List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Ok so tas entering the comp.
So expect another 3/4 years of plundered drafts.
We don’t want to be anywhere near rebuilding during the 2025-27? drafts.
We found out what it was like last time!

Hopefully we find ourselves in the position of hawks/cats last time and able to lure all the FAs we want while competing at the top of the table and sustain the competitiveness while other teams are stunted for years.

Absolutely must now look to top talent youth(draft) over the next couple of years while we still can, then hit up FAs over the time Tassie harvests the draft.
This and all this!! Can still get FAs, but just want us to take the picks to the draft. Imagine if we had shuffled our 23 first into 22 - that would have been very tasty

I was spit balling when I said this because of the Giants issues with cap space.

I do know that Ross wants more top end talent. But was very keen to get some of that from the draft

I do know that SOS/Gubby are also on the look out for players that would elevate us without being top liners themselve - but could get there under Ross.

And I have heard the same murmurings that Gresham isn’t exactly the bosses favourite cup of tea as others. Which please don’t confuse this with me saying that the boss hates Gresh. Because I’m not.

The other thing you can take from Twomey/Maclure/ Etc to support some of the above is that we want to open up additional cap space to the De Goey space we had and we don’t seem to be keen to re-sign some of the blokes heading OOC - today and are happy to wait closer to the middle/late in the season.

Which in itself is an odd decision if you were happy to retain most of them.

Which is why I think there is going to be significant change.
Yeah its been reported in the media that we are holding off most contract decisions until the 2nd hakf of the year so the new crew can analyse what we have and where to go which completely makes sense.

Unless things turn to shit though I'd be surprised if we saw any wholesale changes. It's the best the list has looked since 2010.

We've got draft picks and salary cap space. I think we can trade away some less valuable players to make more room but I don't see any reason we need to trade any of our top 10 or so players at the moment.

SOS worries me a little though

He's like a 30 year old Sam Gilbert who is on $1 pa. Who does he push out? I'd rather wait for Coffield to get a run and see what he does. Nas is probably a lock. Webster/ Paton would go out for him maybe. He plays more the Battle role with more run so possibly cost us moving Battle on.

Personally I'd prefer to concentrate on players and a list that are the future not get cute as tempting as a top 10 pick is. We'd realistically have to off load players to make room for his wage after we sign up all our out of contract players. Doubt that they need to off load a top 10 pick either. They'd be better to off load him and pay half of his wage where they are at.
He can play scoobs if he comes with a top 10 pick that don’t grow on trees.

Yeah its been reported in the media that we are holding off most contract decisions until the 2nd hakf of the year so the new crew can analyse what we have and where to go which completely makes sense.

Unless things turn to s**t though I'd be surprised if we saw any wholesale changes. It's the best the list has looked since 2010.

We've got draft picks and salary cap space. I think we can trade away some less valuable players to make more room but I don't see any reason we need to trade any of our top 10 or so players at the moment.

SOS worries me a little though
But if you can’t land a player that makes us better a sideway move for Haynes for the last bit of his contract for a fantastic pick.

Theoretically is a great deal.

Comes off the books with Hill.

Ready to go with a full wallet and another couple first rounders

Gresh at his best is a point of difference he's very very good. But i suspect Gresham is not in the mind set to be getting the best out of himself. I hope that changes, but i do wonder if he's conducive to high performance environments where team performance comes first.

My god Gresh is underrated on this forum, genuinely surprised at some of these comments.
I think everyone rates Gresham pretty fairly, he is a super talented player than can be a match winner, but he still has some rough edges that he doesn't seem likely to outgrow.

A few years ago he was our best and most important player, now he's not, this is due to others improving and new talent coming through the door.

I reckon I could think of 10 players more important to us now. With a salary cap, you just can't afford to pay your 11th best player $700-800k+.

The idea of Haynes plus a top ten pick would surely be tempting. Well it is to me.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
If it was a deal similiar to the Bowes deal it would be a great get. Haynes is not in the same form he was when they played in the GF, but he is still a good player. We obviously have the cap if he wants it up front or offer him another couple of years to spread it across a longer term. Then back RTB to get him back to true form and free Wilkie up to play on the medium forwards and become an absolute intercept beast.

That would allow us to trade out our expected later 1st round pick and make a play for TDK much more realistic and palatable! Then get an elite top 10 player at the draft it would be mouth watering. Lets hope your intel comes to fruition Joffa?

