Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX

PS you have to give kudos to JLo and co when its due, they have clearly backed this kid in to take the game on despite some never-to-be-again mentioned mares of the past.
Was going to say the same thing. Lesson to be learned for all those that were screaming about him for his first 50 games. You cant teach speed, decision making can improve with time and sometimes you just need to let players learn at the level what they can and cant get away with. Same with Johnson

Yep, Walker is now clearly and undisputably a best 22 player for us and becoming almost indispensable. True express pace, like that of Brandon, Clark and Freddy is just footy gold and you just have to persevere with those types.

He is the one who can best close down space on those pacy attacking small forwards and shows an uncanny knack of ignoring his past indiscretions and just going on the attack again and again. Whilst you used to be able to count on him for some colossal mistake at least once per quarter he is going whole matches now with barely a mistake. His kicking I would almost say is now good to very good. As for AA, maybe not yet but its not impossible within say 3 years.

Lock him in: Premiership player.

PS you have to give kudos to JLo and co when its due, they have clearly backed this kid in to take the game on despite some never-to-be-again mentioned mares of the past.
I just found it funny when most on the freo board bagged Brandon walker for having 2 poor games in our 2022 finals series. A bit harsh at the time.

a fair bit of dockers fans bagged out his performances last season too.

Yep, Walker is now clearly and undisputably a best 22 player for us and becoming almost indispensable. True express pace, like that of Brandon, Clark and Freddy is just footy gold and you just have to persevere with those types.

He is the one who can best close down space on those pacy attacking small forwards and shows an uncanny knack of ignoring his past indiscretions and just going on the attack again and again. Whilst you used to be able to count on him for some colossal mistake at least once per quarter he is going whole matches now with barely a mistake. His kicking I would almost say is now good to very good. As for AA, maybe not yet but its not impossible within say 3 years.

Lock him in: Premiership player.

The key to Brandon is that he is now fit again.

Some of his moves were breathtaking and he just sliced through the Eagles.

As you say he has now limited his mistakes but when he does make an error he just moves on to the next contest.

The whole team now seem to be moving the ball at pace and with quick decision making and confidence.

The turning point was that last 10 minutes against Collingwood where it all seemed to click with fast handball chains.

They move in waves and there always seems to be options on both sides of the contest.

It can be dangerous when there are turnovers but we seem to be limiting the skill errors now as well.

It is a good style to watch and hopefully one that stands up in finals.

Your thinking of hamburger Hill. Where pineapple actually belongs
adam sandler youre gonna die clown GIF

Gobsmacked at these posts saying it wasn't a great performance. Like seriously GAGF. Expecting your team to just walk over other teams every week and anything less is unacceptable is just a shit opinion. Eagles came for a fight and they got it. Both teams played at finals intensity for 2.5 quarters, one team kept it up for an extra quarter, which was the difference in the end.
All AFL teams are capable of top level footy for a short while, what separates the teams isn't their best football but how long they can sustain it for.

We got the job done. Another tick in W column and we never know how the rest is going to unfold in front of us.

We don't want perfection right now, we want it in a months time. Just look at Sydney right now, the premiership isn't won in July. We're tracking quite nicely in the lead up to finals, showing improvement each week.

Couldn't agree more - the proof is in the pudding too, there's been numerous examples of Top 8 teams dropping sitters on their home deck in the last month, or just losing games they're expected to win.

Not that we haven't done that too, but we were prime for the plucking on the weekend and we overturned that narrative.

Couldn't agree more - the proof is in the pudding too, there's been numerous examples of Top 8 teams dropping sitters on their home deck in the last month, or just losing games they're expected to win.

Not that we haven't done that too, but we were prime for the plucking on the weekend and we overturned that narrative.
Since the Bye we have only lost to the Dogs at Marvel and Hawks in Tassie.

The Dogs game was disappointing more so the % hit which could be difference between 2nd or 3rd with Brissy.

But the Hawks there wasn't much in it there the form team of the comp and really we kick a bit straighter we probably win.

We wont be playing them at Launceston in September either so for me its not real concern.

Take care of our remaining games we should be sweet.

