then tell people to relax. Teams change constantly and we should be trying to improve our list but stripping good bits away and hoping to replenish it while holding ground or improving sounds very high risk. We've had so many *ups in the last 12 years that we have become risk averse as a supporter group.

I hope Sos and Grubby know what they are doing. They are in the most important role in the club outside the coach now. If we are stripping away Clark and Gresham I imagine it's because of salary cap space. Suggests Gags might not have been as great as some suggest.
What bombs did I throw?

I said it will be interesting to see what happens if we still haven’t resigned current core players at the 2/3 point.

Which would make sense, no?

He's like a 30 year old Sam Gilbert who is on $1 pa. Who does he push out? I'd rather wait for Coffield to get a run and see what he does. Nas is probably a lock. Webster/ Paton would go out for him maybe. He plays more the Battle role with more run so possibly cost us moving Battle on.

Personally I'd prefer to concentrate on players and a list that are the future not get cute as tempting as a top 10 pick is. We'd realistically have to off load players to make room for his wage after we sign up all our out of contract players. Doubt that they need to off load a top 10 pick either. They'd be better to off load him and pay half of his wage where they are at.
Considering he is one year to run on his deal, it's more about getting a free first round pick than Haynes

But let's get real, it's not going to happen

What bombs did I throw?

I said it will be interesting to see what happens if we still haven’t resigned current core players at the 2/3 point.

Which would make sense, no?

I thought that you were suggesting major shake ups and people being unhappy come the end of the year. It sounded like you were suggesting that Gresham and HC were likely to go and that TDK sounds like the big fish to appease the great unwashed. Like throwing us a shit sandwich and telling us to enjoy our meal.

Ok so tas entering the comp.
So expect another 3/4 years of plundered drafts.
We don’t want to be anywhere near rebuilding during the 2025-27? drafts.
We found out what it was like last time!

Hopefully we find ourselves in the position of hawks/cats last time and able to lure all the FAs we want while competing at the top of the table and sustain the competitiveness while other teams are stunted for years.

Absolutely must now look to top talent youth(draft) over the next couple of years while we still can, then hit up FAs over the time Tassie harvests the draft.

Considering he is one year to run on his deal, it's more about getting a free first round pick than Haynes

But let's get real, it's not going to happen
I was spit balling when I said this because of the Giants issues with cap space.

I do know that Ross wants more top end talent. But was very keen to get some of that from the draft

I do know that SOS/Gubby are also on the look out for players that would elevate us without being top liners themselve - but could get there under Ross.

And I have heard the same murmurings that Gresham isn’t exactly the bosses favourite cup of tea as others. Which please don’t confuse this with me saying that the boss hates Gresh. Because I’m not.

The other thing you can take from Twomey/Maclure/ Etc to support some of the above is that we want to open up additional cap space to the De Goey space we had and we don’t seem to be keen to re-sign some of the blokes heading OOC - today and are happy to wait closer to the middle/late in the season.

Which in itself is an odd decision if you were happy to retain most of them.

Which is why I think there is going to be significant change.

I thought that you were suggesting major shake ups and people being unhappy come the end of the year. It sounded like you were suggesting that Gresham and HC were likely to go and that TDK sounds like the big fish to appease the great unwashed. Like throwing us a s**t sandwich and telling us to enjoy our meal.
See my response above this