List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 1

Hang on a second... if the reports from geelong supporters are right about hopper going to their club how are they going to be able to afford hopper and ablett when their cap was full to the point they couldn't even get delidio on the cheap last year
And don't they have to get a first round pick this year anyway to make up for the last few years.

Apparently the AFL ****ed that up so now teams have longer to find one and it just means they can't do anymore future trades until they get one

Gaz is already 33... I don't know when his birthday is but that means he could potentially be playing for us at 36 if we offer him a 2 year. Given how little gametime he's been able to manage the last 3 years I really don't think it's a good idea. Let Geelong have him and I hope they win the 5 games he playes for them.
I know when his birthday is cos it's the same as mine! and Brent Harvey... and Dyson Heppell

He only has to play 1 good game.
Well that's just wrong. If the one game you're referring to is a gf then how do we get there if Gaz is injured or playing badly or both all year?
We most likely won't even make a gf let alone play Gary Ablett on a season of bad form or being injured all year. He has to play a many more than 1 good game.

Stewart Dew 2008
Dew is 37 now. That's 4 years older than Ablett. In 2008 Dew was 27, not 33, and despite not playing the previous year he had the best year of his career the year Hawthorn won. Different circumstances also as the Hawks only needed really 1 piece to make a premiership team and they were almost there in 07. Completely different.

If we were to trade Paddy, regardless of who to or what for, I would spew.

I would spew more than the spewers who threaten to spew whenever the words Acres and Sandy are mentioned in the same sentence. My level of spewdom would max out and the volume of spew juice I would spew would far exceed the total spew output of those Acres folk.

Fair dinkum; I would SPEW!!!!!
Really? You wouldnt do a potentially good key forward, emphasis on "potentially" for an out and out star in career best form and arguably the best player in the competition? Cos I would.

We need to take educated risks if we want to win a flag. This may not pay off but ultimately I think Ablett would be a great trade from a risk/return perspective. Here is why:

-Roo and Montagna are still in our top 5 players. They have 2 more years of good footy left. Ablett coincides perfectly with their window.
-He will only cost a 2nd rounder and money. No way can Gold Coast demand anything higher, they have no leverage whatsoever.
-The upside is ridiculous. Even if he only manages to play 10 games a year + finals. To say he is cooked is simply incorrect. He is coming back from a long lay off and is building nicely. Has SUPREME skills, wouldn't that be nice for a change! Has the potential to still be the best player in the comp on this day. FMD, why wouldn't we want this?

Honestly don't get the mentality. If it doesn't work, big deal. Happy to take the risk. We can afford him, and our cap will be cleared up again significantly in 2 years anyway when Roo, Montagna and Ablett are all of our list. Therefore even if it doesn't work it is not that big a disaster. We should not be in the mindset that we need to get games into kids blah blah blah. If Fyfe comes, our window is open. You simply put yourself in the best position possible to snag one from there. Ablett significantly increases those chances. If the likes of Gresham, Acres etc are good enough to be in a premiership quality list they will still get games.

Finally, I don't normally do this sort of stuff because it comes back to bite you. Don't shoot the messenger I have no interest in engaging on this any more than what I am about to say. However, an extended family member works at the GFC (not some sh*tkicker position, this is a genuine source). Don't be too sure that a deal for Ablett to Geelong will get done. We had this exact conversation a few months ago, as I was floating the idea of a trade to the Saints myself. This was the takeaway:

-Ablett has been trying to get back to the club for some time. There is absolutely no interest Geelong's end;
-Reasons are more than money. They have a blanket rule on blokes in his age bracket (would require a serious backflip to recruit a 33 year old);
-All is not well between the Ablett family and GFC. A lot has gone on behind the scenes over the years. Little Gaz is not necessarily the most respected figure down at Geelong. The club has done a lot to help out Gaz Snr and Nathan over the years, without a whole lot of gratitude.

Finally Ablett is renowned as the tightest bloke in football. Worse than Micky Malthouse. Even if Geelong did do a massive backflip on the above, their offer would be $300K - $400 less than what we would stump up. Ablett is all about the $$$$$$. Don't be sucked into the romance of needing to see out his career at his beloved Geelong. He cares about the cash, no doubt about it.

Bottom line, I don't think this idea is that unrealistic as it first appears. I would be 100% all for it.

Dew is 37 now. That's 4 years older than Ablett. In 2008 Dew was 27, not 33, and despite not playing the previous year he had the best year of his career the year Hawthorn won. Different circumstances also as the Hawks only needed really 1 piece to make a premiership team and they were almost there in 07. Completely different.

Dew was also morbidly obese and Ablett has more skill in his little finger than Dew had in his 140kg body.

If we were to trade Paddy, regardless of who to or what for, I would spew.

I would spew more than the spewers who threaten to spew whenever the words Acres and Sandy are mentioned in the same sentence. My level of spewdom would max out and the volume of spew juice I would spew would far exceed the total spew output of those Acres folk.

Fair dinkum; I would SPEW!!!!!
Really? You wouldnt do a potentially good key forward, emphasis on "potentially" for an out and out star in career best form and arguably the best player in the competition? Cos I would.
No; I wouldn't. I would spew.

Maybe I should've spelled it out better ;)

Dew was also morbidly obese and Ablett has more skill in his little finger than Dew had in his 140kg body.
You're completely right but it's not Ablett's skill I'm worried about. If I had a guarantee he wouldn't get injured I'd take him in a heartbeat but that's not possible and he's been injured too many times the last couple years to risk it imo.

Not advocating going after Ablett, but Damien Hardwick was massive for Port in the '04 GF at 32. Turned the mongrel on the Lions before the opening bounce.

Different situations and all that, but I wouldn't be against going after a player in his 30s if we reckon we can push a GF.

Jordan Lewis would be very, very handy right about now. And just bringing an outside edge/winners mentality to an unproven team can certainly gee up the group a little.

I reckon a few of us would cut off a finger to go back in time and have a 33 year old Ablett running around for us in our recent GFs.

It'd have to be just a salary hit for two years (3rd rounder max), but if he plays out the year with no injuries.....

The only example I can think of where this has happened recently is the Judd trade. I not it's not necessarily the same, but I'm sure there are a few people at Carlton with a little bit of regret at that one.

You're completely right but it's not Ablett's skill I'm worried about. If I had a guarantee he wouldn't get injured I'd take him in a heartbeat but that's not possible and he's been injured too many times the last couple years to risk it imo.

Fair enough. Comes down to whether you take the risk or not. I personally would. The upside is enormous. Doesn't have to return to what he was, but even 75% would be incredible. I don't care if he rests every 2nd week, imagine going into September with Ablett & Fyfe in a St.Kilda guernsey. FMD, that is insane.