List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Trade FA Megathread

EMERGING stars Dayne Beams, Rory Sloane, Steven Motlop, Luke Shuey, Stephen Hill and Daniel Rich could all become free agents at the end of next season if an AFL Players' Association push to reduce the minimum qualification period is successful.

Free agency was introduced ahead of the 2012 season as part of the 2012-16 collective bargaining agreement, with eligibility set at a minimum eight years' service.

If the AFL agreed to this in time for next season, this would free 2008 draftees such as Beams, Sloane, Motlop, Shuey, Hill and Rich to explore free agency, with all set to come out of contract at the end of 2015.

Zac Clarke, Luke Breust, Liam Shiels, Jackson Trengove, Jordan Roughead, Rhys Stanley, Lachlan Keeffe, Ayce Cordy and Sam Wright are in all the same boat.

However, other high-profile members of the 2008 draft class Jack Watts, Hamish Hartlett, Michael Hurley and Jack Ziebell will not be up for grabs as they are all contracted beyond 2015.

Given next year's free agency pool is already set to include Patrick Dangerfield, Trent Cotchin, Ryan Griffen, Taylor Walker, Matthew Kreuzer, Tom Hawkins, Grant Birchall, Andrew Swallow and Jack Steven, 2015 could boast far and away the most enticing list of free agents yet.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-02-22/aflpas-free-agency-push

I'm not sure that its "set to include". Whether you are a trade unionist or not, just because they want something doesn't mean they'll get it, or that it is good for their industry.

Certainly I think it would be the wrong time for StKilda to throw money at such players. We still wont know what our young players will end up being.

Question with free agency is how early do you get in a player's ear? Clubs keep extending deals a year or two out to avoid free agency, wooing a player is a long and disruptive process

No point if you don't know what holes your team will have when they are needed. Was Judd worth it for Carlton?

Not a bad list of FA's coming up in the next couple of years, Saints could really set them selfs up for that assault on the flag in 2018 lets hope the club shows some real stability and promise over the next two seasons and make the club an attractive option for these blokes.

Theres a few handy young blokes coming out of contract this season that i'll be keeping my eye on.
Zaharakis (Ess)
Jaksch (GWS)
O'Rourke (GWS)
Plowman (GWS)
Cunningham (Syd)
Swallow (GC)
There are a few more but I've gone blank.

Saints went hard for out of contract KPD's last year and i think mids and a KF would be top of the list at seasons end. The draft is supposed to have a few quality KF's early on so young out of contract mids should be high on the wish list you'd think

No point if you don't know what holes your team will have when they are needed. Was Judd worth it for Carlton?
Considering the state of their forward line over the past six or so years, you can make a strong case for no

Definitely not. Reckon they could've used Kennedy, pick 3 and pick 20 much more. Bit different these days though because with free agency you wouldn't have to give up anything close to that anymore.

Not a bad list of FA's coming up in the next couple of years, Saints could really set them selfs up for that assault on the flag in 2018 lets hope the club shows some real stability and promise over the next two seasons and make the club an attractive option for these blokes.

Theres a few handy young blokes coming out of contract this season that i'll be keeping my eye on.
Zaharakis (Ess)
Jaksch (GWS)
O'Rourke (GWS)
Plowman (GWS)
Cunningham (Syd)
Swallow (GC)

Saints went hard for out of contract KPD's last year and i think mids and a KF would be top of the list at seasons end. The draft is supposed to have a few quality KF's early on so young out of contract mids should be high on the wish list you'd think
all we can hope for is gws and gold coast to keep missing the 8 and we can start plucking from the homesick fruit.

I'm sure there will be plenty of 6 or 7th best midfielders who feel they could get more of a go elsewhere too. GCS have Martin coming in this year who is already talked of as a brownlow winner and Omeara from last year on top of ablett and co. They have to keep turning over players and guys a step down or a bit slow are going to have to be jettisoned.

Definitely not. Reckon they could've used Kennedy, pick 3 and pick 20 much more. Bit different these days though because with free agency you wouldn't have to give up anything close to that anymore.

These days you need to commit a huge chunk of your salary cap for many years ( See the Franklin deal ).

How good does James Aish look? Only NAB but he looks like he's made for AFL footy. He reminds me of Darren Jarman.

Zaharakis (Ess)
Jaksch (GWS)
O'Rourke (GWS)
Plowman (GWS)
Cunningham (Syd)
Swallow (GC)

Zaharakis will never leave Essendon.

His whole family are rooted in that clubs support base and he will probably be their next captain. Very much at the front of the line to drink Hirdy's kool aid.

