Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

Just came across this photo from the Renault announcement at the MCG in early 2013.

View attachment 1705953

View attachment 1705954

Look at old mate in the middle and his expression. Did he know before any of us? Was he the OG Sack Hinkley/Koch guy?
I remember Koch turning to Boak in the presser and saying something along the lines of: "Whaddya reckon of holding the premiership cup here in three years time?"

Start of season prediction threads are a vast spectrum, but picks on which the majority agree are usually based on prior performance and trends.

2022 was a disaster and generally speaking, even the staunchest Hinkleyphiles were conceding he was a lame duck. Plenty of agnostics and positive types also picking Port to finish 10-14 in that thread.

Hell, even The Oracle doesn’t have them in his top six, but adds a typical caveat covering all bases so he can’t be wrong.

On the flipside, despite having zero faith in Hinkley since the 2017 season began unfolding, I still predicted Port to finish second at the end of the 2021 minor round and win the flag. How’d that go? It’s a prediction thread.
I had them playing finals and honestly thought in the 6-8 range as I had said before in another thread.
It’s not uncommon for a team out of the 8 in the previous year to make the top 4 next year.
Our list has improved dramatically since last year and we now have what I believe is the close to the best midfield in the comp.
Even with that they are doing better than anyone would thought including myself🤫
I don’t buy into the Carr is coaching BS and believe the players have stepped up since Warren had his say.
I understand past disappointments will always be brought up until we win a flag.
There was nobody more disappointed than me after 2021,the big difference between me and others is that I see this group playing good enough to be a chance this year.
If your going to whine about the past forever what’s the point of even supporting the club.
How would you go being St Kilda supporter going 57 years with zero to show.
I reckon you would have given up and changed teams long ago 🤪

I honestly admire the few genuinely optimistic posters. I use the word genuinely to exclude the trolls, friends/family and sub 80 IQ types. It would actually be a really nice headspace to live in for life not just footy to have such unwavering belief and hope in the face of all evidence suggesting otherwise.

There’s a lot of opposition fans too that think we’re absolutely setting the world on fire this year, and that Port fans are so ridiculous for wanting the coach gone despite our form and ladder position.

I saw a “Port will finish top 2 and then get 2 home finals. Hard to see them not making the grand final” doing the rounds earlier.

Our list has improved dramatically since last year and we now have what I believe is the close to the best midfield in the comp.

I said this during the Sydney game:

1B82EF5F-90E9-4F4D-B101-1EB0E28FB28D.jpeg

Talent has never been the problem.

How would you go being St Kilda supporter going 57 years with zero to show.

Why are you comparing Port Adelaide to the least successful side in the league? You’re not making the point you think you are.

What shits me is that if Brisbane bomb out in a prelim there will be a massive amount of media around Fagan being a good coach who just can't take them the next step.
But that never applies to Ken. its just weird.

To give credit where it's due, this team has one thing that Port teams of recent years lacked - they don't know how to give up. But how far can courage and determination take you? We're about to find out.

This side has more than just courage and determination. They're not a team of Tom Logans.

There is genuinely elite football skill in the midfield with Butters, Rozee, JHF (I don't know how to order them any more), Wines (the Brownlow Medallist) and Boak (the Port games record holder).

The backline has elite kicks in it who distribute from defence, Houston, Farrell, Williams, McKenzie, Burton.

The forward line has talented talls who are working together better than ever (I hate to say this but without Georgiades trying to stand on everyone's heads), pressure smalls (DBJ and McEntee) and one freaky talented goal poacher in Rioli.

Yes there are a couple of gaps, but no team is perfect. If Lycett stays fit he is a solid enough ruckman who also plays a role in supporting the midfield to clear the path for the gun centre square players. A tall defender, young ruck (I like Visentini) and another speedy goal poacher would top the list balance off.

A lot of this is due to smart recruiting, but we have adapted a game style to the list and it can be great football to watch. We took a fast developing Hawthorn team to the cleaners in the first half on the weekend, that was as good a brand of football as I've seen since the 2014 Richmond final.

Where will it all end, who knows?

I wouldn't be surprised if Koch tries to come up with some structure that gets Carr into the head coaching role and moves Hinkley into admin as some sort of director of coaching.

