List Mgmt. 2016 Trade and Free Agency Targets Part 1

Who do you hope we target?

• Daniel Rich - Brisbane Lions (Free Agent)

Votes: 21 7.5%
  • Jaeger O'Meara - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 112 40.1%
  • Dion Prestia - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 53 19.0%
  • Tom Lynch - Gold Coast Suns(Trade)

Votes: 24 8.6%
  • Ollie Wines - Port (Trade)

Votes: 55 19.7%
  • Other

Votes: 65 23.3%
  • Peter Wright - Gold Coast Suns (Trade)

Votes: 23 8.2%
  • Tom Rockliff

Votes: 15 5.4%

I think Hurley has always wanted to play up forward too. Could be a way to entice him to the Saints like Richo telling Carlisle he will play him in defence. The only thing is the prospect of having to deal with Dildoro again!!!! Or is Hurley going to be a free agent?

So we had Carlisle who was good up forward sooking because he wanted to play back, and had Hurley who was good in the backline sooking becauese he wanted to play forward. I don't care if Steven Milne wanted to play in the ruck, you suck it up and play where the coach tells you.

Milney would of made a great ruckman

I think Hurley has always wanted to play up forward too. Could be a way to entice him to the Saints like Richo telling Carlisle he will play him in defence. The only thing is the prospect of having to deal with Dildoro again!!!! Or is Hurley going to be a free agent?

With a contract cancellation reckon he would be an FA so no Dildoro nonsense.

Hurley is a 1000x better defender then a forward. Sure he can swing but his best footy is in defense.

More than capable forward but the flexibility he provides is the key.
Opens up a whole range of options.
May get to see players like Coughlan and/or Goddard forward.

I've said it before, but a future (ie post-Dempster, Gilbert and Chips) backline of;

FB: Webster - Goddard - Hurley
HB: Roberton - Carlisle - Savage

With; KPD: Lee, Coughlan, Payne; and
Mediums: Acres, McKenzie, White
Smalls: Newnes, Rice, Wright

All in support or capable of rotating through the midfield, is intense!

EDIT: Geary is a bugbear for me, hence his omission. Love his endeavour and leadership... Hate him with ball in hand; and unlike Wrighty, he's not young.

As an example of the above, let's put it up against the last premiership forward line;

FF: Puopolo - Roughead - Breust

HF: Smith - Schoenmakers - Rioli

Now the above backline looks a bit tall, but Goddard lines up on the resting ruck, so you'd go with;

FB: Rice - Hurley - Webster
FF: Puopolo - Roughead - Breust

Rice has the bulk to deal with the strong Puopolo and Webster locks down onto Breust or Rioli, with Savage making them hurt the other way.

When Gunston comes on, Robbo reverts to a more defensive role, so;

FB: Roberton - Hurley - Webster
FF: Gunston - Roughead - Breust

HB: Newnes - Carlisle - Savage

And when McEvoy or whichever resting ruck goes forward and Roughead moves upfield;

FB: Goddard - Hurley - Webster
FF: McEvoy - Gunston - Breust

HF: Smith - Roughead - Rioli

The flexibility is tremendous...:D

Let's hope they all come on (or over)!

Yep Plus 1 on this .I have always thought Bruce best role was as a 3rd tall forward .

I've said it before, but a future (ie post-Dempster, Gilbert and Chips) backline of;

With; KPD: Lee, Coughlan, Payne; and
Mediums: Acres, McKenzie, White
Smalls: Newnes, Rice, Wright

All in support or capable of rotating through the midfield, is intense!

EDIT: Geary is a bugbear for me, hence his omission. Love his endeavour and leadership... Hate him with ball in hand; and unlike Wrighty, he's not young.

And also unlike Wright he is a good player. Wright's best year was his first and its been all downhill since.

Thanks for dealing with the substantive post... :rolleyes:

The idea behind the posts is a backline for 2018 onwards; Geary by that stage will be 30 and - whether you like him or not, and I do - you'd hope some of the better-skilled kids (ie Rice and White) would have potentially gone past him.

Great, so we won't have to deal with Essendope then.

If what we think happens does, then we don't have to deal with Essendon.

But....

1) the player needs to break their contract
2) if it is RFA instead of FA, the druggies can match the offer and then force the player into the draft or a trade
3) if FA, player free to go to club of choice.

I think it is a FA situation

Personally think paying for Hurley on top of Carlisle would result in a surplus of need for top quality key defenders. If Goddard develops as is widely anticipated and Carlisle stays out of trouble and injury free upon return, I think we are set there. Perhaps look to draft/ trade for a lower profile 'third tall' if Lee doesn't work out.

I'd much prefer to throw a heap of money at gun midfielders.

Personally think paying for Hurley on top of Carlisle would result in a surplus of need for top quality key defenders. If Goddard develops as is widely anticipated and Carlisle stays out of trouble and injury free upon return, I think we are set there. Perhaps look to draft/ trade for a lower profile 'third tall' if Lee doesn't work out.

Fisher played his best footy in a team where Dawson and Blake, or Hudgton and Maguire took the key defensive posts; Hurley would do the same.

No problem with throwing crazy money at gun mids though.

Thanks for dealing with the substantive post... :rolleyes:

The idea behind the posts is a backline for 2018 onwards; Geary by that stage will be 30 and - whether you like him or not, and I do - you'd hope some of the better-skilled kids (ie Rice and White) would have potentially gone past him.

Sorry firstly I didn't know it was 2018 onwards and secondly I cant believe the crap Geary gets on fan forums. I'm not his biggest fan but his record speaks for itself. Also I did rate Wright but he has been very poor the last 2 years. He is on his last chance or he is no hope to make it to 2018.

So would I. The game is now about mids. Even forwards are losing weight to play in the midfield. You can have all the talls you like but if they get bombarded in the backline or don't touch it in the forward line you lose. And if its about forwards it seems that a lot of mid sized forwards are kicking goals now. Look at the Hawks for example. Gunstan maybe tallish but plays as a lead up forward. We have Bruce as more of a stay at home forward. McCartin needs to develop a tank to be a lead up player. We don't really need anymore and that is why I cant see how Hickey plays, well successfully as a forward.

Sorry firstly I didn't know it was 2018 onwards and secondly I cant believe the crap Geary gets on fan forums. I'm not his biggest fan but his record speaks for itself. Also I did rate Wright but he has been very poor the last 2 years. He is on his last chance or he is no hope to make it to 2018.
Heart is not my favourite either but the players and coaches love him and they know more about it than me

Hurley never sooked, he just played better as a defender.

Hurley never complained about playing back from what I know. playing back made him as a player, he was useless forward (useless may be harsh)

Anyone who can kick 6 goals in a game then back it up with 5 the next week is pretty far away from useless.
Problem is we need to find 30 goals a year to replace Rooey.
Hurley's best was 27 in 2011 where he played 18 games but his best average was in 2012 where he kicked 26 from 16 games.
Clearly not a superstar power forward but very handy and capable of getting off the chain.

Anyone who can kick 6 goals in a game then back it up with 5 the next week is pretty far away from useless.
Problem is we need to find 30 goals a year to replace Rooey.
Hurley's best was 27 in 2011 where he played 18 games but his best average was in 2012 where he kicked 26 from 16 games.
Clearly not a superstar power forward but very handy and capable of getting off the chain.
yeah useless definitely wasn't the right word. he was shit though, compared to how he is as a backman anyway
we'll have that by the time Rooey retires, Bruce and Paddy. I honestly see Rooey going at least another 2 years