I should add that GWS have a plethora of quality academy players becoming available over the next couple of years, so that would make them more interested in trading out a 1st rounder for some salary cap relief, with some later picks (points) going back. If Gubby & SOS can pull that off they should be made Saints Life Members...:)

But if you can’t land a player that makes us better a sideway move for Haynes for the last bit of his contract for a fantastic pick.

Theoretically is a great deal.

Comes off the books with Hill.

Ready to go with a full wallet and another couple first rounders
Did you quote the wrong post here?

I’ve got no issue with us taking on Haynes contract if the Giants are silly enough to give us a great pick for him

I just thinks it’s very unlikely to happen

Plus his arms are much longer than his height projects. His reach is incredible similiar to someone much taller than he is.
Happy Bugs Bunny GIF by Looney Tunes

What are we hearing about Hunter Clark? Is he enjoying life a bit more at the club these days? Any chance we re-sign him or is it to the trade table again at the end of the season?

Playing like a bloke enjoying his football.

Why is there talk of him leaving then?

Is it a salary cap issue?
More him being shopped to North and him being happy to go.
That was before Ratts sacked, Gallagher leaving, Ross, Lenny and Harvs coming on board and the team starting 5-1.
What I have heard is that RTB is keen on Clark staying.

Plus his arms are much longer than his height projects. His reach is incredible similiar to someone much taller than he is.
Yep, his big chest also forces defenders to start their reach from further back.

Don't see how anyone can watch the Carlton game and come away with the impression that Battle is big enough to be an ideal match up for Curnow. You know Battle will give it his all, but it will always be a... well a bit of a battle.

Gresh at his best is a point of difference he's very very good. But i suspect Gresham is not in the mind set to be getting the best out of himself. I hope that changes, but i do wonder if he's conducive to high performance environments where team performance comes first.

12 months ago we were lauding Gresh’s form & the word that the penny had finally dropped for him. The achilles had made him realise how important footy was to him & how he’d been less than perfect in terms of preparation.

Maybe his struggles this year have just been adjusting to a new role & vastly different game style?

I wouldn’t be surprised if Ross’ approach to Gresh is based is very much tough love… and he’s waiting to see how Gresh responds.

12 months ago we were lauding Gresh’s form & the word that the penny had finally dropped for him. The achilles had made him realise how important footy was to him & how he’d been less than perfect in terms of preparation.

Maybe his struggles this year have just been adjusting to a new role & vastly different game style?

I wouldn’t be surprised if Ross’ approach to Gresh is based is very much tough love… and he’s waiting to see how Gresh responds.

he could be one of these guys who flourishes in a poor team... but when everyone around him lifts he goes the other way

If you read this article, it sounds like he was never unhappy at the club nor did he request a trade (so I would assume he is still happy and I hope we sign him up soon):

From the article:

“Meanwhile, his name was raised as a possible trade to North Melbourne. The Roos flagged they had significant interest in Clark, which was news to the player, who had not shown an interest in moving anywhere.

While the Saints resisted initially, they were attracted late on the last day of the trade period to the possibility of packaging up Clark with pick nine to get pick three from North. This time it was the Roos who resisted.

For Clark, it was all like a conversation about him that was going on without him.

“It was a bit different, nothing I had ever experienced or really thought I would ever have to experience, but it all came around pretty quickly. I wasn’t too sure what was going to happen, but I was stoked to still be at St Kilda, really love Ross, Lenny, BJ, Harves and Corey” said Clark, who was pick seven in the 2017 draft.

“All the new coaches that have come in have given me a fresh start as well. I have loved the new change at the club.

“I got the clean start without leaving the club. I didn’t even think about needing to change club, stuff came out all of a sudden. With the new coaches I feel like I have been drafted again.”

He sounded like he was happy and blindsided by it. The club clearly saw him as an opportunity to move from pick 9 to pick 3 in the draft.

Lucky for us North weren’t having any of it. Clark has been in great form and we got Phillipou at pick 9 so our net position is likely better overall than losing Clark and picking up Wardlaw or whoever we would have taken after North took Sheezel.

If you read this article, it sounds like he was never unhappy at the club nor did he request a trade (so I would assume he is still happy and I hope we sign him up soon):

From the article:

“Meanwhile, his name was raised as a possible trade to North Melbourne. The Roos flagged they had significant interest in Clark, which was news to the player, who had not shown an interest in moving anywhere.

While the Saints resisted initially, they were attracted late on the last day of the trade period to the possibility of packaging up Clark with pick nine to get pick three from North. This time it was the Roos who resisted.