This side has more than just courage and determination. They're not a team of Tom Logans.

There is genuinely elite football skill in the midfield with Butters, Rozee, JHF (I don't know how to order them any more), Wines (the Brownlow Medallist) and Boak (the Port games record holder).

The backline has elite kicks in it who distribute from defence, Houston, Farrell, Williams, McKenzie, Burton.

The forward line has talented talls who are working together better than ever (I hate to say this but without Georgiades trying to stand on everyone's heads), pressure smalls (DBJ and McEntee) and one freaky talented goal poacher in Rioli.

Yes there are a couple of gaps, but no team is perfect. If Lycett stays fit he is a solid enough ruckman who also plays a role in supporting the midfield to clear the path for the gun centre square players. A tall defender, young ruck (I like Visentini) and another speedy goal poacher would top the list balance off.

A lot of this is due to smart recruiting, but we have adapted a game style to the list and it can be great football to watch. We took a fast developing Hawthorn team to the cleaners in the first half on the weekend, that was as good a brand of football as I've seen since the 2014 Richmond final.

I wouldn't be surprised if Koch tries to come up with some structure that gets Carr into the head coaching role and moves Hinkley into admin as some sort of director of coaching.
Agree with all of that ... nearly.

Surely Donuts wouldn't be satisfied with a move like that.

My big worry is goal kicking. Yes we're winning, which masks the inadequacies in front of goal somewhat, but eventually poor goal kicking catches up with you, and you're left lamenting one that got away. I just hope it doesn't happen in a knock out final.

I was going to start a new thread on this because I thought it should be highlighted but it has popped up here.
As FF has said, we have some super good kicks in backline but we have sweet boots all around the ground.
Our kicking skills really showed out on the weekend in the first half with sublime pieces of play that should've been put on Voyager 1.
Luke Hodge mentioned how good our kicking was and he was the captain of a team known for foot skills and lefties.

How many sweet boots do we have, field kicking edition?
Yeah, I know you'll disagree with the list. Go for it.

Rozee
Butters
Horne-Francis
Bonner

Finlayson
Marshall
Rioli

Houston
Farrell
Williams
McKenzie
Burton

We have a lot of very tidy kicks as well.
The young guys also are looking the goods as well.

I was going to start a new thread on this because I thought it should be highlighted but it has popped up here.
As FF has said, we have some super good kicks in backline but we have sweet boots all around the ground.
Our kicking skills really showed out on the weekend in the first half with sublime pieces of play that should've been put on Voyager 1.
Luke Hodge mentioned how good our kicking was and he was the captain of a team known for foot skills and lefties.

How many sweet boots do we have, field kicking edition?
Yeah, I know you'll disagree with the list. Go for it.

Rozee
Butters
Horne-Francis
Bonner

Finlayson
Marshall
Rioli

Houston
Farrell
Williams
McKenzie
Burton

We have a lot of very tidy kicks as well.
The young guys also are looking the goods as well.
It’s actually crazy that out of our potential starting 6 defenders, only Aliir isn’t an elite kick.

Our team is playing very good football at the moment but we still have a good way to go as we have a lot of improvement left in the side.

We have a few holes, young guys in the AFL team improving every week and young guys in the SANFL with real talent waiting for a chance.

It is a super exciting time to be a Port fan a part from one or two things off the ground.

It’s actually crazy that out of our potential starting 6 defenders, only Aliir isn’t an elite kick.

And he's still serviceable and tidy kick who knows his limitations.

Williams has really rounded out the backline as a sublimely skilled and composed group. We will struggle if a side with quality talls is getting a lot of ball in there, but talent certainly isn't the issue overall. Every side has weaknesses.

Pretty sure we all know now unless there is a dramatic turnaround in form, they'll be announcing a 2- 3 year extension in the first week of August.

Whilst i think that the move of Hinkley to the bench has given more strategic responsibilities to the assistants and has allowed Ken to coach to his strengths on the bench, I've never thought that Josh Carr was handed the keys in round 3. It was a nice thought, but unrealistic. He may be seen as ken's long term successor, and this could be potentially worked into Kenny's next deal but I don't think a transition has already taken place and that Josh Carr will be coaching this team next year.