Since the Bye we have only lost to the Dogs at Marvel and Hawks in Tassie.

The Dogs game was disappointing more so the % hit which could be difference between 2nd or 3rd with Brissy.

But the Hawks there wasn't much in it there the form team of the comp and really we kick a bit straighter we probably win.

We wont be playing them at Launceston in September either so for me its not real concern.

Take care of our remaining games we should be sweet.

We played Hawks without Sean Darcy and Alex Pearce. Lost by 2 goals.

He’s just a precocious teenager, albeit a very talented one. The personal attacks on him here are puerile.
Agreed. I'd have him on our list. In 2 years a midfield of Reid, Serong, Brayshaw, Young would be unstoppable. He's a kid, acting like a kid, with massive expectations on him built up by the media and a throng of supporters clinging to hopium, and not much support around him

Remember back when Fyfe sledged Kane Cornes into retirement? :p

He’s just a precocious teenager, albeit a very talented one. The personal attacks on him here are puerile.
It was odd. We were at the game and my wife kept asking why he was being booed.

I had no answer

Maybe because of his antics in the last derby? Usually supporters have a long memory..

Not myself, but that's a reason
Did he break someone’s jaw?

Mrs D during the game. (doesn't follow all the minutiae)

"Geez. don't know what it is about that player, just don't like him."

"Number 9?"

"Yep"

"he's very much an eagles player, huh?"

"Yeah, that's what it is.

"Punchable head"

"Yep"

Did he break someone’s jaw?
I mean, west coast boo freddy because he did a flip once.

and boo brayshaw, because he was assaulted.

We can boo Reid just because. (but still think silence and polite claps would be better).

Really? In the first quarter alone, Reid gave Fyfe a back elbow in one contest and followed it up in the next contest by dropping two fists into Fyfe's guts when he was on the deck.

He's pretty grubby, which is cool, a lot of highly competitive inside players are, but he backs this up by spending an awful lot of time with his wings out appealing to the umps when things don't go his way.

And when he has milked the whole dairy farm trying to get a free after Brayshaw dropped him on his whiney arse, pointing to his head and carrying on like he hasn't forged a career out of late hits and behind play bumps, I think anyone even remotely interested in the Fremantle Football Club would identify this character as antithetical to our fortunes.

Mate, he wanted to fight Luke Jackson. That's bloke who killed Bambi levels of anti-good blokeness.

Really? In the first quarter alone, Reid gave Fyfe a back elbow in one contest and followed it up in the next contest by dropping two fists into Fyfe's guts when he was on the deck.

He's pretty grubby, which is cool, a lot of highly competitive inside players are, but he backs this up by spending an awful lot of time with his wings out appealing to the umps when things don't go his way.

And when he has milked the whole dairy farm trying to get a free after Brayshaw dropped him on his whiney arse, pointing to his head and carrying on like he hasn't forged a career out of late hits and behind play bumps, I think anyone even remotely interested in the Fremantle Football Club would identify this character as antithetical to our fortunes.

Mate, he wanted to fight Luke Jackson. That's bloke who killed Bambi levels of anti-good blokeness.
That Brayshaw one was hilarious, gets a shoulder tap and dives like he's on the 10m platform in France.

Are you on twitter? Apparently Brayshaw should have been cited for the dog act. 🙄
Yeah, found that hilarious.

Harley should have been fined for staging if anything.

Also find it a bit naff that Treacy got fined for that melee, when he was pinned to the ground by two blokes. :rolleyes:

Yeah, found that hilarious.

Harley should have been fined for staging if anything.

Also find it a bit naff that Treacy got fined for that melee, when he was pinned to the ground by two blokes. :rolleyes:
He reverse throat punched one of them to the elbow.
Josh is lucky not to get 6 weeks 😂

Still a boy.... yes he is, but.....I don't remember another 19 year old number one pick ever acting so arrogantlly.
Compare the pair at 19 Reid and Treacy.
We can blame the media but I believe the club made the mistake of allowing the Dirty Rag to salivate over him. But I believe the club were more than happy to let it run rampant.

Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX