List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Trade FA Megathread

If we did get Shiel in an exchange for pick 1, might we then try to trade Armo to Melbourne in some sort of package for say pick 3, due to the fact Shiel and Armo are pretty similar, as are Ross and Dunstan (maybe even Murdoch)? Not sure we'd want all 4 of them in the same midfield.

I was thinking the same but I think Melb will work out another deal with GWS.

Put it away Unc!
It's alright. I'm done.

article-2037811-0DE894A300000578-627_468x403.jpg

Say 1 and 22 for Shiel and 4 and then trade 4 and Armo to Melbourne for 2 and 23? Then we essentially walk away with Shiel and Paddy Mac for 1 and Armo and Melbourne get the big strong body for their midfield and GWS get Petracca and have 3 picks around that 20-24 range, that they can package up to another club, to move higher up the order.

I would be very surprised if Melb were offering anything but a straight swap of 2 for Shiel. I guess it depends on how GWS rate Brayshaw vs Petracca.

Bit of a convoluted trade but the concept of

1 & 21 going to GWS for Shiel & 4
Armitage + "something" going to Melbourne for 3

Would give GWS their replacement
Gives Melbourne Brayshaw and Armo
Gives us Shield and McCartin

Certainly a win for us, perhaps Melbourne are the ones least likely to be involved?

Brisbane won't be interested in Armitage now they have beames & I think we're massively over-rating him... No chance he's worth pick 2, be lucky to get anything inside the top 10.

We've got to be careful not to overrate Shiel & pay more than we need to. Theres a chance with his well developed body he doesn't improve a whole lot more. He would still be a very solid player for us but Petracca could be anything with his better marking, speed & agility. 1 & 21 for 3, 40 & Shiel would be the most I would pay.

Sewell bit better than Jones but I see where everyone is coming from. Think we would be stupid to get rid of Armitage, even stupider to replace him with kids without an experienced player coming in.

Brisbane won't be interested in Armitage now they have beames & I think we're massively over-rating him... No chance he's worth pick 2, be lucky to get anything inside the top 10.
Who suggested that Armo was worth pick 2!? He was only suggested in packages for a pick like 2. Mine was Armo AND pick 4 for pick 2 and 23. So essentially I was suggesting he was worth pick 23 and a two pick upgrade from 4 to 2.

Given the trade Melbourne did last year that was similar I don't see why they would have too much issue with that, if at all. They could come out of it with Armitage, Brayshaw and Wright/Lever/Durdin (or even downgrade that pick 4 for another package) and I reckon Roos would be over the moon!

He did indeed, we have the cap space.

"If there's players coming out of contract over the next couple of years, we'll be in that," Finnis told SEN radio on Saturday.

"We'll be after those players. We'll be wanting to bring (those) people into our club.

"We'll have the room in our salary cap to do that."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-06-28/saints-to-go-raiding

Our CEO has already said we will pay overs to get talent into the club. The dollars would have been on the table a long time ago.

Whats happened with Danger and Beams is an example of how the process unfolds generally, when you're detatching an under-contract player from his club (note especially Dangers' and Riccutio's public statements).

In the case of GWS, Giles, Frost and Jaksch are recent examples how it unfolds, which is 'I'd like out' and the club going 'Yeah, ok, we'll try and find you somewhere'.

If Shiel wanted out, then we'd be cool with that, and we'd be having a merry little auction with three quarters of the league.

TLDR : I want to see public signals with dollars attached, from all the usual flogs that footy clubs leak news to.