Was surprised to find out he didn't take part in the Dank saga but again, from what I understand, that was a family decision as he has been seeing the same doctor his whole life.

With the mids we have I wouldn't worry about Swallow or ORourke either.

Jacksh and Plowman though... They are two I would be right into.

His whole family are rooted in that clubs support base and he will probably be their next captain. Very much at the front of the line to drink Hirdy's kool aid.

Was surprised to find out he didn't take part in the Dank saga but again, from what I understand, that was a family decision as he has been seeing the same doctor his whole life.

pick the apple that falls from the tree. you know what happened to adam.

It's going to be hard/impossible to pry Zaharakis and Swallow away from their clubs when they are on the cusp of playing finals but you have to have a crack. Fyfe and Wines are out of contract also and are in the same boat as these 2.

One of Jacksh or Plowman would set the Saints back line up for 10 year with Bruce, Delaney, Roberton, Webster, Wright etc. As for O'Rourke you can never have enough mids, especially a 188cm top 2 draft pick.

It's going to be hard/impossible to pry Zaharakis and Swallow away from their clubs when they are on the cusp of playing finals but you have to have a crack. Fyfe and Wines are out of contract also and are in the same boat as these 2.

One of Jacksh or Plowman would set the Saints back line up for 10 year with Bruce, Delaney, Roberton, Webster, Wright etc. As for O'Rourke you can never have enough mids, especially a 188cm top 2 draft pick.
Jaksche can play forward if needed so would be handy and Plowman possibly even as a big mid. Both would be nice. I would love to chase a big FF like Patton when he come out of contract too. We probably need to think about getting someone for Lee to have along side if Spencer doesn't come on. Even a Liam Jones or some one not yet there but with a bit of potential.

I'm sure there will be plenty of 6 or 7th best midfielders who feel they could get more of a go elsewhere too. GCS have Martin coming in this year who is already talked of as a brownlow winner and Omeara from last year on top of ablett and co. They have to keep turning over players and guys a step down or a bit slow are going to have to be jettisoned.
Isn't that essentially how we got Mav? Given their glut of stellar midfielders, they had to throw him away. If he turns out to be a good 4th inside mid or something, we've won there.

It's a little humiliating to be the "rebound guy"... until it works out.

Is it just me or is Jackson Trengove a little hard-done-by in that article? I'd have put him in the upper tier.

I would say that at end of this season we will be taking a KP player. Of the 4-5 who looked likely a few months ago however, most seem to be developing an injury or concerns.
If we end up with someone who is highly likely to be a defender, then I think we give them 2015 to settle and we don't extend Delaney at end 2015 (unless he's playing outstanding!) and instead run with Bruce and the new guy in 2016.
If however we take a KP in 2014 draft who is more of a ruck or forward, I would be very keen on us shelling out on Trengove. He wouldn't be the most expensive FA, and that would be CHB nailed down for 4 years during our intended Prem window.

I think we'll keep drafting Mids. The club's press release saying trades/FA weren't in the plans until later suggests to me they'd only look for the final pieces via that means, and I think that if we fill the roster with young mids now, our gaps in 2016-> will be additional KP players. I think we need to look at who would be available in 2016 to see who that might be (difficult right now, but by late season this year we might have an indication).

I think the article is slightly milking it.
Jaksch strikes ne as being flexible enough to play more than one role, and also I'd be surprised if McCarthy was ahead of him already. Surely GWS need to stop throwing everyone to the lions and let some folk develop at a regular pace for once!

I think the article is slightly milking it.
Jaksch strikes ne as being flexible enough to play more than one role, and also I'd be surprised if McCarthy was ahead of him already. Surely GWS need to stop throwing everyone to the lions and let some folk develop at a regular pace for once!

Unfortunately it seems that sometimes too much competition can stifle a player. A slower developing player getting pushed out by a faster one is simply not going to get the games to develop properly. You need to strike the balance of competition with actually playing the kids so they CAN get better.

One of the reasons why Savage is going to be a great player for us.

Greater Western Sydney’s No.12 draft pick Kristian Jaksch is certain to play a central role in trade talks amid speculation the 196cm swingman he wants out.

The 196cm swingman is behind Tom Boyd, Jeremy Cameron, Jon Patton, Adam Tomlinson, Phil Davis and recent draftee Cameron McCarthy, and could find his way to Victoria.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/tig...rss&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed
SOS has gone for an excess of tall player especially back man early and forwards recently. He has a similar approach to Pelican in that he gets several of the same type and grabs the gun and ditches the rest. There should be a flood of good KPPs coming back soon.