For Clark, it was all like a conversation about him that was going on without him.

“It was a bit different, nothing I had ever experienced or really thought I would ever have to experience, but it all came around pretty quickly. I wasn’t too sure what was going to happen, but I was stoked to still be at St Kilda, really love Ross, Lenny, BJ, Harves and Corey” said Clark, who was pick seven in the 2017 draft.

“All the new coaches that have come in have given me a fresh start as well. I have loved the new change at the club.

“I got the clean start without leaving the club. I didn’t even think about needing to change club, stuff came out all of a sudden. With the new coaches I feel like I have been drafted again.”

He sounded like he was happy and blindsided by it. The club clearly saw him as an opportunity to move from pick 9 to pick 3 in the draft.

Lucky for us North weren’t having any of it. Clark has been in great form and we got Phillipou at pick 9 so our net position is likely better overall than losing Clark and picking up Wardlaw or whoever we would have taken after North took Sheezel.

What a lucky miss. probably would have still taken Phillipou and given away Clark.

From the article:

Pretty clear from reading that that if Clark had any problem with the club at all, of course it wasn't with the fans, the admin, the culture or the players, purely the coaching staff and possibly the leaders.

The best thing we could have done was change the coaches at the club, before they did any more damage. I'm loving that so many oppo fans are STILL talking dirt about Ross Lyon and still cannot see the truth about him:

EVEN IF our current scoreline was 1-5 and we were in the bottom 4 on the ladder, Ross Lyon STILL would not just be the BEST choice as senior coach in 2023. He would in fact be the ONLY decent choice.

He has given our club the benefit of his coaching wisdom and the authority to put players in the right headspace, without compromising fitness, selection integrity, development, or tactics. He is the real thing, we should never have lost him in the first place, but he's somehow come back a whole lot better; he's more relaxed, humble, he delegates, he nurtures his coaching team and youth players, he's more holistic but no less driven.

If we hadn't got him, and Clarkson was off the table, we'd be faced with the situation Suns and Blues are now looking at; maaaaybe Buckley or Roos, somehow dragging Matthews out of retirement a la Blighty in 2000, or taking a chance on another assistant after 3 failed attempts. Ross Lyon was headhunted by Essendon and Carlton and they both went in half-arsed and luckily Ross wasn't even that interested. Maybe in the back of his mind, he'd watched Richo and Ratten fumble around and thought to himself about the possibility of redemption with the Saints. Somehow it came off.

So if we'd lost every game of the season so far, what would really be different? There might be less confidence from the players, but ultimately the beauty of Ross's approach takes the focus off results anyway - he'd have the confidence to assure the players to believe in the process, with his assistants they would be fiercely scrutinising the game plan to see where the faults lay and tweaking where necessary. I'm certain the wins would have come eventually.

So many of us on this board said before the season started we weren't concerned about results this year. All the bottom four predictions didn't worry us, we knew that Ross and Geoff Walsh were being brought in to stop the rot and change the culture at the top. We may still miss finals if this year continues the same way that last year did (of course it won't with a real senior coach in charge, but hypothetically), but the mission that Lyon, Enright, Harvey, Hayes, Misson, Batchelor, Carroll, Goddard, Silvani and Allen continue on won't change. To build sustainably for the next decade and beyond. To change the narrative around the club.

Hunter Clark can see it. All the players can see it. Most Saints fans can see it. Soon the AFL world will see it, but probably after it's too late to stop it.

ALL IN.

I think everyone rates Gresham pretty fairly, he is a super talented player than can be a match winner, but he still has some rough edges that he doesn't seem likely to outgrow.

A few years ago he was our best and most important player, now he's not, this is due to others improving and new talent coming through the door.

I reckon I could think of 10 players more important to us now. With a salary cap, you just can't afford to pay your 11th best player $700-800k+.
The last couple of weeks Gresh has turned into the board whipping boy, some of the criticism has been unfair IMO.

His performance against Collingwood was horrible but his start to the season has been solid considering he is playing a new role + coming off 3 injury interrupted years. Even including that Collingwood game he’s averaging 17 touches and goal playing predominantly forward.

As you said, despite his shortcomings he is a match winner and I’d much rather keep a player of difference like Gresh around. Especially if his value is a second rounder like a few on here have suggested here.

I do agree though, he is not worth 700-800k on current output but I could see him taking a reduced deal like JB and Seb a few years back. Ideally, he starts hitting form and kicks 35+ this year and demands quality $$