List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Discussion II - Draft Day

I hope we aren't, I don't really see too many of them with as much upside as Lamb (if he gets his head right). Plus he's in a better age bracket for our list.

I know you could tell us if you knew but I'll pencil Lewy and Lamb in.

Brown has to play if we wanna play finals. His experience is invaluable specially considering the lack of finals experience in the defence with only Carlisle. We also need fit armo and steven, when they on song, elite players imo. Freeman, Coffield, Clark, Paddy just Cherry's to the cake. Hopefully we can do something exciting.

The good thing is that if Brown is pushed out someone has come on in leaps and bounds. I'm not fussed either way.

JB and Paddy were the standouts. Both looking commanding and dare I say it silky, not kids anymore.

Blake was really noticeable out there. He is just a monster of a mid.

Spook didn't take part in many (if any) drills, his running really impressed me though. He may surprise a few who think he is still a plodder.

Freo also really impressed me. I wouldn't be shocked to see him line up in round one. Its funny watching him, yet to make his debut but was training like he had 100 games to his name.

They were the main standouts. I think I've said it already, but out kicking and footskills were as good as I've seen them at a training session.

At the end of the (bloody tough) session they were kicking for goal and I'd say they went through at about 80% plus accuracy. Its definitely an area where I've noticed improvement.

If I was to have one criticism, it'd be clowning around towards the end with trick shots and torps for goal by the boys. I know its a harsh criticism and not really warranted, but for me, kicking for goal is our biggest deficiency and needs to be 100% focused all the time every time (especially when its rumoured sports scientists apparently limit the time allowed on this skill).

Thanks mate! Love your work

I'm not worked up, I'm laughing at you. If no one gives a shit the club shuts it's door. You might be in the wrong place if you don't want strong or differing options. If people get invested in certain players then we don't draft them, they might get temporarily upset but by the time the season starts no one remembers and we are into something else. By the time the rookie draft is over we all will have moved on. People like you a still complaining about the complaining months after it ended though....
It was an observation on my part.

Months after it ended?

Lol.

WTF giving a shit has to do with infantile behavior?

I give a shit about the club. So what you're saying is that melting makes the club stronger? Stupid argument right there.

Never said I don't want options. But I'm also allowed to opine. To that end I'm in the right place.

I must have touched a nerve there for you to carry on as you are doing... given it was general observation.

Whatever floats your boat.

Can't see us passing on Tom Lamb despite his apparent 'flogginess". We were keen on him first time around - we've followed his progress and invited him to train.

I reckon if he pops his head up this afternoon before 5.00PM and the flowing locks are gone - lock him in!!!

Difference in playing in the WAFL but being on an AFL list and training with them and being a full time WAFL

Think about it this way, young Lonie and Tempeton are VFL superstars and one is delisted and one is bordering on. I'm pretty sure the VFL is a stronger league than the WAFL as well

There is way too much of a gulf.

FWIW, I wanted to get Lamb last year to replace Roo. He may not have the Footy IQ or the field kicking but I'd argue he's even more athletic and probably has a bigger tank as well.

This is assuming he pulls the finger rout obviouslt
I don’t disagree with you, but the fact that Lamb couldn’t really get going in the WAFL doesn’t get me too excited. I won’t be disappointed if we take a gamble on him but my expectations won’t be high for him.

I really hope we pick Tom Lamb, I think he has massive upside and is well worth a rookie spot.

If Tom delivers on his potential it will be a great football story for the club off the field and a big bonus on the field like Jack Sinclair has been.
I love it how people were calling for Trout to be bold daring and brave at Pick 7 but are worried about Lamb as a rookie selection. Upside is enormous if he did come good.

Yep he played WAFL last year and didn't star but he was being played primarily as an undersized key forward. Did much better when he got his chance as a high half forward/winger.

http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/5984

I’m not saying we are picking him or not but while I agree Tom has been a bit of a worry with his attitude/ego in past he’s no worse than a couple on our list already so I don’t buy the whole “our boys are perfect” train of thought.

Even more important then, too many FIGJAMs in one place and they'll keep blowing smoke up each other's asses.

JB and Paddy were the standouts. Both looking commanding and dare I say it silky, not kids anymore.

Spook didn't take part in many (if any) drills, his running really impressed me though. He may surprise a few who think he is still a plodder.

Freo also really impressed me. I wouldn't be shocked to see him line up in round one. Its funny watching him, yet to make his debut but was training like he had 100 games to his name.

They were the main standouts. I think I've said it already, but out kicking and footskills were as good as I've seen them at a training session.

At the end of the (bloody tough) session they were kicking for goal and I'd say they went through at about 80% plus accuracy. Its definitely an area where I've noticed improvement.

If I was to have one criticism, it'd be clowning around towards the end with trick shots and torps for goal by the boys. I know its a harsh criticism and not really warranted, but for me, kicking for goal is our biggest deficiency and needs to be 100% focused all the time every time (especially when its rumoured sports scientists apparently limit the time allowed on this skill).
Sorry who is spook?

Please explain the logic in getting worked up about it?

Where exactly is the sanity of stressing out over these matters?

If you want to beat yourself up then go right ahead. It's your life.

I guess that's the difference between you and me... I'm happy to sit back and see how it works out before passing judgement.

Like I said, the sad sacks can please themselves.