Nor do i think a secret deal has been struck with Hardwick, just like no deal with Clarko had been done last year because he had bought a house in Henley Beach, etc.

Whilst I've been very frustrated with Kenny for a long time with last year and 2016 being the 2 years i wanted him 100% sacked no questions asked, i feel like the changes they've made moving him to the bench is working very well and this is definitely the most exciting brand of footy we've played since 2014. We were good in 2020 and 2021 too but I'm enjoying the brand of footy we are playing more this year. I'm happy to give credit where it's due. Whilst i would've waited until post finals to make a call on Ken's future, they've mentioned August now and i think they will make a call before finals I'm afraid. But how we go in finals is the test we are all waiting to see if Kenny can finally pass, another top 2 home and away finish and no GF to show for it will be extremely tough to swallow if we've already given Ken a long term extension.

But right now how can you not be excited with the emergence of our young midfield, the courage of Jeremy Finlayson to play so well with what he has going on in his life, SPP doing SPP things, Houston in AA form, and now we've got Hot Toddy back and he looked brilliant on the weekend. There is plenty to like, i haven't been this excited in a long time so I'm finding some of the calls on here from some posters that they aren't invested in this season crazy.

And this season is not exactly a bolt from the blue either, people forget we were 1st and 2nd in the home away season 2020 and 2021 with a howler 2022 in between (which has has happened to plenty of teams in the past).

I think I just share the same mentality as a lot of people in that, yes, I hope I'm wrong about Hinkley, however I truly struggle to believe that we're set up for success just yet. Basically from this point, a GF is the only pass mark. Whilst there is a lot to like about our team, we're basically now in a state of flux until we see how the finals plays out.

Even then, even if we lose another prelim, he'll probably get an extension. And then the same problem that has cast itself over our club will remain. A coach that can't get us to the big dance and certainly can't win the whole thing. It's a pretty depressing and shit place to be. The other problem is that he's also demonstrated year after year, that we aren't the club that could use a good year to launch at the 2024 flag, we're just as likely to bomb in 2024 and miss finals as we are to win the damn thing. It's that yo-yo effect, the lack of trust and belief in Hinkley that has bred upon years of recurrent themes and ultimate failures, that will never disappear fully until he's gone or we win the flag.

This year has such 2014 feels. Hopefully we are good enough to prevent a slide, but there's a huge opportunity on the cards for us, we've just got to be good enough to take it. I think we're also very lucky that there is a side above us taking a lot of the attention and probably even likelier to suffer a fall.

As much as Bassett gets belted around here, I did like that he owned the last quarter fade out especially and gave some reasoning behind it. Better than the head in the sand approach after that prelim final.

Bassett on reviewing Saturday’s fourth quarter
“We certainly will look at it. We're always looking at how we're playing and how we can get better, it's a little bit too around our conditioning over the next period of time and how much hard work the players have done over the first three quarters. Where there are some people that are pushing their load limits at the moment, we may need to pull a few back for a week or two at training so they're ready to go on weekends.”

Bassett: There’s a lot to like about how we're playing

My big worry is goal kicking. Yes we're winning, which masks the inadequacies in front of goal somewhat, but eventually poor goal kicking catches up with you, and you're left lamenting one that got away. I just hope it doesn't happen in a knock out final.

2014_AFL_finals_series_-_Wikipedia.png

2017_AFL_finals_series_-_Wikipedia.png

2021_AFL_finals_series_-_Wikipedia.png

ouch-sheesh.gif

I'm getting really sick of this 'Kenny has never coached better' line. I've now heard four different footy media personalities trot it out. Do they have such a limited vocabulary that they can only repeat one another's inane thoughts? It's like some language deficit they all share.

The weaker points, 1:1 defence, paper thin ruck situation, set shot goal kicking, and the... unreliability in their own ways of the two 'goal poachers'. The current strong points compensate for most of that, most of the time. That kicking out of defence... we get out of our d50 far less painfully than in previous years... oddly we don't tend to score much from those sorts of 'chains'. It's all midfield grunt and either class or chaos ball into a balanced bunch of forwards.

As for the bit in bold... let that be Kochie's parting gift ;)