If the hat fits, wear it with pride.
Are you ok? Genuine question because your posts are normally much better than this.

The moment you started complaining about sad sacks you became...a sad sack. If you don't like any opinion just brush it off and move on to your next constructive point and stop compounding the sad.

Can't see us passing on Tom Lamb despite his apparent 'flogginess". We were keen on him first time around - we've followed his progress and invited him to train.

I reckon if he pops his head up this afternoon before 5.00PM and the flowing locks are gone - lock him in!!!

Interesting looking through previous permission to train lists. Two things jump out.
  • We have done pretty well out of here previously (seem to pick up a player nearly every year)
  • The goodwill with Sandy really seems to have evaporated (really sad it has got to this)
West Coast forward Tom Lamb, former Fremantle backman Sam Collins and ex-North Melbourne midfielder Will Fordham

None (that I can find anyway)

Blaine Coates (Sandringham), Charles Kelso (Sandringham), Elliot le Grice (Sandringham), Josh Saunders (St Kilda), Dylan Weickhardt (Sandringham)

Cameron Banfield (Sandringham), Elliot le Grice (Sandringham), Shaun McKernan (Adelaide Crows), Jack Noone (Sandringham), Kenny Ong (Sandringham), Jared Petrenko (Adelaide Crows), Adam Schneider (St Kilda), Jeremy Taylor (Gold Coast Suns)

Former Hawthorn player Carl Peterson and former Gold Coast Sun Maverick Weller, have been put through their paces at Linen House Centre in the lead up to the 2013 drafts. Players from St Kilda’s VFL-affiliate Sandringham are also training with the Saints under the AFL’s permission to train list; Cameron Banfield, Ned Fallon and Patrick Tiernan St Kilda recently de-listed Ahmed Saad who has permission to continue training with the Saints.

*Oh and as a funny aside, in 2013 Essendon cheated and had draft candidates train without permission. Color me shocked

Dylan Roberton (Fremantle), Adam Cockie (Sandringham), Jackson Coleman (Sandringham), Chris Michaelides (Sandringham), Michael Sikora (Sandringham), Anthony Soriano (Sandringham)

Ben Casley, Beau Dowler (Hawthorn), James Hallahan, Danny Hughes, Michael Lourey, Marcus Marigliani James Magner (By memory we were meant to pick Magner up but for some controversial reason we didn’t and he ended up playing a few games for Melbourne)

Brown has to play if we wanna play finals. His experience is invaluable specially considering the lack of finals experience in the defence with only Carlisle. We also need fit armo and steven, when they on song, elite players imo. Freeman, Coffield, Clark, Paddy just Cherry's to the cake. Hopefully we can do something exciting.

For me, Brown inly plays if there's the perfect match up for him. Otherwise at Sandy. He's a liability in defence unless he's needed for a Hawkins type.

Not saying it will happen , but it’s all about development & opportunity.

He has a chance now because he will play Ruck ...not CHB doubt Cox would not have improved without
being given opportunities that happened due to Michael Gardiners situation at Eagles.
the main differance was each week Cox was getting better and better heck in 2004 he was very very close to being signed as a Saint as GT went hard for him.. in his WAFL performance COX was killing it it was only Gardi keeping him out for Lewie his VFL performances have been hohum and he is trending in the wrong direction to the point where i doubt any other club besides us would consider offering him a rookie spot...
thats sadly AFL footy some make it some dont but Lewies situation is very far removed from that of Cox

For all of my disappointment of seeing Tom 'Peacock' Lamb strut around at training the other day, I think I'd still like to see him at St Kilda next year.

One thing thats a shame is that he doesn't have Roo to shadow this year.

I'm not convinced he has the commitment and attitude to succeed, but he would be a damn good risk/reward pick as a rookie.

Once on the list I'd shave his head, move him in with Gears and feed him concrete for breaky every morning before training.
Roo reckons he learnt a lot from the guys like Hamil and Harves when he first started so we do hame Hamil coaching the VFL team so maybe that would help ?

I heard when Lamb exit interviewed at the end of his training stint he was genuinely sheepish about his past behaviours. Stood up in front of the group and said 'My Baa'aad Boy days are behind me now'. I know he really impressed on the time trials. Richo said he moves like a lambhoghini. I think if we add him to the list in the rookie draft we have fleeced West Coast though.

Thanks for this mate.

Who is Freo though..?

It was an observation on my part.

Months after it ended?

Lol.

WTF giving a shit has to do with infantile behavior?

I give a shit about the club. So what you're saying is that melting makes the club stronger? Stupid argument right there.

Never said I don't want options. But I'm also allowed to opine. To that end I'm in the right place.

I must have touched a nerve there for you to carry on as you are doing... given it was general observation.

Whatever floats your boat.

Laughing at you melting about melts floats my boat.

Are you ok? Genuine question because your posts are normally much better than this.

The moment you started complaining about sad sacks you became...a sad sack. If you don't like any opinion just brush it off and move on to your next constructive point and stop compounding the sad.

So let the misery run free you’re saying?

Bugger that, when someone is carrying on & dragging down what should be an exciting time of the year then they should get called out.

Especially when their whining is misplaced & coming from a position of ignorance.

Freedom of Opinions goes both ways. Whine by all means but don’t get all upset when someone pulls you up on it.

Oh yeah, hope we get Lamb or a left field selection... Crameri.

List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Discussion II - Draft Day